Kalamazoo, MI 
Oshtemo Township Park Share
Uploaded By: Mark R Hole #12 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 353ft.   3 / 486ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Long Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 good course

5+    9/5/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: adam8706
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: very easy course to navigate, clear fairways, good challange for all players the championships were here last year so that was nice for the course
Cons: lots of trees, hard to find if you dont know where it is, can be busy, in the beggining of the season after all the snow melts it is realy wet out there and muddy, esp. by the holes.
Other Thoughts: very nice course close to home for me. one of my favs. for how close it is.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 fun but challenging

5+    9/15/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: locuno1
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course good mix of shots played from short tees, front 9 is a tad bit easier then the back 9 will challenge your skill.
Cons: none that are significant. not all holes have benches or trash cans which would help to keep course a little cleaner, easier to lose disc on back 9 if you throw a bad shot.
Other Thoughts: fun course to play doubles at, easy to navigate, bring some bug spray. play doubles with friends and have a fun time doing it. avoid playing on Wednesday unless you plan on playing early to avoid leaguers as they tend to slow up play if your more of a fast paced player.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Ol' Oshtemo

5+    6/13/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: Switters213
Played: 56  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cement Tee pads with a garbage can at every pad. Clearly defined fairways, even in the woods. Picnic tables for rest stops conveniently located every few holes. A few short downhill shots in the rolling hills offer even the beginning disc golfer chances at birdies if you can just keep it straight.
Cons: In the last half of the course the brush is thick enough that if you don't make the fairway you're taking a while to get out.
Vandalism to the trash cans and picnic tables seems to be a growing problem.
This course is frequently crowded. Any sunny evening, winter or summer, you'll find a full parking lot.
No course map available.
Other Thoughts: The long tees seem like an afterthought, mostly placed back into narrow tunnels of trees. If the longs were a little less tight in the fairway i think more people would try and throw those big arms drives.

The crowds can often make the course feel rushed. If you want to take more time, try early morning.

When it rains this course gets muddy quick. Bring a towel.

Recently a storm knocked down a big tree across Hole 1. It made the coolest obstacle ever! Then they cut it down and removed it. Bummer...

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Green Monster

5+    4/23/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: MIdisc1
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 18.2 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great mix of length and trees, beautiful shots, duel tees, free, and challenging
Cons: The underbrush in the summer gets rough (4 discs and counting), sometimes busy, semi-flat, still a great course
Other Thoughts: Bring bug spray in summer

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Oshtemo - Longs

5+    4/24/2009   5/1/2009
Review By: Mackb6
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.7 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Wide range of hole types. Challenging tee shots and basket placement.
Cons: In early spring, the fair weather disc golfers start crawling out of the wood work. During mid to late summer months the foilage is herendous, it's easy to lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course, but I would not say it's the best around Kalamazoo, not by far. That's just my opinion though.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/16/2009   4/18/2009
Review By: jacob baptiste
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: wide variety of shots required, not nearly as trash filled as most courses in the area, most tees and baskets in exelent condition other than a few missing hole signs, much more challenging than any other course i've played, although i have yet to play from the am. tees, due to length of the holes, even when its packed, it doesnt seem as bad as knollwood, or other smaller courses.
Cons: must have a pretty nice chunk of time to get all the way threw it (it wasnt untill my third time playing here i made it all the way threw) playing alone from the pro. tees it takes me about an hour when i dont run into any other groups, sometimes a little over two when its packed.
Other Thoughts: i didnt think it was as hard to find my way as people make it seem, however, there are a few spots where its easy to skip a hole or two.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Variety course

1    4/17/2009   4/18/2009
Review By: phishbrained
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.8 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Definitely a wide range of shots needed to play this course. Some tight fairways, but nothing too unmanageable.
Variety is key here, some shorter, some longer, some skinny fairways and some wide ones. Little bit of elevation change.
2 Tees that usually have different obstacles, not just a distance difference which is really cool.
Trash cans at every tee and lots of benches.
Cons: Kinda tough to find your way around, but since it was pretty busy, we could follow the group in front of us.


Other Thoughts: Great course, so much fun to play. Police are usually at the park, especially on weekends so mind the no alcohol policy.


4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course

1    4/3/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: AWA05
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is my favorite course so far! I liked the variety and the seclusion. The concrete tee pads are great and the baskets are easy to spot, for the most part. I'm sure that the wilderness in the summer will be beautiful.
Cons: lots of heavily wooded holes and lots of trash, there were trash cans but all of them were over-full. Don't know if anyone is emptying them.
Other Thoughts: I'm new to all of this still....

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 amazing

1    3/17/2009   3/17/2009
Review By: dputt88
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.8 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: extremely well kept park, especially lovely concrete and level pro and am tees on just about every hole. proved to be a challenging course, but still lots of fun. mind blowing landscape.
Cons: missing a few signs and its a little hard to navigate.
Other Thoughts: incredible job on this course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Most challenging course in Kzoo

5+    1/6/2009   1/27/2009
Review By: landon77
Played: 60  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 17.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/6/2013
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Free, Dog friendly, beautiful park. Highly challenging course. This park has running trails, hiking trails, a pavilion for picnics, a softball field, and a large playground for children to play. The park has ample parking and on site bathrooms and a water fountain.

The course is very challenging and very enjoyable. There really is two courses on this one course. There is a long tee and a short tee. They play differently and add many challenges.
If you play the long course you can add anywhere from 5 to 15 strokes than the short course.
I have played this course for over 10 years and my numbers are about plus 10 from the long tee's.
Both courses offer tight fairways, wooded shots, and minor elevation shifts. Each hole is unique and poses a different challenge. The baskets are an excellent shape and the fairways are groomed each year all the holes have cement tee pads and the course is clean!!
Cons: Easy to lose a disk on some of the holes. If you drive off the fairway on a few holes there are some really deep woods that a disc can disappear.
Can be very busy, to busy for my tastes with leagues and college students playing in the evenings you can easily add hours to playing. Lots of the time the leagues will not let you pass!
Local law enforcement enforces leash laws and open containers in parking lot.
No water holes and lack of variety and elevation are the only things stopping this course from receiving a 5.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play in the Kalamazoo area. It is by far the most challenging in the area (long tee's), during the world's the pro's played the final day on this course which separated the winners and losers.
If you are playing this course in the summer come in the morning, it is a lot less busy than the evening hours and you will play much quicker. If I am playing by myself I can finish the short tee's in about an hour and the long tees about an hour and 20 minutes.

Just an update: bad upkeep and way way to crowded dropped the rating

Update June 2009:
I heard a recent rumor from a township board member that they might be adding and expanding on this site to a 24 hole plus a new 18-24 hole course!

May 2011 Yeah they are not building or expanding to the enviormental impact or some such non sense that would be caused if they made a new course! I say booo! It is much needed it is still very busy and the groups are not aware that there is a thing called etiquette/

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center