Disc Golf Store
Charlotte, NC
Plantation Ruins at Winget Share
Uploaded By: tom12003 Hole #17 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 282ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 It's about control

5+    7/4/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: iha8it4u
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fun course where accuracy is more important than long drives. You really can get smacked with a double bogey if you try to "go for it" and miss! Short course, you can get a quick round in if you stay out of the woods!
Cool old brick ruins from plantation house.
Cons: This is a new course there are a lot of stumps and roots to trip on. A little tough to find the next hole in a few places. I finally noticed the arrows hanging below the baskets, follow them. The baskets are less forgiving than Innova baskets. I was denied a few putts.
Other Thoughts: This course is constantly being improved, every time I come there is a new bench or some other amenity. Great work!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

In it for winget

1    4/14/2012   7/4/2012
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/2/2013
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Winget is a fantastic course that is mostly technical with a few holes that are open. It is pretty and keeps getting better and better.
The course has teepads which came two months after this course was open. Now there are a few benches and on every basket there are arrows pointing you to the next hole.
Every hole is birdieable if you can throw about 315" but it can be challenging because some fairways can be tough to hit since it's heavily wooded. The par 3's around 300" are open so that's great for beginners and intermediates so you can bomb a big shot and had no trees are really in the way.
I like that hole 8 was moved! When I played it, it was only 330" feet long and was an easy 3 (which is a birdie). Now it's a little longer and a wee more challenging. This hole IS a dogleg right.
Every par 4 has an interesting design. #9 starts off uphill and allows a nice hyzer because after 210 feet, it has a nasty left turn. It's a dogleg left. Now #12 is a little bit uphill and it's a dogleg left like number 9. Although it's longer, it's easier and doesn't have such a tricky approach shot. Although the approach shot is at least 245" feet long, it's not too hard to get to the dancefloor. This hole does require a hyzer if you want a birdie. The par 4's may look kinda easy on the media here, but they are pretty tricky.
15 and 16 are pretty easy ace runs which are technical but 15 you should be able to get close on it if you are an intermediate. It's slightly downhill and it's a great birdie opprotunity. 16 is uphill and a little bit more challenging than 15 but still pretty sweet. It's uphill and trees are straight ahead of the tee. The opening is pretty big and it's a little to the right. A right hand backhand (RHBH) is what #16 insists if you want a birdie. I birdied it but I made a lucky 30 foot putt.
This course does have a good bit of elevation. There is a dropoff on holes 9 and 10 and it makes the holes a little harder because the baskets are on the dropoff and if you miss a putt or go to deep then you will be lucky if you make your uphill putt.

Cons: I hate to say this but there were some cons here at Winget. Hole 6 needs a little bit of clearing out to the right and still a sidearm is the throw that will give you a birdie.
There are also a lot of stumps on the course so watch where you are going and the fallin' tree in front of #1 was ridiculous.
The walk from 14-15 was a bit annoying and I agree with BrotherDave here saying that they should have made a par 5 for #14. That would be cool.
I think everything else at Winget is great.
Other Thoughts: I love this course because it has everything you can ask for. Except a par 5 but there are ace runs, holes requiring distance, wooded holes, open holes, downhill, uphill, you name it. There is a lot of variety.

Hole by hole

#1. Not the best starting hole on the course since there is a fallin' tree a few feet ahead but it's pretty open and requires a hyzer.
#2. This one is sidearm friendly since there is water to the left of the fairway.
#3. Pretty sweet hole that allows you to give it a nice drive from the tee. It's also downhill and any throw will do.
#4. Very cool design, but very easy. Sidearm and this is pretty much a snap.
#5. One of the best here at Winget. This isn't long but pretty narrow, This goes left, RHBH is needed from the tee.
#6. Downhill a pretty good bit and the basket is a little bit to the right. So sidearm is necessary. I got robbed on this hole by my rhino going in the basket and got out. Drops -5 or something.
#7. Tree in the middle of the fairway, which makes this a little bit challenging, throw to the left side of it or rightside. Sidearmers like this.
#8. When I played this, it was only 330 feet long, it's a dogleg right so getting to the landing zone is good enough.
#9. Strange par 4, although it's short, it's tricky and it requires a big hyzer because it's uphill and it's a dogleg left. Basket is on the dropoff. First gains +16 feet then drops -16 feet.
#10. Short and sweet and downhill once you get to the dropoff. Drivers turn a lot here. Use a midrange. This is my favorite on the course and has a -10 foot drop.
#11. Steep uphill, +14? and one of the coolest par 3's I have played. It turns to the right and the green is on rocks. Sidearm and use whatever turns the most for you.
#12. Best par 4 on the course! It's the longest and is a dogleg left. It's a very short distance to the landing zone, give it a hyzer.
#13. Challenging and really interesting, it's not long and it's straight but felt like throwing up a wall (Like Bradley on 14 except not as hard) +19? Very cool view from basket to tee.
#14. Another hole in the field that requires distance.
#15. Allows any throw, another narrow ace run.
#16. Another ace run, it's short and has a few lines but they are narrow to throw through and requires RHBH. Gains +9
#17. Nicely downhill and one of my favorite on the course as it is in perfect shape. It's not super long but longer than most par 3's here. I met a guy who aced this hole and it was awesome.
#18. Sidearm friendly and in the woods. The basket is on a hill. Pretty narrow.

