Le Mars, IA 
West Floyd Park Share



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 An absolute mess right now.

2-4    3/16/2014   3/18/2014
Review By: atkndfan
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: One of the few 18 holes courses within a reasonable driving distance for those living in the greater Sioux City area. A course map at the beginning of the course gives the layout pretty well, and a practice pin is located near the tee off of hole one for putting practice. The course is intended for beginners and lower level intermediates. Intermediates wanting reasonable attempts at eagle will find several opportunities to do so.
Cons: Heavy machinery has torn this course apart. The path left behind by this machinery, which cuts right through the middle of the course, is just sandy mud. Two pins, on hole 8 and I believe on hole 13, are severely damaged to the point of being unplayable. Two pads (holes 9 and 11) are just missing, possibly destroyed by the aforementioned machinery. There are maybe one or two holes that aren't straight or fade left. There are no alternative pad locations, and as far as I could tell on the hole signs no alternate pars, so this course will be way too easy for anyone who can throw around 300 and has an effective putting range of 30 feet.
Other Thoughts: This course has the potential to be a 2.0 or a 2.5, but in its current condition I cannot recommend it to anyone. With the extent of damage to the holes, pads and grass in general for a large section of the course, it will take some time before this course is back in good shape.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

5+    6/12/2013   8/4/2013
Review By: govigsfly
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 8/24/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Currently my favorite course. Great use of the area and a very good variety of shots. Mostly open shots with 1-2 obstacles per shot. The area is blocked from the wind too.
Cons: A few more shots in wooded area would be nice (though not really possible for the area) and need to watch out for throwing discs in river.
Other Thoughts: Too bad that due to flooding they had to take out some shrubs along the bike path that really effects the look (and a few shots) of the course. Still a real fun course but hopefully they will be able to replant.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ice Cream, No Cherry on Top!

1    10/3/2012   10/3/2012
Review By: musclehed03
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It IS the nicest course you will find in the 4 county area. pretty well kept up and neat. the baskets are nice. there is some longer shots on the back nine that require you to throw hard. all in all the course is pretty well laid out given the space.
Cons: Very repetitive holes. almost all of them are a hook to the left shot or some variation there of. If you are able to Hyzer or Anhyzer your disc then this course will not be a challenge. I had two of my mid-range shots on the baskets deflected off by the chains. may have been the throw I understand, but they are pretty well weighted chains so judge for yourself.
Other Thoughts: We also went on a day where there was a very strong wind, I liked that so as to be able to work on my technical game. So I would be eager to go and try this one again on a less gusty day. All in all, I will play this again as it is the nicest one within an hour drive of where I live.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great 18 for the area

5+    9/7/2012   9/7/2012
Review By: JaminLDC
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has an easy to follow course legend next to the parking lot with a great scorecard that has the layout on one side and score on the opposite. The scorecard shows scoring for both rec and advanced pars which is a plus considering the signs only show rec.

Good use of the area given by the city to install this 18 hole course. Also, the city does an outstanding job of keeping the grass mowed and looking sharp.

There is also a practice basket close to hole one to use when waiting for people to join you for a round. There are always people out playing this course at almost any point during the day probably because there aren't many 18 hole courses close by.

Good use of variation of holes and this course is very beginner friendly
Cons: Wish there were more obstacles. Most of the holes have the same type of shot accept of few, and mostly all in the open. This course is mostly directed at beginner to intermediate though some holes still take a bit of skill.

Needs more trash cans and some benches. Some of the trash cans are in weird places like tied to trees that are close to the pins. I have also notices quite a bit of yard waste that seems to be dumped into the trees by people living with their backyards connected to the course. A pretty big hassle if a drive ends up atop a pile of grass or twigs.
Other Thoughts: Great course to play if in the area with nice players that frequent the course often. There is also a disc club that puts on tournaments and offer league which makes it nice.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nostalgia

