Lansing, WV 
Ravens Ridge Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit   (Taken 7/2012)
View from the trail of the path from 2 to 3

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Gorge-ous Course

1    5/16/2015   5/23/2015
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 205  Reviewed: 200  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ravens Ridge is a fun nine-hole course. You can squeeze in a quick round here, or you can find yourself (like I did) stopping mid-round to soak in the amazing scenery just a throw away.
- Ravens has some fun and challenging holes. Test your skills on a tight, downhill throw (#4), a heavily-wooded mid-range hole (#5), a wonderfully challenging & the course's namesake hole #6, or a fun risk-reward closing hole (#9). These holes stood out for me, whereas some of the others were more of the filler variety.
- Course puts all the emphasis on accuracy. This course plays exclusively in the woods. If you can't hit your lines, an otherwise seemingly easy course will prove frustratingly difficult. Hit your lines, and you'll see plenty of putts for birdie throughout your round.
- For such a short course - average hole length is 193 feet - this course does offer a fair amount of challenge. Some of the fairways are on the narrow side; however, with the holes being playable with a mid-range or putter, I feel they were appropriate. If they were any wider, this course would lose most of the challenge and turn into a simple birdie-fest.
- Good risk/reward course, again due to the fairways and number of trees. Take a downhill hole, such as the short hole - #4 (154 feet) or #7 (194 feet). You can get aggressive and make a run at the baskets. You hit your line and you're looking at an ace run or birdie. You're slightly off-line, and you're taking your chances with which way a disc will bounce off a tree. I saw one fortunate bounce and one bad-luck bounce off the trees here, resulting in a two-shot swing.
- Let's be honest, the appeal of this course has nothing to do with these nine holes. If it weren't for being part of Adventures on the Ridge and just as important, having the amazing view of the New River Gorge and its bridge, this course would be an afterthought. Take both of those things out of the equation, and I doubt many people would drive this far out of the way to play here. That said, the facilities here are top-notch. The scenery of the Gorge; however, are even better.
Cons: Nothing major wrong with the Ridge. For such a small plot of land, they pack in as much punch as could realistically be expected. That said, here were the couple of things to point out.
- It took a little bit of time to actually find the course once my buddy and I got to Adventures. There's signage for everything else at the property (restaurants, cabins, specific adventures, etc.), but nothing for disc golf. It took several minutes to track someone down who actually knew where the course was. Once we got there, the signage to the course was pretty poor.
- The course is either confused as a walking trail, or it intermingles with a trail. I say that because during my round, the only people I ran into were people walking their dogs on the course. I bring it up more as a word of caution than as a point of contention.
- There was too much clutter on the holes. I get the designers were trying to be creative by having various objects on holes to add to feel. On several holes, there was way too much of it, to the point, it felt like it was trashy. Speaking of trash, for being in such an amazing part of nature, I was disappointed by the amount of trash (bottles, beer cans) on the course. I'd expect sportspeople, even disc golfers, to respect the land. Also, I hope people don't try to chuck discs off the overlook.
Other Thoughts: Ravens Ridge was a nice nine-hole course. It was slightly above average in my book, but nowhere close to its current 3+ rating on the site.
- I wasn't a big fan of the hole nicknames. Each hole had a nickname, all of which were bird related. I get giving the toughest and best hole the Ravens Ridge signature title, but when you're giving a hole name 'Rockin' Robin', the creativity is running dry.
- This course could be good for a quick round. I spent more time at the overlook between holes #2 & 3 than I did actually playing. That said, not that it was difficult to find, but I was a little surprised the gorge overlook didn't have better signage. There's only one trail leading to the overlook, but, I could see somebody being totally clueless about that view and totally missing out on it.
- This course is best played by leaving the bag in the car and just carrying a couple discs. I carried three with me, and that was even one too many. Two mid-range discs were all I needed.
- Decent course overall. If it weren't for the view of New River Gorge or its proximity to Wonderland, I'd never had made the trip here. If you don't care about the other stuff, you will find comparable nine-holers all over the place, so you can save yourself a trip.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ravens Ridge

