Kalamazoo, MI 
Oshtemo Township Park Share
Uploaded By: Mark R Hole #7 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 382ft.   3 / 488ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Long Tee

Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Grand Central Station

1    6/28/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: BucketBonanza
Played: 47  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 13.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is out in the woods of Kalamazoo and is well worth a visit if you are anywhere in proximity and have the love. The holes feature pro tees and ladies' tees. BogMonster and I played pro tees first go round and they were really quite challenging. Second round we decided to be like the locals and go from the ladies' tees. The experience was much more fun from these perches. Pro tees offered a very restricted view of the foreground fairways and added an additional bend to nearly every hole as well as about one hundred feet of length. They were tough and ill advised for the beginner. Very fitting for pro tees. The ladies' tees allowed the scenery to be better appreciated and the game to be much more enjoyable. I didn't see the greatness of this course until we engaged from the short boxes. Still a decent challenge but obtainable pars and intact pride. This course is really a nice little adventure when you are able to enjoy it. The course is flat for the majority of the holes. There are some varying elevations, but nothing too extreme. Definitely enough to keep a player interested. It is laid out well and offers you an arena to make some creative shots at times. Stay out of woods or you are in for some double bogey action.
Cons: This place was so busy it was unbelievable. On a Monday afternoon!?! There were groups upon groups continually filing through the woods. This can easily create an undue amount of pressure to move fast and rush shots. For the casual player this may not be so bad, but for those of us who are somewhat serious and savor every shot it can be a bugger. Also, playing pro tees while the vast majority of players behind you are shooting ladies' tees can be frustrating as there are discs being played up on you from start to finish. The congestion ahead offers no relief when the eager beavers are allowed to play through. It is just bottlenecked at every turn. I would definitely advise visitors to avoid a weekend visit as I am sure it is inundated with a perpetual stream of players nonstop. If you want to take your time and soak it all in and smell the roses so to speak, this place can be nerve wracking. I am happy that people are out playing and I am astonished that so many people enjoy the game in Kzoo, but when you are getting rushed it can ruin your good time. Just be forewarned to set aside enough time to allow for the heavy patronage. Don't get me wrong I am really happy that people are enthusiastic about the game and that so many showed up to play, but wow. Having discs come ripping through the trees behind you while you putt can aggravate even the consummate mellow mannered chillster. Other than that, this place was right on. Solid. Some of the hole descriptions were either defaced or weathered in many places, but most of the course was cut and dried. There is no water here. Bring some bug spray! I saw a tiny garter snake and was startled.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely one of the better ones I have visited in my career. Getting close to nature during a round of disc is alright with me and this place offers a nice escape. I look forward to playing there again soon. I would stick to the short tees if you are looking for a good time and be wary of the people behind you or else you might get driven on. Solid...

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 popular course

5+    5/31/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: Red Wings Fan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging, long, cement tee boxes for longs and shorts, there is a great variety unless you want easy hole. elevation changes. accuracy is the key. lots of parking.
Cons: way to many people play the shorts and everyone gets backed up. tons of people. no water holes
Other Thoughts: don't mess up those woods on the sides for the fairway a rough to get out of and to find discs. this course will make you get better or make you broke. its in a college area so if you want to have a relaxed fun time play it early when there isn't a ton of people there yet

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course

1    0/0/0000   6/3/2010
Review By: Opus
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hands down, THE cleanest course I have visited. Extremely well maintained. No damaged signs/baskets. Brooms at the teepads.

Aside from the above, the course is extremely fun and offers a wide variety of different shots, though it does seem to use a lot of right hook designs.

Still being a beginner at the game of Disc Golf, I am trying to travel to area courses and have seen Flip City, Branstrom, Big Rapids, Hickory Hills (Traverse City) and pretty much any of the courses within a 30 mile radius of Grand Rapids. This will go in the top 5 of the courses I have played this year.
Cons: Wanted to play from the pro Tee Pads, but every time we tried, a group, or another player would walk up to the amateur tee pads and Tee off in front of us. The trails in the park seem to favor those pads and people don't tend to look to see if anyone is teeing off behind them.
Other Thoughts: Have I mentioned how clean and well maintained this park is?

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Choose Your Weapon Wisely

5+    4/16/2010   4/16/2010
Review By: NateDiscFlip
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Flip City/Idle Wild...been there...and they're awesome....however...test your game and be HUMBLED at Oshetmo. The course from the Ams is awesome and scorable...but....the longs...my opinon...it is the Most Competetive (not Toughest) course I have ever played....

Here's why...
1) Many Holes just long enough to challenge every player in the game.
2) Nearly flat ground
3) Somewhat narrow fairways
4) Roughs are so thick, you may just want to toss out safely and take the stroke...or chance it and add two or three more.
5) Luck is a major factor that plays into nearly every hole

Most difficult courses...I have played...have long holes...big scenary...major challenges...elevation issues...etc....

You want success at Oshtemo....Tee shot placement is critical....fairway shot critical....if you have the chance to putt after the first two shots...critical

Never expect a "birdie"....and ALWAYS Play for par on 4, 5(my opinion toughest hole which ironically looks easy), 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, &14

Next....Do not underestimate 1, 2, 3, 13, 15, 16, & 17(all birdieable...but beware....very boggieable too)

Good luck squeezing birds out of 6, 8, & 18
Cons: College kids and disc golf ettiquette do not mix....spring time before WMU gets out is probably the worst time of the year...the same in the fall when they come back to classes...these players are generally terrible...may be (overly)intoxicated...and come with women (bless their hearts...but generally are bad too)...and have never heard of doubles or scrambles or letting smaller groups play through....questionable days are good indicators you will run into less of these morons who are bored of playing beer pong...and would rather come out and play only to slow down your round....which is sometimes best played when you have a rhythm going on.