I loved this course and it is one of the best in Charlotte. If you play in Charlotte and havent played here then you don't know what you are missing.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Fun course

2-4    5/26/2012   5/26/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 174  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is unique in it's feel. The trees, underbrush, and overall growth seem like they are out of place in charlotte.

The pads and teesigns are very nice.

I like the technical yet short aspect of this course because it requires you to hit your line and take the 2 or if you miss you are in some ddddeeeepppp mess.

It is a good course to get players started in the sport because it teaches
Cons: Lack of benches and trashcans

The transitions can be long and confusing for first time players. Specifically the 14-15 transition stands out in my mind.

i am not a big fan of Tweener Holes that seem to be too easy to be 4's but hard to be 3's and there are 2 of those on this course.

There are alot of roots/vines that are all over some of the fairways that can easily trip you up. I realize that removing these would take waaayyy to much work and would be an impossible task but that does not mean they are not there.

The rough is still very thick in places which will change as its beat down
Other Thoughts: This course is still growing and will only be improved with time. I have heard rumors of expansion post worlds which will only make this course better and I can only imagine how challenging it will be.

This course is definatly worth your time if you are in town and is a good unique compliment to the other courses in charlotte

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Short Fun

5+    7/7/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: Buschbacher
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2012
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a fun quick course, the directional markers and flags in the trees are a must, can't imagine playing before these were added. Due to the short holes this is a fun course to play with your kids as distance doesn't come into play as often as some courses but still poses a bit of a challenge with the narrow fairways.
- benches on nearly hole and some work has definitely been done in prep for Worlds
Cons: - Beware of chiggers, the first couple times I played I was tore-up by those little s*$&#@...just make sure you use bug spray around your ankles and belt line and you should be good to go, played many times since with no more issues
- The terrain can easily lead to a muddy time. If there has been recent rain I would avoid this course as I have played after a couple days of clear skies and it was still a little messy.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Alternative

1    5/4/2012   5/5/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 197  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 5.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Full 18 hole course tucked into a nice little park with playgrounds, swing sets, walking paths etc. Well done concrete pads and good signs at each hole. As stated in earlier reviews this course is mostly a technical wooded course. Depending on your skill level you could probably handle this course without ever using a driver. There are some holes that may play better with a driver, but not many.

There are 13 holes under 300' here so don't come here if you simply want to air out some high speed plastic. Especially since the longer holes are mostly nice wooded holes that require decent accuracy. Even though this is a wooded course there aren't any fairways that are unfair or brutally cluttered with random trees. Just fair lines, and some thick woods if you go astray. As with many Carolina courses the woods are thick in spots, and there are some thorns and vines to further hinder your attempts to get out of trouble.

There are next tee arrows on the baskets to help with navigation and some orange tape along paths to keep you from getting lost.
Cons: Mostly a 'short' course'. If you like some long, open holes you will be disappointed.

Navigation and flow was a little tricky. The course starts in the woods then heads to the more open holes before re-entering the woods. Later you go back to the open area. The walk from 14 to 15 is a little long and not real obvious. After 14 head towards the playground and swing sets, and look for the tee at the edge of the woods. No big deal, just not obvious.

No big elevation or long water carries. I guess in some cases this could be a positive, the more features a course haas the better IMO.
Other Thoughts: While most of the holes here were short there are a few very nice wooded holes that are listed at Par 4's. I'd debate whether they are really 4's or just tough 3's, but either way they are a nice addition to a shorter course, and force you to make several accurate shots to score well on those holes. They are almost like mini-Nevin or Iron Hill holes. I really liked them.

The holes that are mostly open out in the field are probably a little too open, or too short for highly skilled golfers. For new players they will be a nice break from the tight woods. If nothing else this may give people a decent place to practice if the course isn't busy.

