Cedar Rapids, IA 
Jones Park Share
Uploaded By: medicinalfunk Hole #1 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 318ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Good, Fun Course

2-4    6/28/2016   6/29/2016
Review By: IowaTrain
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - concrete tee pads and good signage on every hole
- elevation changes
- variety of hole distances and shot shapes
- well maintained park
- challenging but fun, plenty of trees to hit if you're off-line, but nothing so penal that you're spending much time looking for discs or losing discs
Cons: - dogs...probably not an issue for some, but I'm not a fan of people bringing their dogs and letting them run loose on the course
- one of the park's parking lots is by the tee for hole 15. too many groups like to jump on 15 as their start. so, you'll come over the hill from 14 basket and find 2 or 3 groups waiting on 15 tee.
- can get busy
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in Cedar Rapids from a playability and fun standpoint. If you're a typical/average player, this is a more open and easier course than Legion or Shaver. Just the right challenge for an intermediate player with the trees, distance and elevation.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A course well-worth playing

5+    9/20/2015   9/30/2015
Review By: mgcoleman
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Jones Park course is in a municipal park (owned/maintained by city of Cedar Rapids). The course is mowed and upkeep seems to be very regular. Ample parking right by the first tee (which is also near the 18th basket) - makes arriving/leaving real easy. Some good shade near parking if you want to hang out. Course plays up, down and across the expanse of a pretty big hill, giving you some uphill, downhill and sidehill shots. Decent incorporation of trees to force a variety of shots. Nice pavillion at top of the hill
Cons: A few tees have dropoffs at the end - watch your footing so you don't turn an ankle.
Other Thoughts: Nice course and worth making a modest drive to play. It can get busy and it is not uncommon to have bigger groups of new/newer players - never had a problem being invited to play through bigger/slower groups.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best in the Area for All Players!

1    6/3/2011   6/4/2011
Review By: GabeEtzel
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Whole course plays on one big hill, restroom and drinking fountain, pavilion at the top of the hill, distances vary from very short (around 150) to one very long (roughly 700 at A and 850 at B), water hazard on hole 2, some holes go into woods
Cons: Some people don't exactly understand that discs are flying and can hurt so they wander on the course from the pavilion or the park, but that's really the only con
Other Thoughts: I have been to this course once, and can't wait to go back! i think it's one of the best in my area (52302, Marion)

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 wide open

5+    11/14/2008   11/14/2008
Review By: ziggy5250
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 17.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice wide open course. Great selection of short & long, right and left. The baskets are pretty well placed considering it is wide open. 17 is 800' and mostly downhill so thats fun. 3 or 4 extremely aceable holes. Plenty of parking and easily accessable as well. course is usually well kept too as its adjacent to a very nice public golf course.
Cons: Always packed on nice days. being that wide open makes it a lil boring. A lot of people complain about the hole markers but I've played it a ton so I dont really notice anymore. I'm sure it could drive a first timer nuts tho.
Other Thoughts: They have recently moved some of the baskets, nothing major, but added to the challenge. It's a fun course, definitely worth playing if you're in the area.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/4/2008   11/4/2008
Review By: Pinto
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: It's a nice wide open park and well-kept. It's good for people beginning and amateurs as well, however has distance for pros. Next to Jones park, has facilities and good parking.
Cons: Its signs are horrible and needs new ones. It can be a little easy for pros being wide open and not too technical. It can get very crowded.
Other Thoughts: I consider this my home course and the one I began playing, so I have a fondness for it.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.