Wilmington, DE 
Canby West Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #6 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 290ft.   3 / 357ft.   3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Approach



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
An acceptable course but probably not one that I'll frequent.

1    9/9/2014   9/10/2014
Review By: Dragr13
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mix of tight technical wooded holes and long open straight holes.
Free.
Pretty good mix of flight paths - forehand or backhand players can both enjoy.
Not busy, at least when I went. Actually we saw almost NO ONE the whole time.
Cons: The park itself is just sort of dirty. There seems to be twenty years worth of collected litter strewn all over the place.
The signage really is very poor.
The course seems to meander a bit (and yet still be rather tightly packed in, somehow) which makes navigating very tricky.
Other Thoughts: Canby Park is 10 minutes from where I've lived for years, but I didn't even know they had a course until I found this site. I decided to give it a shot because it's a local course I'd not played.
Overall I thought this was a reasonably acceptable course - by the time I got done. First impressions were not great; on the drive in you see a rock spray painted 'disc golf' and an arrow pointing to the left, and that's ALL the direction you get. After parking and looking around a bit we found the first tee (natural and unmarked), but then had to wander some more to find the first basket. From the first basket throughout the course there is very little signage, except for some spray painted markers and little plastic flags here and there. Occasionally a Good Samaritan has made notes in permanent marker on some of the baskets to give clues as to the location of the next tee,but there are also occasionally multiple tees so it can be challenging to navigate. Up through the fourth hole I was pretty disappointed with the course, they were all pretty short and so heavily wooded that it was really hard to get through at all. The sixth hole finally opened up a bit, though, and I really liked that hole (but I warn you now NOT to go exploring the concrete bunker you'll see on the right - it's a drainage culvert and not pretty); the tee faces a small gorge with a creek and you get a nice long uphill throw to an open(ish) fairway, and you get to balance across the creek on a fallen log (you could easily cross on the ground, too). But when you finish the hole you have to search for a while to find the next tee - and there are three baskets (6, 7, and 11) in a very small area to choose from! Then you proceed through some more relatively open wooded holes (you can actually throw long but unless you're amazing you're going to hit a tree) before popping out to an open field after hole 11, where you promptly lose the course because there's no marked tee for 12 in site. Two marked PATHS out of the woods, one for 12 short and one for 12 long, but then - just field, with one basket in view a very very long way away. After all these tight wooded holes we were pretty excited to just unwind and throw some bombs, but alas, when we got to the basket it said 14. So no 12 or 13. 15 is a nice long throw back into the woods, 16 is a nice long throw back into the field, and 17 is a nice long throw towards the woods, over the creek again and back to the car. BUT WAIT, you say? That's right, no 18 to be found either, or at least not easily. There are TWO baskets marked 17 about 50-60' apart, though, across the road from each other. Final impression: it's an ok course (albeit confusing and mildly frustrating) and it's worth a play if you're close, but don't make a day trip for it. We've got much better courses 15-20 minutes away.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Canby West Is A Work In Progress!

1    7/15/2013   8/18/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not being a local, I'm unaware of the neighborhood problems. But I am already seeing some signs of building a course in this city type environment . The # 1 basket is already dented up. Before putting any signage in, think long and hard about making them vandal proof. Go for simple heavy duty engraved metal signs rather than pretty carved wooden ones or the traditional fiberglass signs. Those signs would get trashed here.

# 4 was an uphill toss with the big log in the way, The basket was sponsored by Disc Nation. Thank you Disc nation. I liked the basket area around # 5. It was pretty.

I thought # 13 was the signature hole on the course. A simple little 200 downhill ACE run.
Cons: Course need a lot of work still. Will get better as paths and routes are worn and easy to follow.

Signage or lack there of.

Tough neighborhood. Vandalism will be a constant problem. Plan for it and take steps to overcome it.

Natural tee pads aren't the best.
Other Thoughts: You're off to a nice start with Canby West DGC. Dealing with the teen vandals will be frustrating for both the players and the course designers. Go for industrial strength signage over pretty. You'll be glad.

Good luck with your battle.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Average 18

1    8/14/2013   8/14/2013
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 41  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, i have to commend the people who established this coure the area where this course is not the best area and neither was the park, however the troublemakers that used to hang out here are gone. I think that this is because of disc golf. Great job locals!

Variety- hole distance varied from about 200-450 ft. You have to be able to shape your lines and execute some different shots in order to score well here. There are some open holes, however none really entirely open holes, depending on what you consider 17 and 18. I think this aspect of the coursw is solid. All holes have multiple teepads and some have multiple pin placements.

