Cedar Rapids, IA 
Jones Park Share
Uploaded By: medicinalfunk Hole #3 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 293ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee: Basket straight ahead



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fairly open and fun

5+    10/5/2013   10/8/2013
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 70  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 14.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Bathrooms, water, shelter house all nearby.
- Well maintained park, in general. Mowed often, the grass is really in good shape.
- Dual pin placements for some holes, although every time I've been, they've been in the same locations.
- Some short, ace run holes, which is a nice mix-up and variety. In general, there is a good variety of hole length here.
- Good variety of left turning and right turning shots, although many holes are straight and more open, and you can choose your shot.
- Good use of the elevation, with holes uphill, downhill, and sideways across the face of the hill.
- Not densely wooded, fairly open, but a few trees on most of the holes that force you into some sort of decision.
- Water hazards on #1 and #2, although it would take a very wayward shot to end up there. Could roll an approach in though if your disc got sideways.
- Course flow is good, not ever too confusing.
- #7 starts open, but then forces your drive deep into the timber for a nice wooded approach.
- #17 is a long, 800 ft downhill hole that probably plays more like 500. Awesome place to let discs fly.
Cons: - Trash, and care for the course. Cans and bottles all over the place. And not because there aren't trash cans. Sometimes trash is littered all around the tee, even with a trash can right there.
- Missing signs and graffiti on signs.
- Erosion on the path from 7 to 8. Wooden steps have been installed, but they're nearly completely washed out.
- #14 tee runs you straight into the side of the hill on your drive, so there is really no room for a follow-through past the concrete.
- Lacks a little variety sometimes from hole to hole.
- It appears that #1 used to be at the top of the hill, instead of the bottom. Looks like most players still park at the shelter up top, and then start at #6, #12, #15, or #17, all of which tee off very close to one another. No issue, so long as people are courteous and not jumping in front of groups currently playing, and jamming up the course.
- A few spots that could be dangerous, with #15 drives running right into #4 fairway. Also #8, 9, and 10 fairways all fairly close to each other.
Other Thoughts: - Plays mostly on the side of one gigantic hill, you can pretty well see all the players on the course at any given moment.
- Really enjoy playing here, this is a very nice fairly open course. Very relaxing, but still a decent challenge.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Up on Strawberry Hill

1    8/26/2012   10/8/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Elevation is used well on this course going all directions including across a few hills which makes the shots really interesting.

2) Mach baskets with the number plates facing the tees is helpful.

3) Signs with Hole #, Par, Distance, sponsors and a map.

4) Nice large concrete tees to throw from are always appreciated.

5) Water in play on the first two holes, but it is just off to the left side. Only a bad shot would go in there.

6) Excellent distance variation with some 100's, 200's, 300's, 400's and an 800' hole thrown in the mix. The 800' hole is completely downhill so it plays like a 700' hole because I threw one shot about 350' which is about 100' more than my normal throws.

7) Nicely maintained park and turf. The grass is in great shape (except around tees).

8) Routing of this course is not necessarily intuitive but it is pretty easy to figure out. The layout does make sure to take you to some of the better areas of the park for disc golf.
Cons: 1) Compaction and erosion around the tees. I wish this was avoided or maintained because it really detracts from the look of a course, especially from non-disc golfers.

2) There should be a safety mando on # because of #8 basket. It really brings another hole into play. There are a couple other close areas, but this is the worst spot.

3) Fairly open course. The elevation is nice, the water is nice, but it sure would be a better course with more trees in the mix. It isn't wide open, but you have plenty of room to work the disc.

4) Mulch could be used around the tees and on those couple of basket locations that are tucked up to the woods to prevent the mudslick whenever it is wet or rainy.
Other Thoughts: At first I really didn't think this course was that great but after playing it and looking back on it, I think the best part of this course is the variety. Sure there are no tight wooded holes but it has just about everything else. It has the elevation, the water, some obstacles to force specific shots on a handful of holes. I just cannot say that there are that many negatives here so I would have to consider this course a 3.5 as Very Good.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Home course, not bad

