Kalamazoo, MI 
Oshtemo Township Park Share
Uploaded By: Mark R Hole #8 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 213ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Long Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Oshtemo

1    9/4/2011   9/12/2011
Review By: lazydisc
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good use of trees, to make the lanes wide yet very defined. Some very interesting twists and blind shots. Trees sometimes create unique hazards. Interesting tee offs with beautiful scenery. The playground/picnic area is nice to have when bringing non-players.
Cons: If we didnt print out the course map of this website, we would have been incredibly lost. Somewhat confusing layout. Two teepads per hole..and if your throwing from the long hole no way to see if anybody is throwing or sitting at the short hole. Trash, drunken locals, bugs. After awhile it feels like your playing the same hole over again.
Other Thoughts: I found the course interesting and challenging for the most part. But I'm so glad we printed the map for it. How trashed this course is..but i did see a couple that were nice, who were collecting enough bottles to purchase wine..

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not Too Shabby

1    9/4/2011   9/9/2011
Review By: chad groen
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2012
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Even though this course is in the middle of a heavily wooded area, it has some pretty good holes with green grass on the fairways. Each hole has two tee pads - a shorter location and a longer location (the tee pads, by the way, are in really good shape). I don't recommend using the ones in the longer locations unless you're a more advanced player. Not only are they longer but they normally offer narrower tee shots. Most of the fairways are kind of narrow, but there's still just enough space that players can realistically land there discs on them and avoid the thick woods surrounding them. Some holes have trees on the fairways that can set you up for some tricky putts and approach shots depending on where your drive ends up, so accuracy is pretty important with this course. A few holes have blind tee shots that make them a little trickier to play. Also, the woods in this area don't seem to have a lot of weeds or bushes, just a lot of trees, so it usually isn't too difficult to find your disc if it goes in the woods. For the most part, this course is in pretty good shape.
Cons: It isn't clear where you're supposed to go to get to the first hole. It took me a while to figure out I had to go down this walking path that looked like it was there for walking only (it didn't look like it would lead to a disc golf course). There usually are multiple paths at the end of the holes and it's not clear which one you're supposed to use to get to the next hole. Sometimes each one will take you to the next hole, but that's not always the case. For example, the path from hole 15 to hole 16 is kind of hidden. I accidentally took a different path that led me back to the parking lot. Some holes seem a little too open and could probably benefit from having a few extra obstacles on the fairway like trees and bushes. are Some of the tee pads were real dirty when I played there, as if mud had washed up on them after the last rain. There are a few areas where the woods near the fairways are so thick with trees that it can take a while to find your disc if it goes in there. Some areas have roots sticking out of the ground that you'll want to keep an eye out for. There is poison ivy near some of the fairways, and the mosquitoes can be real bad throughout the course. Unfortunately, this course has had some issues with vandalism. A lot of the signs are in bad shape because of that. Also, because this course is pretty flat and located entirely in the woods, there are some areas that can flood easily when it rains and the ground can stay muddy for a long time.
Other Thoughts: It seems like a lot of the wooded courses I've played in Michigan have extremely narrow holes with little grass on the fairways, and it isn't always clear where you're supposed to aim because of the high quantity of trees between you and the basket. Sometimes it's seems like your only option is to just throw your disc and pray to the gods of disc golf that it doesn't hit a tree or fade deep in the woods. That's not the case at all with this course. It may not look like a good area for a disc golf course, but the people who built it made some nice grassy fairways and designed some pretty good layouts for what is overall a well built course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Oshtemo= Good times

2-4    3/22/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: Emoney
Played: 59  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: So i was headed to meyer broadway in three rivers(2 of my favs) and i decided to go a little farther to the zoo and check out oshtemo,well im glad i did! This is a great, heavily wooded course, that has a very high fun factor. Most every hole is carved into the woods but has well defined grassy fairways that are fairly wide. Great use of trees to make you overthink your teeshots as well as approach shots.Baskets are well placed with some guarded and even a couple raised a few feet off the ground. There isnt a ton of elevation but they use it well. This course makes big arms want to try to birdie every hole but they will soon realize instead of getting birdies they are gettin bogies. Trouble if ur off the fairway but very fair landing zones. Holes seem purposely just out of reach. Best bet is to find the fairway with a mid, which makes for a fairly easy approach. Trees that are at risk of being hit in the fairway have plastic guards on them (great idea). The tees are huge slabs of concrete for both ams and pros. The tee signs are nice and informative but some show signs of damage. Trash cans on almost every hole.The baskets were in great shape. The course flow is awsome and i was able to find the next hole even though there was nothing showing me where to go. The course felt well broken in and was easy to navigate. All of the holes had purpose and made you throw every shot in your bag.The course was pretty busy for being a chilly day.
All in all i really liked this course,with good flow and pretty looking holes, it made for a fun easy goin round. If your near this course you should definitely play it.

This course would be the bomb for a best shot. One guy can put a shot in the fairway and one guy can rip a drive to see if they can reach those holes that are just out of reach.
Cons: My biggest con for this course is that the pro tee pads on most holes are almost directly behind the am tees,while this is normal,most trails leading to the next hole am teepad ,will put ams right in the firing range from people throwing from pro tees,the rough is so thick between holes that they most likely wont see it coming. I suggest if your in a group to have one person stand in the am trail leading to the tee pad, just in case.(i had casuals walk right in front of me to the am tee and not even look to see if someone was throwing from pro tee, dangerous)
Also this course was rather short but made you throw mid,mid,putt on alot of holes. It did feel like they should of added another 50+ feet to those holes to make those shots more of a challenge.
just a little repetitive.
This course also was very busy with "casual" players. It was a chilly day and i can only imagine what its like in the summer.
The holes also felt really close together which made u feel a little cramped sometimes.
Other Thoughts: This is a clean well layed out course that will help your line shaping game. Leave the nukes,boss,katana ect...at home cause even if there is a long hole , there isnt alot of room for the driver to work(bring your sidewinders,stalkers,teebirds for driving). Definitely a must play if your in the area and will make for a nice addition to other courses in the area(meyer broadway). The parking lot for the course is behind the fire station.

Get you sum oshtemo....u michiganders are lucky to have so many nice courses....get out and play em

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of Trees

1    5/27/2007   4/15/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2009
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: well laid out, scenic, dual tees, challenges for the left or right hander. You'll need every trick in the bag to keep your score low here.
Cons: could use a chainsaw, a bit too heavily wooded for my taste. a lot of finesse and/or luck needed to play here.
Other Thoughts: to be fair, we only played the front 9 on a dew soaked morning when we tried this course last year. We may need to take another trip down for a second look when the weather is nicer.

ADDENDUM: Since this review was first written, I've played this course a few more times, and while I still find this a bit too wooded for my tastes, I must say I do like the back 9 better than the front. Have yet to visit this park when it wasn't super busy though.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.