Beaumont, TX 
Klein Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #16 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 246ft.   3 / 246ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Beamounts Best

2-4    10/24/2013   11/2/2013
Review By: uwdiscgolf
Played: 67  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The PROS:

1. Concrete tees.

2. Multiple tees.

3. Tee Signs.

4. Course Map by Practice basket.

5. Practice basket.

6. Cleared fairways.

7. DGA baskets. StorkeSavers.

8. Good mix of open/wooded fairways.

9. Well kept and maintained.

10. Restrooms near beginning of course.
Cons: The CONS:

1. Course floods after rain. Lots of standing water that could be drained to the creek if the course was redesigned.

2. Alt tee for one is either not there or not clearly marked seeings how the tee are are concrete.

3. Some of the tees are smaller than others. Some even need to be redone.

4. Course heavily favors RHBH.
Other Thoughts: Klein is a really good mix of open and wooded fairways. Trees come into play on every hole. The alternate tees actually offer a difference in difficulty. The blue tees (long tee) offer a good mix of distance and difficulty that will challenge you. The red tees (short tee) offer a beginner a chance to learn and have fun. The course is very easy to navigate. I wont go int best/worst holes. I think the course offers fun on every hole. You will need your distance driver and mid range. With a couple of greens being set on top of small hills, you need to choose which baskets to attack and which ones to be cautious. Watch the creek on holes 6, 12, 16, 17, 18. If you're in the Beaumont area definitely check out this course along with Copperhead.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad Beaumont, Not bad at All.

1    4/29/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love the interesting mix of technical wooded holes versus the open run and gun shots. The water areas, although not a main feature are just present enough to make you work - especially as you end your round. The course also plays just enough hyzer and anhyzer holes to keep your attention. The baskets are in decent shaped and the layout is easy enough to follow in case you forget a map.

The best feature however may be the duel tee boxes. Playing from the short tees makes for a nice casual round with enough difficulty to keep first-timers working and rec. players focused. The long tees on the other hand add over 1000' feet of necessary distance to make this course palatable for the more advanced player. In addition, the long tees don't just add distance, but many holes also change your line and approach to the basket. Basically for the majority of players the two for one layout is a great pro in helping someone improve their game.

BEST HOLE/S: #9; #14
Cons: Holes #5 and #6 play too close to the road for my taste, and I wish there was a little elevation to give the course that last little piece to push it up a notch. Signage was also a bit rough in spots. Also, can be too far from my house by a negative?

However, most agree that the lack of concrete boxes on the long tees is the biggest complaint. In time I'm sure they get installed, but if the same attention and quality would go into the longs as have the shorts then it would give this place a major bump.

Finally, even with the added length, some players will argue that the course is still too short and lacks a decent number of long holes where big arms can open up a bit.

WORST HOLE/S: #5
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course - period. It has most of the features players want when you think of a decent and diverse course on the gulf coast. Beyond that - you can argue about the finer details and points of preference, but I think most agree that it would be a great place to call a home course. Between this and the lesser played Copperhead DGC outside of Vidor, the greater Beaumont area made for a nice little pit stop off the highway, and is about the best thing you can hope for between Lafayette and Houston.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging Fun

1    5/11/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: bayouace
Played: 38  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 22.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: RHBH player playing the Red tees. I had a blast. Balance of somewhat open, somewhat treed, and "don't look for any daylight in here" holes. Lefties will be pleased to have fairness in the course. Rest Room available. Concrete tees for the Reds. Benches at most holes. Signage is great for the Reds. Blues were mostly marked, but without yardage. Get that off DGCR. Locals play a "White" course with a combination of Blue and Red tees. Many baskets are on island-type hills, which makes for some fun putts. The course is not as scary in person as in the DGCR pictures. The aforementioned drainage creek is a challenge on #6, due to basket placement. I OB'ed on #17 on my second shot, which I got too high and had the belly exposed to the wind. Creek was dry this day. Lots of shade. No problem with joggers and dog-walkers, of which there were a few. Baskets are double-chained and fine. Good parking at Hole #1. Next hole directions are on all of the Red tee box signs, but I strongly suggest printing out the map on DGCR or GT Disc Golf.
Cons: .

