Disc Golf Store

Layout Extinct

Estero, FL 
Estero DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #13 (Taken 4/2012)
-- / --   3 / 251ft.   3 / 251ft.   3 / 251ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket To Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Eagles' Nest

2-4    3/18/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: SoulShineDad
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Several holes to air it out
-Variety of tee and hole layouts
- Challenging
- Nice park (includes dog park, soccer fields, Rec-center[Memebers only])
- Weekly meetings
- Challenging course
Cons: Challenging course
- Careful of the water on 7 off the mound....seriously...
- Tee boxes are lacking (old carpet/rubber/none)
- Lots of tight squeezes and fenced boundaries
Other Thoughts: I'm a complete amateur (started playing 2 weeks ago) but I am in love with my neighborhood course. The park-goers are friendly, the dog park is a plus etc.

There are roughly 5 holes where water will challenge you, and as many that require you to keep the disc in a very tight window. With that said there is plenty of holes that let you air it out.

The course could use some upkeep such as poured tee boxes and new hole indicators. Other than that it's a great spot.

**Be sure to print out a course map or get one from inside the rec center (located next to the 1st tee)**

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A work in progress

1    4/18/2012   4/19/2012
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 9.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Estero is a very challenging course that will require a number of different shots to complete as well as throwing a number of long distance drives. Has a few "Air it out" shots!

-Bathrooms are available in the rec center, and around hole's 9 & 10.

-I read where Maps were available in the rec center. I didn't go inside to check (There is a satellite map, and score cards available on the course files/links tab, as well as making a scorecard on the Hole Info tab.)

-Has a few risk/reward holes. *Mind the fence on #12.

-Healthy 300+ and 400+ foot distance shots

-It's not course I'd recommend for a beginner, but I wouldn't say they couldn't play here either. They would just have to tolerate some of the frustrations. They may want to opt out of the water holes and play a safer/shorter route on others.
*Beginner/Rec tees could very easily be incorporated into Estero.

-Paper Tee signs with maps and distance, as well as "Next Tee" signs to point the player to the next basket.

-Good pin locations with challenging fairways.

-Water comes into play on a number of holes, including one healthy water carry.

-The holes are long and give one a chance to shoot for some big distance shots

-Variety of hole types. Woods, Narrow, Open field, Water Hazards, and a big mound that comes into play. *Option to tee off on top of hill from Gold tee.
Cons: -Navigation wasn't extremely difficult, it wasn't easy either. There were some long walks between holes that just don't flow. In some cases we weren't sure where we were going. There are paper tee maps and "Next Tee" signs, but some holes could use a few more. In other cases, some had been blown off or were lying on the ground. Possibly adding a few more "to the Next Tee" signs would help.

-It does flow around the Rec center nicely, but that flow is occasionally interrupted by weird directional changes. It is what it is, but it can make a player unsure of where the next tee is.

-Tee pads are either rubber mats, strips of carpet, or use of the sidewalk. A few of the tee's didn't have a pad and weren't marked so we had to guesstimate.
*Note: I realize that concrete is expense, and that property owners may not want concrete slabs installed on their land. It could also be that the designers haven't reached the Tee pad installation stage yet. Remember that this course is still fairly new.

-It's located on a recreation facility, so that means you will have to share the fairways with sidewalks, pedestrians, kids, and other park goers. It's isolated for the most part, but does play near other park activities.
Other Thoughts: My experience here was met with mixed emotions. Though I had a good time, and I did enjoy myself, I felt as if the "fun factor" was diminished by certain factors. Now it did appear to me that this course may not be finished yet, as far as final tweaks go. This is normal with a course that has only been opened a short time. I feel like this course could definitely evolve into something fun, challenging, and something everyone could enjoy. There is definitely room for adding in shorter safe tee's for the beginner, casual, and rec players. This would be a great addition since this the only one of two courses in the immediate area.

I had no problem playing from the Am tees, and the Pro tees are something that could qualify them for bigger tournament events. I just don't think Estero is quite there yet, but that doesn't mean it won't arrive. Estero is off to a good start, despite the frustrations. Some of these could be limited to first time issues (e.g. Navigation) and those that don't quite have the arm for this kind of course.

I did enjoy getting to throw a variety of lines, and I think there is a great balance between long distance fairways and strategic fairways. It has something for a variety of different playing styles. I look forward to seeing what Estero does in the future. I hope to see some concrete tee's installed, better signage, and beginner tee pad locations. The potential is definitely there and I'm looking forward to playing there again.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good Variety

5+    2/26/2012   2/26/2012
Review By: rorymcd
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2012
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Now 18 holes, this course provides a great combination of water, elevation, BIG-air drives, and well-shaded wooded enclosures. The tee-box info cards also conveniently provide suggested approaches to the pin.
Cons: Some difficulty in navigating the front nine may occur for first-timers, and the "next hole -->" signs are a bit sparse. (best to print a map prior to playing). Tee boxes also need a more permanent layout.
Other Thoughts: This is a challenging course with plenty of water that will test the variety of your shot-cache. Don't forget to practice your Anhyser throws and bring some extra discs!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.