Tempe, AZ 
Moeur Park Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #13 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 241ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
a tale of two 9's

1    8/3/2014   9/2/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -signs on the front 9
-concrete tees or sidewalks to throw from on the front 9
-creek in play on a few holes on the front 9
-cool ravine and slight elevation changes on the back 9
Cons: -this course is for locals only: navigation is terrible, signage is nonexistent on the back 9, generally trashy vibe, frequented by university kids and it shows
-multiple baskets on some holes on the front 9 were just confusing
-you will need a map, and you'll still not be sure on some holes
-could be so much better with a little love but locals know the course so those little things don't matter to them?
Other Thoughts: Moeur Park has two nine hole, out and back loops. The first one has decent signs and some interesting holes next to the creek. The next 9 are rougher, without any signage, and seem like an afterthought.

The main obstacles besides knowing where you are supposed to throw are some scrubby desert foliage, the creek on the front 9, and the minor elevation changes in the ravine on the back 9. The distances are mostly short.

Moeur Park seems like a classic chucker course. Right next to a big university, kinda trashy, poorly marked. I caught it right after a rainstorm so the creek was moving and no one was really around. I wish I had some locals I could have followed.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wanting More from Moeur...

1    7/21/2012   5/15/2014
Review By: Outdoor Craziness
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.4 Years
Pros: The location: it's right next to the Marquee Theater over by ASU.

The water: Yep, there's water on the course! Unfortunately I landed in it (and was very surprised by it), but I still think it's a great challenge especially for an AZ course.
Cons: The first 5 baskets: these baskets require somewhat blind throws right up a sidewalk with plenty of pedestrians. The sidewalk is OB, but the course follows the sidewalk so it basically serves as the fairway. Not good.

The back 9: very rocky, very repetitive. Nothing too special.
Other Thoughts: I'd rather play the Vista del Camino course - it's about 10 minutes away and is very impressive.

Classic desert course in the heart of the city

5+    4/20/2014   4/22/2014
Review By: bogeybogey
Played: 25  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a classic designed desert course that has some challenging elements and a few holes to just let it rip. The course is well layed out to finishing a round in 1.5 hours is quite easy to do. Hole and pin locations aren't marked but tall poles and flags make it easy to quickly move from hole to hole.
Cons: Missing amenities like bathrooms, updating tee signs. Plus on the back 9 there is a ton of glass, so wear appropriate shoes.
Other Thoughts: With little to no shade, this course can get hot really fast....bring water

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Scrub Desert Course With Canal/Creek!

1    5/25/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front nine or the creek nine features decent concrete pads, standard issue fiberglass signage with some a little trashed (as are most fiberglass signs across America), some challenging basket placements sitting close to the canal and drop-offs and a few very interesting tee shots where you really have to shape your shot to stay out of the water or off the path.
There is some shade on on this the creek side of the course. The road leading in provides an OB option for a few holes here. There are some blind throws where walking ahead and spotting the basket will help. I parked in the small parking strip and was directed by the one local fellow around to begin my round on hole 8.
Cons: Finding this course was difficult to say the least. We reached the general area and then has a heckuva time finally finding the actually course.

The back nine or dump nine on the other side of the road is just not a very attractive piece of land. It's open desert scrub with some baskets placed here and there. It's hot, arid, windy and littered with broken glass. The pads over are natural, the signs are painted pieces of plywood which weren't much help.

It's unfortunate because I believe there's enough elevation over here for a couple fun ACE runs and I liked the elevated basket stuck in the rock # 15.

Playing # 13 I walked over a small gully and came to small cave like indentation in the hillside and where there was an over-whelming amount of trash strewn about. Obviously some homeless folks had been living here recently and left quite a mess. Either that or some slobblish disc golfers had camped out here for weeks to get the best tee times over Memorial Day.
Other Thoughts: I'm no expert on desert terrain but I've now played about 25 courses in Arizona, New Mexico and Nevada that would qualify as being in deserts. I'm breaking those down into three groups. First, are those in wonderful watered green, grassy parks such as Fountain Hills and Vista Del Camino. Gotta Love those.

