Maricopa, AZ
Maricopa Meadows Share
Uploaded By: Craig639 Hole #3 (Taken 3/2012)
4 / 385ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Approach



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
good subdivision course

1    1/14/2014   1/14/2014
Review By: Psicko
Played: 24  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.2 Years
Pros: The course has an inflated par, which I guess could be seen as both a pro and a con. Narrow fairways that reward accuracy. I don't throw super far, but because of the narrow fairways I was able to keep up with most of the other people in my group. They would throw far, but it would go OB. If someone has good distance and good accuracy, they would rock this course. The course is well taken care of. The new hole 18 gives you another hole to play while walking back to the parking lot. It is located on the other side of the road from basket number 3(the teepad is just a mat. not sure if that will change in the future.).
Cons: The biggest thing I didn't like was the teepads. The two rocks at the front of each teepad could be a potential hazard. I don't want my teepads to be hazardous. I want them to be practical. The other thing was shot variation. Most of holes had the same approach of throw long and straight as possible for a good throw. There were a couple of shots that had some variety, but not many. When you get done with the last hole , it is a little bit of a walk to the parking lot. The course flow is not intuitive and is broken by the many streets. If you or the other people in your group hasn't played it before, print out a map for it. The fairways are really narrow in some parts of the course. Most cars try to avoid discs that end up in the road, but one purposefully swerved to run over my buddies disc. There is a sidewalk that goes through the disc golf course, so during the weekend it may get busy. It is not so busy in the middle of the day during the week.
Other Thoughts: We played 2 rounds one round being the normal round, and one being the tournament set up for the tournament weekend. I would play this again provided that I went with a group of friends. Its too far for a solo round.

Par??

1    3/18/2013   3/18/2013
Review By: grgr66
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy playing course. finished with two eagles and seven birdies on my first time playing.
Nice thick green grass throughout with the first 6 holes being played around a scenic pond.
Cons: Long walk back to the parking lot when you are done as well as many road crossings during play.
The water is very dirty and deep in areas so no disc recovery if you misthrow.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mediocre

2-4    3/5/2013   3/11/2013
Review By: chillis
Played: 90  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 13.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is situated in a series of neighborhood green belts, bordered almost always by houses on at least one side (with 8ft high brick walls) of the fairway. The road often times serves as another border (OB). There is cushy grass throughout and cement teepads.

Many of the holes are 400+ ft and have narrow fairways, so this course definitely rewards accuracy and the ability to fling the disc a good ways without going OB. Rollers won't work so well on the narrow fairways, so this really becomes a distance competition.

There's a designated parking lot by the playground equipment.
Cons: -No visible signage. The hole information is embedded into the cement teepads. So, you're left looking for the next teepad numerous times without much direction.
-Variation here is minimal (Aim straight, bomb as far as you can, rinse/repeat)
-No elevation change to speak of.
-Don't understand the huge rocks at the front of the teepads. These seem more like hazards than anything.
-Since this course is situated between the housing rows and the road, there is also a sidewalk that meanders through or near the entire course. This means, on a nice day, there are pedestrians aplenty.
-No restroom at the park or on the course. Don't think I saw a drinking fountain, either.
-Not much shade. This course would be rough in the hotter months.
-After finishing 18, you're left with a 1/2mi walk back to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: For a course squeezed into a subdivision, it's not bad. If I lived in Maricopa, I'd play it all the time. So, for the simple fact the HOA (or whoever is responsible for its installation) went ahead with it, I'm impressed. But, because of the potential danger to pedestrians, vehicles, and private property, I don't know how long this course will be available for play.

As other have mentioned, the course pars are way off.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice course, but has room for improvement.