Tons of places to lose your disc when the roughs are grown in....that does not mean to shy away from your shot...commit...and watch closely where your disc goes if it is not on the fairway.
Other Thoughts: I always tell my buddies who come from all over the state of Michigan and elsewhere...when you think you have your game put together....put it too the test...Oshtemo demands your BEST play...just to shoot even....

If I were in course designing....Oshtemo's layout style is something to take very seriously when trying to create just the right course for players who think they have "been there and done that"

I am sure many descent players can make "the shot" on many of Ostemo's challenges....now just put the complete round together....and you will see why it is easily in my top five in the nation

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 great course, but too many people

5+    4/5/2010   4/6/2010
Review By: mtuboarder
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: challenging holes, I agree with most of the comments posted above. I have played this course atleast 50 times and its still fun.
Cons: Don't get me wrong I am all for new people learning how to disc golf, but why must they all come to oshtemo in groups of atleast 8 and play in front of me everytime?! No1 there listens to the no drinking or smoking rules which also irritates me when i see trash everywhere but in the trash bins.
Other Thoughts: Charging a small fee to play this course would be a great idea to weed out all the idiots.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Mastering the Sky

5+    3/2/2010   3/2/2010
Review By: Champion Ace21
Played: 34  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2015
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of variation, no water hazzards
Cons: - Could use some nice benches

- Chances of losing a disc increase in the summer when foliage is thick

- Can get too busy in the later part of the day

- Homeless people turn over the trash looking for returnables for money and leave it scattered.
Other Thoughts: This is a course that is both challenging and rewarding. With the help of players to keep the course clean Oshtemo has the potential to become a top rated course.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    10/12/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: Merkaba311
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Pro and Am concrete tees. Both tees create completely different courses.

-Most holes are well marked at the tee.

-Fun layout. Lots of holes where an ace is possible with a terrific shot, and lots of holes where getting a 3 feels like a birdie. Great variety of holes that fit backhand and forehand shots.

-Holes are tightly packed together but separate. You can play quickly and you don't get tired out by the end like with a ski resort course.
Cons: -Mud. This time of year (fall) the course is constantly muddy and it's not just a pain when your discs land in it. It's like walking on ice in between some holes.

-Always busy. It doesn't necessarily bother me that it's busy, but that nobody around here seems to have heard of letting people play through or picking up a single. None of my friends disc golf so I always go out alone and hope to get picked up by a group. Sometimes they invite me to join, which I prefer. Rarely people will let me play through. Usually by the 9th hole I've spent more time waiting than I have playing. Not a problem with the course design, just something you have to consider when playing here.

-No alcohol allowed. Seriously wtf...disc golf without drinking is like hunting...without drinking. Do what I do and just make up a mixed drink in a pop bottle before you head out there. It's right behind a fire station and cops are always around so you can't be obvious about bringing drinks out.

-Most holes seem to follow a traditional golf design with "tight" fairways. It's a necessary evil because of the lack of land to use, but I'm used to playing courses with five different approaches to the basket instead of just one or two.
Other Thoughts: Fantastic course. The only things that are really wrong with the course are the things that have less to do with course design than they do the location and setting.

If you see a group of three or more guys with one disc per player, be prepared to wait.

If you see a group of three or more guys with tourney bags, be prepared to be impressed with their skills.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 good course

5+    9/5/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: adam8706
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: very easy course to navigate, clear fairways, good challange for all players the championships were here last year so that was nice for the course
Cons: lots of trees, hard to find if you dont know where it is, can be busy, in the beggining of the season after all the snow melts it is realy wet out there and muddy, esp. by the holes.
Other Thoughts: very nice course close to home for me. one of my favs. for how close it is.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 fun but challenging

5+    9/15/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: locuno1
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course good mix of shots played from short tees, front 9 is a tad bit easier then the back 9 will challenge your skill.
Cons: none that are significant. not all holes have benches or trash cans which would help to keep course a little cleaner, easier to lose disc on back 9 if you throw a bad shot.
Other Thoughts: fun course to play doubles at, easy to navigate, bring some bug spray. play doubles with friends and have a fun time doing it. avoid playing on Wednesday unless you plan on playing early to avoid leaguers as they tend to slow up play if your more of a fast paced player.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Ol' Oshtemo

5+    6/13/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: Switters213
Played: 54  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cement Tee pads with a garbage can at every pad. Clearly defined fairways, even in the woods. Picnic tables for rest stops conveniently located every few holes. A few short downhill shots in the rolling hills offer even the beginning disc golfer chances at birdies if you can just keep it straight.
Cons: In the last half of the course the brush is thick enough that if you don't make the fairway you're taking a while to get out.
Vandalism to the trash cans and picnic tables seems to be a growing problem.
This course is frequently crowded. Any sunny evening, winter or summer, you'll find a full parking lot.
No course map available.
Other Thoughts: The long tees seem like an afterthought, mostly placed back into narrow tunnels of trees. If the longs were a little less tight in the fairway i think more people would try and throw those big arms drives.

The crowds can often make the course feel rushed. If you want to take more time, try early morning.

When it rains this course gets muddy quick. Bring a towel.

Recently a storm knocked down a big tree across Hole 1. It made the coolest obstacle ever! Then they cut it down and removed it. Bummer...

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.