West Bend, WI 
Moraine Park Technical College Share



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Tiny Ace Run course

2-4    3/10/2014   6/10/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 73  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really nice blue powder coated DGA baskets here, that catch really well.

Great course for beginners, as it's mostly wide open, with just a touch of elevation on a few of the shots.

Ace runs abound....meaning that every hole is basically an ace run, with just a couple possible trouble areas. If you sail hole 1, there's some shule/drop off behind it. Hole 8 has a field next to it that could make searching for discs difficult. With that said, it's not inconceivable that you could score better than -9 here.

The rubber tees were nice, and in good repair. They could use a bit of leveling, but overall not too shabby.
Cons: Super short...although you wouldn't know it from the tee signs. They're laughably wrong, but it really isn't an issue, as every hole is easy to figure out.

Navigation isn't quite as intuitive as you'd think for 9 holes in a field, but it's nothing that takes a ton of time to figure out.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a "bagged and tagged" course. Not much here will make you want to play it over and over. I do use it for warming up before tournaments at Riverside....nobody goes here, so it makes a perfect arm warming spot.

If I went to school here, I'd definitely get out and sneak in a couple 9's, just out of convenience.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Short ace run course

1    8/26/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 137  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The baskets are blue powder coated and in very nice shape. They catch nicely. There are black rubber mats for tee pads for all nine holes. These were all very grippy and in great shape. They have approximately 2" x 6" metal tee number signs attached to the front right side of the tees. This helps greatly with navigation as the course is kind of crammed in a small area. There isn't a whole ton of elevation here but it is used well for the area the course is set on. They also incorporate the wooded edge on two of the holes making it slightly more challenging. There wouldn't seem to ever be too many people playing here making for a quiet peaceful round. It's also located about ten minutes away from riverside park which is a real solid 18 holer.
Cons: The distances listed on the metal plates are completely off. For one they are listed in yards which is strange in itself. But beyond that these wouldn't be accurate even if they meant feet. Hole 1 for example was listed at 90 some yards but was probably not even 90 feet. Kinda strange for a tech college. The layout of the course was a little bit goofy too. Don't get me wrong, It's short and there isn't too much walking anyway but it's still set up a bit funky. There is a longer walk back to hole 1. Distances are they main con here. All the holes except the last one are VERY short. The last hole is the longest but still not even 300'.
Other Thoughts: All said, this course is still a fun round albeit very short. This would be a great warm up for riverside. It's basically an ace run course. Not worth any kind of trip out of the way but if in the area and have 20 minutes to kill worth a stop. Also the course is located on the south side of the campus. when you pull in head to the southeastern side of the campus. when you see the garage you're right where you need to be. just walk behind the garage and look at the southernmost basket which will be hole 1.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1.3

1    8/16/2013   8/16/2013
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 96  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/12/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located in a very nice setting, on the property of a technical college. The first few holes are relatively wooded, and there are definitely some shot shaping lines to be hit.

The tee pads and baskets are in good shape... for some reason I think blue baskets are the most beautiful things in the world, sooooo yeah.

The course is very very easy, and therefore might be a good place to bring a beginner. It's also kind of a nice walk to get away from the rest of the world.

Another positive: it's always fun to go for an ace!
Cons: The tee signs here are all overestimated by about 100 feet (and measured in yards), but if they were accurate, then the course would be much much better. As is, this is the teeniest tiniest course that I have ever played, with only one hole exceeding 225 feet, and more than half under 200 ft.

The course is so tiny that at any given point during the round you can see about six baskets. I was excited when I saw how wooded the first few holes were, but was disappointed with their tiny distances (hole two was barely 100 ft long).

Some sort of vertical signage would be nice here because I had no idea where I was going for a good chunk of the time...

Other than the first three holes the course plays very wide open, with an exception of hole 8, which was kind of fun.

