Maricopa, AZ 
Maricopa Meadows Share
Uploaded By: Craig639 Hole #9 (Taken 3/2012)
3 / 301ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Great residential course

1    4/3/2015   5/25/2015
Review By: Startedw165
Played: 156  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 32.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A different type of DG course. Lush ball golf style holes placed into an existing residential, pedestrian-friendly environment.
The turf grass is a pleasure to play on. Baskets in very good shape. Excellent tee pads. Practice basket near tee 1.

Course redesign and corresponding improvements are significant. Reviews before 2015 are less valid for the new layout.
Many negatives of pre-2015 reviews have been addressed:
* flow is now better, with counter -clockwise direction for holes 3 - 20
* Tee rocks gone, tripping hazard removed
* Updated course more difficult on some holes, yet overall par now lower
* long walk back to parking lot replaced with 2 holes, including disc eating pond on #20
* a few holes have better layout in regards to peds and road

Overall excellent use of available space.
HOA courses, especially those along the main roadway struggle to have significant shot variation - but MM does well for what they had to work with: flat, sometimes tight greenbelts. The community as a whole is designed with each block having different shaped green areas with varying distance between the road and closest house or landscaping. Grassy areas are not just a uniform narrow strip of land alongside the road.
6 water holes, one with minor elevation provide some hole variation.

Installation of a DG course here makes use of all that lush grass in a positive way. The grass was here and part of what the community did before disc golf came to town.
Cons: Certain days and times may be subject to heavy use by non-golfers.
Chance to lose discs on holes # 1 - 5 & # 20. Little chance to retrieve anything from their murky waters.
Technically only for residents.
No benches. No bathrooms or water available, perhaps not necessary since all players are residents. ;)
Map link is for old layout. Only accurate for holes 1 thru 5 now.
Biggest con is the area around holes 1 to 5 is primarily for use by local families. While the playgrounds here are only in play for extreme mis-throws, kids and families enjoy the trees, birds and areas surrounding the ponds and thus unwittingly come into play. Patience will be required and you may lose a stroke playing around them. After hole 6, one will encounter much fewer delays: mostly active walkers, runners and traffic that move through quicker and do not require altering your shot after a short wait.
Other Thoughts: Having driven the area first, the general flow of the course was easy to grasp. To get to #6, go north across W. Dutchman Dr. For #7, cross the main road and turn around (south).
RHBH is favored for some holes along the main road (6 to 18). Other holes do not even it out overall, but give lefties some to like.
Starting with the tougher water holes, accompanying pedestrian and family traffic, unclear tee locations(3 & 4) and lost disc potential made the start of the course unnerving. But that's where the parking is, so guess it makes sense to have #1 there. Be warmed up and acclimated before you begin.
Course management and shot placement are critical here. Will force many to refine their game and refrain from grip & rip on every open hole. If you keep finding yourself on the road or out of bounds, back off a bit and focus on accuracy.
I played on a Friday morning. Busy as school started around 8am, but I still only had to wait 3 times for pedestrians or traffic during a full round. My total 'wait to throw time' was longer for wind gusts than for people and cars.
An outsiders take on "residents only": all who are respectful of families & small children as the primary park users are welcome to play, but refrain from obnoxious behavior or you might get asked to leave.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Grass not a selling point

1    3/28/2015   3/28/2015
Review By: sssrn
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2015
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The pond/water feature at the beginning of the course is beautiful but the risk of losing a disk is high. Good use of space.
Cons: Most of the course is straight shots along a busy road so unless your drives are very accurate (mine aren't) is a danger to you and the cars. Two of the baskets are next to playground swingsets so you end up throwing at small children.
Other Thoughts: Grass is pretty but this is a desert and grass is a waste of precious water. If you like grass then don't live in a desert. Most holes are simple straight shots with the only difficulty being the traffic. I don't believe adding an element of danger to increase difficulty is a good idea.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Lovely Community Park With Some Water To Contend With!