If i was giving a rating for soley how they used the land they were given it would totally be a five. They turned a somewhat marshy, small plot of land where gangs used to hang out and made it into a solid course. You have to take the course for what it is and appreciate the fact that there is alot of work put into the course.
Cons: Navigation- it is somewhat difficult to find the course and signage on the coirse is relatively non existant

Stone dust/ gravel teepads - these do not provide great footing but are better than. The natural teepads that most holes have

No signage- some holes you could not see the basket nor would you know the distance making disc selection more complicated than it should be.

Tee markes are painted rock and sometimes hard to spot, especiall on the field holes
Other Thoughts: Overall canby west is a solid expanding course that i hope to return to

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Rough at present

5+    7/19/2013   7/25/2013
Review By: bnbanbury
Played: 39  Reviewed: 15
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Several very decent holes sprinkled thoughout the course that i enjoy. 17 is a unique hole with a challenging green that uses the creek well and 18 is a sold par 4 finishing hole.
Cons: -Natural tees are tough and leed to a lot of frustrating slips on runnups.
-Navigation is tough without signage and i found that when i came back to play here even after playing it twice i was still wandering around.
-the pins are difficult to see in the woods and the majority of the woods holes are blind shots which i don't enjoy very much. i would much rather a designer present the challenge to a player than create a layout that leaves new players to the course guessing at lines and distances.
-O.B. is very arbitrary in several places with OB creeks that in many other places would be considered casual.
Other Thoughts: To be honest i haven't enjoyed my rounds at canby very much. However, this review is not an indication that i have written it off by any means. I think that the course has the potential to be a solid 3 and maybe a 3.5 as it continues to improve and develop and i will update my rating as the course improves. Tees and signage with accurate distances would improve this course a great deal and the removal of some trees to give holes like 3 a reasonable fairway would help as well. I will continue to check in here and play a round every once in a while and hope to see it on par with the area's other courses.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A good Effort

1    7/14/2013   7/14/2013
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 62  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging, 18 hole layout in what is primarily a technical course located in a decent-sized city park in Wilmington. All holes have working baskets and have multiple tee pads and/or possible pin placements. Good use of elevation and water presents a challenge. Navigation is becoming easier as the course gets worn in. Some holes have log benches for rest. Holes 6, 13 and 17 were standouts.
Cons: Course still very much a work in progress. Natural tee pads at most holes. No signage to speak of as of 7/13/13. More and nicer "next tee" signs needed. Course is a marshy mess in some areas and travel can be impacted. Some safety issues- the high wire log on 6 is great until someone falls and kills themselves- a viable, alternate path is needed. More trees need to be cut down on 3, currently a pinball hole. Clean-up still needed- I found used condoms, a dime bag and bottles during my rounds. No amenities like bathrooms or water fountains.
Other Thoughts: It is tough to rate this course. The layout itself rates at least a 3.5, yet many other elements of Canby warrant a much lower score. Canby West is an honorable attempt to bring the sport into a non-traditional environment and at the same time minimize park riff raff. However, to enjoy it here, one must embrace the city element of the area and surroundings. It is not the easiest place in the world to find (there is no sign at the entrance to the park, for instance) and though the park feels safe, this isn't an area in which many would feel comfortable stopping for directions. The peaceful, quiet elements of the sport will not be found here as blaring salsa/rap music and general foot/auto traffic are ever-present.

While I think the course is fair and balanced, I do not care for the multiple areas of the course where two inch deep water from a tributary constitutes out of bounds. This comes into play on numerous holes and in my opinion should be treated as casual.

Canby is a legitimate venue to test your skills and presents a unique playing experience. The Delaware guys are dedicated and no doubt will continue to improve the course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Interesting wooded course

5+    6/16/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: Jblevins
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Now a full 18 holes......Fun wooded course that does not get repetitive like many other courses. Tight fairways and can easily find trouble but tests a variety of shots. Length is reasonable for beginners but long enough on most holes to throw a full drive. Pin position variations create interest.
Cons: Lack of signage installed yet can make navigation difficult. Tight wooded course can be difficult and frustrating for beginners who go off course.
Other Thoughts: Good compliment to the nearby hills, wind and open fields of Brandywine. I've played courses all over the country and I find these two as good a pair as any.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

As of 11/19/12 (8/31/13)

2-4    11/19/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/1/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Makes excellent use of the available land, offering a good variety of shot-shapes from the long tees.
Cons:
Tee pads are a mixture of natural, gravel-filled/wood-framed (~5'x10'), or whatever surface happens to be available.

