Cedar Rapids, IA 
Jones Park Share
Uploaded By: medicinalfunk Hole #8 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 321ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee: Basket straight ahead over the hill



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Quick, fun DGC

1    10/10/2014   10/10/2014
Review By: Mayes2158
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.4 Years
Pros: Very fun course that plays up the side of a decent sized hill, that at hole 17 lets you throw a 800'+bomb down the side of hill. There are quit a few aceable holes.
Cons: If it is crowded, a lot of the holes overlap or are in very close proximity to each other, so watch out for discs. Signage is not the best, but I did manage to find my way around my first time there.
Other Thoughts: Looking for a fun course, then you will not be disappointed, if you stop in here for a quick round.


1    7/4/2014   7/19/2014
Review By: tlsuth41
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice city park with good tee pads. Good variety of holes. Some short holes mixed in with a couple of longer ones to give a challenge.

Able to air out your shots with not too much restrictions.
Cons: Not too much negative to say.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

3.2

1    5/25/2014   5/28/2014
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 101  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Jones Park was a bustling course that must be popular among Cedar Rapids locals, because there was a group on just about every hole during my round here. And it is popular with good reason:

*Some VERY good golf holes on this one. The course goes up and down a hillside, so there is solid elevation, and there are enough trees out there to force all kinds of lines off the tee

*This course is much more beginner friendly than its neighbor Shaver Park. Unlike Shaver, Jones is not a particularly wooded course, and it has a much more forgiving rough.

*Beautiful park overall, with some minor water hazards in the early going

There was one hole here that completely blew my mind! (I think it was in the vicinity of hole 12, but I can't tell from the pictures on here). I'm still trying to figure out which shot I should have thrown. The hole is about 350 feet long, down hill, and has trees perfectly placed in the middle of the fairway to allow for a huge anhyzer line, a low forehand line and even a backhand hyzer line. I would have tried all three lines if the course hadn't been so crowded!
Cons: As great as some of the golf here was, there were plenty of negative aspects of this course to bring this one down a little.

*Tee signs were in a dismal state of repair.

*There were multiple holes that were completely wide open with distances of less than 225 ft. It's usually acceptable in my book for a course to have one boring hole like this, but TWO??

*A few safety issues here... the lake in the early holes seemed to be brimming with fishermen, and other park goers. Also, the fairways here come awfully close to one another, so be on the lookout for errant discs.
Other Thoughts: This course provides a pretty nice contrast to nearby Shaver Park. It is far more beginner friendly, but is not lacking some quality golf.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fairly open and fun

5+    10/5/2013   10/8/2013
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 70  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 14.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Bathrooms, water, shelter house all nearby.
- Well maintained park, in general. Mowed often, the grass is really in good shape.
- Dual pin placements for some holes, although every time I've been, they've been in the same locations.
- Some short, ace run holes, which is a nice mix-up and variety. In general, there is a good variety of hole length here.
- Good variety of left turning and right turning shots, although many holes are straight and more open, and you can choose your shot.
- Good use of the elevation, with holes uphill, downhill, and sideways across the face of the hill.
- Not densely wooded, fairly open, but a few trees on most of the holes that force you into some sort of decision.
- Water hazards on #1 and #2, although it would take a very wayward shot to end up there. Could roll an approach in though if your disc got sideways.
- Course flow is good, not ever too confusing.
- #7 starts open, but then forces your drive deep into the timber for a nice wooded approach.
- #17 is a long, 800 ft downhill hole that probably plays more like 500. Awesome place to let discs fly.
Cons: - Trash, and care for the course. Cans and bottles all over the place. And not because there aren't trash cans. Sometimes trash is littered all around the tee, even with a trash can right there.
- Missing signs and graffiti on signs.
- Erosion on the path from 7 to 8. Wooden steps have been installed, but they're nearly completely washed out.
- #14 tee runs you straight into the side of the hill on your drive, so there is really no room for a follow-through past the concrete.
- Lacks a little variety sometimes from hole to hole.
- It appears that #1 used to be at the top of the hill, instead of the bottom. Looks like most players still park at the shelter up top, and then start at #6, #12, #15, or #17, all of which tee off very close to one another. No issue, so long as people are courteous and not jumping in front of groups currently playing, and jamming up the course.
- A few spots that could be dangerous, with #15 drives running right into #4 fairway. Also #8, 9, and 10 fairways all fairly close to each other.
Other Thoughts: - Plays mostly on the side of one gigantic hill, you can pretty well see all the players on the course at any given moment.
- Really enjoy playing here, this is a very nice fairly open course. Very relaxing, but still a decent challenge.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Up on Strawberry Hill

1    8/26/2012   10/8/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Elevation is used well on this course going all directions including across a few hills which makes the shots really interesting.

2) Mach baskets with the number plates facing the tees is helpful.

3) Signs with Hole #, Par, Distance, sponsors and a map.

4) Nice large concrete tees to throw from are always appreciated.

5) Water in play on the first two holes, but it is just off to the left side. Only a bad shot would go in there.

6) Excellent distance variation with some 100's, 200's, 300's, 400's and an 800' hole thrown in the mix. The 800' hole is completely downhill so it plays like a 700' hole because I threw one shot about 350' which is about 100' more than my normal throws.

7) Nicely maintained park and turf. The grass is in great shape (except around tees).

