Lompoc, CA 
Beattie Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #8 (Taken 1/2013)
3 / 246ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
This Course Designer And I Think Alike!

1    8/29/2016   8/29/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1006  Reviewed: 956  Exp: 38.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beattie Park is a nice sized city park with lush, green grass and gently rolling hills. The back nine plays up in the less maintained area of the park. This area is brown but features a fairly tasty hill for your discing pleasure.

The front nine mostly plays around, up and down the large grassy bowl as you enter the park. The course has nice patio block pads which are then held secure by a wood framework. The par and dustance are sketched into one of the patio blocks. Each basket position the hole has means another patio block is sketched. Some holes have four positions, others may just have one. The baskets are Chainstars with the # in the middle. There is a kiosk at the beginning and on it is a bar code thing where you can scan the map to your phone. My cord from home didn't quite reach.

The front nine is a little easier than the back nine. There are more open holes. I think this nine plays as decent recreational course while the back nine is probably intermediate level. This is no beginner course with holes like # 7 playing up to 410' slightly uphill and with a nasty little gorge on the right side.

The back nine features two great "Top of the World" type holes. # 13 tees it up from a wonderfully constructed tee box set up high on the side of a large hill. The basket is either 310' or 360' and needs you to throw your tee shot between two clumps of trees and then have it fade right toward the end.

# 18 is a straight down the tree covered hill to a basket 385' down there. The trees are small but can still affect your drive. And there are amazing views of Lompoc proper from both pads.

There a couple Mandos which totally change your choice of throws. I think it's # 15 which plays 250' to 345' straight up the hillside but the Mando here forces you around a tree near the top. This forces you to try landing past the Mando and then an approach shot to the basket.

I loved that the course designer seems to like, really like, throwing downhill. At least nine holes are downhill shots and a only a couple have you throwing uphill.
Cons: Fairly strong wind at 7:30 in the morning.

When I arrived about 6:30 AM, the gate was locked! The park employee showed up at 7:45 to finally unlock the gate. I was just finishing my round by then. Talk about non-friendly user hours!

I loved the etching on the patio block pads except for this: They were difficult to spot without a pole sticking up and when a hole had multiple basket positions, there was no way of indicating which position the basket was in today. There were a couple of next tee signs and they helped, like on the long walkout between 9 & 10.
Other Thoughts: This course just might have gotten in my head, a little. First, I was sneaking in and playing it an hour before the park opened. Arrested for trespassing, anyone? Second, was when I saw the warning sign for Poison Oak. I sure as hell wouldn't recognize Poison Oak if it poison Oaked me and third was when I keep seeing warning signs for Rattlesnakes! Multiple warning signs for rattlers? Must be a serious problem here. So how can anyone expect me to score well on this course. I had way too many things on my mind and therefore shot a 37 over par 92! Only kidding, I'm not that bad!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Hillside Park with a View

1    12/17/2015   2/15/2016
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 86  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Free park & parking
- Bathrooms in site
- Concrete and or brick tees with distances etched in the tee pad
- Multiple pins placements
- Landscaped fairways
- Elevation changes throughout course
- Bulletin Board at hole 1
Cons:
- Free park & parking
- Bathrooms in site
- Concrete and or brick tees with distances etched in the tee pad
- Multiple pins placements
- Landscaped fairways
- Elevation changes throughout course
- Bulletin Board at hole 1
Other Thoughts:

This is the great course for intermediate players, yet fun enough to appeal to more advanced players. Changes in elevation and alternating pin positions add an extra element of difficulty to this shortish course. I thought the front 9 was too wide open and simple, the back 9 was much more fun. As others have noted, the directional signage between holes was pretty much nonexistent. If I hadn't followed/stalked a group of locals the navigation would have been a lot more confusing, but not altogether impossible.

Beware, the parking lot is locked up at dusk, so make sure you finish your round early enough. The exit will be shut by a park municipality worker with you and your car still left inside. Don't get locked in like I almost did as it's more of an interpretation by the park municipality worker that an set time. My overall impression was that it's a "just passing through" type course that has a challenging back 9. I'd play it again if I was in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Weather, Nice Views, Fun Course

2-4    1/22/2016   1/31/2016
Review By: CIDG
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2016
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Beautiful course
- Great views of Lompoc/Central Coast
- Minimally crowded
- Tons of Mandos
- Great tee pads
- Great baskets
- Open, windy grassy front 9
- Wooded, line shaping back 9
- Holes up to 385 feet (Hole 18 downhill)
- Variety of shots required
- Decent bathroom facilities
- Incredible DG weather 90% of the year
- Plenty of parking
- Relaxed atmosphere in general
Cons: - Very isolated
- Requires a map
- Hole layout can be confusing (see above)
- Bathrooms are closed at times
- Minimal drinking fountains
- Pin layouts can be unclear
Other Thoughts: I would consider this course a hidden gem. It's possible to play here with flawless conditions by yourself. The tee-pads have footage listed, and are all very well maintained. The front 9 isn't very demanding; however, there is a near constant wind from the North-West blasting. Wind play is essential. There are also some nicely marked mandos throughout the whole course, making mundane shots a bit more technical. The back 9 wander into a developing woods landscape. Line shaping is essential. You finish the back 9 by making your way up a slope, finishing with a "top of the world" shot. It's a relatively untouched, well designed course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

plays short

1    2/13/2015   2/13/2015
Review By: LNcredible
Played: 36  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete teepads with hole info in cement. Low traffic. Nice mix of open fairways and uphill/downhill terrain.
Cons: Little difficult to navigate...recommend taking a picture of course map by hole one. A bit overgrown, but tis the season.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A bit repetitive, but fun

1    6/28/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is broken up into two very different sections. The front half is mostly open and plays on green grass fields with just a few scattered mature trees. There are some nice elevation changes on most of these holes, offering a couple valley shots and some tricky uphill and downhill shots with pins on roll-away slopes. This part of the course is very beginner friendly and nicely groomed.

