Bostic, NC 
South Mountain Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: Kepdog2 Hole #5 (Taken 1/2014)
3 / 155ft.   3 / 202ft.   3 / 301ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 White Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Bombs Away in Bostic

1    7/12/2014   7/14/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 197  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: South Mountain Disc Golf is in a very nice park in a quiet, remote location. All of the baskets are in good shape. There is an extra hole after #6 that facilitates a 9 hole loop as well. Tees all have signs and multiple boxes on most of them. The layout is fairly simple to follow. Since I already visited most of those, this review was necessary.

The first hole is a nice one, out of scattered trees opening up to a open grassy green down the hill. 2 through 6 are all wide open featuring the grassy slopes. With little or no wind, you should be able to muster several birdie opportunities. 7 is the closest basket to the lakes edge, but not high risk. Uphill with multiple trees, this was sadly the only hole I managed to convert on the putt for a 2. However, on the plus side the posted par is a ridiculously generous 67, so I still got to -7. Build up any players self esteem in that regard. 8 is an uphill throw with basket tucked in moderate tree cover. 9 is shorter and slightly downhill, also through some trees. The basket is atop a 3 foot mound. The back 9 is where the average length increases. 10 has a mando near the tee, but the trees thin out again, so it isn't too difficult. 11 is the longest hole at 567', but flat and with plenty of open air makes two solid throws and a putt very realistic. I took a 4, posted par was 5. 12 is open with sparse trees in front of the green. 13 has a double mando serving as a gate about a third of the way down the hole. The woods begin to come back into play as well, and interest rises some. 14 is shorter, and woodsy, a good chance for a 2. 15 is very short (120), and very downhill (maybe 35'). Backed by a small creek, and with moderate concentration of mature trees, anything between an ace and bogey may await. 16 ramps up the distance to 550'+ again, and has a lot of OB to the left, trees to the right. Uphill requiring some caution off the tee. I was not careful enough and my drive entered the prayer garden (OB). Penalty and bad recovery into the brush and trees across the fairway resulted in a 6 for me, but a 3 is still totally possible. 17 and 18 are both back into open grassy field.
Cons: I enjoyed the round, but this course is way off the beaten path, and surrounded by at dozens superior courses within a 90 mile radius. Maybe didn't quite live up to the 3.88 average rating, but still fun. The natural tees are well marked, but could be better. No benches, few trash cans. Cost is two dollars for all day. Pets must be on a leash. Overall a solid course, but lacking a bit in variety and serious challenge to an advanced player.
Other Thoughts: The course is located at a Christian camp, evident by signage, crosses and prayer garden, so best behavior. No smoking, no drinking, no cussing etc... Unless you are also obsessed with playing as many good courses as possible, there is nothing that stands out about South Mountain DGC. I made the detour on a road trip, and found the course to be inviting, and fully legit, but not spectacular. Had a some good holes, and some average. Scoring a 50 is not out of the question, but I took a 60 first time out. Missing too many putts, one penalty, a couple of bad drives. Since I live hours away, I am not likely to return and try my luck again. South Mountain Disc Golf is very nice, but out-classed by many courses around the Charlotte, Asheville, and upstate SC region. Reminds me of University Beach DGC with better flavor.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/8/2014   7/10/2014
Review By: mheredia65
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very fun course to play. Like it's neighboring course (Gardner-Webb), this course is designed for lefties. Thankfully, if you have a decent right hand forearm you will be fine.

There is a good variation of holes both long and short with different looks with each new hole. Some holes will require you to have a decent arm.

With weekly doubles, this course is great for all skills and players.
Cons: For a more seasoned player, the pars on this course seem a little off. Some Par 4's should definitely be a 3.

Other than that, this course is a solid course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Really nice

1    8/15/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: Warthog
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Neat,clean,bathrooms,open,areas as well as wooded areas and there is a pro shop on the site. This course would be my favorite if it was closer to my home. The front tees are laid out in such a way that you can just play a 9 target game by using # 17 as # 8 and # 18 as # 9 which completes a circle back to the parking area. The targets are in new or like new condition.
Cons: Cost is $2 to play all day but worth it. There are no concrete tee pads. There are no direction arrows to direct you to the next hole which can be confusing the first time you play the course.
Other Thoughts: It is hard to find anything about this course that is not nice. Staff at the office even said they would notify me if I lost any disc that had my name and # on it. Then they loaned me a marker to mark them with.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Better than I expected