1    3/14/2015   3/14/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1005  Reviewed: 955  Exp: 38.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/16/2015
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Firstly, for being located here in the "Valley of the Sun" this is such a lush, plush green oasisis of grass on which to play. Like Fountain Hills and Vista Del Camino, this instantly scores points with me compared to most other Souhwestern desert type courses. And not only the green grass but the water features with the elevated ponds and waterfalls are very pleasing to spend time walking through. The park does have signs everywhere informing you that this park is for residents only but obviously no-one is checking ID's.
The course plays in and around a fenced community. Although, there are opportunities where a errant throw could land in a neighbors yard, experienced players should have little trouble keeeping their discs on the course. Keeping them off the street might be present mre of a challenge. The courses features a nice blend of long (600 plus) holes to shorter ACE runs (less than 300 feet).
Many holes feature two teepads. Sometimes this second pad is just shorter, sometimes it's just a differnt look or perhaps an elevated pad. The pads are concrete or some throw off the sidewalk. There are simple square inserts in the ground next to the pad simply stating the hole # and distance. The alternate pads offer no markings. I was fortunate to hook up with, two local players, Steve & Kenny. Not only were they great guides and good company, it was nice to play with a couple of gentlemen who...were mature like I am! Without them, navigation would have been most difficult.
Cons: As the previous reviewer mentioned, the course favors a RHBH player. Lefties might find the course a little more challenging.
The water, although lovely, is a disc eater It's murky enough that discs finding their way into into it's depths might nt be easily retireved.
Navigation would be difficult the first time through without some help.
The wind picked up quite a bit in late morning.
Other Thoughts: Anytime you can play a Phoenix area course on green grass is a major bonus in my book. Add the water, the lovely landscaping, and a pretty nice overall design and that all adds up to a solid course. This is a course that certainly appeals to a wide range of layers.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Phoenix area's most under rated course

2-4    2/8/2015   2/23/2015
Review By: stratedge
Played: 30  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/22/2015
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First and foremost, the course has been significantly improved since the reviews prior to mine were written, and so the course you'll play now is significantly under rated. If you're traveling to Phoenix and looking for courses to play, keep reading and disregard the rating. This course deserves about a 3.75 rating, so I'm rounding up to 4.0. It's a close second to Fountain Hills as the best non-pay course in the Phoenix area to visit (of the top rated ones I've played).

As I learned at the Sunday doubles, the locals/HOA responsible for the course have removed the infamous tees with rocks, originally installed by the landscapers of the neighbourhood (who didn't know any better). And I believe I understand that the course was made longer in the process. The tee pads are now proper, the holes are all par 3, and it's now a 20 hole course as they've bridged the gap between hole 18 and the start of the course with 2 more holes (the 20th hole being a memorable addition). Another tidbit I heard there was that the local disc golf association was going to be allocated a portion of the trees the HOA had purchased for the neighbourhood, to place to enhance the course. If this comes to fruition, it will be massive, and I can't wait to see the results.

The course starts and finishes in a beautifully landscaped park with a threatening lake, but ventures out into the green spaces of the neighbourhood where fences and pathways become boundaries. While that isn't a good thing, the width of the holes is mostly very adequate, and the basket placement intelligently done so that the fences aren't brought into play as an obstacle; generally the tee is on the house side of the green space, and you're throwing diagonally to a basket on the street/pathway side. The paths and streets have sparse traffic, so this isn't an issue, rarely will you have to wait to throw. Worst thing to worry about is a car running over your disc while it lays in the street, and the cars were politely avoiding the discs when my group had some go OB.

