Wilmington, DE 
Canby West Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #1 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 315ft.   4 / 476ft.   3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Approach



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Average 18

1    8/14/2013   8/14/2013
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 41  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, i have to commend the people who established this coure the area where this course is not the best area and neither was the park, however the troublemakers that used to hang out here are gone. I think that this is because of disc golf. Great job locals!

Variety- hole distance varied from about 200-450 ft. You have to be able to shape your lines and execute some different shots in order to score well here. There are some open holes, however none really entirely open holes, depending on what you consider 17 and 18. I think this aspect of the coursw is solid. All holes have multiple teepads and some have multiple pin placements.

If i was giving a rating for soley how they used the land they were given it would totally be a five. They turned a somewhat marshy, small plot of land where gangs used to hang out and made it into a solid course. You have to take the course for what it is and appreciate the fact that there is alot of work put into the course.
Cons: Navigation- it is somewhat difficult to find the course and signage on the coirse is relatively non existant

Stone dust/ gravel teepads - these do not provide great footing but are better than. The natural teepads that most holes have

No signage- some holes you could not see the basket nor would you know the distance making disc selection more complicated than it should be.

Tee markes are painted rock and sometimes hard to spot, especiall on the field holes
Other Thoughts: Overall canby west is a solid expanding course that i hope to return to

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A good Effort

1    7/14/2013   7/14/2013
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 62  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging, 18 hole layout in what is primarily a technical course located in a decent-sized city park in Wilmington. All holes have working baskets and have multiple tee pads and/or possible pin placements. Good use of elevation and water presents a challenge. Navigation is becoming easier as the course gets worn in. Some holes have log benches for rest. Holes 6, 13 and 17 were standouts.
Cons: Course still very much a work in progress. Natural tee pads at most holes. No signage to speak of as of 7/13/13. More and nicer "next tee" signs needed. Course is a marshy mess in some areas and travel can be impacted. Some safety issues- the high wire log on 6 is great until someone falls and kills themselves- a viable, alternate path is needed. More trees need to be cut down on 3, currently a pinball hole. Clean-up still needed- I found used condoms, a dime bag and bottles during my rounds. No amenities like bathrooms or water fountains.
Other Thoughts: It is tough to rate this course. The layout itself rates at least a 3.5, yet many other elements of Canby warrant a much lower score. Canby West is an honorable attempt to bring the sport into a non-traditional environment and at the same time minimize park riff raff. However, to enjoy it here, one must embrace the city element of the area and surroundings. It is not the easiest place in the world to find (there is no sign at the entrance to the park, for instance) and though the park feels safe, this isn't an area in which many would feel comfortable stopping for directions. The peaceful, quiet elements of the sport will not be found here as blaring salsa/rap music and general foot/auto traffic are ever-present.

While I think the course is fair and balanced, I do not care for the multiple areas of the course where two inch deep water from a tributary constitutes out of bounds. This comes into play on numerous holes and in my opinion should be treated as casual.

Canby is a legitimate venue to test your skills and presents a unique playing experience. The Delaware guys are dedicated and no doubt will continue to improve the course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 urban gem that is just getting better

5+    5/15/2012   5/15/2012
Review By: DiscBunny
Played: 122  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly wooded but still diverse and beautiful. Well used stream throughout the 10 hole course. Both short and long tees on all holes. Course has progressed considerably in a few months.
Cons: If you don't know where you are going, you may have a little trouble finding some of the hole to hole transitions. No signage yet. One of the stream crossings is challenging.
Other Thoughts: It's great and uncommon to have urban disc golf. Can't wait for the Delaware Disc Golfers to complete this to an 18 hole course. My personal rating of the course rating will no doubt increase as the course continues to develop.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.