Harker Heights, TX
Purser Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: mstilin7 Hole #13 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / 225ft.   3 / 225ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee: Triple mando between trees and lower the lowest branch in between. Drop zone between trees.



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    3/9/2013   3/14/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/19/2013
Pros: Wow, I was shocked when I saw how low this course was rated. To start it off they have plenty of parking and very nice bathrooms. The park also displays a practice basket. When you start the course you will notice that each tee sign and basket will have a different color. I thought this was an excellent feature because at many courses you will notice many baskets and be confused on which one to throw to. Also, having a huge number on each tee sign makes navigation extremely easy because you can find the next hole easily. They also featured nice concrete tee pads. The course had a nice mix of longer and wooded holes. This was a challenging course because the creek comes into play on many holes.
Cons: The only major con is that there is a winding walking path throughout which becomes dangerous for walkers. Luckily I was having a good day and the creek wasn't a factor for me but I imagine that it could become a disc eater.
Other Thoughts: I loved this course because it was so easy to navigate. You can tell the city takes great pride in this course because the grass was freshly mowed, and you even saw people cleaning bathrooms, and picking up after their dogs.

Dog Disc Golf

2-4    11/24/2012   11/24/2012
Review By: steady1
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.9 Years
Pros: Signs at Teebox colors match basket. Nice concrete boxes. Good paarking and Restrooms. New sidewalks.
Cons: Lots of people on weekends. Runners, dog park, and picnicing. Most move from fairways quickly. Spots of trees and creek could be better placed.
Other Thoughts: Needs sign with course layout. This layout was changed recently (October 2012) to shorten distances. Signs on tee pads not accurate yet. Hole 16, 522' was par 4 loaded with trees and resident fenceline on right. Not reasonable with OBs.

Meh

2-4    9/8/2012   9/8/2012
Review By: smokfraglerock
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/16/2012
Pros: Eighteen holes is a plus. The park is new and well maintained. Ample parking and the course starts and stops at pavilion B. Multiple trash cans and benches. The creek that runs the length of the course does make things interesting. Signage is good. There is a sign at every tee that clearly marks out of bounds, pin location and next tee.
Cons: Eighteen uninspired holes. After the first couple of holes I felt like is was throwing the same shot over and over. I feel like a ball golfer designed this course. This is a multiple use park and you will have to wait for people using the walking path. 95% of the time it isn't a long wait but sometimes it can stretch out. There are not enough crossings of the creek and that gets old when you have to cross the creek to get to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: This park gets really crowded with the dog park, walking trails, playground and an eighteen hole disc golf course. I feel that nine great or really good holes set away from the rest of the park would have been a much better use of money and space. The rating is based mainly on the upkeep and signage. I keep saying uninspired but its true. The other people using the park are generally friendly. Its a great place to play but its a blelow average course.

On Target

2-4    5/14/2013   6/19/2012
Review By: rgp626
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/25/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is nice to have another local course. The city has made numerous changes that were inspired by problems with the local residents. Initially I thought it sucked that the city was making changes, but as the course has matured, it is easily a full point better that the original hole layout.
Cons: Sidewalks are in play on over half the holes. This is an inconvenience but really is a tolerable delay when factored into the overall course quality.
Other Thoughts: The course has matured well. this course is now as fun and well maintained as the Temple courses.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 It has Potential

1    3/14/2012   3/14/2012
Review By: thshistory
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee boxes. Some signage. The course has a fun design. The creek was incorporated well. There are a few token trashcans and bathroom facilities near the 1st/18th holes. New baskets were nice.
Cons: This is a young course, and it shows. The back yards of surrounding homes are problematic on a few holes. There is a side walk that comes into play on nearly every hole. This will become a problem as the park becomes more populated. These are fairly typical problems for neighborhood public park courses.

The larger issues are as follows...Albeit after a pretty heavy rain four days before I played the course, there was standing water on a number of holes, fairly stagnate and mucky/marshy which made for a very unpleasant round. Mud was caked to our shoes the entire round no matter how many times we cleaned them off, muddy discs and wet socks.