Flush-to-ground tee markers difficult to spot, lack of next-tee signs make the map a necessity for the first-time/infrequent visitor.
Other Thoughts:
The course plays into, out-of, and within a small portion of woods (mostly mid-sized hardwoods), and its bordering open space, in a decent-sized city park. Two small streams wend their way through the woods, adding to the scenery - and challenge, as several baskets are located somewhat near them. Elevation change is subtle/minimal, except for #6, with its elevated tee, narrow, tree-lined fairway, and basket sitting 260' away, downslope and across one of the streams.

Two tee locations on six (1,3,4,5,9,10) of the current ten holes. From the short tee locations, the ability to throw ~250' straight will suffice on most holes, with a few requiring right-turns. The long tees add, on average, about 160' per hole, and introduce a couple of left-turns into the mix. About half the holes are fairly open, but not in their entirety, and the wooded holes offer quite reasonable throwing lanes.

Favourite hole: #10. Open and down a slight slope for most of its length, near the end one of several gaps in a row of hardwoods must be breached to reach the basket, sitting in the middle of a peninsula formed by the two small streams.

As of today, the course is certainly worth consideration if in the area. If the plans to expand to 18 holes (of similar quality) and improve the tees/signage come to fruition, this course will definitely be worth a stop when nearby.

Update 8/31/13:
Now 18-holes, adding even more wooded challenges. With the updated map, "next tee" signs, and limb-lined walking paths between most holes, the designers are making a strong effort to make this course as easy to navigate as possible. Still a bit rough and containing a lot of trash, sign and tee improvement would help raise this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/11/2012   11/11/2012
Review By: dmcbride8
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes, a majority are in wooded areas but several utilize the minimal open space available. Even though a city course a few holes are decent length, with a few having nice elevation changes. Par three course that is challenging for a new player such as myself. Compared to Bellvue, another local par three course, I found Canby more difficult. Being a Wilmington resident it's great to have a course in the city. Even though its takes me the same amount of time to get to Brandywine Creek it's fantastic to have another option so close to home. Despite only being ten holes this is definitely a legitimate option when deciding which course to play. I've only played Canby twice but I will certainly return in the near future. It's a quick ten holes, but the differing layouts of each hole keeps things fun and interesting. Considering the area they had to work with, the designers of the course did a really good job. The course is free and parking wasn't a problem, those are two big pros in my book.
Cons: Chief complaint, as with many courses, is the lack of signage. Almost none of the tees are clearly marked, making it a rough go for first time Canby players. Even though the area is relatively small it was difficult to find my way around the first time I played. Make sure to at least draw yourself a map before trying Canby for the first time. I'm sure this will improve when they add the 8 new holes, making this a complete 18 hole course.
Other Thoughts: It's great to see a course in a city park and exposing the sport to many people that might not otherwise have the opportunity to play. I give a lot of credit to those who successfully pursued the building of this course. You have done a great job. I was surprised to hear that Canby even had a course, and was pleasantly surprised when I actually played. Thank you.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A Work In Progress

1    8/27/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: GMarlin13
Played: 45  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Manageable holes
-Variety - straight shots, downhill, over streams, bending through trees
Cons: -Not Complete
-Tee pads at half the holes, no markers for the next hole or where the course starts( first left you can make after the park entrance, park on side of the road, hole 1 is next to a stream near a bridge)
-Not your typical Disc Golf environment, inner city hoodlums playing basketball and looking shady in most of the park
Other Thoughts: Luckily, I ran into 2 people who knew the course. Without them, it would have been difficult to navigate. Big thanks to Jen and Mike! They told me if you are from out of the area like I was, Delaware Disc Golfers has a facebook page and if you post on there, someone will meet you and help you navigate this course and also recommend other local courses. This place is a work in progress and will be much nicer next season, I'd recommend it, but only if you have someone with you who knows the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 urban gem that is just getting better

5+    5/15/2012   5/15/2012
Review By: DiscBunny
Played: 122  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly wooded but still diverse and beautiful. Well used stream throughout the 10 hole course. Both short and long tees on all holes. Course has progressed considerably in a few months.
Cons: If you don't know where you are going, you may have a little trouble finding some of the hole to hole transitions. No signage yet. One of the stream crossings is challenging.
Other Thoughts: It's great and uncommon to have urban disc golf. Can't wait for the Delaware Disc Golfers to complete this to an 18 hole course. My personal rating of the course rating will no doubt increase as the course continues to develop.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.