Tempe, AZ 
Moeur Park Share
Uploaded By: MattN Hole #3 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 370ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A Different Course

1    1/16/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 108  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Good Layout For the Land
Good Variety of Shot Types Required
Great Use of Natural Objects
Great Scenery
Concrete Tees On Front Nine
Cons:
Hard to Navigate
Course Is Hard To Find
Many Blind Holes
Back Nine is Lacking After Playing the Front Nine
Back Nine Doesn't Have Concrete Tee Pads
No Benches or Trash Cans
No Bathrooms
Other Thoughts:
The course can be hard to locate the first time you visit. Parking is located at the Northeast corner of Mills Avenue and West Operations Drive. From the parking lot, cross over Operations Drive to get to the first tee.

The first few holes play along the small watershed. A lot of times it is dried up, but when it has water it can add a lot of challenge to the course. Course is very technical and isn't a great course for beginners, discs can be easily lost in the underbrush, and a spotter would be ideal on this course. Course is mostly flat, but they did make good use of what elevation changes they have.

Navigation of the course can be very difficult. A lot of the baskets are blind and there is a lot of brush and other vegetation that make even finding the tees hard. If you are planning on playing this I would definitely check out the maps on the links page to get a good idea of the layout.

The front nine play on the south side of Opertations Drive and the back nine are on the North side. After hole 9 you will cross the road and the tee pad for 10 is at the edge of the road near the parking lot. The back nine are even more difficult to navigate, the course is flat and has a lot of underbrush so spotting anything can be hard. As I stated make sure you check out the map.

Overall this course has some great holes and the terrain is unlike anything that I ever played before. It can obviously get very hot and dry so bring plenty of water and wear very comfortable shoes. Course also has little to no shade so you will want to dress appropriately and/or bring plenty of sunscreen. Also there weren't a lot of trash cans so be sure to take your trash out with you. The course could use a couple updates, some new signs would be very helpful and some markers indicating where the next tee is would be very helpful.

Overall I enjoyed this course a lot and look forward to getting back to the Phoenix area to play this one again and check out some of the other courses in the area.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 *Front nine only*

2-4    12/30/2008   5/27/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/30/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is one of the most unique courses I've played. It is set in a small patch of desert, with a small wash running through most of the course. The fairways are very well defined, and the rough can be brutal. The combination of various desert plants and the wash which can have a good amount of water in it make for lots of risk/reward decisions that really make you think about every shot.

The front nine requires lots of different kinds of shots, and punishes inaccurate throws. There was great variety, especially if both sets of baskets are played. Some of the pin placements are very cool, especially the island hole where putting long or short means you're getting wet. There were a number of blind shots, which really added to the difficulty level of the course, and made it even more interesting.

There are nice concrete tee pads on the front nine, and tee signs showing both pin positions on each hole. The dual baskets on the front nine was a cool way to make 18 holes before the back nine was added.
Cons: The course was not the easiest to follow the first time through, and could have used a little bit of work on the signage. This isn't really a con, but if you have cheaper plastic discs that you don't want beat up, leave them at home as most of the course is hard dirt and rocks.

There were a few places where going ob across the creek pretty much meant your disc was lost. This wasn't a major deal, but made the course a little less beginner friendly. Similarly, the number of blind shots, while fun, mean that it is very beneficial to play in a group where someone can walk ahead and spot for the group.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course, and am really looking forward to going back and playing the new 9. The course offers a lot of cool and unique challenges, and is not an easy course for any skill level.