The course is beautiful, and there are a lot of similarities to Fountain Hills for me, so it begs comparison. While Fountain Hills has it's massive lake and the iconic fountain, this course a small lake with multiple beautiful waterfalls feeding it from an elevated pond, all in play on a half dozen holes. The use of the lake is similar; 4 baskets placed near the lake forcing risk/reward decisions of whether to go for birdie over the water, or play for par on a safer route. What I like better here is the grass is lush and, with one exception, the landscape doesn't slope towards the water for otherwise good shots to roll into the water. Also like Fountain Hills, a lot of the remaining holes try to make due with a sparse number of trees, and fall back to basket placement near pathways and streets to create difficulty. But because the park is far less busy here, it works, whereas this is a big gripe for me at Fountain Hills.
Cons: The cons of this course are pretty straight forward, but don't outweigh the positives by any means:
- Since the bulk of the course moves counter clockwise in a circle through the green spaces between the roadway and houses, for the majority the houses are on your right and the roadway on your left, with the basket always on the left side of the fairway (near the road). This means it favours players who throw right to left naturally, to throw safely down the fairway and skip towards the basket. This course would be tough if you threw primarily LHBH!
- The water in the lake is very murky, so what should be a trivial retreval isn't. I watched a couple people lose discs in the lake and spend a long time trying to retrieve them with rakes, only some getting them back. This is a big pet peve of mine, I don't like hazards where you don't get your disc back, murky shallow water included.
- There's a couple holes where fences to private property come into play a bit, and it doesn't take a horrible shot to go into their yard. In one case it's a very narrow fairway, and in another case the tee pad and the basket are both on the road side of the green space, so if you throw out into the fairway and your disc doesn't fade on time, it's gone.
- Baskets near roads/pathways is never preferable, even if you've got clear visibility and they're sparsely used. Sometimes a disc hangs out there for 10 seconds and in the meantime a car is now in the picture.
- The tee pads have distances on a brick at the back, but there's no signs, although finding the baskets is generally pretty easy.
- There isn't a big map of the course on site, so bring your own.
- The course lacks trees and you can generally pick your own line to the basket. I can't remember having to throw any forehands, and can only recall 1 hole where I needed a turn over shot. This would be a bigger issue for me if I didn't live in a city where most of the courses are disproportionately left-to-right!
Other Thoughts: It can't be said enough, the current ratings and reviews here for this course aren't fair, and I'd make the argument they should be reset when significant changes are made to a course.

If you're deciding where to play, the courses in Phoenix break into 2 categories for me: landscaped park (lots of water and OB, fewer trees), and desert (rocky ground, plenty of short brush trees). Of the 4 landscaped coures I've played in the area (Fountain Hills, Maricopa, Vista Del Camino, and Fiesta Lakes (a pay to play ball golf course), Fountain Hills and this course are my favourites, and geography will probably decide which one you go to first with them being opposite each other, both outside Phoenix. And I do prefer the landscaped courses to the desert ones, save for maybe Buffalo Ridge Park (which you NEED someone to guide you on your first game).

Go here. Try it. If you're expecting a 3, I guarantee you won't be disappointed!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Nice course, but has room for improvement.

1    12/26/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: Sunday Mike
Played: 44  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2016
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: UPDATE--This course has been updated and this review is for the old layout.-UPDATE

This course is in GREAT shape. When I visited it was being mowed by what seemed an army of landscapers. It looks really good.
There are some nice challenging shots over water and a few tees with interesting paths.
The baskets are in nice shape and I thought the tee pads were top notch. The design of the pads was very well though out.
This course is well taken care of.
Cons: First and foremost, due to the number of Honeycutts (Ave, Rd, & Ln) in Maricopa, it makes it a bit difficult to locate.
Next I would really have liked to see a bathroom somewhere on the course.
The pars are a joke. It is listed as a par 66 with some 4's and 5's which have no business being that many strokes. Maybe one or two of the 5's should be 4's, but that's it. All the 4's should be 3's.
The walk from 18 back to one is kind of strange. It's the first course I've run across which leaves you so far away from where you started.
Other Thoughts: Though it's a good 45+ minutes from my house I will be coming back to play this course again, I really enjoyed it. I do wish the listed pars (engraved on the pads) weren't so ridiculous, but you don't have to play them that way!

One more note...the 15 basket does NOT go in the direction it is shown on the course map, it goes in the opposite direction and you have to backtrack to the 16 tee. I am speculating, but it looks like the original 15 basket placement made for a RH hyzer around some houses and a few too many discs ended up in backyards, so they moved the basket. Better to move one basket and add a little extra walking than having no course at all due to it being removed.
Nice job Maricopa!! Keep up the good work!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.