Hole 9's basket is nowhere near where you're supposed to park for this course... lame walk.
Other Thoughts: I saw a sign that there is a random doubles league here on Thursda nights. I wouldn't be surprised if after two rounds of nine holes there was a -19 score...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Unfortunately, not very Technical

1    6/3/2012   11/5/2012
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - MPTC's disc golf course is located at the rear of the property, on the backside of the school's main building and parking lot. The course is nine holes that zigzag back and forth over a large grassy open area. A small stand of pines comprise #2, creating a short tunnel shot and breaking up the otherwise monotonous openness. # 3 shoots out of the pines into open field. The basket for #9 is nestled close to another stand of trees.
- Decent enough rubber tees. Signage is adequate. Flow is simple and straightforward.
- The large grassy expanse is sloped with several bumps of moderate elevation. Nothing exciting, but enough to avoid being flat AND open.
- A decent beginner's course with just enough variety to present a bit of a challenge for newer players.
Cons: - Not much variety here. Despite a valiant effort by the designer, this course is doomed to be mostly open.
- The course is sort of smooshed all together. Definitely a course I'd be nervous on if crowded.
Other Thoughts: - I saw a little kid (with his dad) out here bombing it during my round. Future dg superstar.
- The course location isn't obvious at first. Just head to the back of the college parking lot/buildings.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not terrible

1    6/3/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small grassy field with some rolling hills. Several holes have minor elevation changes, adding a little bit of challenge and variety. There is some distance variation on the open holes, from short ace runs to one around 300'. Two holes play in the woods, both offering short and tight tunnel shots with rough that's thick enough to punish you on an errant shot. There are small rubber mats that are adequate tees for most of the holes, and number plates at the tees to help with navigation.
Cons: The tees are lumpy and not level, not a huge deal but it's a little annoying. The wooded holes are so short they don't offer much challenge, and the other 7 shots are completely wide open and not long enough to challenge most players. Two of the holes bring an unmoved field into play, it looked like a recipe for frustration for the newer players this course is designed toward. Navigation is a little funky, with several tees and baskets in close proximity. This could also be a safety issue with multiple groups playing at the same time.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course very approachable, and it offers a quick and non-punitive intro to the sport. More experienced players won't find any real challenge here, and not enough variety to make it worth going out of their way to play. I like seeing beginner friendly courses on campuses like this, it's a good way to introduce new players. That said, my rating still reflects how this course stacks up to the others I've played, I try to rate every course on the same scale and this one just doesn't have enough interest to rate highly for me personally.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Will pull some of the beginners away from Riverside Park.

2-4    3/18/2012   3/24/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice powder coated baskets with a nicely done basket topper . . . I would have thought they would make it a number plate but it must have been the colleges emblem of sorts.
2) Right now there are little number plaques by each tee. They do the trick in terms of knowing which tee to throw from which is good because the middle of the course can be confusing.
3) Nice rubber tees . . . decently grippy and in good condition.
4) Excellent turf on the entire course . . . the only area where turf was not present was #2 and #3 and I would assume they will put some mulch down at some point just to keep it from being mud.
5) Decent rolling terrain with a couple of tighter woods shots too . . . what more can you ask for on a short 9 holer?
6) Pretty decent distance variation ranging from like 120' to 310' with a decent mix in between. While most of the shorter holes were mid ranges for me I did throw a driver on 2 of the holes (4, 9)
7) Very beginner friendly because it will be tough to lose a disc and the holes are fairly forgiving.
8) My favorite holes were, #2 (ACERUN), #3 tunnel shot out of the woods, #1 slight downhill with danger lurking long and left of the basket. The rest of the course is wide open and straight forward.
Cons: 1) The negative to the number plate attachment to the top of the basket is that they are large, will knock down bad shots, and they will also cut up your putters if you hit the edge of the top. I cannot believe they didn't make the number plate a part of the upper basket assembly. They ended up sticking the number onto the top of the basket but it just looks tacky.
2) Rubber tees were nice but not level. There was a slope on many of the tees and a few lumps . . . I would certainly have liked to see those mats framed and leveled with gravel rather than just a pile of gravel laid down and the mat on top. Perhaps this is because they plan on concrete or other tee surface in the future and just did this for the time being, but it would be annoying if the mats were wet and slick.
3) Chain configuration on these baskets was poorly done and I would assume untested. The outer chains are around a large ring which when you hit them hard goes with the disc and thus opens up more of an opening in the outer portion of the chains. Hit the center or you might suffer a spit or two!
4) Very short so all in all it is a pretty simple course especially when you factor in how lightly wooded the course is. Sure 2 hole have pine trees and woods guarding the fairway but there is only one other tree in play and that is beond the basket on #8 so it hardly counts as an obstacle.
Other Thoughts: Decent course . . . not sure who designed it, but they did the best they could with the property. That doesn;t make it a good course, but there are 3 or 4 decent holes. Unfortunately the other 5 are just plain and straight forward with little interest.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.