Kalamazoo, MI 
Oshtemo Township Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 185ft.   3 / 339ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Long Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Fun Variety course

1    4/17/2009   4/18/2009
Review By: phishbrained
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.7 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Definitely a wide range of shots needed to play this course. Some tight fairways, but nothing too unmanageable.
Variety is key here, some shorter, some longer, some skinny fairways and some wide ones. Little bit of elevation change.
2 Tees that usually have different obstacles, not just a distance difference which is really cool.
Trash cans at every tee and lots of benches.
Cons: Kinda tough to find your way around, but since it was pretty busy, we could follow the group in front of us.


Other Thoughts: Great course, so much fun to play. Police are usually at the park, especially on weekends so mind the no alcohol policy.


3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course

1    4/3/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: AWA05
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is my favorite course so far! I liked the variety and the seclusion. The concrete tee pads are great and the baskets are easy to spot, for the most part. I'm sure that the wilderness in the summer will be beautiful.
Cons: lots of heavily wooded holes and lots of trash, there were trash cans but all of them were over-full. Don't know if anyone is emptying them.
Other Thoughts: I'm new to all of this still....

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 amazing

1    3/17/2009   3/17/2009
Review By: dputt88
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.7 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: extremely well kept park, especially lovely concrete and level pro and am tees on just about every hole. proved to be a challenging course, but still lots of fun. mind blowing landscape.
Cons: missing a few signs and its a little hard to navigate.
Other Thoughts: incredible job on this course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Most challenging course in Kzoo

5+    1/6/2009   1/27/2009
Review By: landon77
Played: 49  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/6/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Free, Dog friendly, beautiful park. Highly challenging course. This park has running trails, hiking trails, a pavilion for picnics, a softball field, and a large playground for children to play. The park has ample parking and on site bathrooms and a water fountain.

The course is very challenging and very enjoyable. There really is two courses on this one course. There is a long tee and a short tee. They play differently and add many challenges.
If you play the long course you can add anywhere from 5 to 15 strokes than the short course.
I have played this course for over 10 years and my numbers are about plus 10 from the long tee's.
Both courses offer tight fairways, wooded shots, and minor elevation shifts. Each hole is unique and poses a different challenge. The baskets are an excellent shape and the fairways are groomed each year all the holes have cement tee pads and the course is clean!!
Cons: Easy to lose a disk on some of the holes. If you drive off the fairway on a few holes there are some really deep woods that a disc can disappear.
Can be very busy, to busy for my tastes with leagues and college students playing in the evenings you can easily add hours to playing. Lots of the time the leagues will not let you pass!
Local law enforcement enforces leash laws and open containers in parking lot.
No water holes and lack of variety and elevation are the only things stopping this course from receiving a 5.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play in the Kalamazoo area. It is by far the most challenging in the area (long tee's), during the world's the pro's played the final day on this course which separated the winners and losers.
If you are playing this course in the summer come in the morning, it is a lot less busy than the evening hours and you will play much quicker. If I am playing by myself I can finish the short tee's in about an hour and the long tees about an hour and 20 minutes.

Just an update: bad upkeep and way way to crowded dropped the rating

Update June 2009:
I heard a recent rumor from a township board member that they might be adding and expanding on this site to a 24 hole plus a new 18-24 hole course!

May 2011 Yeah they are not building or expanding to the enviormental impact or some such non sense that would be caused if they made a new course! I say booo! It is much needed it is still very busy and the groups are not aware that there is a thing called etiquette/

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/18/2014   10/21/2008
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2014
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Narrow yet defined fairways throughout (a unique trait) reward skill rather than luck, while remaining appropriate for beginner/intermediate play from the short tees.

Not as tightly wooded as other reviews indicate, but rather a true test of a technical golfer's game. If you can't throw straight, you'll be in trouble here. However, narrow routes through woods are usually wide enough to be fair and reward accuracy as well as distance.

Class leading cement tee pads at short and long tees (two courses in one). Good baskets, 150 foot markers, condom trees. Holes 12 and 14 have great tee shots (especially from the longs). Holes 5 and 9 and 10 have tough but survivable drives through long, skinny fairways. Great fall/spring colors.

Challenging but fun (long tees are long indeed with three 500' holes; 5, 9 and 10). Excellent course design.
Cons: Hordes of low-skill casuals at some times, usually every night with decent weather. This is the single worst trait of this course. Also don't like the elevated baskets on 8 and 12 (someone's ace fantasy). Discs can be easy to lose during certain times of the year, though some rough has been cleared. Lacks any truly wide-open holes, but also lacks the winds of such holes in bad weather.

Could use a porta-jon at Hole 10 and a few more benches to replace some of the broken ones already there. Maintenance has continued to be sub-par in recent years, with frequent trash build-up. None of the funds used to recently update the park were used in the disc golf course, but hey, look at the nice fencing around the tennis court.
Other Thoughts: Still top-dog in the Kalamazoo area, with more challenge than Coldbrook and free admission, unlike Robert Morris. Some of the long tee areas need some trimming (including tree and brush removal on Holes 6, 7, 10, 11 and 14) and the signs at the tees are showing signs of age. However, this course is still hard to beat at times when there are few players in the spring and fall.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    5/17/2008   6/17/2008
Review By: TimSyl
Played: 53  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2012
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course from the shorts, GREAT course from the longs. Excellent, big cement tee pads. Fairways are fair...good shots rewarded, poor shots in jail. Four straight holes, six right to left, eight left to right. Six holes under 300', three 495' or longer.
Cons: Very crowded when college students are in town...play early on weekends. Two "wishing well" elevated baskets are gimmicky.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Very Challenging

1    5/27/2008   5/27/2008
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2013
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Duel Tees, pretty fun, but remember being a little drawn out for my taste. We played 18 at another course before here, but we only got to about 14 before it was too dark.
Cons: A lot of trees, but it is still pretty nice to look at and walk threw. When we went hole nine was missing the basket. Not sure if it was replaced or not by now.
Other Thoughts: Missing basket number 9. Fun, but pretty challenging.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of Trees

1    5/27/2007   4/15/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2009
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: well laid out, scenic, dual tees, challenges for the left or right hander. You'll need every trick in the bag to keep your score low here.
Cons: could use a chainsaw, a bit too heavily wooded for my taste. a lot of finesse and/or luck needed to play here.
Other Thoughts: to be fair, we only played the front 9 on a dew soaked morning when we tried this course last year. We may need to take another trip down for a second look when the weather is nicer.

ADDENDUM: Since this review was first written, I've played this course a few more times, and while I still find this a bit too wooded for my tastes, I must say I do like the back 9 better than the front. Have yet to visit this park when it wasn't super busy though.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.