Tempe, AZ
Moeur Park Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #15 (Taken 3/2011)
4 / 448ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Natural Setting Course

2-4    11/18/2008   1/4/2009
Review By: ragajones
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging. You will have to be very creative with your shots to succeed on this course. Water hazards on the first 5 or so on the front 9 will force you to play for control over power.
Really close to Shelly Sharpe and completely different from Shelly too. If you have 27 holes in you, try both together for great variety.
Cons: Many blind shots, first time players will probably have to go forward and scout holes before throwing. Some of the densest underbrush in Phoenix.very easy to watch a disc enter the rough and then NEVER find it again. ever.
Other Thoughts: Play with bright discs. Play with sturdy plastics (Discraft ESP, Innova Champion, or Innova Star).
If you are in a group, consider sending someone forward to stand at the doglegs to spot discs (be careful of course). Water isn't that deep but can be a pain to recover.
Woe to the person who puts it on the other side of the creek. Lots of thorns and harsh plants. A really fun course, you are gonna be thirsty. As of November or so of 2008 the "back" course was still largely unfinished and hard to navigate but the basket placements look really fun because of the good use of the landscape. If you are in from out of state - This is a native desert-environment course and it will be a treat and a change of pace. If you like this course - try Buffalo Ridge. They are the closest cousins in the Phoenix area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tricky track

2-4    12/14/2008   12/15/2008
Review By: The Hammer
Played: 31  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Wide variety of angles
-Great use of terain
-Nice scenery
-Very low traffic
-Water in the wash makes for interesting twist
-Lots of trees and obstacles
-Multiple baskets on many holes
-Lots of blind shots
Cons: -Rocks will chew up cheap plastic (use the good stuff, it makes a huge difference)
-A little difficult to navigate the first couple times
-Back nine is fun but lacks tee boxes and signs
Other Thoughts: Be sure to bring lots of water and a map (Spinners in Scottsdale can provide).

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 frustrating

1    11/25/2008   11/26/2008
Review By: pyroman
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Front nine are challenging yet fun.
Playing along the creek proves to be difficult, but fishing for discs can be fun.
Cons: Back nine is very frustrating, and poorly laid out.
We actually stopped our game because we dont like blindly throwing at pins that we were not even sure are the correct ones.
Actually shed some blood on a bush.
Other Thoughts: If by any chance you throw your disk completely over the creek on the first couple of holes, if you have enough balance you can use the big pipe to walk across. It will support your weight.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/20/2006   10/28/2008
Review By: robthepope
Played: 34  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful natural landscape located along creek and provides loads of variety and challenge through relief, layout and obstacles. Biking distance from ASU. Offers wildlife.
Cons: Bring some water no matter what! Terrain unforgiving on you (especially in rough) and your disc. Some maps not available or unclear. Blind spots to loose your disc.
Other Thoughts: This course is a classic. I love it! Don't give up on your discs if you lost one chances are someone else did to. If you can't find yours you'll probably find some one else's. (names on your discs folks!) Fences have holes to crawl underneath to retrieve lost disc.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Another nice PHX course

5+    12/19/2005   10/25/2008
Review By: domromer
Played: 31  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Right in the middle of Tucson, Good use of the available land,interesting scenery and the occasional water hazard.
Cons: Not signed well, a lot of blind holes so a tough course to figure out if you haven't played it before.
Other Thoughts: This was either the 1st or 2nd course I ever played. It really kicked my ass when I couldn't drive more than 30ft. It's easy to get to and has good variety.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 rocky

1    8/27/2008   8/27/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 224  Reviewed: 176  Exp: 15.9 Years
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: -Unique land and challenging layout
-Has cement tees for front 9
Cons: The fairways are entirely rock, it will shred any plastic you don't lose in the fast flowing wash. Cacti and thorny bushes shred you. Hard to navigate, very hard to find and limited parking. Discs can skip and roll into water on a great shot. Not very technical if you can throw high.
Other Thoughts: Don't play when wet, the wash will eat you discs. I lost one on a great drive that landed under the basket.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 I love this course

4/14/2006   5/23/2008
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very unique layout
Great use of terrain
Forces you to use all kinds of shots
Plays fast
Cons: The first time it was hard to find and drove around a while before I figured out where it was
Parking is limited (but I play during the week and have never had a problem)
Can get backed up as people look for discs, etc
Other Thoughts: I love the desert/gully vibe of this course
I go out of my way to play it every time I go to Phx
Can't wait to check out the new 9 holes
When water is running in the creek, it's an awesome aesthetic
This course is what I though of when I thought of a desert course...great use of native terrain

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 in Transition?

2-4    4/9/2008   4/15/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 8.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2008
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging, hot dry and dusty desert discin'! Lots of variety of holes for a 9 hole course. Water comes into play (if the river isn't dry) and the out of bounds 'rough' can be wicked. Obviously well loved and cared for by the locals.
Cons: Discs will get scuffed here as will your shins (protect your legs), some of the signage could be better, sometimes a bit confusing finding your way around.
Other Thoughts: We played this one in '07, and again in '08. We were pleasantly surprised to see that a lot of cleaning up had taken place in the last year, and we had a much more enjoyable time here. It looks as though some renovations are taking place, and possibly another 9 holes are being added. This will be a killer course with a full 18. Looking forward to our next visit.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Technically Wonderful

5+    2/1/2008   4/14/2008
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 127  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2009
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This Course twists and turns back and forth. You will need left turns right turns, downhill, and especially tomahawks to play this course. Tons of signature holes:
#1 Hard left hyser around tree, followed by river on right
#2- Go around power pole, with river & waterfall just right of fairway and pin
#4- a downhill shot under overhanging trees, bounded by river on right. pin is on a small island in midstream, blocked by two gnarly trees.
#6 Shoot up and over brush-covered hill to a pin on back left side of hill, backed by a gulch.

