Tempe, AZ 
Moeur Park Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #2 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 316ft.   3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A Desert Dichotomy

1    3/23/2011   4/8/2011
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Moeur Park (aka Papgo Park) is located near many major traffic arteries, so it was easy to get to the general area of the course. The first half of the course has an oasis-like feel and all 18 holes are a fairly quick play.

The front nine presents the player with a decent amount of fairway variety. This includes fairways of different widths, with lengths from the 230s up to the mid 400s. Also included in the variety was the use of the subtle elevation changes and incorporating OB such as paths (see cons), roads (see cons), and not the least of which was water hazards (well, when nature obliges), forcing the player to carefully consider their shot selection.

The back nine also included some variation in hole length and incorported elevation changes. Risk vs. reward situations were prominent on several holes due to baskes being located at the edges of ravines or near water.

For the front nine, the concrete tee pads were a nice touch and provided that extra bit of traction vs. the arid surroundings. On all the holes, the baskets were in good condition and included an elevated basket to shake things up on one of the longer fairways.

Additionally, the first half of the course has decent signage that depicts major obstacles, distances, and possible flight paths. The aerial map of the back nine was useful (see cons), as were the "tee signs" on the second half of the course.

Despite the rocks and vegetation, losing a disc (when the water isn't rushing) would be difficult.
Cons: In terms of location, while it was easy to get to the genearl area of the course, it could be a little difficult to find the park itself or the first tee for your initial round. Specific to course navigation, despite the aerial map, the back nine is really anybody's guess as far as which tee goes with which basket, or if you can even find the tees without wandering around for 5-10 minutes. The "tee signs" on the back nine were painted pieces of plywood with "Papgo" stenciled on...but no indication of distance, let alone a hole number.

The oasis-like feel of the first nine gave way to desert scrub on the back side and the last nine fairways were repetitive and fairly monotonous. With few exceptions, the baskets on the back nine could be approached from just about any line with just about any type of throw. The only complaint about the fairways on the front nine has to do with most of them favoring a RHBH player and having a left-turning shape.

Although losing your plastic isn't as much of a concern at Papgo, having it chewed up by gritty, rocky terrain is a strong possibility. Further compounding this on the back 9 are the piles of broken glass that litter the course (and occasionally here and there on the front nine).

There are some safety considerations that should be taken into account. Although the use of OB on the first nine holes is good from a critical thinking standpoint, the danger to the joggers and other pedestrians is sufficient to warrant concern regarding whether some of the holes should be redesigned to pose less of a threat to the folks that aren't golfing.
Other Thoughts: The overall experience was like playing two totally different courses. That said, after talking to the locals (all of whom were really approachable and friendly) and other area golfers, credit needs to be given to the players that installed the course and maintain it. They got off to a good start with the first half of the course. If they can make a few of the holes on the front nine a little bit safer for pedestrians and add a bit more variety and polish on the last nine holes while addressing the signage concerns, this would quickly bump this course up to a 3. Despite the cons, this course is close to the airport and will probably be my first stop (again) the next time I'm in Phoenix.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 A Tale of Two 9s

5+    3/5/2011   3/21/2011
Review By: chillis
Played: 91  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 14.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: FRONT 9 : A good variety of holes. Mix between some short accurate throws and some flat out hurlers! Different drives to throw. The stream on the right hand side adds difficulty to the first four holes. I love shooting at the long pin placement for #3, great challenge!

Decent amount of shade here, considering the terrain.

Overall, I'd give the front nine a 3.5/5.
Cons: BACK 9 : I like the baskets on the edge of the hills. Provides a challenge, risk/reward. The ceiling is open on every shot, so anything goes. The layout here is a bit less inventive, but still fun to air out your long range discs.

The highlight here is #18, which is a blind throw, approx 350ft, that's fun to unload your bag at.

I'd rate the back nine 2.5/5.
Other Thoughts: I do like this course, and I play it frequently. It's rarely crowded, and aside from the few bikers/joggers meandering their way through this park can feel pretty secluded. Play this course late in the day, as sunsets here can be pretty spectacular.

**I looked over the course today and it looks like the pin placements have changed. I'll get out soon to check out the new layout

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Tale of Two Nines

5+    2/5/2011   2/5/2011
Review By: azbab
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers lots of variety in hole types that can be enjoyed by most skill levels. The front nine can be tight, and requires some shot shaping, and plays along a usually dry riverbed that adds challenge to the left-handed or RHFH player. The back nine is quite wide open, with a little more elevation change, playing in and out of a desert ravine.
Cons: There are no amenities at this course, bathrooms or otherwise, so a little planning is required.
Not sure I would call this one beginner friendly, compared to other Phoenix courses, as the front nine has some pretty tight holes, and lots of opportunities to lose plastic (and meet some interesting folks that I think call this area "home") in the dense desert foliage.
The back nine does not have concrete tee pads or consistent signage, and can be a challenge to navigate correctly for first timers.
Other Thoughts: If you didn't know this one there, you would miss it. I think most that have played would agree that the front nine is a funner, more challenging play than the back nine. It is really like two different courses. I enjoy playing here due to shot shaping requirements on many of the holes (especially the front nine).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Front 9 is great...

