Layout Extinct

Estero, FL 
Estero DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #16 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 305ft.   3 / 378ft.   3 / 378ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Pro Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Don't waste a day of throwing

1    1/6/2014   1/6/2014
Review By: FlickinA
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The only pro I can think of is that someone took the time to put in baskets
Cons: I've never scene so many people doing 360's wondering what way to play. This was a total waste of time No signage Hole 1 has 3 scruffy pads all pointing in different directions I did walk the perimeter trying to figure out the flow Never could figure it out People in the park probably come into play on several holes Until someone confirms on this site that some thought & signage is put up, stay away. Not worth the time
Other Thoughts: Wish I could get the beautiful day back to throw some plastic on a worth while course

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Interesting course

1    11/16/2013   12/6/2013
Review By: mdjohnson14
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: All kinds of holes (water, hills, tunnel shots). Playing on the hills is a blast. Some challenging water holes but nothing too overwhelming. Really nice park and friendly staff.
Cons: Signs weren't up and not all tee boxes were clearly marked. Some of the tee boxes were in poor condition.
Other Thoughts: I wished I lived closer and was able to play more. I'm going to have to find more reasons to head over to the Ft. Myers area.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

No Signage!

1    8/2/2013   8/16/2013
Review By: PhatPatW
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This would be a fun an challenging course if you knew what hole you were playing. There is a variety of shots needed and I like the water hazards.
Cons: NO SIGNAGE! Ok I understand that your "privetly funded" Buy some duct tape and right #1, #2 on the basket so you know which one your shooting to then below the # put an arrow to where the next tee pad is. Simple! I was on vacation and listened to the reviews and ratings and wasted a good day of disc at this course.
Other Thoughts: Locals please put up some numbering!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Course is fair

2-4    7/14/2013   8/14/2013
Review By: boursin
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some open holes, some water holes, just some holes. Baskets are fine. Some good holes to huk on and some placement shots holes as well
Cons: NO teepads. What they have are horrible. very little flow to the course. It just is not an exciting course. Quite boring actually. In a large park with lots of foot traffic. Kids actually hanging off the baskets when were gettingready to throw.
Other Thoughts: Ok course no charge to play. Needs teepads and good signage. Not a bad afternoon just nothing to really get excited about

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    5/28/2013   6/5/2013
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Estero is a well maintained course that plays on mixed terrain around a large multi-use park. There was a good mix of everything here: some medium-high risk water shots, a little elevation, some big distance shots, and a couple shorter tunnel-type shots. The course moves back and forth through different shot types, so it stays interesting throughout. For an intermediate-level player, this course will test a good variety of your throws without punishing you too badly.

The course bulletin board/map makes #1 pretty easy to find. Follow the directions on this site and you'll be good.

Most of the course plays away from other areas of the park, so even though there are people around, nothing really comes into conflict with DG. This was a solid job by the course designers to pull off 18 holes like this.
Cons: Navigation is the most glaring weakness. The course doesn't really flow from hole to hole so this place needs 'next tee' signs badly. We took an iphone pic of the course map and used that throughout the round, and it was still tough to follow.

The water holes are pretty brutal on beginners. They require some controlled distance, and there's really no way to lay up and still maintain your self respect. My beginner-ish buddy lost 2 discs here.

Other reviewers already hit on the tee pads, they're not great but that's an easy fix.
Other Thoughts: I hit this place up while on vacation, and had a good time. The navigation issues weighed my rating down, but this is an easily correctable problem. There's potential for a 3.5 caliber course here with some basic improvements.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Eagles' Nest

2-4    3/18/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: SoulShineDad
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Several holes to air it out
-Variety of tee and hole layouts
- Challenging
- Nice park (includes dog park, soccer fields, Rec-center[Memebers only])
- Weekly meetings
- Challenging course
Cons: Challenging course
- Careful of the water on 7 off the mound....seriously...
- Tee boxes are lacking (old carpet/rubber/none)
- Lots of tight squeezes and fenced boundaries
Other Thoughts: I'm a complete amateur (started playing 2 weeks ago) but I am in love with my neighborhood course. The park-goers are friendly, the dog park is a plus etc.

There are roughly 5 holes where water will challenge you, and as many that require you to keep the disc in a very tight window. With that said there is plenty of holes that let you air it out.

The course could use some upkeep such as poured tee boxes and new hole indicators. Other than that it's a great spot.

**Be sure to print out a course map or get one from inside the rec center (located next to the 1st tee)**

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Promising but Incomplete

1    8/7/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Relatively new 18 hole course located in the well maintained Estero Recreation Center. Decent layout with challenging distances. Water incorporated into the layout. Baskets all work well and basic signage provided at most holes. Bathroom located on site and map available indoors. Course holds great potential.
Cons: No uniformity with tee pads; many are dirt, a couple are rubber and others yet have carpet placed by the tee area. The temporary, laminated signs are falling apart and need to be replaced. The numbers on some signs do not match the numbers on the corresponding baskets. Navigation a bit tricky and would be helped by more prominently placed "next tee" signs. Water hazards make disc loss a disinct possibility. No benches or bag poles anywhere.
Other Thoughts: Estero has many of the elements of a quality course, but currently needs much work to improve the playing experience here. Quality tee pads and top flight signage are musts for any highly rated disc golf course, and currently Estero has neither. Many "little things"- clearly marked pro/am tees, matching basket/hole numbers, benches, more navigational arrows, etc- must be addressed. The people who put this course together have their hearts in the right place. I'd be interested in coming back to Estero in 6 months to a year to see what improvements have been made.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A work in progress

1    4/18/2012   4/19/2012
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 10.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Estero is a very challenging course that will require a number of different shots to complete as well as throwing a number of long distance drives. Has a few "Air it out" shots!

