Cedar Rapids, IA 
Jones Park Share
Uploaded By: medicinalfunk Hole #7 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee: Basket up and around to the right in the clearing



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Up on Strawberry Hill

1    8/26/2012   10/8/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 900  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 7.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Elevation is used well on this course going all directions including across a few hills which makes the shots really interesting.

2) Mach baskets with the number plates facing the tees is helpful.

3) Signs with Hole #, Par, Distance, sponsors and a map.

4) Nice large concrete tees to throw from are always appreciated.

5) Water in play on the first two holes, but it is just off to the left side. Only a bad shot would go in there.

6) Excellent distance variation with some 100's, 200's, 300's, 400's and an 800' hole thrown in the mix. The 800' hole is completely downhill so it plays like a 700' hole because I threw one shot about 350' which is about 100' more than my normal throws.

7) Nicely maintained park and turf. The grass is in great shape (except around tees).

8) Routing of this course is not necessarily intuitive but it is pretty easy to figure out. The layout does make sure to take you to some of the better areas of the park for disc golf.
Cons: 1) Compaction and erosion around the tees. I wish this was avoided or maintained because it really detracts from the look of a course, especially from non-disc golfers.

2) There should be a safety mando on # because of #8 basket. It really brings another hole into play. There are a couple other close areas, but this is the worst spot.

3) Fairly open course. The elevation is nice, the water is nice, but it sure would be a better course with more trees in the mix. It isn't wide open, but you have plenty of room to work the disc.

4) Mulch could be used around the tees and on those couple of basket locations that are tucked up to the woods to prevent the mudslick whenever it is wet or rainy.
Other Thoughts: At first I really didn't think this course was that great but after playing it and looking back on it, I think the best part of this course is the variety. Sure there are no tight wooded holes but it has just about everything else. It has the elevation, the water, some obstacles to force specific shots on a handful of holes. I just cannot say that there are that many negatives here so I would have to consider this course a 3.5 as Very Good.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great CR course

5+    6/7/2008   9/7/2012
Review By: JaminLDC
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to follow this course. It has a good variety of short to long holes with great use of the hill. Hole #17 is the longest hole in Cedar Rapids and the downhill grade is awesome to just let your disc float forever. Quite a few ace-able holes to note as well. I've hit a couple at this course.
Cons: Course can sometimes get busy with it being very close to Kirkwood and have a lot of college kids out playing. Wish there was more wooded holes but they have made good use of the trees there are.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to play no matter what your skill level and is actually the course I learned to play on while attending college in Cedar Rapids.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Home course, not bad

1    2/2/2012   2/2/2012
Review By: Iowa420DG
Played: 166  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice course. Its clean, well-taken care of, in a nice neighborhood. There's an above average variety of holes with a lot of elevation change, water hazards, and about 5 wooded/open holes. Hole #7 is a hard dog leg right, and Hole #17 is 700+ft., but its a long downhill shot. You really get to test your distance. If its not busy, rip your whole bag on #17 to see what all your discs will do, given all the room in the world.
Cons: Sometimes the park is busy, but never too bad.
Other Thoughts: Worth a 45-minute drive to the average/rec player just looking for an easy/nice course. Worth a 4 hour-drive to the avid frolf lover who wants to experience as many courses as possible.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Easy peasy

5+    9/7/2011   9/7/2011
Review By: wadeG
Played: 50  Reviewed: 9
This review was updated on 9/8/2011
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: It's on a well mowed hill with some trees, all concrete pads and flows fairly well. A lot of 300 foot holes. Not a lot to be said about the play here... A smooth rolling hill with some trees sums this course up very well. You aren't missing much if you pass on this.
Cons: Easy and mostly open course that gets busy on nice days. Local rec players flock to this course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    6/17/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: Tricky
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I lived in Cedar Rapids until I was 22, the moved to Nashville. About a year ago I picked up the game and have played some really nice courses in the Nashville area (home of the Music City Open).

We found the course right away - the first tee pad is right next to the parking lot (lower parking lot)

We were fortunate enough to get behind some locals who knew the course well and they helped point out the hidden pins and areas you don't want to be in

Concrete tee pads are nice. Some courses in Nashville don't have them, so they can be taken for granted.

Course is well maintained. It looked like it was recently mowed.