8) Routing of this course is not necessarily intuitive but it is pretty easy to figure out. The layout does make sure to take you to some of the better areas of the park for disc golf.
Cons: 1) Compaction and erosion around the tees. I wish this was avoided or maintained because it really detracts from the look of a course, especially from non-disc golfers.

2) There should be a safety mando on # because of #8 basket. It really brings another hole into play. There are a couple other close areas, but this is the worst spot.

3) Fairly open course. The elevation is nice, the water is nice, but it sure would be a better course with more trees in the mix. It isn't wide open, but you have plenty of room to work the disc.

4) Mulch could be used around the tees and on those couple of basket locations that are tucked up to the woods to prevent the mudslick whenever it is wet or rainy.
Other Thoughts: At first I really didn't think this course was that great but after playing it and looking back on it, I think the best part of this course is the variety. Sure there are no tight wooded holes but it has just about everything else. It has the elevation, the water, some obstacles to force specific shots on a handful of holes. I just cannot say that there are that many negatives here so I would have to consider this course a 3.5 as Very Good.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great CR course

5+    6/7/2008   9/7/2012
Review By: JaminLDC
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to follow this course. It has a good variety of short to long holes with great use of the hill. Hole #17 is the longest hole in Cedar Rapids and the downhill grade is awesome to just let your disc float forever. Quite a few ace-able holes to note as well. I've hit a couple at this course.
Cons: Course can sometimes get busy with it being very close to Kirkwood and have a lot of college kids out playing. Wish there was more wooded holes but they have made good use of the trees there are.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to play no matter what your skill level and is actually the course I learned to play on while attending college in Cedar Rapids.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Home course, not bad

1    2/2/2012   2/2/2012
Review By: Iowa420DG
Played: 152  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice course. Its clean, well-taken care of, in a nice neighborhood. There's an above average variety of holes with a lot of elevation change, water hazards, and about 5 wooded/open holes. Hole #7 is a hard dog leg right, and Hole #17 is 700+ft., but its a long downhill shot. You really get to test your distance. If its not busy, rip your whole bag on #17 to see what all your discs will do, given all the room in the world.
Cons: Sometimes the park is busy, but never too bad.
Other Thoughts: Worth a 45-minute drive to the average/rec player just looking for an easy/nice course. Worth a 4 hour-drive to the avid frolf lover who wants to experience as many courses as possible.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Easy peasy

5+    9/7/2011   9/7/2011
Review By: wadeG
Played: 50  Reviewed: 9
This review was updated on 9/8/2011
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: It's on a well mowed hill with some trees, all concrete pads and flows fairly well. A lot of 300 foot holes. Not a lot to be said about the play here... A smooth rolling hill with some trees sums this course up very well. You aren't missing much if you pass on this.
Cons: Easy and mostly open course that gets busy on nice days. Local rec players flock to this course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    6/17/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: Tricky
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I lived in Cedar Rapids until I was 22, the moved to Nashville. About a year ago I picked up the game and have played some really nice courses in the Nashville area (home of the Music City Open).

We found the course right away - the first tee pad is right next to the parking lot (lower parking lot)

We were fortunate enough to get behind some locals who knew the course well and they helped point out the hidden pins and areas you don't want to be in

Concrete tee pads are nice. Some courses in Nashville don't have them, so they can be taken for granted.

Course is well maintained. It looked like it was recently mowed.

Signs with distance on almost every hole and good pictures of the multiple basket locations

Fun family course with enough trees to get in the way to punish the more skilled players when they take the aggressive route.

Great use of one big hill. All 18 holes are on the side, top and bottom of the hill.

Short holes range from 150-300 and the longer ones are 350-750. Hole 17 is on top of the hill and you throw straight down. Definitely a grip and rip hole that is just fun!

Baskets are pretty well kept.

Good variety of holes. Demands a good hyzer, forehand, anhyzer and if you have it, the roller!

Good amount of trash cans, though some need to be reminded that they exist.

Cons: I think some of the holes were put in place just to get to 18 holes. There were a couple straight holes at 150-290 feet. Not a big complaint at all, as you can get in trouble on the others holes and these help to get your score back down!

Baskets could use some bright colors on them to see them a little easier. Looks like they used to have the big white circles with the hole number on top of them, but those have worn down.

One hole, I believe 13, is really hard to hit the line to get close enough to have a chance to birdie. 15 or 16 is a extreme hyzer shot, I don't think you can get it within 60-75 feet unless you throw a nice roller.

Other Thoughts: All in all, I would definitely recommend this course to anyone. It is a fun round and you can go low if you're on your game, but can easily go high if you aren't paying attention. I love courses where the lines are easily picked out, but still require skill to hit them and this course offers it.

I am probably going to go back to it on Sunday and see if I can get an ace on some of those short holes.

PEOPLE WERE FRIENDLY! All courses have those young kids that are out to drink and be loud, so I can't complain about that. I thought the ones we ran into were kind and happy to have outsiders playing their course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best in the Area for All Players!

1    6/3/2011   6/4/2011
Review By: GabeEtzel
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Whole course plays on one big hill, restroom and drinking fountain, pavilion at the top of the hill, distances vary from very short (around 150) to one very long (roughly 700 at A and 850 at B), water hazard on hole 2, some holes go into woods
Cons: Some people don't exactly understand that discs are flying and can hurt so they wander on the course from the pavilion or the park, but that's really the only con
Other Thoughts: I have been to this course once, and can't wait to go back! i think it's one of the best in my area (52302, Marion)

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.