Cedar Rapids, IA
Jones Park Share
Uploaded By: medicinalfunk Hole #16 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 291ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee: Basket straight ahead on top of the hill



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great CR course

5+    6/7/2008   9/7/2012
Review By: JaminLDC
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to follow this course. It has a good variety of short to long holes with great use of the hill. Hole #17 is the longest hole in Cedar Rapids and the downhill grade is awesome to just let your disc float forever. Quite a few ace-able holes to note as well. I've hit a couple at this course.
Cons: Course can sometimes get busy with it being very close to Kirkwood and have a lot of college kids out playing. Wish there was more wooded holes but they have made good use of the trees there are.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to play no matter what your skill level and is actually the course I learned to play on while attending college in Cedar Rapids.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/3/2011   5/8/2011
Review By: gassal01
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a very good distance to it. There are ace holes and holes that are 700 ft long. All the tee pads are concrete and the grass is always well kept. The course has nice uphill and downhill shots and a good mix between hyzer shots and tournover shots.
Cons: Trash and glass everywhere.

This course is probably the most open course in town. So there are a lot of people who only come and play Jones. I am all for new comers
to the sport but sometimes it can get
frustrating. (Rate of play is sometimes slow, always very busy, groups will just cut to holes and start playing right in front of you.) You also have to remember that it is a park and there are people there that are not playing disc golf. So you must watch out for them too

No one yells FOUR!! at the course. I have almost been hit several times without warning. It gets frustrating.

Some of the teepads have stupid slopes to them which make them even harder
Other Thoughts: This is your standard park disc golf course. With kids running around and familys walking. If you go on a beautiful sunny day. Chances are you are not the only one who has the same idea. This course can get really busy. So try to go on a weekday if you can.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Long and short

1    8/14/2010   9/16/2010
Review By: lazy42
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads. Helpful signs. Trash cans available. Maintained nicely. A couple of nice open shelter houses.

A few blind pin placements. Nice use of elevation throughout park, in all but a few holes, you are throwing up, down, or along a hill, basically built on a huge hill that you see from the bottom. Several fully grown trees that become obstacles on most holes.

Great selection of long and short holes, many use midrange and putters only, some you'll be driving hard. A couple of water hazard holes. Good newbie course, yet challenging and fun enough for intermediate players. Hole 17 is an amazing site. 800+ ft downhill, just fun to watch people throw.
Cons: Navigation was a little confusing for somebody without a map and never being here. It's been noted on other reviews, but the 3/7 confusion, I almost skipped 14, and then had to look for 15 as I thought 17 was around where I needed to be. A few of the baskets were a little close together, but I never threw at the wrong basket, as the tee signs kept it all clear.

Lots of people just walking around park, I waited like 5 - 10 minutes for a group of kids walking up 17, they dropped something and had to go back, then had to rest because it was a steep hill. I wasn't upset as it gave me a few minutes to sit down and relax, but just be careful throwing because there might be wanderers.
Other Thoughts: A fun park worth playing again. I'd come here again just to play 17, I think a 3 is doable after a good first throw, but I was nowhere close. 12 is kind of a sneaky hole, which is a little more difficult than I first thought. There is a large grouping of trees that is difficult to get past and can snag a disc. Might be a good roller hole (if I knew how to throw them). Enjoyed that challenge. I don't feel comfortable rating this a 3, as I have rated some 9 hole courses a 3 too, so I'm going with 3.5.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/23/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: medicinalfunk
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - fairly open course, yet still provides obstacles that change throwing lanes and creates a good mid-range course on a handful of holes. i throw the roc and the buzzz very often here. good use of the landscape, essentially built on a giant hill. parking at top and bottom
- a good course for beginners, but still throws in a few holes that will test you. most holes stretch between 300-400 feet.
- has its challenging holes, but comprised of mostly manageable lines that creates a fun afternoon of disc golf. good for groups. a good mix of challenging holes, inspired holes, and "lets see if anyone of us can ace this" short ones.
- kept mostly clean, not many cans or bags or trash lying about. grass kept mowed, garbage cans emptied often. each hole is sponsored by a different group or different people, so the course is actually pretty nice for the amount of players that come through every day. a popular course for glow discing too, i see burnt out sticks on baskets some mornings
- teepads and baskets all in good shape, nice signs with distances marked (some are a little vandalized, but still readable)
- pavilions, bathrooms, and grills
- the perfect park for a true "rec" round with friends. this course keeps it light, keeps it interesting, and always keeps scores close till the home stretch.
Cons: - some teepads have a bit of broken glass around them, but not near as much as there used to be. a few beercans lying about, but sadly, this is probably the least vandalized course in the cedar rapids/marion area despite the huge amount of traffic it gets
- some signs are vandalized or broken, but still readable
- usually pretty packed in the evenings and late afternoons. a very popular course for all skill levels in the area, so you could end up stuck behind big groups or groups that play slower. just do what i do and stuff a book in the bag for when that happens.
- seventeenth hole is over 800 feet, which is a bit too far for my tastes. plus there aren't even any holes on the course that are even close to that distance, so it kind of smacks you in the mouth right at the end of your round
- few benches to rest on or shady spots to get you out of the sun for a little while
- don't go in the pond unless you are feeling brave/already drunk. its full of broken glass and fish hooks. also, a guy lake-rakes every morning with a golden retriever who doesn't return, but instead sells your champ/Z plastic for five dollars to people who are going to meathook it right back in.
- people sometimes going for a walk with kids or dogs through the course. not even along the holes, just randomly through out the course. make sure to check around the area of each fairway to ensure there aren't any non-dgers wandering into your lane
Other Thoughts: 2 or 3 holes that are easy birdies every time, plus a pair of long downhill ones mixed in make this a balanced course that i always have a fun round at. however, i wouldn't recommend bringing kids out here. the course is often full of people drinking and smoking out in the open, not even making the slightest effort to be any kind of discreet, plus people using foul language (loudly, usually) is really common with most of the groups you'll pass out there. lots of college dudes drinking and throwing forehand with no shirt on

navigation: the 3rd hole is located up the hill to the right of the 7th hole teepad, i see a lot of people play hole 7 thinking it is 3. hole 14 has no sign. the pad is located down the hill about 40 feet from the 13th pin, basket is up around to the left on top of a hill. after you finish 14, cross the parking lot and go down the hill between the bathrooms and pavilion, you'll see the sign and teepad. there is also a water fountain available at the pavilion

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.