2-4    3/29/2013   4/3/2013
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 160  Reviewed: 156  Exp: 10.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: South Mountain Christian Camp is a very good, under-the-radar course. Perhaps due to it being out of the way, or a camp course, it's easy to overlook this course. But, it's definitely worth the drive.
- The quality of the SMCC exceeded my expectations. I've played courses at other camps/retreats (Bonclarken & Ridgecrest) that are clearly aimed at beginners/camp-goers. There are short tees here for the beginners, but the pro tees are clearly aimed at the more advanced players.
- This is a very good and challenging course, with some great hole layouts. I really enjoyed the downhill layouts for #3 & 6; #11 is a long, uphill (729 feet) hole with out of bounds running along the entire right side; #16 is a great, long dogleg right hole (I'll talk about this one more later). But, with all of that said, I think the shortest hole on the course is the most memorable.
- #15 is a short, nearly straight down shot. It's a 138 feet from the long tees, but basically plays as a long putt. If you don't keep your shot down or avoid the trees, you'll either have a shot sail past the basket, or be throwing from the hill. It's pretty frustrating to have a 50 foot putt on a hole this short. You feel like you should get a two, or better, on this hole every time, but it doesn't take much to end up with a three.
- Course does a wonderful job utilizing the terrain. There is a lot of good elevation throughout the course, with the parking lot on the highest level of the course. The terrain from there slopes down to the lake. Much of the front nine is pretty open, playing up and down the hills. The back nine is more wooded, and features more of the longer holes. Get your birdies on the front nine, then play smart on the back.
- There are a great variety of hole layouts throughout the course. Two thirds of the course is (mainly) open, but there's a good mix of up and down holes, doglegs, a few with mandos and the woods. Also, along those lines, the course does a decent job of offering different layouts, on some holes, playing the pro versus am tees. #8, especially gives two completely different looks from the long and short tees.
- Great nature feel. There are some spectacular views throughout the course. Stand on the tee for #3 and take in the view of the lake. You're going to get some great scenery - hills, woods, and the lake - throughout your round. In addition, because you're out in the middle of nowhere, the course is very isolated. During the summer, when there are campers here, it might be a different scenario. But, in the spring and fall, there's virtually nobody else here.
- Very good tee signs and scorecards/maps. Each tee sign includes a Bible verse, some of which were (obviously) obviously chosen for the given holes. My two favorite, for the obvious reasons were on #11, the long, uphill hole (Psalm 18:32 - the Lord gives me strength) and #16, a dogleg right (Ecclesiastes 10:2 - the heart of the wise inclines to the right, but the heart of the fool to the left). This might not be everyone's cup of tea, but still, they're pretty clever.
- On the right side of #11, there's a memorial sign dedicated to a family of four who were victims of the 1988 Pan Am Flight 103 bombing. It's a somber, but interesting, piece of history to see on a disc golf course in the middle of nowhere.
Cons: There's only one major problem I had with the course, which ended up playing a factor in my rating for this course.
- The natural tee pads were a major issue on some holes. On short holes, you can make do. On longer ones, having to do a run up on a small dirt patch, grass or wood chips aren't ideal. The biggest issue was on the long tee for #12. It's a 408 foot, straight hole, but there's a slope right behind the tee markers, so you're either doing a shorter run-up in the dirt tee area (to stay behind the markers), or you're throwing from a grassy area. With such small dirt tee areas, I felt like they didn't want to ruin the grass.
- In a couple spots, the longer hole layouts overlap onto other holes. The most obvious example is the confluence of the tees for #3, 6 &17, which are all within 25 feet of each other. On #3, I nearly teed off from the tee for #17. #10 & 11 also share a common fairway area.
- I didn't notice many benches or trash cans throughout the course. It'd be nice to have more, especially with as much walking as one does on this course. Also, I didn't notice any restrooms or drinking fountains, so you might have to check with the building where you sign in and pay. If not there, make sure you stop in one of the nearby towns before arriving.
- At least one of the mandos was somewhat poor. On #13, there's a mando left of a tree for the longer two tees. It's a sharp, almost unnatural, curve around the tree, which eliminates a lot of possible distance you could get throwing from the tee. This one seems very forced, and doesn't serve a purpose. Some people might not like the double mando on #10. From the long tees, you have to throw between a 15 foot wide gap between two trees, approximately 160 feet from the tee. If people don't like the double mando on #14 at Nevin Charlotte, wait until you play this hole.
Other Thoughts: Overall, South Mountain is a very, very good course. Don't let the fact it's a camp course fool you. This would be a top course wherever it was located. Let's just say, you can tell it was built by disc golfers, and is aimed for disc golfers.
- That said, SMCC does a wonderful job of reaching out, and appealing, disc golfers. It's a small gesture, but it's cool they have a loyalty card for repeat players. Play here nine times, get your card punched, and the 10th visit is free. Granted, you're only saving $2; but, it's a real sign they want disc golfers coming here to play.
- That said again, because it's a Christian camp, people should be considerate of that fact when playing here. I'd hate to see them sour on disc golf because of things such as littering or drinking (or other DG stereotypes).
- It also bears mentioning that because it is a Christian camp, there are lots of Christian references throughout the course. I already mentioned the Bible verses on every tee sign. There are also crosses throughout the property and a prayer garden alongside #16. FYI, there is a mando around said prayer garden. Some people might not like all of this, but you do know that going into your visit here.
- #16 was my favorite hole. It's a 602 foot hole, dogleg right around the prayer garden. A good tee shot will be just short, or to the right, of the gardens, leaving a long, slightly uphill second shot. It's a relatively easy four, but it does require good shot placement to get your four, or be in position for a three.
- I was teetering between a 3.5 and 4 for this course's rating. The poor tee area quality was the deciding factor for a 3.5. It would only take a little work to make the tee situation better by clearing out, and leveling, larger dirt areas for tees. Concrete would be ideal, but I wouldn't expect that.
- This is an isolated course, meaning if you're making a drive here to play (from Charlotte/Greenville/Asheville, etc.), you're probably making a long drive solely for this course. Coming from Charlotte/US74 or I-40, the closest courses are all nine-holers. This is worth the drive for anyone within an hour or so of the course. Play a couple of rounds to make the trip worthwhile.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/2/2012   11/2/2012
Review By: wyatt_hamrick
Played: 39  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/7/2014
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Helps with very different shots. use of elevation well and can be a challenge if u play blues. If u play white can be confidence booster usually go 2 or 3 under at other courses in the area and I go 6 or 8 under here
Cons: paying to play. natural tees make it tough to play after rain they have tried to help with that by putting sand down
Other Thoughts: great tourneys with great ppl and staff a good course to play to enjoy a sunday afternoon

