Kalamazoo, MI
Oshtemo Township Park Share
Uploaded By: Mark R Hole #18 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 222ft.   3 / 278ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Long Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
not bad

5+    6/8/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: DoobieDiscer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: nice semi wide fairways and open shots, followed by doglegs going each way, mostly wooded but par is managable on every hole with some skill, has 2 tees(pro/regular). easy course to walk an play on, might even see some box turltes scuttling around the pathways.
Cons: mostly wooded so you may be looking for discs if you hyzer it too hard. in the thick pines later in the round, be sure to check if its "floating" in a branch first...ive found more discs there doing that than looking on ground, most wooded areas arent so thick but are a pain in some shots.
Other Thoughts: great place to play, minimal trash, some cool artwork on the tee off areas and a practice putting area as you approach #1 which is nice, parking is readily available.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 popular course

5+    5/31/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: Red Wings Fan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging, long, cement tee boxes for longs and shorts, there is a great variety unless you want easy hole. elevation changes. accuracy is the key. lots of parking.
Cons: way to many people play the shorts and everyone gets backed up. tons of people. no water holes
Other Thoughts: don't mess up those woods on the sides for the fairway a rough to get out of and to find discs. this course will make you get better or make you broke. its in a college area so if you want to have a relaxed fun time play it early when there isn't a ton of people there yet

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course

1    0/0/0000   6/3/2010
Review By: Opus
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hands down, THE cleanest course I have visited. Extremely well maintained. No damaged signs/baskets. Brooms at the teepads.

Aside from the above, the course is extremely fun and offers a wide variety of different shots, though it does seem to use a lot of right hook designs.

Still being a beginner at the game of Disc Golf, I am trying to travel to area courses and have seen Flip City, Branstrom, Big Rapids, Hickory Hills (Traverse City) and pretty much any of the courses within a 30 mile radius of Grand Rapids. This will go in the top 5 of the courses I have played this year.
Cons: Wanted to play from the pro Tee Pads, but every time we tried, a group, or another player would walk up to the amateur tee pads and Tee off in front of us. The trails in the park seem to favor those pads and people don't tend to look to see if anyone is teeing off behind them.
Other Thoughts: Have I mentioned how clean and well maintained this park is?

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mastering the Sky

5+    3/2/2010   3/2/2010
Review By: Champion Ace21
Played: 26  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/16/2014
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Plenty of privacy (when it isn't busy)

- Unique holes ranging in distance, direction, and terrain give the player a challenge to stay consistent.

- Lots of fun doglegs resulting in a variety of approaches.

- The Pro and Am tees bring about two entirely different courses

- Not a course that one will consistently par or birdie each hole.

- Long cement tee pads for both Pros and Ams give player plenty of space to tee off.

- You have a small penis or a filthy c nt for wasting time voting on reviews
Cons: - Could use some nice benches

- Chances of losing a disc increase in the summer when foliage is thick

- Can get too busy in the later part of the day

- Homeless people turn over the trash looking for returnables for money and leave it scattered.
Other Thoughts: This is a course that is both challenging and rewarding. With the help of players to keep the course clean Oshtemo has the potential to become a top rated course.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    10/12/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: Merkaba311
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Pro and Am concrete tees. Both tees create completely different courses.

-Most holes are well marked at the tee.

-Fun layout. Lots of holes where an ace is possible with a terrific shot, and lots of holes where getting a 3 feels like a birdie. Great variety of holes that fit backhand and forehand shots.

-Holes are tightly packed together but separate. You can play quickly and you don't get tired out by the end like with a ski resort course.
Cons: -Mud. This time of year (fall) the course is constantly muddy and it's not just a pain when your discs land in it. It's like walking on ice in between some holes.

-Always busy. It doesn't necessarily bother me that it's busy, but that nobody around here seems to have heard of letting people play through or picking up a single. None of my friends disc golf so I always go out alone and hope to get picked up by a group. Sometimes they invite me to join, which I prefer. Rarely people will let me play through. Usually by the 9th hole I've spent more time waiting than I have playing. Not a problem with the course design, just something you have to consider when playing here.

-No alcohol allowed. Seriously wtf...disc golf without drinking is like hunting...without drinking. Do what I do and just make up a mixed drink in a pop bottle before you head out there. It's right behind a fire station and cops are always around so you can't be obvious about bringing drinks out.

-Most holes seem to follow a traditional golf design with "tight" fairways. It's a necessary evil because of the lack of land to use, but I'm used to playing courses with five different approaches to the basket instead of just one or two.
Other Thoughts: Fantastic course. The only things that are really wrong with the course are the things that have less to do with course design than they do the location and setting.

If you see a group of three or more guys with one disc per player, be prepared to wait.

If you see a group of three or more guys with tourney bags, be prepared to be impressed with their skills.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course

1    4/3/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: AWA05
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is my favorite course so far! I liked the variety and the seclusion. The concrete tee pads are great and the baskets are easy to spot, for the most part. I'm sure that the wilderness in the summer will be beautiful.
Cons: lots of heavily wooded holes and lots of trash, there were trash cans but all of them were over-full. Don't know if anyone is emptying them.
Other Thoughts: I'm new to all of this still....

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 amazing

1    3/17/2009   3/17/2009
Review By: dputt88
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: extremely well kept park, especially lovely concrete and level pro and am tees on just about every hole. proved to be a challenging course, but still lots of fun. mind blowing landscape.
Cons: missing a few signs and its a little hard to navigate.
Other Thoughts: incredible job on this course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    5/17/2008   6/17/2008
Review By: TimSyl
Played: 53  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2012
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course from the shorts, GREAT course from the longs. Excellent, big cement tee pads. Fairways are fair...good shots rewarded, poor shots in jail. Four straight holes, six right to left, eight left to right. Six holes under 300', three 495' or longer.
Cons: Very crowded when college students are in town...play early on weekends. Two "wishing well" elevated baskets are gimmicky.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.