1    2/2/2012   2/2/2012
Review By: Iowa420DG
Played: 153  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice course. Its clean, well-taken care of, in a nice neighborhood. There's an above average variety of holes with a lot of elevation change, water hazards, and about 5 wooded/open holes. Hole #7 is a hard dog leg right, and Hole #17 is 700+ft., but its a long downhill shot. You really get to test your distance. If its not busy, rip your whole bag on #17 to see what all your discs will do, given all the room in the world.
Cons: Sometimes the park is busy, but never too bad.
Other Thoughts: Worth a 45-minute drive to the average/rec player just looking for an easy/nice course. Worth a 4 hour-drive to the avid frolf lover who wants to experience as many courses as possible.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    6/17/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: Tricky
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I lived in Cedar Rapids until I was 22, the moved to Nashville. About a year ago I picked up the game and have played some really nice courses in the Nashville area (home of the Music City Open).

We found the course right away - the first tee pad is right next to the parking lot (lower parking lot)

We were fortunate enough to get behind some locals who knew the course well and they helped point out the hidden pins and areas you don't want to be in

Concrete tee pads are nice. Some courses in Nashville don't have them, so they can be taken for granted.

Course is well maintained. It looked like it was recently mowed.

Signs with distance on almost every hole and good pictures of the multiple basket locations

Fun family course with enough trees to get in the way to punish the more skilled players when they take the aggressive route.

Great use of one big hill. All 18 holes are on the side, top and bottom of the hill.

Short holes range from 150-300 and the longer ones are 350-750. Hole 17 is on top of the hill and you throw straight down. Definitely a grip and rip hole that is just fun!

Baskets are pretty well kept.

Good variety of holes. Demands a good hyzer, forehand, anhyzer and if you have it, the roller!

Good amount of trash cans, though some need to be reminded that they exist.

Cons: I think some of the holes were put in place just to get to 18 holes. There were a couple straight holes at 150-290 feet. Not a big complaint at all, as you can get in trouble on the others holes and these help to get your score back down!

Baskets could use some bright colors on them to see them a little easier. Looks like they used to have the big white circles with the hole number on top of them, but those have worn down.

One hole, I believe 13, is really hard to hit the line to get close enough to have a chance to birdie. 15 or 16 is a extreme hyzer shot, I don't think you can get it within 60-75 feet unless you throw a nice roller.

Other Thoughts: All in all, I would definitely recommend this course to anyone. It is a fun round and you can go low if you're on your game, but can easily go high if you aren't paying attention. I love courses where the lines are easily picked out, but still require skill to hit them and this course offers it.

I am probably going to go back to it on Sunday and see if I can get an ace on some of those short holes.

PEOPLE WERE FRIENDLY! All courses have those young kids that are out to drink and be loud, so I can't complain about that. I thought the ones we ran into were kind and happy to have outsiders playing their course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Lots of love

5+    8/9/2010   5/9/2011
Review By: rhettro
Played: 36  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2013
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -Great use of landscape, tee shots are often uphill or downhill but there are some amazing holes.

-The course is quite well kept

-most holes are wide open with great chances to work on fairway drives although they do mix in a few wooded areas.

- very kind patrons, only time anyone has ever called me after i lost a disc and they found it.

Cons: - long walking distance often uphill and downhill.

- Some holes can be quite obtrusive to one another, so watch out for intersecting shots.

- This course can get very busy at high points (ie summer weekends)

Other Thoughts: watch the water on the first two holes, ive seen a lot of discs go in to that swamp/pond, and people are often swimming in there for loose discs. Overall this course is a fun and at time slightly challenging. The layout is playful for the land and I enjoy how they pulled it off. Its a great course and I hope to play many more times

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hole #17 Bomb

5+    10/11/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: G-MIL
Played: 63  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well maintained, makes good use of the land (hill). Varied hole lengths work well with varying shots (BH, FH). Good location, easy to find. Fun to play.
Cons: Poor signage, course is extremely open; could use some technical holes to break up the open. See some trash out there I'd rather not see (mult. times - used condoms).
Other Thoughts: # 17 is extremely fun to launch half your bag off of (as long as your not holding up traffic).

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5/18/2008   5/26/2008
Review By: mattmelcher
Played: 24  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Wide open with the ability to air out on some holes. Nice well maintained park.
Cons: Signing and direction needs improved.
Other Thoughts: It was a fun park to play

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center