Cedar Rapids, IA 
Jones Park Share
Uploaded By: medicinalfunk Hole #18 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 306ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee: Basket slightly to the left of the tee in the trees

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Angry Birds

1    5/23/2016   8/5/2016
Review By: mmeseck
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is free and easy to get to right in the middle of town. Has some nice changes in elevation for a townie course. Hole #2 & 18 are a blast to play on.
Cons: No real cons unless you are looking for a really challenging course this probably isn't the one for you.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the birds and the poo. The birds were angry that day my friend. Like an old man trying to send back in a deli.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good, Fun Course

2-4    6/28/2016   6/29/2016
Review By: IowaTrain
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - concrete tee pads and good signage on every hole
- elevation changes
- variety of hole distances and shot shapes
- well maintained park
- challenging but fun, plenty of trees to hit if you're off-line, but nothing so penal that you're spending much time looking for discs or losing discs
Cons: - dogs...probably not an issue for some, but I'm not a fan of people bringing their dogs and letting them run loose on the course
- one of the park's parking lots is by the tee for hole 15. too many groups like to jump on 15 as their start. so, you'll come over the hill from 14 basket and find 2 or 3 groups waiting on 15 tee.
- can get busy
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in Cedar Rapids from a playability and fun standpoint. If you're a typical/average player, this is a more open and easier course than Legion or Shaver. Just the right challenge for an intermediate player with the trees, distance and elevation.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A fun course with an old school feel.

1    5/29/2016   6/3/2016
Review By: RussMB
Played: 113  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 12 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Beautiful well maintained park with a big fun factor!
Lots of elevation changes
Most fairways have multiple lines of approach, so there is no real RH or LH Bias on the holes.
Concrete Tees and Signs. From the looks of it, new signs have been added
Players could start on 1 or 15
Easy to navigate without a map
Alternating Pin placements.
Good mix of long, Short and a few technical fairways
Also, there is a variety of up and down hill shots.
A fantastic course to bring new players, as well as non-regular players. Yet, this course still offers up a challenge to the seasoned player. It's a course for all to enjoy
Has a very cool "across the valley" run for 1080 ft
Has a few Ace Run holes
Shelter houses
Multi Use park with multiple activities
Cons: Pedestrian and Disc Golf Traffic could slow you down. This is a popular park with a popular disc golf course. It can get very busy!
It is primarily an open field course, therefore subject to windy days
This course has done a good job in laying out the fairway to keep things interesting. However, this is primarily an old school straight forward open field layout. It can get redundant after throwing a few holes here.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time playing here!! If you are going to be in the Cedar Rapids area, then this is a must play course. I would say that the fun factor definitely outweighs the challenge factor, but that isn't necessarily a bad thing. I had a great time and got to throw a number of different lines while I was here. Jones is definitely much easier to play than say Shaver or Legion, but you can have a good time.

If you are going to be traveling or road tripping through the area, then I would definitely put this on your list. You will not need any special foot wear to play here, and your interactions with the woods will be low. That's not a promise that it will be poison ivy free, but extremely minimal. You will be out in the open, so bring liquids for the hot days. If you are traveling with family, Jones is not too far off the interstate and there is a playground in this park. . If you are looking for a rest stop round, then this will be a good place to stop! There is lots to do here!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Worth Your TIme

5+    4/4/2016   4/10/2016
Review By: Log242
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open
Birdie Opportunities

Cons: Can be Busy
Tough on Windy Days
Other Thoughts: Even though I'm not from Cedar Rapids I would still call this course my home course just because I've played it way more than any other course. It's a pretty straightforward fun and challenging course that has some small obstacles with some more open holes as well. It's a a good combination of wooded and open holes.

There are a couple 200 foot holes which provide opportunities to make a round interesting. I ended up getting my first hole in 1 on hole 11.

Even though it can be busy, it's a fun easy-going course that is worth the time to play.

I had just got done playing Wildcat a week before I played at Jones so I had a challenging course that I feel actually improved my game at Jones. I ended up getting my best score even though I really messed up on the first and third hole in which I normally par.

Jones (04/04)
2 0 1 0 -1 0 0 0 -1 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 2 0 (+5)

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Course.