1    7/27/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All of the pros are for the front 9.

Course terrain is dessert with a river running through it. There aren't very many elevation changes, but the course still utilizes what it has very well. The river makes a great water hazard that goes throughout the front 9 and if you throw into it it's not too hard to get it back out. Good mix of long/short and left to right/right to left holes. Number one is a major risk/reward with a hard dogleg left with the river right in front of it. If your brave enough you can try a hard hyzer shot. Tee pads are in good condition and are fairly well marked. Not too much walking from basket to the next tee.
Cons: Tee signs are bad, especially on the back nine. The front 9 tee signs have maps which are more confusing than having no sign at all. The back 9 signs are just no parking signs painted all black. Baskets are pretty worn, but will still catch ok. Tee pads on the back 9 are terrible and are barely even marked. Trash cans are nowhere to be found and the back nine is covered in glass. Navigation for the back 9 was absolutely terrible. I wasn't able to find 9 baskets and I think that some baskets were shared, but I don't know. No hole numbers anywhere on the back 9. Not on the tees not on the baskets (except one which I think was wrong) nowhere.
Other Thoughts: The day I played, some of the locals said the river was way higher than it usually is, which increased the difficulty. It gets very hot here and there's hardly any shade, so don't even think about going here in the summer. The front nine was a great experience the back 9 was very frustrating which left me with the worst part of the course in my memory. It seemed like the back 9 was still a work in progress, so I hope that it gets improved. If the back 9 ever gets "finished" then I would definitely play this course again. This course could be a 4 out of 5 if the back 9 was better.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Craggy 18 holes

1    1/19/2010   2/24/2010
Review By: backswing_aplenty
Played: 64  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Neatly tucked into a section of the secluded park Moeur/Papago DG course playes through some rugged terrain. High end plastic is a must as the entire course is extremely rocky. The front 9 is easily navigable with little to zero issues to which pin you're throwing to, the beat in signs have just enough info to guide you to the pin and next tee.

Fun mix of shots on the front with blind pin placements being the name of the game; moreso on the back 9. Apparently the back 9 is brand new so it doesn't have any signeage/tee boxes, but there are areas smoothed out and lined with rocks that are fairly obvious in the desert sand. There big "eff" off 10 ft. flags on top of most holes so you can see what you're shooting for as all the brush is about nipple to head high making hard to see many baskets from the tee. This forces you to really think about how you are going to get to the tee; it creates interesting lines on the back 9.

Back 9 plays pretty long with the mild elevation changes of +/- 20ft. of several holes. You have to air it out under control as a miss off the fairway is big trouble as it an access road through the middle of the course is OB. Need to be able to control you flights.
Cons: No amenities outside of trashcans. Parking only for about 5 cars and right off a busy street seemingly in the middle of an industrial district; odd place for a DG course with this terrain. Glass galore, watch your step. The most abuse my discs have ever taken on a course! My shoes weren't too happy either.
Other Thoughts: Interesting area for a course that looks like a desert landscape. For such a small area of the park the holes are extremely varied and utlize some creative pin positions tucked into every inch of the trouble created by landscape.

With some more TLC this course will only get better. Add some permanent tees and some better signage and you'll get more golfers which will only help the course. I will definitely play again when I visit.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Warren MI Disc Team

1    2/22/2010   2/23/2010
Review By: greenlife
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Well first off being from Michigan the desert atmosphere is a great change
- Front 9 was east to navigate signs and pins were clearly marked with 10ft. flags
-Tees on front were maintained fairly well
-Back nine had some nice wide open shots
Cons: -For AM players alot of difficult shots with minimal room for error
-Noise from air traffic was loud and constant
-Back nine was a death trap due to broken glass
-Grip lock is heavily punished on front nine holes
Other Thoughts: Good course but i would not make it a constant player. But should be checked out by any player that would enjoy a challenge

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dream Beneath the Desert Scrub

5+    12/15/2009   1/11/2010
Review By: Corey Devin Anderson
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 2/3/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Unique Sonoran desert atmosphere
-Solitude
-Front nine requires requires lots of different throws around vegetation and to avoid an intermittent canal/creek; the back nine mostly requires big throws through a jagged wash
-Many drives require controlled glide and fade rather than just power
-Very challenging