2-4    7/12/2013   7/12/2013
Review By: DaDiscDude
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Free
-Variety of shots, hyzers, anhyzers, and straight shots
-Go behind the hole 3 tee, and you have a beautiful view of the new river gorge
-Birdie opportunity on hole 5, where it says par 4
-The course has little items like tire caps, kayak parts, and little knickknacks that gave the course character, look around and see what you can find
-Practice basket
-Handy signs
-Innova Baskets
-Only 9 holes
-Difficult to find with given directions
-Hole 6 has a hill behind the basket, I learned the hard way
-There should be more signs telling you where to start
Other Thoughts: Wear jeans, you don't want poison ivy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    4/10/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: EvCal10
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery with clear pathways to follow hole to hole. Very short holes are good for beginners and fun for more experienced players with a chance for a hole-in-one. Right next to a gift shop that sells discs. Free to play.
Cons: Rubber tee pads are too short so running up is hard and fairways are very narrow so a lot of precision is needed. Also, this was the first time I have played anything but 18 holes because this course has only 9, they should add another 9.
Other Thoughts: Fun course for the whole family, I highly recommend it for any passionate discers in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/26/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: mbailey25904
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: >Great for bigginers like myself
>easy to find tees and disc
>great chances to score a hole in one
Cons: >hilly
>needs cans for trash
Other Thoughts: >great place to learn how to play
>just started last week ans truly enjoy the exercise from playing
>needs more holes

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Farewell Flying Squirrel

1    11/17/2012   11/18/2012
Review By: knettles
Played: 77  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well thought hole placement. Has uphill, downhill, hyzer, and anhyzer.
-Solid, visible Innova baskets.
-Some slightly difficult wooded fairways.
-Rubber teepads provide good traction in the dry (haven't experienced in wet conditions).
-Easy to follow path.
-In a cool location. (New River Gorge rocks!)
Cons: -Not much room for big open drives.
-A couple tees didn't have much room for a run-up.
-Rubber teepads may get slippery when wet. Not sure on that one.
Other Thoughts: I was really close to giving this a 3, but variation is really important to me. The holes do vary some, but they're all wooded, and mostly pretty short. I know that's the land they have and there's not much they can do about that, but it still matters. If they put another 9 in, and especially if there were some longer shots, I would definitely give it a 3 or 3.5.

Also, there used to be a course across the street from this one called The Flying Squirrel. They tore it down (I believe to install something else) and rebuilt it here. While it is sad to see one course die, it has been reborn as an equally good course. If you're in the area, play a round, have a beer, and enjoy the view of the gorge.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great wooded course!!!!!!

1    8/11/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: theotus
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is laid out upon a view-esc ridge that over looks the new river. Our group played all holes as a par 3. Nice elevation changes. We had a guide (Scott Emory, the designer) so we were taught about the holes and the development of the course. Off of hole three there is a clearing with the best view i've seen on the area. perfect for getting your game face on....
Cons: With all the land surrounding this place, I'd like to see an installation of 9 more holes.
Other Thoughts: Special shout out to Scott Emory. You are the man for your hospitality. Thanks alot for showing my group a GREAT time...

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/10/2012   3/10/2012
Review By: snoogenz569
Played: 93  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ravens Ridge is a great little course.
The holes are mostly short but dont let that fool you, it can be pretty challenging.
There are a few elevation changes to keep it interesting.
The fairways are pretty solid but there are several trees to hit.
Good mostly even rubber tee pads.
The course is free to play and has the most amazing views i have ever seen on a disc course.
About 150 feet behind hole 3's tee pad is a rock point overlook, its an expansive view of the New River and the New River Gorge Bridge.
The basket for 6 is on hill, over drive or go deep on a putt and you'll be sorry.
The trails are wearing in nicely and there are little paths here and there.
The drives mostly demand accuracy instead of power, which is good for a lot of players.
Improvements are constantly being made by the awesome local community.
Overall the course is very fun to play, they did a good job of designing with the small amount of land they were given.
If your live nearby or just love disc golf you should check it out.
The course is actually on an adventure resort, on the new river gorge.
Cons: The holes are mostly short, it would be nice to be able to let loose on a hole or two.
The trail from parking lot to course can actually be dangerous, very slick when wet. I have seen a few people take a digger.
There are no maps for the holes, which will make it difficult for first timers on a few holes.
No distance signs either.
Only 9 holes
Other Thoughts: The best part about Ravens Ridge is the die hard local community. A good bit of us have put a lot of our own time building and improving the course.
There are so many friendly people to play with and little knick knacks hidden all over the course.
Don't be surprised if you see a herd of people throwing, the games can get pretty big.
You need to check this place out and throw a few rounds.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Raven's Ridge Rules

1    2/18/2012   2/20/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 861  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Rubber teepads are in decent shape and are better than dirt and mud in the woods.

