Seward, NE 
Plum Creek Sports Complex Share
Uploaded By: Chained Evil Hole #9 (Taken 4/2015)
3 / 189ft.   3 / 189ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Approach

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Plum Fun

1    4/17/2015   4/26/2015
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 341  Reviewed: 161  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is well maintained and the signage is adequate. The tee pads are plenty long enough providing for a proper run up.
There are 2 sets of tees here Orange=short and Blue=long. There are other amenities here as the name suggests Plum Creek Sports Complex with basketball courts, softball/baseball fields, and soccer fields, etc.
There are interesting and challenging shots here like dog leg L/R, open and wooded, etc.
You can air out your favorite drivers on some holes and then there are some chances to run the chains as well. Good mix of short, moderate, and longer holes too.
The flow is logical(until 16 and 17) and there is water threat on a few holes as well.
The planting of some cedar trees on 7 and 8 to help establish a fairway was a nice touch.
My favorite holes here were 5, 11, and 14.
Cons: Holes close to the creek might be unplayable if flooding occurs. This has evidentially happened at some point because a few of the pads had a layer of silt on top of them and footing was an issue. This could easily be fixed with a little TLC.
No trash cans and there was a bit of litter. Please pack out what you pack in. Also a bench or two would be a nice bonus.
The transition from 15's basket to 16's tee and 17's basket to 18's tee was rather lengthy and slows the flow down a bit.
Holes 11 and 15 make you cross the creek area to get to the basket or tee. Most of the times this might be doable but there really isn't a good place to cross other than the downed tree limbs lying in the creek bed itself.
The rough on some of the interior holes might get a little shaggy at times so keep a close eye on your disc.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a fun course that will challenge your shot shaping abilities. There is a good mix of shots here and the 2 sets of pads allow for a different look to keep things interesting. This is a solid course that is worth the stop if you are close or passing through the area. It is definitely one of the better courses in the southern Nebraska region.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Muddy Woods And Carrot Fields

1    4/19/2015   4/19/2015
Review By: thrembo
Played: 93  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 40.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: We played this course in the spring, so this review reflects that. The course was pretty soggy, and a bit muddy, but playable.

Two sets of tees, with nice concrete pads, and very nice signage.

Very nice course map at hole 1, aids in the easy navigation on this course.

The course features some long open holes, some lightly wooded holes, and some holes along a small stream. Some interesting shots here for sure.

The course is located in a nice park, in a sleepy little town, with some really good restaurants. La Carreta mexican was very good, and the Cafe on the Square featured some real tasty home cooking.
Cons: Can be very windy, and wet in the spring. Could benifit from some wood chips on the walking areas.

Could use some picnic tables/benches and some garbage cans.
Other Thoughts: This course was a pleasant suprise on a cross country trip. I get the sense that its not quite complete yet, and hopefully will get better with age and care.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    8/23/2014   8/25/2014
Review By: OldGymRat
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great signage! Nice town. Well mowed. Nice mix of long drives and short shots with a nice tree hazard mixed in.
Cons: A couple holes are a bit muddy after a rain. But when it dries out I want to go back and try those cool tunnel shots. I played in hiking boots and was quite comfy with dry feet while the others were wet footed in no time at all.
Other Thoughts: Well maintained. Applause to the sponsors and local disc club and others who take time to keep this up.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Well Maintained

1    7/4/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: CGChase
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Choice of Tees for Pro or recreational
Variety of shots
Some shots in open, some in the trees
Exceedingly well marked and very well maintained
Cons: One hole played across a swampy creek with no real place to cross.
One hole close to a flowing creek (lost a disc)
LOTS of mosquitoes.
Other Thoughts: I only played the front 9

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice low-pace 18 Hole Course

1    5/3/2014   5/4/2014
Review By: theheartbreakkid
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Signage makes the course easy to follow.
Amateur and Pro tees.
Although flat, course was well laid out making use of the terrain.
Good use of this outdoor area!
Cons: Muddy areas with no walkways. Be prepared to get muddy on Hole 3. Not really a con for me, I came prepared!
Parking is an issue, about a billion people were at the park on Saturday for little league baseball. Although they did not interfere with the course and play, it was difficult finding a spot to park.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course! I would say it is a very beginner friendly 18 Hole course. Intermediate player will like it as well. Terrain is very flat which makes it an easy walk for an 18er. Sign posted by course designer at the entrance was inspirational. Will definitely come back to this one!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Faux Woods Course