Another redeeming quality of this course is that the pines, cedars and general appearance of the grounds and woods is just nice. At a few of the tees I stood there thinking that this might not be a great hole, but it is pretty. That, along with a decent opportunity to bag an Ace somewhere along the course makes this a worthy addition to the Charlotte scene. With Renny close by this course will be great for people with less time, or less of a desire for a beat down. I think it would also be a good place to work on your putter drives and control. Give it a try when you are in the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    4/28/2012   5/2/2012
Review By: JeCroisQue
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Beautiful course. well maintained and demands controlled shots. Awesome scenery and just a pretty/well designed course.
- There was a nice mix of tight wooded holes, and some that were more open outside of the woods.
- easy to navigate- There were signs on every basket point you to the next tee boxes
- There were concrete teepads, that were a good size.
- This course has a lot of potential to be great. Right now it's pretty middle of the road, maybe above average.
Cons: - Not many negatives here to speak of
- There weren't many trash cans available to throw away trash, seems like an easy fix though.
- Could use some longer holes, Sometimes you just want to rip a shot. I think some alternate tees on a couple of the holes would add a lot to this course.
Other Thoughts: I played here in the CAC this past weekend, and I must say that there was a great atmosphere to the course. My shoes ripped up about halfway through the round so I didn't play all that well, but there is potential to shoot well here. Almost every shot is demanding. Not long at all, but very technical. If you get off the fairway, there will usually be an option or two to get out of trouble in stead of just pitching into the fairway.

I threw rocs and putters off of most tees, nothing that really required a rip with a max speed driver. All in all a good course, that is worth a trip in the area. Again, I can't state enough that you have to be hitting your lines on this course. Very tight but I like that in a course. Because it is not all that long, it requires accuracy and a bit of confidence in your game.

It's hard to compete with so many courses in the Charlotte area, but I would say that this one is definitely worth your time.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Course

1    3/16/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: jblack
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: good mix of distance and technical holes.
This course is very decieving...you think it's gonna be easy then BAM! you don't hit your line and now you are throwing for par or bogey. The new concrete tee pads make this course much better. It's also in a nice area and I found it easy to get to.

Laying in wait for you on this course are Aces!! I just saw hole #16 aced today by Barry Black (my uncle) and he is not a pro. There are plenty of aceable holes but if you are off line those aces turn into bogeys quick.
Cons: Course markings are sketchy (you have distance markers but on some of the holes you can't see the basket from the tee and that makes it interesting.

This course looks like it can get very muddy after a good rain so bring and extra pair of shoes. The grass/moss in some areas is thick so make sure you use bright colored discs...summertime grass will probably eat up some discs.
Other Thoughts: this course is fun to play...I'm already looking forward to going back. Good job on the layout guys.

The Ruins is a Gem in the Queen City.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Dr. Jekyll to Renny's Mr. Hyde

1    3/7/2012   3/8/2012
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 94  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 6.7 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun, stress free golf. The holes are on the shorter side and it's basically a noodle armed line-shaper's paradise. Short, technical holes for the most part. Once you get deeper into the woods, it is beautiful rolling farmland/woods with literally remnants of foundations and civilization of yore scattered about. A very pleasant way to spend your day. I really like the DGA baskets here, nice change of pace from all the Innova Discatchers that dominate the area.

The course kind of feels like Wellspring and Johnson St in some areas. Though shorter, there aren't really any point blank dumb holes and the fairways are nice golf designs. Every basket is more or less tucked nicely behind a large rock or grove of trees, on a bank, etc.
Cons: There are some long transitions b/w holes. My biggest pet peeve is hole #14. It's really uninspiring and they could have easily made a really long par 5 or something to A) shorten the walk to the next hole and B) help break up the hole distance monotony. A lot of the holes are <300', some longer tees where applicable would be a great addition to this course.

Tees are non-existent right now, but it looks like they're getting close. For now, footing is a bit treacherous on some tees that are a bit rutted.
Other Thoughts: Other than this course being a little out of the way, this is a great complement to Renny nearby. This is a great course to take beginners to and get them hooked on the game b/c it's pretty and just difficult enough to keep you on your toes. I played here completely hungover and sick as a dog and I still had fun.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your Whippet to Winget

1    2/15/2012   3/1/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2012
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) There are true Par 4's that are in the 300' range . . . that doesn't happen all too often. It is something that I think should be used more frequently on other courses because it takes less land but increases the challenge.

2) I love tight wooded holes and this course has so many good tight holes it is hard not to love the course.