2) All sorts of little figures and such hanging in trees and in hollowed out cuts . .. not sure this benefits the disc golf but it sure made me laugh multiple times.

3) Nice covered area with a firepit and benches by #9 . . .it looks like a good place to spend an entire day if you ask me . . . play a round every so often and relax when not throwing the plastic.

4) Parking lot has plenty of parking by the Adventure Ridge place. I had no idea if I was ok to just go play or not, but it was late and the sun was going down so I just played as quickly as I could. I did drive like 25 miles out of the way to be the first person to review this course. I have an illness!

5) Nice new Innova Discatchers are always welcomed on a wooded course like this . . . it makes it so much easier to pick out the basket in the woods.

6) The fairway falls away to the left side of a handful of holes on this course. Hit a tree and kick left . . . you might have to just toss back to the fairway. You could go way down the hill if you aren't careful. It's hard to not try and park the drives, but sometimes maybe playing placement golf might be smarter!

7) Little 3" x 3" squares on the trees by each tee. You shoudl not lose track of what hole you are on so the signs aren't essential but at least they did something.

8) Leaves create a nice cover for the soil under the trees. If the leaves disappeared this might be a tougher walk when wet.

9) Incredible scenery around this course. The bridge over the massive river gorge is amazing. Standing within a few feet of a basket you can hear and see the river below rushing loudly. The drive from here to Charleston, WV is incredible if you take the backroads. . .9% grades, hundreds of switchback and a 1 lane road where if you have a passing vehicle you need to pull off to the side . . . someone is at risk of going off the edge. Again not part of the course but it helps leave an impression.

10) Garbage can at the entrance to the course and a few homemade benches or places to sit throughout the course.

11) Practice basket is even available but there is no flat 30' putt to be had . . . I suppose it is preparing you for the putts you will likely have . . . uphill, downhill, and guarded closely by trees.

12) Beginner friendly for the most part because the holes are no longer than about 280' even though they are wooded . . . beginners won't get too frustrated with the game because of some tree kicks.

11) Decent variety in shots needed. There are a couple straight shots, some that force a turnover or a flick, and a couple of gentle hyzers.

Cons: 1) Distance variation is only minimal. Most holes are in the 150-225' range and all have a lot of woods on them so you end up playing more placement golf than strictly throwing drivers. Lots of mid-range driving needed to score well here.

2) No tee signs to show you the hole specifics . .. while they are all short I still like to see an effort into laying out the hole for first timers. I know this will probably be taken care of over time since this is a brand new course but I have to review it based on the conditions I noticed when I played.

3) A little repetetive . . .while they are all fun shots, the course just feels like 9 slightly different holes.

4) Dangerous in a couple spots due to overthrows or bad kicks off trees.

5) Although the leaves create a pretty good cover for the soil, there are a few spots that might be especially susceptible to mud and compaction issues.

6) As it sits right now the course could use a little more cleanup. Trees and brush that was cut down might still be in your way if slightly off line. Again as far as I can tell any of these maintenance issues will eventually be taken care of as it looks to have a decent local crowd who would play here. Plus the property is so small it wouldn't even be that much work to make it perfect!
Other Thoughts: This was a fun short wooded course with absolutely incredible scenery. The disc golf was fun and still somewhat challenging, the design was pretty good for the small parcel of land they had to use, and the construction seemed adequate. I had a lot of fun squeezing in this course before the sun went down. It was my 20th state played, but the reason I came here is partly because it hadn't been reviewed yet. This course is by far one of my top 10 for 9 hole courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.