Cons: -Very rough terrain. Back nine seems like old glass dump (don't trip!).
-Champion and Z-plastic recommended, but this plastic can be tough to throw (especially if not broken in) as it is not always possible to release a disc low and nose down
-Bushes and obstacles may result in absurdly difficult approaches
-Fishing discs out of the canal is rough without a Labrador
-The back nine is a work in progress at the present time, with temporary tee pads. As such it can be tough to orient around without a local's advice.
-This place gets hot!!! Don't even bother playing it June-Aug.
-No real bathrooms
-Not a good place to throw multiple discs while practicing (as discs can be tough to find)
Other Thoughts: Like Buffalo Ridge, Moeur Park offers a very unique desert golf experience. The scrubby nature of the course can be frustrating, but the course is appreciated by locals because it is a bit more technical than some of the park courses in the area. The back nine makes a nice addition to the course, as it is more open, offering a nice opportunity to let loose. Nevertheless, discs still end up in all sorts of tough situations on the back nine, so be careful where you throw it.

The angle of release can be a bit different at this course (due to the bushes), making it difficult to throw drivers or approach shots low and hard. Discs with great glide are good for this place, but sometimes the best discs for this course are not made of a plastic that will survive long. For example, Discraft ESP is great here, but will get cut up eventually.

This course is sort of a diamond in the rough. Some improvement (such as tee pads on the back nine, better facilities, and some improved landscaping) would elevate this to a four star course.

The difficulty of playing in the desert scrub keeps some away, but helps to make this a favorite for local disc heads.

Helpful Hints:

The canyon slope comes into play on many holes and controlling the fade on big hyzer shots can be a challenge. Try a hyzer flip or s-turn when driving along the canyon slope, but be careful not to yank it OB.

Hole #1: for RHBH requires a spike hyzer; aim directly over the tree tops to the left, in front of the tee box...remember to keep a hyzer angle on the disc or it will sail over the canal.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Tale of Two Courses

1    1/3/2010   1/3/2010
Review By: rcmalamutes
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really liked the front 9 of this course. A lot of neat technical holes, good signage, good tees. Front side of this course would easily rate a 3.5, but the back side unfortunately slams it overall.
Cons: The back 9 of this course is what I have rated so as not to give this stellar image of the course. The back 9 are ROUGH.... blind targets, hard to find tees, no signs, shared targets in many cases..... this is a rough course. Granted... I am a newbie, and I wasn't going with anyone who knew the course, but by the time we were done with the back 9 - my girlfriend hated me, we were both frustrated, and basically swore to never play it again.... at least not for a long time.... so that was the experience.
Other Thoughts: please keep in mind that I am a total newbie... I do not throw as well as I would like yet, and even getting a par on an easy hole is not a guarantee.... that said, the new back 9 on this course is VERY rough.... the rating on the front nine would easily be a 3.5.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Desert blind and wet.

1    11/15/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/8/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Comments are only for front 9.
Good signage. Great terrain. Nice use of avail space. many holes are blind... not a bad thing, flags on some baskets help. Love the back 9 here. Played the back 9 6 times on recent visit. Te pads are now clearly deleniated. Signs, although blank at most tees. Hole trails are developing. Kudos to those who have put time and effort into the back 9 here.
Cons: Just a bit tough to locate... need to drive north of Curry to Operations drive. Quite a lot of trash strewn about here... 9 plays close to road. 2 discs landed in water along right side on first 5 holes... was able to fish 'em out with sticks. beginners need to be cautious here as water is way close to all 5 opening holes... Blind holes are tough for first time playing the course... back 9 ... some day they will put in permanent pads and actual marker signs and this course will rock.
Other Thoughts: Amazing how much psychological impact the presence of water makes on game play. water in the area = lower accuracy of shots... the mind game... fascinating... I prefer the back 9 here. Also played a mini game of ace race with the baskets for 10, 11, 12, 17, 18, practice. Shoot from basket to basket with a middie or a putter. Great practice as all baskets are visible form all other baskets and this makes for a great shoot around. Any one basket to any of the others makes for some fun, alt, short holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 great front nine

1    6/26/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: AusTexDoc
Played: 39  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 37.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I give the front nine a 4 and the back a 2.5. I thought the wash was usually dry. I was happy to have the challenge and risk of throwing technically tight shots along the stream. Very memorable
Cons: Back nine was a little lackluster, but still more interesting than the park&lake courses.
Other Thoughts: The link to the map of the back nine was very helpful.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.