-Bathrooms are available in the rec center, and around hole's 9 & 10.

-I read where Maps were available in the rec center. I didn't go inside to check (There is a satellite map, and score cards available on the course files/links tab, as well as making a scorecard on the Hole Info tab.)

-Has a few risk/reward holes. *Mind the fence on #12.

-Healthy 300+ and 400+ foot distance shots

-It's not course I'd recommend for a beginner, but I wouldn't say they couldn't play here either. They would just have to tolerate some of the frustrations. They may want to opt out of the water holes and play a safer/shorter route on others.
*Beginner/Rec tees could very easily be incorporated into Estero.

-Paper Tee signs with maps and distance, as well as "Next Tee" signs to point the player to the next basket.

-Good pin locations with challenging fairways.

-Water comes into play on a number of holes, including one healthy water carry.

-The holes are long and give one a chance to shoot for some big distance shots

-Variety of hole types. Woods, Narrow, Open field, Water Hazards, and a big mound that comes into play. *Option to tee off on top of hill from Gold tee.
Cons: -Navigation wasn't extremely difficult, it wasn't easy either. There were some long walks between holes that just don't flow. In some cases we weren't sure where we were going. There are paper tee maps and "Next Tee" signs, but some holes could use a few more. In other cases, some had been blown off or were lying on the ground. Possibly adding a few more "to the Next Tee" signs would help.

-It does flow around the Rec center nicely, but that flow is occasionally interrupted by weird directional changes. It is what it is, but it can make a player unsure of where the next tee is.

-Tee pads are either rubber mats, strips of carpet, or use of the sidewalk. A few of the tee's didn't have a pad and weren't marked so we had to guesstimate.
*Note: I realize that concrete is expense, and that property owners may not want concrete slabs installed on their land. It could also be that the designers haven't reached the Tee pad installation stage yet. Remember that this course is still fairly new.

-It's located on a recreation facility, so that means you will have to share the fairways with sidewalks, pedestrians, kids, and other park goers. It's isolated for the most part, but does play near other park activities.
Other Thoughts: My experience here was met with mixed emotions. Though I had a good time, and I did enjoy myself, I felt as if the "fun factor" was diminished by certain factors. Now it did appear to me that this course may not be finished yet, as far as final tweaks go. This is normal with a course that has only been opened a short time. I feel like this course could definitely evolve into something fun, challenging, and something everyone could enjoy. There is definitely room for adding in shorter safe tee's for the beginner, casual, and rec players. This would be a great addition since this the only one of two courses in the immediate area.

I had no problem playing from the Am tees, and the Pro tees are something that could qualify them for bigger tournament events. I just don't think Estero is quite there yet, but that doesn't mean it won't arrive. Estero is off to a good start, despite the frustrations. Some of these could be limited to first time issues (e.g. Navigation) and those that don't quite have the arm for this kind of course.

I did enjoy getting to throw a variety of lines, and I think there is a great balance between long distance fairways and strategic fairways. It has something for a variety of different playing styles. I look forward to seeing what Estero does in the future. I hope to see some concrete tee's installed, better signage, and beginner tee pad locations. The potential is definitely there and I'm looking forward to playing there again.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/28/2011   3/10/2012
Review By: parTake30
Played: 50  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: when i played this it was relatively new and was only 9 holes. a few holes were challenging and you had to make a nice shot. a couple holes you had to contend with ponds. there were a couple holes that were pretty much straight ahead of you.
Cons: first off, i played on a weekend and so no one was in the building. i walked around for 20 minutes trying to find the first hole. and as far as signage....none that i saw. the tee pads are weak, just a piece of rubber pad. i thought the layout was kinda stupid. theres a lot of walking between holes.
Other Thoughts: i would like to play it again, now that apparently its 18, and hopefully its marked better.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 F for now

1    2/21/2012   2/26/2012
Review By: kfellmy
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Length for the bigger arms.
2. Lots of very hard holes.
3. You need your "A" game here.
4. 18 holes.
Cons: 1. Too tough.
2. RHBH players will do okay here but if you throw forehand drives you will have trouble.
3. Wind-most of the navigation signage was blown down when I played the course. Very windy.
4. Worker in the building said the course is 9 holes, it is actually 18 holes.
5. Tee off areas are a joke. Call the concrete company as soon as possible.
6. Course map in the office helped but not much.
7. Navigation from hole to hole is horrid. No flow.
Other Thoughts: 1. I know everyone is going to hate my review, but I didn't like the course.
2. I reserve the right to change my review once the course is finished.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.