We could not find the tee box for hole 3. There was a sign indicating it had been moved, but to where we could not find. We got hole 8 mixed up with 9. We teed off from the 9th tee box and played the 8th basket. The baskets were not numbered. The 8th tee box had also been moved and we couldn't find it. About a third of the holes did not have signs at the tee box.

The course incorporates the creek really well, which made for fun play, but you have to cross the creek numerous times (six if I recall) and there are no bridges or purposeful crossings. We were forced to find places to hop the creek which, with the muddy conditions, was not easy and took away from the experience.

Much of the course fairways were still pretty rough with thorny vines on some holes a foot tall (wear jeans) and numerous scrub brush throughout.
Other Thoughts: Unfortunately the cons outweigh the pros at this point. I'm afraid even with the concrete tee boxes and new baskets, it's still a 2.5 in my book. Let me reiterate though...it is a very fun course! Since this is such a young course, I'll give it a year and review it again. I am hoping some drainage issues will be addressed (I can't imagine those conditions in the summer time. Mosquito and snake heaven.), signage fixed, and some creek crossings added. With these addressed, it's easily a 3 - 3.5. Unfortunately the pedestrian activity and the close proximity of the houses prevent the course from ever reaching its full potential. It is great to have another DGC in the Bell Country area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant Mediocrity

5+    3/1/2012   3/9/2012
Review By: Dr.Seuss
Played: 49  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is conveniently located in central Harker Heights, Purser park is still under construction at the time of my review, but the park is going to be popular one. With DG, dog park, playground, walking trail and a future YMCA this area will be heavily used.

The course itself is set up between to neighborhoods and follows along the concrete walking trail for all 18 holes. This inevitably will create problems for future rounds when the park becomes heavily populated. The course fights for space with the prementioned park amenities and will become a problem down the road.

Overall the course was well designed with the space available. When the course is played with the OB present it becomes much more challenging (fence line, sidewalks, creek). There is a good amount of length variety to the course with both short and long holes.

There is a stream that flows through the park that is present on multipule holes, this with the sidewalk and back yard fences make for a strong OB presences without losing a disc. It is rare to lose a disc at Purser which will be a welcome addition to the newer players that will being using this course.

The course was installed with DGA baskets, as well as the concrete tees and tee signs. There is a pavilion and practice basket next to hole one which makes for a nice staging area. The concrete walkways are a nice addition to the park and do follow closely to the course if you want to utilize them during the round. The park grounds are going to be very nice when they are done, the city has spent time and money to seed the entire park, the grass will be a nice addition to the course and make for a manicured look to the park.
Cons: The biggest con to the future of this course will be the close proximity to houses and people when the park opens fully. Golf is played very close to the other amenities and that will create problems. The fence line is also an issue and has already created problems with some residents, it is easy to lose a disc over the fence on a few of the holes.

Due to the limited amount of space at the park the design was limited. There are many more right hyzer holes than left and this will be an issue for any left handed player. As you play the course you will feel the holes getting a bit repetitive: hyzer out, try not to go OB, rinse repeat. The lack of tree coverage on the course will be a pain in the summer months when it gets 108% outside and also makes the course a bit too easy for the seasoned player.
Other Thoughts: Overall Purser Park DGC will be a quality golf experience, the park has a lot to offer everyone with the large amount of amenities. As the course grows and stretches it will continue to get better. It is up to you how you play this course however, it is a pitch and putt without any of the OB, if you play with creek, fence, and sidewalk as OB then it gets tricky to score well.

There is not much to offer in the excitement category for the seasoned golfer, however it is a welcomed addition to the central Texas golf scene and fills the need for growth of the sport with great location and park extras.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 BRAND NEW!

1    2/12/2012   2/12/2012
Review By: mstilin7
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 4/9/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice layout and some straight forward challenging holes. creek thru the middle of the park adds to the fun. nice area. Course OB makes for some fun.
Cons: Lots of pedestrians. Houses on either side of most fairways. They dont find it ok to just go in the backyard to get your discs.
Other Thoughts: With some additional signs making people aware of flying discs.. great course!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.