Johnson City, TN 
ETSU DGC Share
Uploaded By: dadukefan32 Hole #1 (Taken 2/2012)
3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Passing Through? Short, Fun Course

1    6/6/2014   6/6/2014
Review By: WestGooch
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Hole layouts for all holes, excluding #9, are on display beside of tees with a small guide to the next hole.
- All tees are concrete.
- For the beginner or intermediate player, this course can be both fun and challenging.
- Course is well maintained, grass mowed and other foliage cut.
- All holes are a par 3 which makes for easy score-keeping.
Cons:
- For the experienced player, this course may lose its luster as most holes can be a birdie run.
- There is a small amount of litter found throughout the course, some cups and bottles.
- A couple holes are close to a nearby road, players notorious for slicing drives should be aware of passing cars.
Other Thoughts: As this is a 9-hole course, I could only judge it against other 9-hole courses. I gave this course a 2.5/5 because I feel it's true rating lies between a 2 & 2.5. Fortunately, if there were another nine holes comparable to the first, this course would become rather boring. All-in-all, I would recommend this course to beginner/intermediate players looking for a quick course with a short walk.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    5/16/2014   5/16/2014
Review By: jmiller
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: great for practice. good location for the etsu college students. nice concrete tees. most of the holes had signs showing distance. would be good for beginners
Cons: hadn't been mowed in a while. some signs were missing or vandalized. not a lot of variation. every hole is mostly open with very few trees/shrubs etc.
Other Thoughts: other than practice and for beginners, I wouldn't recommend traveling a long distance to play here.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not as bad as it seems!

1    9/1/2013   4/3/2014
Review By: Baysinger
Played: 44  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for college students who attend ETSU to get out and enjoy a few holes after class. I think they did a pretty reasonable job with the land that they had. Some open and a few with tree hazards. Definitely not a place you will loose a disc on. To me, concrete tee pads and Discatchers are a huge positive for a 9 hole college course.Could easily play this course a few times in one day to get your disc golf fix. Close to town so no major back road drives to get to it. As far as the holes themselves... they didn't put some money in to the land and throw baskets up... they took the time to work out different elevation changes. Some downhill shots and some uphill shots.
Cons: Last time I played the course the brush area just after the tee pad on hole 6 was way overgrown. This hole looks nothing like what it looks like in the picture on here. There are also a few holes where I could see the potential of hitting a car or a person with a disc. Sometimes people park just along the left side of hole 1's fairway and holes 6/7 follow moderately close to the road. Keep your shots clean and you shouldnt have any problems. Also, most of the tee signs are either missing or vandalised.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a course to test your skills this is not the course for you. Mainly just a practice course. Not necessarily a challenging course but good for a very quick and fun round. I wouldn't take a roadtrip to play it but if you are in the area why not?! One last request would be to update the tee signs on each hole. only 9 holes so it wouldnt cost that much... i think a course with nice signage goes a long way in making it a legit course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Back 2 School

1    8/23/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 144  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - It's a predominantly open course set in a small strip of land next to campus buildings. You play up a hill then back down.

There's a few cluster of trees/shrubbery that get in your way kinda.

There are two holes you have to shape a line other than just throwing simple hyzers at the basket and they're 8 & 9. 8 is pretty much a straight mid shot and 9 is a FH or anny (RH).

It flows well and it's pretty obvious where to go.

Equipment - Concrete pads, good baskets, hole signs and a board explaining the game to newbies.

Atmosphere - It's a nice looking little strip of land, I'm glad they chose disc golf to go there and introduce the game to college kids.
Cons: Layout - It's to open and simple. No real challenge at all except throwing up or down a hill. Even the holes with trees kinda in the way are still very easy.

Equipment - One tee sign is missing.
Other Thoughts: It might be a good way to introduce the game but nothing that will keep coming back other than target and putting practice; or a quick round when you're bored.

I'd only stop here if you're a student or course racking.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/20/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ETSU's course is a decent quick play 9-holer on a back corner of campus. Good use of the given land. The course is well designed as far as logical flow, navigation, use of trees and elevation, and mix of hole lengths, including a couple of fun ace runs.