If the creek ever gets real full and you OB, that disc is gone. Poison ivy is available for discs like mine. Streets are OB on a couple of holes, but that would be caused by a really bad throw, or heavy winds. The club is working on concrete tees for the blues, I believe.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course and I will stop again. It is challenging, especially if you do the Blue tees. Downright hard on some of them. Overall the GT Disc Golf guys have a fun, challenging course to offer.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Baskets on Ant Hills?

1    4/11/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.5 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'm not a huge fan of courses when almost every hole is like 250 feet, but this was an acception. There are older trees here, well cleaned up wooded holes, along with hilly pin placements, and a decent sized drainage ditch/creek. This place just has a nice all around feel to it. I couldn't really choose a picture hole, but everything seemed to fit together. The layout was well planned. The pins on the mounds (I joke that they looked like giant ant hills) were really fun to go after. The wooded holes had decent, and fair fairways. They were a fun challenge. The signs here were really good. I loved the next tee notations on them The concrete tees were nice. I wish I had time to play it again and try the grass tee Long Tee locations. They are marked by a blue stake. Bathrooms, drinking fountains, and good parking were all available.
Cons: There were a couple of tee signs missing, which did cause me to lose my way momentarily. And upon a first visit, finding number 1 could have been easier to find. (From the parking lot, keep walking past the shelters and it is on the left, still in the tree line.)
Other Thoughts: The fun factor here was actually pretty good. This is one of those courses where the ace runs are just tough enough to make them really fun. The older trees were cool and the wooded holes were fun tunnel like throws. I would play this one again no problem. Thanks Beaumont for a great road trip.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Versatile Course!

2-4    8/19/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: jbecker36
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Dynamic representation of everything I love about disc golf. There are wide open holes, forrest holes, water hazard holes, long holes, and short holes. The course is well thought out and flows nicely. The woods aren't too dense, so finding a mis-throw isn't too much trouble.
Cons: This course gets muddy very, very fast. If you play in the morning, the dew will provide a thin layer of mud in the dirt. Also, some of the tee markers are missing.

The course is fairly well kept up, and in pretty good shape, but it could be better.
Other Thoughts: You can make this course as easy or as hard as you would like. I find it ideal to play the "white" tees, the tees circled on the map. This provides a combination of red and blue tee locations, for a fairly challenging 18 holes. The red course is fairly easy, and the blue course is extremely challenging. The "white" course allows the player to experience difficult "blue" holes while finding relief in the easier "red" holes.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Tale of Two Courses

2-4    7/11/2009   7/13/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Double chain baskets are in decent playable shape. Almost all of the dual tee boxes are marked; nice metal signs on the red/short tees and blue wood posts on the blue/long tees. Accurate distances are posted on the signs. It doesn't appear as if this course would get much interference from non-disc golfers. The creek offers a nice natural OB hazard; when I played the water was so low there was no chance of losing your disc. Nice balance of wooded and more open holes as well as lefty-vs-righty holes. Restrooms are located by the #1 tee parking lot. Has three baskets (#3, #4, and #16) placed on little mounds that make putting more challenging.

This is a tale of two courses. The long/blue tees average 364' in length and the name of the game there is to minimize the number of bogies (4s). There aren't many birdie (2) holes from the blue tees. The short/red tees average ~261' and offer a boatload of birdie opportunities and there isn't a hole there that a good INT/MA2 player should bogey. There's a local configuration of "white" tees that are a combination of some short and some long tee boxes (see the course map posted here; white tees are in the circles).
Cons:
Some of the long tee boxes are getting grooved in a bit. Tee sign posts are missing for blues #13, 15 & 16. Three holes (#1, #5, and #6) all play precariously close to streets. Definitely a lefty-friendly course with an abundance of RHFH shots. No significant elevation changes.
Other Thoughts:
The local club is working to get concrete tees installed, so far all the short tees have been installed. There's an additional parking lot between holes #6 and #7.

After playing rounds from both the long and short tees my impression is that this is a nice course. The longs are potentially frustrating for newer players and the shorts are probably too easy for experienced players; so having both is a good balance. While I would not rate this as a "don't miss" destination course you probably won't be disappointed coming to play this one.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.