York, NE 
Mincks Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: 888HUSKERS Hole #1 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 265ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
young course

1    3/29/2014   3/29/2014
Review By: bigchiz
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 18.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Played on a windy day and had opportunities to throw with the wind from the right, back, headwind and left.
Cons: The discatcher tops are chipped and rusting. Trees do not come into play very much as they are young. Some of the tees are too close to the previous basket for safe league and tournament play.
Other Thoughts: When the trees are bigger this will be a very nice course to visit.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Open..............

1    9/4/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Discatchers are new and in good shape
-Holes are marked by a wood post
-Small elevation changes can make a hole a little more fun
-Right next to aquatic center and apparently they sell discs.
-A few ace runs
-Probably won't get used much at all. Small town with 2 courses.
Cons: -Extremely open. No shot shaping required at all.
-No wind block in Nebraska. Not a good plan
-Not a lot of parking by hole 1.
-Long open holes aren't very fun.
-Tees are natural and kind of lumpy
Other Thoughts: This course was very disapointing for me. It had a 3 disc rating and that is a pretty solid course. This course is nowhere near that. Mabye in 15 years with concrete tees, larger trees, signage, alternate pins and a few other updates it could become that. Wide open fields are generally not good places for disc golf courses. This course had a very low fun factor for me. The course at the College in town has a lot of potential that this course could never have. I probably won't play this course again unless I am in town and stop to check on the progress of the York College course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 9 Hole Family Course

1    7/8/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: DrumPhil65
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairways and path from basket to next tee are mowed, so the course is extremely easy to follow. The rough is prairie grass, but is thin enough that it is usually easy to find discs pretty quickly. The main difference between holes is length, as the holes are pretty wide open. But the lengths do vary enough to call on different throws. Some of the trees are getting big enough to require mild shot shaping.
Cons: There are no truly wooded holes, nor any water or significant hazards in play. That is good for players just learning the game, but makes it a little too easy for experienced players. The grass tees are also a little lumpy, though playable. Cement tee pads and more trees are really needed for this course to rate a "3" (in my opinion). Proper tee signs showing the hole length would be a nice addition.
Other Thoughts: Points made by the first two reviewers are all accurate, so I won't repeat them. This course is well suited to a family or casual round, but does not yet have features to challenge an advanced player. Kudos to York for making a good start. Keep making improvements and develop this course into something that will attract more visitors.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 9 Holes by the waterpark.

5+    4/24/2012   1/9/2012
Review By: JAAAKE
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/25/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 9 Holes.
Solid baskets.
Good signage.
Close parking.
Good overall flow.
Slight elevation changes.
Has an extra long hole.
In a few years it will have good trees.
Next to a water park.
Cons: New trees are not in play yet.
Tees are un-level grass. (they plan to pour concrete)
Not very exciting/challenging.
No restroom.
Hole 7 is par 3 -- 548 feet.
No wind block.
Other Thoughts: *updated* Now 9 holes. Great to play with my friends and wife on calm wind days. I enjoy the added length of hole 7 and 8 to practice longer drives. If the city doesn't start leagues we will likely do our own handicap league. I'll add info as I receive it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mincks DGC Review

5+    12/25/2011   1/1/2012
Review By: 888HUSKERS
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 44 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful wide open spaces here with plenty of room for error. I would recommend this course to anyone working on driving because there is little to no way you are going to loose a disc out here.

Brand new Innova disc catchers make it easy to see the baskets at distance especially on holes 7 and 8 which are 548 feet and 414 feet respectively.
Cons: Lack of mature trees around the course. They have grown a few more feet and become a little more of a thought while throwing but they are not a major factor in the game yet.

No tee pads yet but the director of the city parks department said they will be installing some of the tee pads within the next year.

All 9 baskets are in!
Other Thoughts: This course has some good potential once the trees are grown to become a challenging course for the average thrower. As of right now the trees are so young that they are not a factor. The biggest factor you do have to deal with is wind because there is NO wind brake anywhere so if it's windy at your doorstep and you go to this course you might be throwing into a 20-30+ mph head wind.

Holes 7 and 8 will humble you on a windy day but add some challenge to work on those big distance throws. When the wind is at your back from the North hole 7 is a blast but hole 8 is a pain. When the wind is out of the South its the other way around but it helps average out your score regardless of the wind direction.

I personally can't wait till they add some better tees to this course with updated par information. The current sign at the beginning of the course was made before holes 7, 8, and 9 were added so it says that all holes are par 3 still which hole 7 certainly is not but that is one of the best things about holes 7 and 8 is their distance.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.