Beaumont, TX 
Klein Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #2 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 359ft.   3 / 359ft. Par / Distance:
Basket #2 after it's rained can be a muddy mess



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Versatile Course!

2-4    8/19/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: jbecker36
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Dynamic representation of everything I love about disc golf. There are wide open holes, forrest holes, water hazard holes, long holes, and short holes. The course is well thought out and flows nicely. The woods aren't too dense, so finding a mis-throw isn't too much trouble.
Cons: This course gets muddy very, very fast. If you play in the morning, the dew will provide a thin layer of mud in the dirt. Also, some of the tee markers are missing.

The course is fairly well kept up, and in pretty good shape, but it could be better.
Other Thoughts: You can make this course as easy or as hard as you would like. I find it ideal to play the "white" tees, the tees circled on the map. This provides a combination of red and blue tee locations, for a fairly challenging 18 holes. The red course is fairly easy, and the blue course is extremely challenging. The "white" course allows the player to experience difficult "blue" holes while finding relief in the easier "red" holes.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Little Fun in Beaumont

1    7/11/2009   7/18/2009
Review By: SpringDgLover
Played: 94  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This a well laid out decent course in the heart of the Golden Triangle. It boasts 2 very distinct tee positions and good double chained cages. The tee boxes are natural and for the most part in good shape. The course offers a good mix of holes ranging from tight corridor shots like 8,9,10, and some open holes like 4,11,12 finally there are some tricky boundry shots with 6,17,18 where going OB is a definite possibly. The course is on a nice piece of land and has loads of potential. The two different tee positions offer two very different experiences. With longs being quite challenging and the shorts being a pretty low stress, fun setup. The locals told me the course is never really busy and that getting in a quick round is quite easy.
Cons: Some of the alternate tee positions can be down right ridiculous with no clear line to the basket and almost no chance for a bird (the addition of different pars would solve this). Although the majority of teeboxes were well kept some were downright BAD, so watch your step. There are few holes where losing a disc is a distinct possibilty such as 6 when the water is higher and the corridor holes have heavy brush on both sides. The layout is a little confusing at first and be sure to print out a map before going. No real elevation to speak of, but it is in Beaumont so I wasn't really expecting any.
Other Thoughts: Being that Im not often in Beaumont and dont get to the play the courses there. I was excited when I heard they were hosting a tournment and immediatley signed up. I would say this course is about equal to alot of other courses in the Houston area and offers enough variety to be distinct in its own right. If your ever make a the trip down I-10 stop by, its definetly worth a round or two.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Tale of Two Courses

2-4    7/11/2009   7/13/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Double chain baskets are in decent playable shape. Almost all of the dual tee boxes are marked; nice metal signs on the red/short tees and blue wood posts on the blue/long tees. Accurate distances are posted on the signs. It doesn't appear as if this course would get much interference from non-disc golfers. The creek offers a nice natural OB hazard; when I played the water was so low there was no chance of losing your disc. Nice balance of wooded and more open holes as well as lefty-vs-righty holes. Restrooms are located by the #1 tee parking lot. Has three baskets (#3, #4, and #16) placed on little mounds that make putting more challenging.

This is a tale of two courses. The long/blue tees average 364' in length and the name of the game there is to minimize the number of bogies (4s). There aren't many birdie (2) holes from the blue tees. The short/red tees average ~261' and offer a boatload of birdie opportunities and there isn't a hole there that a good INT/MA2 player should bogey. There's a local configuration of "white" tees that are a combination of some short and some long tee boxes (see the course map posted here; white tees are in the circles).
Cons:
Some of the long tee boxes are getting grooved in a bit. Tee sign posts are missing for blues #13, 15 & 16. Three holes (#1, #5, and #6) all play precariously close to streets. Definitely a lefty-friendly course with an abundance of RHFH shots. No significant elevation changes.
Other Thoughts:
The local club is working to get concrete tees installed, so far all the short tees have been installed. There's an additional parking lot between holes #6 and #7.

After playing rounds from both the long and short tees my impression is that this is a nice course. The longs are potentially frustrating for newer players and the shorts are probably too easy for experienced players; so having both is a good balance. While I would not rate this as a "don't miss" destination course you probably won't be disappointed coming to play this one.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Course!

1    7/4/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: coldtoe
Played: 113  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was fun to play. The park land is utilized well and the flow is fairly straightforward. There is a healthy mixture of open/wooded, short/long, lefty/righty holes. Probably my favorite hole would be 6. The pin placement creates an island hole effect and is not righty friendly. Loved it! Holes 10 and 13 were also memorable due to their technicality. The course is shady, with tall pines and small hills at some of the baskets. A creek comes into play on many holes.
Cons: Only complaint was the unmarked short tee on hole 14 but some locals were very friendly and helped us out. If I were the course manager my top list of things to do would be: install tee pads, get baskets straightened up a bit (i bet hurricane rita/ike had something to do with that), and update the tee signs.
Other Thoughts: The course map was on the billboard making it very easy to know how to navigate the course after taking a look at the flow. The short tees were fun, I can't wait to come back and play the long tees!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.