Signs with distance on almost every hole and good pictures of the multiple basket locations

Fun family course with enough trees to get in the way to punish the more skilled players when they take the aggressive route.

Great use of one big hill. All 18 holes are on the side, top and bottom of the hill.

Short holes range from 150-300 and the longer ones are 350-750. Hole 17 is on top of the hill and you throw straight down. Definitely a grip and rip hole that is just fun!

Baskets are pretty well kept.

Good variety of holes. Demands a good hyzer, forehand, anhyzer and if you have it, the roller!

Good amount of trash cans, though some need to be reminded that they exist.

Cons: I think some of the holes were put in place just to get to 18 holes. There were a couple straight holes at 150-290 feet. Not a big complaint at all, as you can get in trouble on the others holes and these help to get your score back down!

Baskets could use some bright colors on them to see them a little easier. Looks like they used to have the big white circles with the hole number on top of them, but those have worn down.

One hole, I believe 13, is really hard to hit the line to get close enough to have a chance to birdie. 15 or 16 is a extreme hyzer shot, I don't think you can get it within 60-75 feet unless you throw a nice roller.

Other Thoughts: All in all, I would definitely recommend this course to anyone. It is a fun round and you can go low if you're on your game, but can easily go high if you aren't paying attention. I love courses where the lines are easily picked out, but still require skill to hit them and this course offers it.

I am probably going to go back to it on Sunday and see if I can get an ace on some of those short holes.

PEOPLE WERE FRIENDLY! All courses have those young kids that are out to drink and be loud, so I can't complain about that. I thought the ones we ran into were kind and happy to have outsiders playing their course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best in the Area for All Players!

1    6/3/2011   6/4/2011
Review By: GabeEtzel
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Whole course plays on one big hill, restroom and drinking fountain, pavilion at the top of the hill, distances vary from very short (around 150) to one very long (roughly 700 at A and 850 at B), water hazard on hole 2, some holes go into woods
Cons: Some people don't exactly understand that discs are flying and can hurt so they wander on the course from the pavilion or the park, but that's really the only con
Other Thoughts: I have been to this course once, and can't wait to go back! i think it's one of the best in my area (52302, Marion)

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of love

5+    8/9/2010   5/9/2011
Review By: rhettro
Played: 36  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2013
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -Great use of landscape, tee shots are often uphill or downhill but there are some amazing holes.

-The course is quite well kept

-most holes are wide open with great chances to work on fairway drives although they do mix in a few wooded areas.

- very kind patrons, only time anyone has ever called me after i lost a disc and they found it.

Cons: - long walking distance often uphill and downhill.

- Some holes can be quite obtrusive to one another, so watch out for intersecting shots.

- This course can get very busy at high points (ie summer weekends)

Other Thoughts: watch the water on the first two holes, ive seen a lot of discs go in to that swamp/pond, and people are often swimming in there for loose discs. Overall this course is a fun and at time slightly challenging. The layout is playful for the land and I enjoy how they pulled it off. Its a great course and I hope to play many more times

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/3/2011   5/8/2011
Review By: gassal01
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a very good distance to it. There are ace holes and holes that are 700 ft long. All the tee pads are concrete and the grass is always well kept. The course has nice uphill and downhill shots and a good mix between hyzer shots and tournover shots.
Cons: Trash and glass everywhere.

This course is probably the most open course in town. So there are a lot of people who only come and play Jones. I am all for new comers
to the sport but sometimes it can get
frustrating. (Rate of play is sometimes slow, always very busy, groups will just cut to holes and start playing right in front of you.) You also have to remember that it is a park and there are people there that are not playing disc golf. So you must watch out for them too

No one yells FOUR!! at the course. I have almost been hit several times without warning. It gets frustrating.

Some of the teepads have stupid slopes to them which make them even harder
Other Thoughts: This is your standard park disc golf course. With kids running around and familys walking. If you go on a beautiful sunny day. Chances are you are not the only one who has the same idea. This course can get really busy. So try to go on a weekday if you can.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Long and short

1    8/14/2010   9/16/2010
Review By: lazy42
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads. Helpful signs. Trash cans available. Maintained nicely. A couple of nice open shelter houses.

A few blind pin placements. Nice use of elevation throughout park, in all but a few holes, you are throwing up, down, or along a hill, basically built on a huge hill that you see from the bottom. Several fully grown trees that become obstacles on most holes.