3) For being a course set on a tight wooded property there is a lot of variety of shots needed here. You need to play a lot of layups or really risk getting into some punishing spots. I threw a lot of mid-ranges for drives but I also went for some of the harder drives with my drivers. I had 3 birdies and 3 bogeys so I was pretty happy about that score of 57.

4) Practice basket is available on the way to the 1st tee from the parking lot. I kindof like that it was a little bit removed from the course itself.

5) Look for the white posts that help to mark the tees (and have the distances listed) and also some directionals that help guide you through the course.

6) I took a lot of pictures of all of the unique rock formations and cool green ideas. I love this aspect because I feel it is something we are missing in Wisconsin.

7) Mach V baskets with the Blades running around the top . . . those are pretty attractive and somewhat functional additions to the baskets. I would prefer a number plate still be in place, but can understand how the # plate can actually save bad putts . . . this setup will not help anyone out.

8) Another case of a course leaving something old on the property and how attractive it is to me. There is an old shed on #12 I think that just gives the feeling of walking through the woods an interesting feeling. It feels like I am trespassing on some bootleggers property during prohibition (ok it can just feel like a shed too, but my imagination can go out there sometimes).

9) The effective distances on this course make the holes play different. There are a lot of holes in the 200' range but they feel like they play between 200-350' in effective distance because of obstacles and turns in the fairway and how tight the holes are. This surprised me that they played so differently but it says something about the hole layouts for sure.

10) This is a beginner friendly course despite it's tightness . . . the holes are plenty short to allow for beginners to not have to struggle through a bunch of 6's, 7's and higher because even if they throw two bad shots they will still be able to save a 4 or a 5 without much issue. The rough areas typically punish you by 1 shot and that is about it.

11) There is a type of groundcover (it may be mint of some sort) that is really attractive. I doubt it will withstand the traffic from Worlds but it is cool to see against a drab leafless landscape. It also helps to cover the ground and keep the place from being just mud.
Cons: 1) I played this course pretty early on in its existence. It didn't feel like it needed a lot of break-in to be ready because it seemed well done right off the bat, but I imagine it will be a little cleaner and more well played in the coming months preceding Worlds. There are plenty of things that I know will eventually be resolved, but they need to give the course a little time before attacking everything.

2) Teepads are still dirt. I am writing this only for full disclosure of when I played the course . . .but I know the concrete is on its way so I will adjust this when I see it has been completed and I will not deduct from the course rating because of this.

3) There are still a few rough spots off of the fairways, but I am not sure if that is due to me throwing in bad spots or if there were a lot of these spots all over the course.

4) There are a few areas that will need some draintile or surface drainage work done to help move the water along. I don't think it had to do with my timing, I think there are just a few pockets that will retain water for a while.

5) The course is very RHFH or LHBH friendly . . . and can punish you if you do not have a diverse arsenal. This is different than most courses which tend to be hyzer friendly for right-handed throwers.

6) No trash cans that I could see so far but I am sure they will be including these too with all of the amenities that go with typical Charlotte area disc golf.

7) No tee-signs yet other than the posts, but I am sure those will be in shortly also. Again a factor of how recently this course was opened so I cannot take away from the courses rating for this being lacking . . . only because I know they will be put in.
Other Thoughts: This is a great short technical course that should be played by anyone travelling to the area. I had a lot of fun trying to execute all of these shots and I enjoyed the scenery and the "ambiance" that these wooded holes exudes. They have done a lot of work in a short time and I am sure they will continue to improve it. The amenities will go in and this will be another solid 4 disc course but as it is right now I can only give it a 3.5 i am sure I will be back to Charlotte sometime so I will try to pay attention to other peoples reviews and if the courses has done some more work and improved I will update my review.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 The magical mystery tour...

1    2/27/2012   3/1/2012
Review By: dandaman
Played: 55  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 18.9 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Beautiful Mach V baskets
-Beautiful park setting
-Enchanting forrest
-Good flow
Cons: -Poor drainage
-Some of the holes are a bit average and tame
-there are not many other parks like this (this is a not a con for this course but for disc golf in general)
Other Thoughts: This course was a real joy to play. I actually found it to be one of the best times that I have ever had on a disc golf course. The first few holes are eh...The last few holes are eh...But from holes 6-13 it is truly one of the most intriquing courses that I have been on. Something about the plantation ruin forrest that had a strange but welcoming vibe. It really cannot be easily explained but I found myself enjoying a great round of golf. It was not because of the way I was scoring, but rather it was because I was enjoying my surroundings. I scored well for playing the course blind, but the course is relatively easy. Pictures and words do not give this course justice. It must be experienced to be truly appreciated.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.