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

nice property

1    7/26/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: badsmurph
Played: 132  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pro- use of elevation
variety of holes
Friendly staff
tee signs
VIEWS
the lake
natural pads which were a + and - out here
Cons: Cons
Started playing the round from the blues and noticed that it was impossible to have a natural run up on every pad except maybe one of them. they were either two foot long with dropoff behind, slopes, or next to a ditch. Started playing whites and really enjoyed it. Dif. over parred. My 50 would've been a -17 where it felt more like a -6 to -8.
Other Thoughts: Overall an enjoyable course that I would've rated a little higher if I played all white and lower if I played all blue. Worker stated that they were going to work on pad which is good to hear. Will play again.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Bonclarken Gold

2-4    7/14/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 45  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/21/2014
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -What can I say? I love South Mountain. It has pretty much everything that a disc golf course should have.
-The variety is great. It has uphill and downhill, short and long, open and wooded, dogleg left and a dogleg right, trees,water and mandos. It has it all.
-From the yellow tees, it's super easy and the white tees are also pretty easy. I play the blue tees and it's harder. If you don't like super easy then play the blues.
-There is an ace board beside hole 1 and you can write your ace down on it (If you aced). Not surprised #15 was and hole #5 and #1 were also aced.
-#13 is a serious test of your skill (if you play the blues. You start off in the woods and there is a mando gate. It's a dogleg left and if you birdie, that's definitely a memorable one.
-Trash cans, benches are around on some holes which is good enough.
-Restrooms are to the left of the parking lot of the disc golf course. They are not in the shop so go straight ahead and you will see the course and where to park.
-There are maps of the course and you pick up scorecards on the porch of the shop. Discs at the shop are cheap too.
-Since I played the blues, there was really only one fun ace run. I was looking forward to playing it and although it's easy, I think it's the best on the course. It's #15. The back 9 is flat until you get to #15. It plays under 100 feet but if you go past the basket, you are in the DEEP woods which you have no good chance in a birdie. Not to mention I fell down the hill while I was trying to ace it. Then #16 and #17 gain about +8 feet from the blues and #18 long gains maybe +20 feet.
-The bible verses on every teesign were a very clever idea. Definitely worth writing down.
-This is probably the best course I have played, next to RL Smith in Charlotte and whoever reads this review, you really need to play here. You will not be disappointed.
Cons: -You might get confused where to go. Bring a GPS and be aware this is at the church camp. Once you get to 1129 (The address), you got to keep going straight for a couple miles. Look for a small, white pro shop and a sign that says disc golf!
-Course is a bit overparred, not really from the blues but with the yellows, there are short par 5's less than 300 ft. The whites are also unchallenging.
-There will be a SEVERE erosion problem on #7. That hole is already experiencing it.
Other Thoughts: South Mountain is a church camp. I started played at a church camp too, but it was at Bonclarken retreat in flat rock. This is a harder course and it's much funner too. There are 3 sets of tees and might soon be 4. This course is for all players and it's definitely memorable. I must say, this course is definitely worth playing and it's worth paying 2 bucks to play.
-It's $2 bucks to play all day to keep the grass cut. Bring some money and if you don't have a disc that floats, buy one at the shop. Bringing your bathing suit is a good idea. Water by #4 is like 4 feet deep.
-Signature hole, there are plenty. #3 has a great view of the lake, and it's a big downhill shot. #14 could be because it's wooded. #15 was very memorable because it's very short but very interesting. Steep downhill with water past the basket, maybe my favorite ace run in NC. I have not played a hole that short with an elevation loss over 20 feet until then, don't fall. The hill just drops down and then you're on the green but it now has stairs as of 2013! I remember when it didn't. #16 was interesting because it's around the prayer garden and it's pretty challenging. I'd say those four are my favorites. #6 was fun too but a bit too close to #5.

