Wilmington, DE 
Canby West Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #5 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 219ft.   3 / 285ft.   3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Approach



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Canby West Is A Work In Progress!

1    7/15/2013   8/18/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not being a local, I'm unaware of the neighborhood problems. But I am already seeing some signs of building a course in this city type environment . The # 1 basket is already dented up. Before putting any signage in, think long and hard about making them vandal proof. Go for simple heavy duty engraved metal signs rather than pretty carved wooden ones or the traditional fiberglass signs. Those signs would get trashed here.

# 4 was an uphill toss with the big log in the way, The basket was sponsored by Disc Nation. Thank you Disc nation. I liked the basket area around # 5. It was pretty.

I thought # 13 was the signature hole on the course. A simple little 200 downhill ACE run.
Cons: Course need a lot of work still. Will get better as paths and routes are worn and easy to follow.

Signage or lack there of.

Tough neighborhood. Vandalism will be a constant problem. Plan for it and take steps to overcome it.

Natural tee pads aren't the best.
Other Thoughts: You're off to a nice start with Canby West DGC. Dealing with the teen vandals will be frustrating for both the players and the course designers. Go for industrial strength signage over pretty. You'll be glad.

Good luck with your battle.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

As of 11/19/12 (8/31/13)

2-4    11/19/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/1/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Makes excellent use of the available land, offering a good variety of shot-shapes from the long tees.
Cons:
Tee pads are a mixture of natural, gravel-filled/wood-framed (~5'x10'), or whatever surface happens to be available.

Flush-to-ground tee markers difficult to spot, lack of next-tee signs make the map a necessity for the first-time/infrequent visitor.
Other Thoughts:
The course plays into, out-of, and within a small portion of woods (mostly mid-sized hardwoods), and its bordering open space, in a decent-sized city park. Two small streams wend their way through the woods, adding to the scenery - and challenge, as several baskets are located somewhat near them. Elevation change is subtle/minimal, except for #6, with its elevated tee, narrow, tree-lined fairway, and basket sitting 260' away, downslope and across one of the streams.

Two tee locations on six (1,3,4,5,9,10) of the current ten holes. From the short tee locations, the ability to throw ~250' straight will suffice on most holes, with a few requiring right-turns. The long tees add, on average, about 160' per hole, and introduce a couple of left-turns into the mix. About half the holes are fairly open, but not in their entirety, and the wooded holes offer quite reasonable throwing lanes.

Favourite hole: #10. Open and down a slight slope for most of its length, near the end one of several gaps in a row of hardwoods must be breached to reach the basket, sitting in the middle of a peninsula formed by the two small streams.

As of today, the course is certainly worth consideration if in the area. If the plans to expand to 18 holes (of similar quality) and improve the tees/signage come to fruition, this course will definitely be worth a stop when nearby.

Update 8/31/13:
Now 18-holes, adding even more wooded challenges. With the updated map, "next tee" signs, and limb-lined walking paths between most holes, the designers are making a strong effort to make this course as easy to navigate as possible. Still a bit rough and containing a lot of trash, sign and tee improvement would help raise this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

1    11/11/2012   11/11/2012
Review By: dmcbride8
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes, a majority are in wooded areas but several utilize the minimal open space available. Even though a city course a few holes are decent length, with a few having nice elevation changes. Par three course that is challenging for a new player such as myself. Compared to Bellvue, another local par three course, I found Canby more difficult. Being a Wilmington resident it's great to have a course in the city. Even though its takes me the same amount of time to get to Brandywine Creek it's fantastic to have another option so close to home. Despite only being ten holes this is definitely a legitimate option when deciding which course to play. I've only played Canby twice but I will certainly return in the near future. It's a quick ten holes, but the differing layouts of each hole keeps things fun and interesting. Considering the area they had to work with, the designers of the course did a really good job. The course is free and parking wasn't a problem, those are two big pros in my book.
Cons: Chief complaint, as with many courses, is the lack of signage. Almost none of the tees are clearly marked, making it a rough go for first time Canby players. Even though the area is relatively small it was difficult to find my way around the first time I played. Make sure to at least draw yourself a map before trying Canby for the first time. I'm sure this will improve when they add the 8 new holes, making this a complete 18 hole course.
Other Thoughts: It's great to see a course in a city park and exposing the sport to many people that might not otherwise have the opportunity to play. I give a lot of credit to those who successfully pursued the building of this course. You have done a great job. I was surprised to hear that Canby even had a course, and was pleasantly surprised when I actually played. Thank you.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A Work In Progress

1    8/27/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: GMarlin13
Played: 47  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Manageable holes
-Variety - straight shots, downhill, over streams, bending through trees
Cons: -Not Complete
-Tee pads at half the holes, no markers for the next hole or where the course starts( first left you can make after the park entrance, park on side of the road, hole 1 is next to a stream near a bridge)
-Not your typical Disc Golf environment, inner city hoodlums playing basketball and looking shady in most of the park
Other Thoughts: Luckily, I ran into 2 people who knew the course. Without them, it would have been difficult to navigate. Big thanks to Jen and Mike! They told me if you are from out of the area like I was, Delaware Disc Golfers has a facebook page and if you post on there, someone will meet you and help you navigate this course and also recommend other local courses. This place is a work in progress and will be much nicer next season, I'd recommend it, but only if you have someone with you who knows the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Initial Canby Review

5+    5/8/2012   5/10/2012
Review By: tx80man
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A course rating of 2.5 should not deter any disc golfers. The rating is not higher because the course is not complete. Of the 10 current holes most are 200-300 feet and require precise drives. Half of the holes have tee boxes. This is a great course for beginners (you should never lose a disc) and advanced players wanting to hone their short game.
Cons: The course is incomplete (only 10 holes)and many holes do not have signs at the tees.
Other Thoughts: With limited funds the designers of this course have done an admirable job. There are plans and enough land to expand.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.