2-4    7/26/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: Atreyu
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I grew up in LeMars a long time ago and used to play soccer at this park back in the day. Circumstances brought me back for a few days so I decided to check out this park. The pros of the course are that it's very beginner friendly. There are very few holes that give challenge to those playing. There are a ton of ace runs, almost every hole. They made use of the space and seeing the river run around the outside of the course is nice. There is a trail going through the course, but I didn't see many people using it. The course is well kept and it's almost impossible to lose a disc while playing. The signage was on point. The cement tee pads are nice as well.
Cons: Having said all of that, the fact is this course is hard to keep intermediate or advanced players entertained. I found myself day dreaming after 8 holes. A lot of the holes are the same shot. I played only with a mid range and a putter. Trees should have been planted, or bushes, to make variant shots. There was a lack of garbage cans and benches, but you don't need them unless it's a busy day at the park. I was confused at a couple of points on which basket to throw to, especially after #8. You also have to beware of throwing errant shots into someone's back yard.
Other Thoughts: Although the nostalgia factor for me brought me here, it's not a course I would go out of my way to play. Judging by the map of courses around, there aren't many options, which kind of sucks if you are living there. I rated it as average.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad, lots of people

1    6/16/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 343  Reviewed: 338  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -18 full holes
-Nice tee signs with adequate information for finding the next basket and or tee.
-A nice mix of length. Some bomber holes but some other shorter shots that require you to hit a certain line.
-Cement tees
-Good locals here which are helpful and they have leagues and tournaments often.
-This part of the park is disc golf only except for the bike path which isn't really in the way
-A few holes are in the woods and many others border the woods or have a tree or two strategically placed.
-A bit of elevation here that is used well.
-This is a well maintained and clean city park. It should never be overgrown or unplayable.
-Nice baskets
-Practice basket at the beginning
Cons: -You could lose a disc, I found one and almost lost one.
-A few times you can see a few baskets and you don't know which one you are shooting at.
-Some of the holes are too open and don't really require a line outside of avoiding a few small obstacles
-Can be very crowded as this is the only course in town and the only 18 hole course for a while.
-Could get quite windy and buggy here. It is open and near water.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course but it did kind of get old towards the end. It was longer but still fairly open. Due to the length I would say this course plays to the intermediate level but a rec or beginner could handle it just fine. They might just have to throw some longer approaches. I would recommend playing here as it is the best course in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing upkeep.

1    5/7/2012   5/9/2012
Review By: ben1982
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with tons of space. Front nine are pretty much all simple shots with a few challenging shots on the back 9.
Cons: If you are looking for a place just to play and have fun, this is your course. If you are looking for the most challenging game of your life, Keep looking.
Other Thoughts: I will be back for this one.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/6/2012   5/8/2012
Review By: Discin'Pidgeon
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its very easy to locate the first hole right from the parking lot they have a big sign out front, and offer score cards with maps. there is a practice hole right by the first to get some warm ups in. As for the holes great variety of shots for most players and good length also. there are also some challenging skill shots that will test you. they do a pretty good job mowing, and keeping it looking nice
Cons: some of the back nine holes run along the backyards of houses so an errant shot my require some fence hopping.
Other Thoughts: Good course if you are an advanced player there is the option to play the pars differently (Par 4's to 3's, and 5 to 4) so its a good play no matter you skill level.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    3/25/2012   3/26/2012
Review By: wolf pack
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One of the only 18 courses in the area. The first five or so holes are lengthy and require good drives, with some of the later holes requiring some skill shots. The city is doing its best to maintain the course and looks great. There is a web site to the course that gives info on upcoming tourneys and other things
Cons: Maybe some more advanced disc golfers are looking for more variety in the holes. However, for most of the disc golfers in the area it should be plenty.
Other Thoughts: This course is one of the best in the area in all aspects in my opinion. There are different pars made for novice and advanced players located at the beginning of the course. If your in the area, this is a must play.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 decent 18 hole

5+    9/15/2011   1/15/2012
Review By: conroy_01
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: good course with concrete tee pads and good tee signs. well maintained. some nice long holes.
Cons: all open few obstacles. not too much challenge on most holes
Other Thoughts: overall decent course needs more obstacles and a few longer holes would be nice

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.