1    9/4/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 359  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees. Pro and am which are usually significantly different.
-Easy to follow layout with signs at all the tees. Some next tee signs, especially on holes where the pro and am tee is much different.
-Nice baskets
-Nice sports complex overall with all other kinds of sporting fields in the area. Large parking lot.
-Seward isnt a huge town so this course probably wont be busy. I was alone on the course.
Cons: -Very flat, in a flood plain of the river.
-I came in and saw trees and though there was going to be a bunch of good woods holes but there were maybe 2 (10 and 15). The other ones were large carved out swaths of woods so you were throwing without much challenge.
-Some of the rough was pretty bad and included some agitating weeds.
-Some awkward walks where they should have put holes in instead.
-Bad start to the course with a bunch of open bombers skirting the woods.
-Some of the holes play pretty close to the soccer fields.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I was fairly disapointed with this course. It had a decent rating and looked to have some fun wooded shots but they went out of their way to make some of the fairways extra wide and therefore boring. It has amenities but the fun factor was very low for me.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Will Be A Good Course When Completed

1    4/13/2013   4/16/2013
Review By: bluedvl228
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to understand course map as soon as you leave the parking lot which gives fairly easy directions.

Good design to have Pro and Amateur tee pads which are in (mostly) logical locations and offer differing shots and angles.

Still very new so the signs are easy to read and signs pointing from Pro to Amateur tee pads is helpful.

Some great designed holes including one 'tunnel chute' shot in a drainage path.
Cons: The course is not completed - most Amateur tee pads have been placed but about half of the Pro tee pads have yet to be poured. We played from Pro when available.

The first couple of holes are merely long bombs with minimal thought needed - just throw as hard as possible.

Some of the holes weren't thought out from the standpoint that a lot of throws have the potential to cross into another persons flight path on a different hole - could get dangerous.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course will be great when completed and since it's out in Seward I wouldn't imagine a ton of traffic which would alleviate some of the 'throwing at another person' issues. I would play this course again even when not 100% complete.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good things to come

1    1/21/2012   4/25/2012
Review By: JAAAKE
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good over-all flow.
Concrete tees.
Solid baskets.
Good mix of longer open and technical shots.
Mature trees.
Well maintained.
Cons: Still under construction.
Other Thoughts: We are looking forward to the completion of this course to return and try our luck. Had a couple of holes with water in play we liked.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Under Construction

1    1/21/2012   1/24/2012
Review By: 888HUSKERS
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 45 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course once it's finished will have a lot to offer. A lot of long holes with shots that force you to throw hyzer or anhyzer shots depending on your throwing style. This course will be a good challenge for a beginner or even an experienced player once they complete it.

There are alternate tee-pads and soon to be pro position baskets for those seeking more challenge. The baskets are Discraft chainstar baskets which are brand new and have a visible orange tape around them with the number of the hole.
Cons: A lot of the cons I'm going to list will be addressed when the course is complete but I'm listing them for golfers looking to catch an early glimpse of what will be a fun & challenging 18 hole course.

No sign posts at the moment indicating which tee-pad is for which hole but it looks like they are in the process of finishing them so I would expect something soon.

The tee-pads stick up higher than the ground so right now if you want to use more room than the tee-pad has to offer you could possibly trip and do a face plant.

Hole 9 &/or 11 basket is either missing or is still under construction. From the looks of it right now it just looks like it hasn't been installed. Hole 10 is also not in the indicated position that the map shows on their website because it is still under construction. Hole 15 has 1 of the tee-pads finished on the side west of the trees but the ones in the trees as indicated by the map have not been finished.

Everything I've listed so far is going to be fixed once the course is finished so they are not a con but more of a warning for those who might check this course out before it's finished.

Now for cons that I don't think are an issue because of the course not being finished. These are things I found that will not be addressed by construction being complete.

The back 9 seems out of order or just doesn't flow well at the moment. It also doesn't have enough trees that come into play unless your out of bounds. I really enjoyed holes 16 and 17 but 18 was nothing but raw distance with absolutely no trees in play at all. It felt like a huge let down after playing 15, walking the bridge to 16 and 17 then walking back for 18 which seemed more like a driving range than a hole. It would be nice to see trees planted near this basket or have the basket tucked into the trees to the west of it's current location.
Other Thoughts: This course has a practice basket which is located near the first tees which is great if you want to warm up for a few minutes while another group tees off or warms up.

This course has parking, bathrooms, shelters, and a practice basket near the first tee which would make it a great place to hold touraments or fund raisers such as an annual Ice Bowl.

Make sure to print out the photo of the map because some of the holes are under construction and without a teepost sign it is easy to get lost or play to the wrong basket.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.