The second are those in desert terrain that have nice dirt surfaces to play on such as Mesquite Grove. It's totally natural but easy to walk on and doesn't tear your discs up and is fairly attractive, in my opinion. It may or may not have some bigger trees such as Mesquites. Santa Cruz River Park in Tucson is another example. There was no grass there, just bare dirt with decent mature trees. But it was pretty and enjoyable to play.

The third, is what I call this desert scrub. It's harsh, rocky, not attractive, eats discs alive. It only has low scrubby plants. Moeuer Park DGC is one example. Marana Rock DGC north of Tucson in Marana is another desert scrub course although they have built a very nice and challenging 18 there.

In conclusion, I guess I may not be cut out to study scorpions, rattlesnakes, desert terrains or enjoy scrub desert courses. Your mileage may vary!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Something different

5+    5/13/2013   5/15/2013
Review By: thinblend
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 9/14/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of variety. Scenic. Front 9 is much cooler than the ambient temperature.

The course is challenging and the stream (canal) is next to it which keeps it cool. Also, if you throw it in the "stream", you can just go in and get it out as it isn't deep.

Lots of variety of shots to make the plays. The course is very enjoyable. The front requires more finesse. The back 9 offers those players that like long hucks something to look forward to. Lots of varying elevation makes for interesting plays.
Cons: I love the front 9. Nothing to complain about.

The back 9 has no maps nor tee pads. The only map available for the back 9 is on hole 10, and that's it. Might be a good idea to take a picture if you don't have a map. The back 9 is also full of dirt and rocks so it wrecks soft plastics in a heartbeat.

Bring shoes as the back 9 can be rough since it's located in a ditch. There's a decent amount of broken glass here and there.
Other Thoughts:
Perhaps playing the front 9 twice...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

it was fun

1    2/23/2013   2/24/2013
Review By: HarrMarc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.1 Years
Pros: -Front nine requires requires lots of different throws around vegetation and to avoid an intermittent canal/creek; the back nine mostly requires big throws through a jagged wash
-Many drives require controlled glide and fade rather than just power
-Very challenging
Cons: -The back nine is a work in progress at the present time, with temporary tee pads. As such it can be tough to orient around without a local's advice.
Very rough terrain. Back nine seems like old glass dump (don't trip!).
-Champion and Z-plastic recommended, but this plastic can be tough to throw (especially if not broken in) as it is not always possible to release a disc low and nose down
-Bushes and obstacles may result in absurdly difficult approaches
Other Thoughts: Tee signs are bad, especially on the back nine.

FRONT 9= 2 1/2- 3
BACK 9 = 3 - 3 1/2

OVERALL COURSE= 3


5+    9/26/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: Psicko
Played: 24  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As with everyone the front 9 are good. Tees are concrete, and have different pin placements.
Cons: signage is lacking, especially in the back nine.
Back nine, tee pads are hard to find.
Other Thoughts: Overall its a decent desert course. An area map for the back 9 is a good start. They need to finish the tee signs/pads to make them similar to the front nine. Once they do this, it should be much easier to find your way. As far as play, I enjoy this course, as it is a challenge to me. It seems like it should be easier, I don't know if its the course, but for some reason, I seem to play less than my abilities when on this course for some reason. I enjoy playing this course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent

1    3/31/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: crystal haze
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 20.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Like many, I agree the front nine is almost like a different course, pleasant, with some more line shaping (though there is no ceiling, you just can't see the baskets). It's aesthetically nice with the water flowing. Good variety. I liked it from an urban recouped park perspective, and the elevation changes on the back nine were decent and the high up basket I liked (I think that's 15 or 12 at the top there.)
Cons: The signage is not the best. If you have not been here, It's almost worth walking it to see where some of the holes are as several are blind. The back nine is on the old dump and there is lots of broken glass and leftover rubble.The sun and dust got me at the second half. Probably a function of playing doubles in the morning and then heading over here without too much hydration.
Other Thoughts: Definitely close to downtown and not like the other grassy courses around, so I was happy to go here for variety.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great if you can find it