The back half of the course is a little rougher and more technical. The fairways play on a hillside area with scrubbier grass and more trees. Most of these shots make you hit some kind of line to get near the pin, and a few have some good low ceiling shots required off the tee. Many of these holes are fairly level, but a few bring some bigger elevation changes into play with some tough uphills and a couple bigger downhill shots.

The tees are relatively small, but a fine surface and a reasonable size for most players. There are multiple pin positions on many of the holes, adding a little extra variety. I like the contrast of the easier front section of the course as a loop you can bring beginners to and the slightly tougher back half.
Cons: The signage needs some work. At the moment it can be tough to find the next tee in several places. On the holes with multiple pin positions, there's no indication of which is currently in use which means you have to walk up and figure it out anyway. There are a few spots where it's unclear which of a few baskets you're shooting at from the tee.

The back 9 has some spots where holes play way too close to one another for safety. The last hole is a fun downhill shot, but crosses other fairways and could potentially overlap with several others. The front 9 had some conflicts with other park uses that could cause safety issues on a crowded summer day.

I understand that the lack of trees on the front 9 makes it tough to force different lines, but the design could have made better use of the trees on the back 9 to balance that out. Most of the holes were pretty much straight ahead and didn't require much interesting or creative line shaping. That also means that several of the shots start to feel pretty similar by the end of the course.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find the front of the course very approachable and forgiving, and the back of the course tough but not frustratingly punitive. Experienced players won't find a ton of challenge here, it's a nice quick round with some fun elevation but you won't find your full range of skills tested.

There was lots of poison oak off the fairways in some spots, it wasn't an issue if you stayed on the fairways but it's something to be aware of.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great Hometown Course

5+    3/3/2013   3/9/2013
Review By: disc.golf.chic
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros:
* lots of variety on shots and shot selection.
* front 9 mostly open with a few trees to work around
* front 9 trees and a couple back 9 trees have recently been trimmed which should shave a few strokes off everyone's game
* the local disc golf club has been adding new pin locations (mostly back 9) to add variety and change difficulties
* bathrooms and water fountain accessible in the vicinity of holes #8,9,10
* can always find friendly locals and/or park host for help or information
* recently the map has been updated with the new pin locations for out of towners
Cons: Cons:
* each tee pad could use some signage, I know this will eventually be completed. This course is only one year old so improvements come along when it's in the budget
* maybe 5-6 trash cans spread out along the course could keep the litterbugs from leaving their water bottles and other drinks laying around
* there are a few holes with prominent poison oak
Hole 7, to the right in the ditch OB area
Hole 9, to the right in the ditch and bushes (OB)
Hole 17 to the left in the bushy OB area
* In the late summer and fall rattle snakes are present and nesting. I had the unfortunate and scary privilege of a disk landing over a hole and picking it up while a baby rattler was curiously checking out what hit his hole. I didn't get bit, but it scared me pretty good.
Other Thoughts: Other thoughts:
All in all this course is extremely fun and challenging, especially in the wind. The elevation changes a lot and there are many uphill and downhill shots. Great exercise. Beautiful views from some of the topside tee pads. (13 and 18 are especially nice) Summer the back 9 is dry and disc will skip more. Winter it's very green and beautiful. Front 9 is always green, due to being on a good watering schedule by the park. Come and play, you will come back for sure.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    1/7/2012   1/8/2012
Review By: ranchdip
Played: 37  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/1/2012
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Spacious, groomed city park with views and numerous facilities.
-First six holes are relatively wide open and beginner friendly.
-Tee boxes are well marked with distance to pin, no need for signs.
-Good use of roads and paths for OB options.
-Back 9 is very challenging, and requires several different shots.
-Free.
Cons: -First six holes are not too challenging for experienced players.
-Ocasionally on weekends players must skip #8 due to reservations at the Gazzebo/jumppy tent. Not that big a deal.
-Back 9 is strenuous if you're not used to it.
-"Don't mess with the rattlesnakes, they're covered with poison oak," Yomp.
Other Thoughts: THE BACK 9 IS IN! And it's more difficult than the front 9.
The first six holes go around the groomed, and lightly wooded, grassy hills.
Then the fun starts with technical shots between Mandos and poison oak. A plethera of different shots is neccessary to navigate the tight windows through/over/under/around trees. Lots of elevation changes as well; the rewards are the views from #13 & #18. Only drinking fountain is at the #8 tee box.
Play the front 9 to gain confidence; play the back 9 to lose it.
Rattlesnakes have been seen in hot weather, so be aware. More inprovements are on the way (signs, multiple pin locations etc.) If it's your first time at Beattie Park, then you should copy a map or follow some of the local Rocket City Chainbangers.
All in all, there's something for everybody at Beattie Park.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.