Kalamazoo, MI 
Oshtemo Township Park Share
Uploaded By: Mark R Hole #10 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 389ft.   3 / 495ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Red/Short Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Choose Your Weapon Wisely

5+    4/16/2010   4/16/2010
Review By: NateDiscFlip
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Flip City/Idle Wild...been there...and they're awesome....however...test your game and be HUMBLED at Oshetmo. The course from the Ams is awesome and scorable...but....the longs...my opinon...it is the Most Competetive (not Toughest) course I have ever played....

Here's why...
1) Many Holes just long enough to challenge every player in the game.
2) Nearly flat ground
3) Somewhat narrow fairways
4) Roughs are so thick, you may just want to toss out safely and take the stroke...or chance it and add two or three more.
5) Luck is a major factor that plays into nearly every hole


Most difficult courses...I have played...have long holes...big scenary...major challenges...elevation issues...etc....

You want success at Oshtemo....Tee shot placement is critical....fairway shot critical....if you have the chance to putt after the first two shots...critical

Never expect a "birdie"....and ALWAYS Play for par on 4, 5(my opinion toughest hole which ironically looks easy), 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, &14

Next....Do not underestimate 1, 2, 3, 13, 15, 16, & 17(all birdieable...but beware....very boggieable too)

Good luck squeezing birds out of 6, 8, & 18
Cons: College kids and disc golf ettiquette do not mix....spring time before WMU gets out is probably the worst time of the year...the same in the fall when they come back to classes...these players are generally terrible...may be (overly)intoxicated...and come with women (bless their hearts...but generally are bad too)...and have never heard of doubles or scrambles or letting smaller groups play through....questionable days are good indicators you will run into less of these morons who are bored of playing beer pong...and would rather come out and play only to slow down your round....which is sometimes best played when you have a rhythm going on.

Tons of places to lose your disc when the roughs are grown in....that does not mean to shy away from your shot...commit...and watch closely where your disc goes if it is not on the fairway.
Other Thoughts: I always tell my buddies who come from all over the state of Michigan and elsewhere...when you think you have your game put together....put it too the test...Oshtemo demands your BEST play...just to shoot even....

If I were in course designing....Oshtemo's layout style is something to take very seriously when trying to create just the right course for players who think they have "been there and done that"

I am sure many descent players can make "the shot" on many of Ostemo's challenges....now just put the complete round together....and you will see why it is easily in my top five in the nation

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 great course, but too many people

5+    4/5/2010   4/6/2010
Review By: mtuboarder
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: challenging holes, I agree with most of the comments posted above. I have played this course atleast 50 times and its still fun.
Cons: Don't get me wrong I am all for new people learning how to disc golf, but why must they all come to oshtemo in groups of atleast 8 and play in front of me everytime?! No1 there listens to the no drinking or smoking rules which also irritates me when i see trash everywhere but in the trash bins.
Other Thoughts: Charging a small fee to play this course would be a great idea to weed out all the idiots.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Mastering the Sky

5+    3/2/2010   3/2/2010
Review By: Champion Ace21
Played: 26  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/16/2014
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Plenty of privacy (when it isn't busy)

- Unique holes ranging in distance, direction, and terrain give the player a challenge to stay consistent.

- Lots of fun doglegs resulting in a variety of approaches.

- The Pro and Am tees bring about two entirely different courses

- Not a course that one will consistently par or birdie each hole.

- Long cement tee pads for both Pros and Ams give player plenty of space to tee off.

- You have a small penis or a filthy c nt for wasting time voting on reviews
Cons: - Could use some nice benches

- Chances of losing a disc increase in the summer when foliage is thick

- Can get too busy in the later part of the day

- Homeless people turn over the trash looking for returnables for money and leave it scattered.
Other Thoughts: This is a course that is both challenging and rewarding. With the help of players to keep the course clean Oshtemo has the potential to become a top rated course.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    10/12/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: Merkaba311
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Pro and Am concrete tees. Both tees create completely different courses.

-Most holes are well marked at the tee.

-Fun layout. Lots of holes where an ace is possible with a terrific shot, and lots of holes where getting a 3 feels like a birdie. Great variety of holes that fit backhand and forehand shots.

-Holes are tightly packed together but separate. You can play quickly and you don't get tired out by the end like with a ski resort course.
Cons: -Mud. This time of year (fall) the course is constantly muddy and it's not just a pain when your discs land in it. It's like walking on ice in between some holes.