Great concrete tees and numbered Discatchers. Tee signs were color and informative (hole #, distance, fairway shape, and next tee).

Not difficult for beginners. Some thicker rough on a couple holes, but mostly easy to find discs, lots of room to work drives and approaches, good for practice and learning discs and shot shapes without being punished. It accomplishes its goal by being great for college students as it is on campus and takes 30-45 minutes to play a round and can be played just fine with only a couple of discs.
Cons: Other than a couple hills and a couple trees and a small patch of rough, there is not much in the way of challenge here. Not quite, but almost, just throwing at a basket in an open field on many holes.

The parking was unclear, there is a parking lot near the first hole and several spots along the first fairway. Most spots on campus specify who can park there. We played in summer, there were lots of spots, and we did not get a ticket, but who knows what the policy is for non-students. There was also a tent with a "ID check" on the road to the course, but no one was manning that post.

Tee signs were nice, but too bad #7 and #8 were missing tee signs.

The gnats were absolutely horrible getting in your eyes and ears constantly. I talked to somebody on another course who mentioned he avoids this one because of the gnats! There was also an unpleasant stench throughout the course (I would assume from a nearby factory or something, but who knows.)
Other Thoughts: This is not super challenging to experienced and advanced players. It would probably become pretty boring after a few rounds here. Good for college kids just to get out and play and practice, but not worth driving long distances to play here (Winged Deer, Warriors Path, and Harmon Hills are the destination courses nearby.)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Landlocked Pirates?

1    4/7/2012   4/11/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
4'x10' flat concrete tees. Good signs, which also indicate location of next tee. Easy to navigate.
Cons:
Mostly short, mostly open.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays in a clockwise-fashion within a rectangular-shaped piece of open land, bordered by a road along one of the long sides, and a thick band of trees/brush along the other. Very few obstacles, other than a tree here, a bush there, the exception being the gap between two small copses of trees/brush for short, right-turning number-9. The primary challenge facing the players will be elevation changes, present on most every hole, quite steep on #3 (down), #5 (up), and #6 (down).

Experienced players should have multiple ace runs and birdy opportunities.

Not a bad course, but has a limited target audience.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    2/27/2012   2/28/2012
Review By: Chirpin' Bird
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very open course. It's very good for practicing or beginners. It makes good use of the space.
Cons: The course is pretty new, so grass has not grown back in many areas. It can be very muddy. It also shares space with a bike trail, so watch where you throw. I am unclear on if this course is meant to be one open to the public, but THERE IS NO PUBLIC PARKING! I was ticketed for parking in a student lot nearby the course. If you are not a student, plan on walking or not playing at this course.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy playing this course because of its convenient location. It is a much shorter drive than some of the other courses in the Tri-cities area. It is good when I am short on time or if I want to squeeze in a quick practice round. However, I am unsure if I will play it again after receiving my parking ticket. If ETSU intends this to be a course open to the public, there should be public parking.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 ETSU DGC Review

2-4    2/15/2012   2/15/2012
Review By: Prototype
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a beginner friendly course built on a small to medium tract of land. So my review will reflect this. This isn't a pro course which is refreshing when you need to practice your form or work new molds in.

My pros are:
Some holes are open with no obstacles to get in your way. Literally straight in front of you.
The use of the elevation changes as an obstacle.
Nice concrete tee pads with plenty of room.
Good course flow.
Free score cards.
New innova baskets
Signs with basket location and distance.
Roller opportunities.
Convenient location with parking.
Long and short holes.
Cons: Some holes have the same feel to them.
One hole has a ground wire on a power pole as an obstacle which is neat, but easy to throw around. So its not really an obstacle.
Very few anhyzer lines.
Other Thoughts: As a beginner friendly course I highly recommend taking new players here. I really like the fact that this gives players a place to play quickly. You could easily get in a lunch round. This is also a break from the wooded courses that are hard and discourage new players. This course also provides serious players with a chance to work new discs into their bag and work on their form.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.