1    2/7/2012   2/8/2012
Review By: Natedoog
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love the Layout, felt different than any course I've ever played before, especially the back 9. a few aceable holes, great blind shots, and awesome pin placements.
Cons: Took 20 minutes to find this place once I was at the intersection. The signs could use some TLC, also is this where the homeless come to sleep? I could do without all of the broken glass on the back 9.
Other Thoughts: definitely come throw at this place if you want a course that has a desert stereotype. I had a blast at it and my friend that had been playing for 3 days enjoyed it too

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Desert Dichotomy

1    3/23/2011   4/8/2011
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.1 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Moeur Park (aka Papgo Park) is located near many major traffic arteries, so it was easy to get to the general area of the course. The first half of the course has an oasis-like feel and all 18 holes are a fairly quick play.

The front nine presents the player with a decent amount of fairway variety. This includes fairways of different widths, with lengths from the 230s up to the mid 400s. Also included in the variety was the use of the subtle elevation changes and incorporating OB such as paths (see cons), roads (see cons), and not the least of which was water hazards (well, when nature obliges), forcing the player to carefully consider their shot selection.

The back nine also included some variation in hole length and incorported elevation changes. Risk vs. reward situations were prominent on several holes due to baskes being located at the edges of ravines or near water.

For the front nine, the concrete tee pads were a nice touch and provided that extra bit of traction vs. the arid surroundings. On all the holes, the baskets were in good condition and included an elevated basket to shake things up on one of the longer fairways.

Additionally, the first half of the course has decent signage that depicts major obstacles, distances, and possible flight paths. The aerial map of the back nine was useful (see cons), as were the "tee signs" on the second half of the course.

Despite the rocks and vegetation, losing a disc (when the water isn't rushing) would be difficult.
Cons: In terms of location, while it was easy to get to the genearl area of the course, it could be a little difficult to find the park itself or the first tee for your initial round. Specific to course navigation, despite the aerial map, the back nine is really anybody's guess as far as which tee goes with which basket, or if you can even find the tees without wandering around for 5-10 minutes. The "tee signs" on the back nine were painted pieces of plywood with "Papgo" stenciled on...but no indication of distance, let alone a hole number.

The oasis-like feel of the first nine gave way to desert scrub on the back side and the last nine fairways were repetitive and fairly monotonous. With few exceptions, the baskets on the back nine could be approached from just about any line with just about any type of throw. The only complaint about the fairways on the front nine has to do with most of them favoring a RHBH player and having a left-turning shape.

Although losing your plastic isn't as much of a concern at Papgo, having it chewed up by gritty, rocky terrain is a strong possibility. Further compounding this on the back 9 are the piles of broken glass that litter the course (and occasionally here and there on the front nine).

There are some safety considerations that should be taken into account. Although the use of OB on the first nine holes is good from a critical thinking standpoint, the danger to the joggers and other pedestrians is sufficient to warrant concern regarding whether some of the holes should be redesigned to pose less of a threat to the folks that aren't golfing.
Other Thoughts: The overall experience was like playing two totally different courses. That said, after talking to the locals (all of whom were really approachable and friendly) and other area golfers, credit needs to be given to the players that installed the course and maintain it. They got off to a good start with the first half of the course. If they can make a few of the holes on the front nine a little bit safer for pedestrians and add a bit more variety and polish on the last nine holes while addressing the signage concerns, this would quickly bump this course up to a 3. Despite the cons, this course is close to the airport and will probably be my first stop (again) the next time I'm in Phoenix.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.