5+    1/30/2016   2/2/2016
Review By: caleb1989
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.4 Years
Pros: Fun, fairly easy course to play, great elevation change throughout, water hazard on the first three holes, most holes are under 300' so reachable for those like me who don't have a huge arm. There is a massive 800' hole where you throw off a large hill so you can really get some distance. Only a couple of wooded holes so not much risk of loosing a disc. Holes are well marked easy to see where to go.
Cons: It's a public park so you run into people playing football or soccer, or in the winter sledding sometimes blocking the holes, if your an above average player you might find the course to easy.
Other Thoughts: Great course, good to play if you want to practice different shots, or just play some leisurely golf.

Your Average Jones

2-4    3/10/2015   1/7/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 84  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 23.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2016
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: The course is another that is wide open and reminds one of a ball golf course. Holes 14 and 18 are signature holes to me, among the few that offer any real technical challenge.
Cons: The entire course is a con. The first 3 holes are virtually the same distance and absolutely straight. Holes 6-8 are also in the same distance range and are absolutely straight. Most of the holes on the course are in the same distance range, and the shorter holes are far too easy. What little vegetation there is is not used to its full advantage.

The designer also clearly wanted us to gasp with awe at the 820 foot downhill 17th, but the hole is just a boring exercise in bogie for most players (bombers might get a 3, and 300 foot throwers with get a 4 or a 5).

It's simply not a very interesting course and the only challenge is distance.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

A course well-worth playing

5+    9/20/2015   9/30/2015
Review By: mgcoleman
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Jones Park course is in a municipal park (owned/maintained by city of Cedar Rapids). The course is mowed and upkeep seems to be very regular. Ample parking right by the first tee (which is also near the 18th basket) - makes arriving/leaving real easy. Some good shade near parking if you want to hang out. Course plays up, down and across the expanse of a pretty big hill, giving you some uphill, downhill and sidehill shots. Decent incorporation of trees to force a variety of shots. Nice pavillion at top of the hill
Cons: A few tees have dropoffs at the end - watch your footing so you don't turn an ankle.
Other Thoughts: Nice course and worth making a modest drive to play. It can get busy and it is not uncommon to have bigger groups of new/newer players - never had a problem being invited to play through bigger/slower groups.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Quick, fun DGC

1    10/10/2014   10/10/2014
Review By: Mayes2158
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very fun course that plays up the side of a decent sized hill, that at hole 17 lets you throw a 800'+bomb down the side of hill. There are quit a few aceable holes.
Cons: If it is crowded, a lot of the holes overlap or are in very close proximity to each other, so watch out for discs. Signage is not the best, but I did manage to find my way around my first time there.
Other Thoughts: Looking for a fun course, then you will not be disappointed, if you stop in here for a quick round.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    7/4/2014   7/19/2014
Review By: tlsuth41
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice city park with good tee pads. Good variety of holes. Some short holes mixed in with a couple of longer ones to give a challenge.

Able to air out your shots with not too much restrictions.
Cons: Not too much negative to say.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    5/25/2014   5/28/2014
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 122  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 12.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Jones Park was a bustling course that must be popular among Cedar Rapids locals, because there was a group on just about every hole during my round here. And it is popular with good reason:

*Some VERY good golf holes on this one. The course goes up and down a hillside, so there is solid elevation, and there are enough trees out there to force all kinds of lines off the tee

*This course is much more beginner friendly than its neighbor Shaver Park. Unlike Shaver, Jones is not a particularly wooded course, and it has a much more forgiving rough.

*Beautiful park overall, with some minor water hazards in the early going

There was one hole here that completely blew my mind! (I think it was in the vicinity of hole 12, but I can't tell from the pictures on here). I'm still trying to figure out which shot I should have thrown. The hole is about 350 feet long, down hill, and has trees perfectly placed in the middle of the fairway to allow for a huge anhyzer line, a low forehand line and even a backhand hyzer line. I would have tried all three lines if the course hadn't been so crowded!
Cons: As great as some of the golf here was, there were plenty of negative aspects of this course to bring this one down a little.

*Tee signs were in a dismal state of repair.

*There were multiple holes that were completely wide open with distances of less than 225 ft. It's usually acceptable in my book for a course to have one boring hole like this, but TWO??

*A few safety issues here... the lake in the early holes seemed to be brimming with fishermen, and other park goers. Also, the fairways here come awfully close to one another, so be on the lookout for errant discs.
Other Thoughts: This course provides a pretty nice contrast to nearby Shaver Park. It is far more beginner friendly, but is not lacking some quality golf.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.