-Always busy. It doesn't necessarily bother me that it's busy, but that nobody around here seems to have heard of letting people play through or picking up a single. None of my friends disc golf so I always go out alone and hope to get picked up by a group. Sometimes they invite me to join, which I prefer. Rarely people will let me play through. Usually by the 9th hole I've spent more time waiting than I have playing. Not a problem with the course design, just something you have to consider when playing here.

-No alcohol allowed. Seriously wtf...disc golf without drinking is like hunting...without drinking. Do what I do and just make up a mixed drink in a pop bottle before you head out there. It's right behind a fire station and cops are always around so you can't be obvious about bringing drinks out.

-Most holes seem to follow a traditional golf design with "tight" fairways. It's a necessary evil because of the lack of land to use, but I'm used to playing courses with five different approaches to the basket instead of just one or two.
Other Thoughts: Fantastic course. The only things that are really wrong with the course are the things that have less to do with course design than they do the location and setting.

If you see a group of three or more guys with one disc per player, be prepared to wait.

If you see a group of three or more guys with tourney bags, be prepared to be impressed with their skills.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 good course

5+    9/5/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: adam8706
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: very easy course to navigate, clear fairways, good challange for all players the championships were here last year so that was nice for the course
Cons: lots of trees, hard to find if you dont know where it is, can be busy, in the beggining of the season after all the snow melts it is realy wet out there and muddy, esp. by the holes.
Other Thoughts: very nice course close to home for me. one of my favs. for how close it is.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 fun but challenging

5+    9/15/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: locuno1
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course good mix of shots played from short tees, front 9 is a tad bit easier then the back 9 will challenge your skill.
Cons: none that are significant. not all holes have benches or trash cans which would help to keep course a little cleaner, easier to lose disc on back 9 if you throw a bad shot.
Other Thoughts: fun course to play doubles at, easy to navigate, bring some bug spray. play doubles with friends and have a fun time doing it. avoid playing on Wednesday unless you plan on playing early to avoid leaguers as they tend to slow up play if your more of a fast paced player.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Ol' Oshtemo

5+    6/13/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: Switters213
Played: 54  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cement Tee pads with a garbage can at every pad. Clearly defined fairways, even in the woods. Picnic tables for rest stops conveniently located every few holes. A few short downhill shots in the rolling hills offer even the beginning disc golfer chances at birdies if you can just keep it straight.
Cons: In the last half of the course the brush is thick enough that if you don't make the fairway you're taking a while to get out.
Vandalism to the trash cans and picnic tables seems to be a growing problem.
This course is frequently crowded. Any sunny evening, winter or summer, you'll find a full parking lot.
No course map available.
Other Thoughts: The long tees seem like an afterthought, mostly placed back into narrow tunnels of trees. If the longs were a little less tight in the fairway i think more people would try and throw those big arms drives.

The crowds can often make the course feel rushed. If you want to take more time, try early morning.

When it rains this course gets muddy quick. Bring a towel.

Recently a storm knocked down a big tree across Hole 1. It made the coolest obstacle ever! Then they cut it down and removed it. Bummer...

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Green Monster

5+    4/23/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: MIdisc1
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great mix of length and trees, beautiful shots, duel tees, free, and challenging
Cons: The underbrush in the summer gets rough (4 discs and counting), sometimes busy, semi-flat, still a great course
Other Thoughts: Bring bug spray in summer

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Oshtemo - Longs

5+    4/24/2009   5/1/2009
Review By: Mackb6
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Wide range of hole types. Challenging tee shots and basket placement.
Cons: In early spring, the fair weather disc golfers start crawling out of the wood work. During mid to late summer months the foilage is herendous, it's easy to lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course, but I would not say it's the best around Kalamazoo, not by far. That's just my opinion though.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/16/2009   4/18/2009
Review By: jacob baptiste
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: wide variety of shots required, not nearly as trash filled as most courses in the area, most tees and baskets in exelent condition other than a few missing hole signs, much more challenging than any other course i've played, although i have yet to play from the am. tees, due to length of the holes, even when its packed, it doesnt seem as bad as knollwood, or other smaller courses.
Cons: must have a pretty nice chunk of time to get all the way threw it (it wasnt untill my third time playing here i made it all the way threw) playing alone from the pro. tees it takes me about an hour when i dont run into any other groups, sometimes a little over two when its packed.
Other Thoughts: i didnt think it was as hard to find my way as people make it seem, however, there are a few spots where its easy to skip a hole or two.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.