Great selection of long and short holes, many use midrange and putters only, some you'll be driving hard. A couple of water hazard holes. Good newbie course, yet challenging and fun enough for intermediate players. Hole 17 is an amazing site. 800+ ft downhill, just fun to watch people throw.
Cons: Navigation was a little confusing for somebody without a map and never being here. It's been noted on other reviews, but the 3/7 confusion, I almost skipped 14, and then had to look for 15 as I thought 17 was around where I needed to be. A few of the baskets were a little close together, but I never threw at the wrong basket, as the tee signs kept it all clear.

Lots of people just walking around park, I waited like 5 - 10 minutes for a group of kids walking up 17, they dropped something and had to go back, then had to rest because it was a steep hill. I wasn't upset as it gave me a few minutes to sit down and relax, but just be careful throwing because there might be wanderers.
Other Thoughts: A fun park worth playing again. I'd come here again just to play 17, I think a 3 is doable after a good first throw, but I was nowhere close. 12 is kind of a sneaky hole, which is a little more difficult than I first thought. There is a large grouping of trees that is difficult to get past and can snag a disc. Might be a good roller hole (if I knew how to throw them). Enjoyed that challenge. I don't feel comfortable rating this a 3, as I have rated some 9 hole courses a 3 too, so I'm going with 3.5.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/23/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: medicinalfunk
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - fairly open course, yet still provides obstacles that change throwing lanes and creates a good mid-range course on a handful of holes. i throw the roc and the buzzz very often here. good use of the landscape, essentially built on a giant hill. parking at top and bottom
- a good course for beginners, but still throws in a few holes that will test you. most holes stretch between 300-400 feet.
- has its challenging holes, but comprised of mostly manageable lines that creates a fun afternoon of disc golf. good for groups. a good mix of challenging holes, inspired holes, and "lets see if anyone of us can ace this" short ones.
- kept mostly clean, not many cans or bags or trash lying about. grass kept mowed, garbage cans emptied often. each hole is sponsored by a different group or different people, so the course is actually pretty nice for the amount of players that come through every day. a popular course for glow discing too, i see burnt out sticks on baskets some mornings
- teepads and baskets all in good shape, nice signs with distances marked (some are a little vandalized, but still readable)
- pavilions, bathrooms, and grills
- the perfect park for a true "rec" round with friends. this course keeps it light, keeps it interesting, and always keeps scores close till the home stretch.
Cons: - some teepads have a bit of broken glass around them, but not near as much as there used to be. a few beercans lying about, but sadly, this is probably the least vandalized course in the cedar rapids/marion area despite the huge amount of traffic it gets
- some signs are vandalized or broken, but still readable
- usually pretty packed in the evenings and late afternoons. a very popular course for all skill levels in the area, so you could end up stuck behind big groups or groups that play slower. just do what i do and stuff a book in the bag for when that happens.
- seventeenth hole is over 800 feet, which is a bit too far for my tastes. plus there aren't even any holes on the course that are even close to that distance, so it kind of smacks you in the mouth right at the end of your round
- few benches to rest on or shady spots to get you out of the sun for a little while
- don't go in the pond unless you are feeling brave/already drunk. its full of broken glass and fish hooks. also, a guy lake-rakes every morning with a golden retriever who doesn't return, but instead sells your champ/Z plastic for five dollars to people who are going to meathook it right back in.
- people sometimes going for a walk with kids or dogs through the course. not even along the holes, just randomly through out the course. make sure to check around the area of each fairway to ensure there aren't any non-dgers wandering into your lane
Other Thoughts: 2 or 3 holes that are easy birdies every time, plus a pair of long downhill ones mixed in make this a balanced course that i always have a fun round at. however, i wouldn't recommend bringing kids out here. the course is often full of people drinking and smoking out in the open, not even making the slightest effort to be any kind of discreet, plus people using foul language (loudly, usually) is really common with most of the groups you'll pass out there. lots of college dudes drinking and throwing forehand with no shirt on

navigation: the 3rd hole is located up the hill to the right of the 7th hole teepad, i see a lot of people play hole 7 thinking it is 3. hole 14 has no sign. the pad is located down the hill about 40 feet from the 13th pin, basket is up around to the left on top of a hill. after you finish 14, cross the parking lot and go down the hill between the bathrooms and pavilion, you'll see the sign and teepad. there is also a water fountain available at the pavilion

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.