Update:
-I deleted the hole by hole review. This is too good to give away. It's one thing to give away something meh but not this course. This has excellent variety, various lengths, water, hills, couple dropoffs, mandos, well, some can be irritating and more. Blue tees need work but it's still fun from those tees. I gave it a 4.5 because the layout can't be better. It's maintained perfectly but once the blues are fixed, I'd be glad to give this a 5.
-I played here the day after my bday. I was leaving Columbia from the mission trip with the church. It was definitely a great late b day present. This year, we leave St. Louis on my b day. Crap, that's not a sweet 16 but back to this. This review is biased. I'd be glad to play here anytime, in the summer. Play this course and you will high likely love it. If not, you can blame me but this isn't worth skipping.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Found the needle in the haystack!

1    6/7/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: WreckDirector
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It has a little bit of everything you look for in a course; water, trees/wooded areas, and open areas where you can just sling it. It has some VERY long par 5's (if I remember correctly there were 2 - 550ft. + holes). It was challenging enough without being overly difficult so it has something for every level of player. The staff are super friendly too! There is a small area inside the main building where you can purchase some new and used discs and they have really good prices on them as well due to the fact that the person that sells them is an Innova distributor. (I purchased a new Innova DX Dragon for $7.50.) Each hole is marked off well, giving you a layout of where the chain are including what Par is.
Cons: Location, location, location. Let me start off by saying that the grounds are gorgeous and this has nothing to do with that, but more to do with it would be very hard to find had I not had GPS. There is nothing nearby but woods, hence my title I found the needle in the haystack! Another con is $2 to play, but honestly I have an issue even calling this a Con because the area is so beautiful, it's on private property, and that allows you to play all day. Also for the $2, which basically just gets you onto the property, you can play however long you want and even fish in the giant pond too! There is also a pool on the grounds although I am unsure if the $2 gets you access to that. The owner stated the $2 is to help keep the grass cut which I am honestly grateful to pay for after having played this course. There are not tee pads as of yet, but I really didn't see a need for them at this time.
Other Thoughts: I spoke with the designer of the course, again, a really nice guy. He has plans to continuing working on this course (which was just built in 2011!) He mention building raised tee markers as the ones they currently have are near flush to the ground. He also mentioned moving a few of the baskets to make certain holes a little more challenging. He also wants to start hosting some tournaments soon. I would just like to end by saying that I have played pretty much every course within an hour drive of Morganton, NC (my hometown) and this one is the best in my opinion.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/8/2012   3/14/2012
Review By: JLudlam
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 4/8/2012
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Excellent use of elevation changes. Course has everything, dogleg lefts & rights, wooded holes, open holes. Friendly & very enthusiastic helpful staff, small pro-shop on site.
Cons: Pay to play
Course is over par'd, I'm a scratch player. Shot 6 under first time out.
Other Thoughts: Everything about SMCC DG Course is top notch! They are willing to host events/tournaments. Facility & staff are genuinely thrilled with their new course, and should be!

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.