The river runs along the front nine, and adds a nice OB element to many of the holes.

The holes on this course are very challenging. Birdies are hard to come by on this course for all but the biggest arms and most accurate, and none of the holes are "ace runs." This course will make you earn every par.

UPDATE: The new back nine across the road is a bit different. Still pretty rough (half the tees are rubber, the rest dirt, no maps or numbered baskets) it is also fun and plays along rocky hillsides sloping down to a dried gully running through in the middle. Still possible to lose a disc here, but without the river or the jungle across the river in play, you are much safer here than on the disc-hungry front nine.

Like the front nine, the back nine is dotted with the scruffy desert trees and cactus that force careful shot selection, and fairways covered with waist-high shrubs that force you to keep a bit of separation between disc and ground.

Also like the front nine, the back nine has many very interesting pin positions. However, in this case, the challenges presented are very different from the front. Overall, the back nine has more elevation in play than the front nine, mainly from the gully that is used creatively by the designers on several holes. One hole forces you to shoot across it to a pin up on the other side, where shooting short, long, or to the right of the pin will probably result in a rollaway down into it, and a tough followup. Another has the pin right on the gully edge, so overshooting at all means a 12 ft drop straight down, and a nasty UPshot.

The back nine actually has many holes that make for delightfully difficult putts. On hole 10, you shoot downhill to a blind basket nestled in a group of scrubby desert trees. Like on hole 7, it can be a bit tricky to find a way to drop the disc into the tree cocoon for a clear putt. Failing that, a good drive off the tee will still probably leave you shooting through a gap in them. One basket is even mounted to the top of a 5ft tall boulder.

Overall, the front nine is probably a little better than the back nine, partly because of the concrete tees, signs, numbered baskets, etc, but they are both distinct and good. The front nine by itself is a solid 3.5 course, and the new nine holes only add to it. When the amenities on the back nine are equal to the front nine, this will truly be a gem of a course.

Very interesting, challenging and fun, if you have a few different shot types to choose from. Can be frustrating the first (and second) time you play it, but grows on you the more you keep coming back.
Cons: (On front nine) The alternate and rotating pins, plus the very generic hole maps at each teebox make it frustrating to find the right pin the first few times you play the front nine. Really needs signposts with a course map of each nine near holes 1 and 10 to clear up some confusion.

The back nine is much worse in this manner. Pins arent numbered, and there are rubber/dirt teeboxes with no maps, which means its very hard to know which pin belongs to which hole for the time being, much less see the pins through all the brush.

However, as the rough conditions on the back nine are mainly due to foot-dragging on some committee or other that has to approve improvements to the course, hopefully it's only a matter of time before things change. On the bright side, the local DG community wants very much to put in concrete tees and signs, and is just waiting on the green light from above to proceed.

The dusty rocky nature of this course will scuff your discs up, so be ready. The thorny trees and bushes will scuff you, so be mindful of that too, and practice your thumbers. Also, orange and white are the hardest color discs to find on this desert course, so try to throw other colors (even green). This course is frustrating when your game is off, and the slope of the land, combined with the wind, both work to blow your discs into the small river that runs through the front nine. Not a place for beginners.

WARNING
!!!Hole #4- Watch for the bamboo thicket (under the sign that says "Jurassic") to the right of the fairway. It will swallow your discs, even if you trudge through the water after them. !!!!!!!!!!!
Other Thoughts: Your discs WILL go in the shallow river, so be ready to get wet if you play here. Wear a swimsuit and old beater shoes that can get wet, and you will love this course. Chilly stream feels great on hot days. Also, be mindful of what color plastic you throw. You will spend along time looking for white discs (i have lost two white ones on same hole in one round before) so just don't throw them. Stick to red, purple, colors like that if you have a choice and don't want to lose discs

Even with numbered baskets on the front nine, this whole course is very non-First Timer Friendly (FTF). The best way to play it, and basically the only way to play the back nine, is to stick with a local who knows the course.

The first time I played this course (back when it was just nine), I almost gave up in frustration by hole 6, since I had trouble figuring out which basket I was supposed to shoot at. However, I kept coming back, and I'm so glad I did. Give it a few tries and you will be too.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Rocky

1    2/14/2008   3/26/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 183  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2008
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Concrete tee boxes and two baskets on each hole giving you the option to play 18 from 9 tees. The tee signs are easily visible allowing you to navigate the course. No chance of pedestrian interference.
Cons:
The main baskets are not easily distinguishable from the alternate baskets. The tee signs are badly in need of repair. Parking is not abundant.
Other Thoughts:
The course is quite rocky with pretty much no grass. So be prepared for your discs to take some abuse.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.