1    12/26/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: Sunday Mike
Played: 41  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 12 Years
This review was updated on 7/16/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in GREAT shape. When I visited it was being mowed by what seemed an army of landscapers. It looks really good.
There are some nice challenging shots over water and a few tees with interesting paths.
The baskets are in nice shape and I thought the tee pads were top notch. The design of the pads was very well though out.
This course is well taken care of.
Cons: First and foremost, due to the number of Honeycutts (Ave, Rd, & Ln) in Maricopa, it makes it a bit difficult to locate.
Next I would really have liked to see a bathroom somewhere on the course.
The pars are a joke. It is listed as a par 66 with some 4's and 5's which have no business being that many strokes. Maybe one or two of the 5's should be 4's, but that's it. All the 4's should be 3's.
The walk from 18 back to one is kind of strange. It's the first course I've run across which leaves you so far away from where you started.
Other Thoughts: Though it's a good 45+ minutes from my house I will be coming back to play this course again, I really enjoyed it. I do wish the listed pars (engraved on the pads) weren't so ridiculous, but you don't have to play them that way!

One more note...the 15 basket does NOT go in the direction it is shown on the course map, it goes in the opposite direction and you have to backtrack to the 16 tee. I am speculating, but it looks like the original 15 basket placement made for a RH hyzer around some houses and a few too many discs ended up in backyards, so they moved the basket. Better to move one basket and add a little extra walking than having no course at all due to it being removed.
Nice job Maricopa!! Keep up the good work!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course ... Silly Pars

2-4    3/14/2012   3/14/2012
Review By: mwierda
Played: 34  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
Pros: Nice long shaped holes. Wide open fairways to bomb it on and narrow landing areas btw sidewalks and landscaping and water. Few shots over water.

GPS coordinates are spot on for tee1.
Cons: Some holes redundant but landing and course management is key to staying in bounds. Stupid long walk from 18 back to 1 (probably 10-15 minutes easy).

DIRECTIONS ARE WRONG! You turn onto Honeycutt Ave (NOT WEST) and there are two of these.
Other Thoughts: Let me clarify. This review is based on the course, NOT THE PARS, and assuming you play it same as we did (even then...the pars are silly).

This is how we played. ****Everything man made (sidewalks, manholes, drain covers, landscaping) was OB, over the sidewalk was OB (except in silly situations)****

 Worth the drive from Phoenix.

1    1/28/2012   1/30/2012
Review By: hangwind
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Aesthetically pleasing green grass (in the desert) with a small lake. The course is maintained by a home owner association.

Uniform tee pads through out the course that have two desert granite rocks bordering the front of the pad. Marked distance to basket and par on cement.

Good use of available greenbelt for a couple of slightly technical basket placements that require a shaped throw.
Cons: I really don't have any negatives as far as I am concerned, others might have a few.

A 40 minute drive from Phoenix. Public transportation is a challenge to the course for those that do not have a car.

The rocks on the tee pads could be a tripping hazard if you are not paying attention.

Narrow fairways, windows well within driving error area.

A couple of baskets close to children play areas.

The course ends and there is a few minute walk back to the parking area.

Drinking water and rest rooms?
Other Thoughts: There are a few holes that require precise lay ups or you are out of bounds or worse. I also enjoy the few "let it rip" holes that are free from trees, the basket being straight with little in the way.

This is a course where rollers will come into play. If you like rollers, there are a few holes that will allow you to shape your roll precisely.

My favorite two courses are Fountain Hills and Vista Del Camino. I have played the other grass courses in Phoenix however Maricopa Meadows is now on regular rotation for our weekend rounds.

I enjoy grass courses and this one fits the bill.

Make sure you print up a course map play card before you go.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Community Course

1    1/29/2012   1/29/2012
Review By: matt79d
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -New
-Generous par rating (a few par 4's and 5's that dont deserve it)
-Beautiful Scenery
Cons: -Short
-No shot variation
-A lot of residential
Other Thoughts: This is a new course in a nice housing community. That being said, the course is laid out in a series of greenbelts throughout a housing community with a lot of the same shots (Houses on left or right, basket straight ahead about 300-350ft)

Nice scenery, quiet.. Good overall course. It took me about 30 mins to get there, probably wont go back too often because it is so far out of the "city".

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    1/16/2012   1/17/2012
Review By: crazydolfer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice home course. water in play hole 3, 4 and 5
Cons: Some of the par 4's and par 5's are really not... but makes me feel better about my game. Houses in the back nine are ob. No restrooms.
Other Thoughts: Maybe a restroom would be nice halfway.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.