If you are in the Phoenix area, this course is certainly worth the trip. Just make sure you bring good shoes, tough discs, and lots of water, and this course is a great experience!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Natural Setting Course

2-4    11/18/2008   1/4/2009
Review By: ragajones
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging. You will have to be very creative with your shots to succeed on this course. Water hazards on the first 5 or so on the front 9 will force you to play for control over power.
Really close to Shelly Sharpe and completely different from Shelly too. If you have 27 holes in you, try both together for great variety.
Cons: Many blind shots, first time players will probably have to go forward and scout holes before throwing. Some of the densest underbrush in Phoenix.very easy to watch a disc enter the rough and then NEVER find it again. ever.
Other Thoughts: Play with bright discs. Play with sturdy plastics (Discraft ESP, Innova Champion, or Innova Star).
If you are in a group, consider sending someone forward to stand at the doglegs to spot discs (be careful of course). Water isn't that deep but can be a pain to recover.
Woe to the person who puts it on the other side of the creek. Lots of thorns and harsh plants. A really fun course, you are gonna be thirsty. As of November or so of 2008 the "back" course was still largely unfinished and hard to navigate but the basket placements look really fun because of the good use of the landscape. If you are in from out of state - This is a native desert-environment course and it will be a treat and a change of pace. If you like this course - try Buffalo Ridge. They are the closest cousins in the Phoenix area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tricky track

2-4    12/14/2008   12/15/2008
Review By: The Hammer
Played: 32  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Wide variety of angles
-Great use of terain
-Nice scenery
-Very low traffic
-Water in the wash makes for interesting twist
-Lots of trees and obstacles
-Multiple baskets on many holes
-Lots of blind shots
Cons: -Rocks will chew up cheap plastic (use the good stuff, it makes a huge difference)
-A little difficult to navigate the first couple times
-Back nine is fun but lacks tee boxes and signs
Other Thoughts: Be sure to bring lots of water and a map (Spinners in Scottsdale can provide).

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 frustrating

1    11/25/2008   11/26/2008
Review By: pyroman
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Front nine are challenging yet fun.
Playing along the creek proves to be difficult, but fishing for discs can be fun.
Cons: Back nine is very frustrating, and poorly laid out.
We actually stopped our game because we dont like blindly throwing at pins that we were not even sure are the correct ones.
Actually shed some blood on a bush.
Other Thoughts: If by any chance you throw your disk completely over the creek on the first couple of holes, if you have enough balance you can use the big pipe to walk across. It will support your weight.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/20/2006   10/28/2008
Review By: robthepope
Played: 34  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful natural landscape located along creek and provides loads of variety and challenge through relief, layout and obstacles. Biking distance from ASU. Offers wildlife.
Cons: Bring some water no matter what! Terrain unforgiving on you (especially in rough) and your disc. Some maps not available or unclear. Blind spots to loose your disc.
Other Thoughts: This course is a classic. I love it! Don't give up on your discs if you lost one chances are someone else did to. If you can't find yours you'll probably find some one else's. (names on your discs folks!) Fences have holes to crawl underneath to retrieve lost disc.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Another nice PHX course

5+    12/19/2005   10/25/2008
Review By: domromer
Played: 31  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 11.8 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Right in the middle of Tucson, Good use of the available land,interesting scenery and the occasional water hazard.
Cons: Not signed well, a lot of blind holes so a tough course to figure out if you haven't played it before.
Other Thoughts: This was either the 1st or 2nd course I ever played. It really kicked my ass when I couldn't drive more than 30ft. It's easy to get to and has good variety.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 rocky

1    8/27/2008   8/27/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.2 Years
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: -Unique land and challenging layout
-Has cement tees for front 9
Cons: The fairways are entirely rock, it will shred any plastic you don't lose in the fast flowing wash. Cacti and thorny bushes shred you. Hard to navigate, very hard to find and limited parking. Discs can skip and roll into water on a great shot. Not very technical if you can throw high.
Other Thoughts: Don't play when wet, the wash will eat you discs. I lost one on a great drive that landed under the basket.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 I love this course

4/14/2006   5/23/2008
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.5 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very unique layout
Great use of terrain
Forces you to use all kinds of shots
Plays fast
Cons: The first time it was hard to find and drove around a while before I figured out where it was
Parking is limited (but I play during the week and have never had a problem)
Can get backed up as people look for discs, etc
Other Thoughts: I love the desert/gully vibe of this course
I go out of my way to play it every time I go to Phx
Can't wait to check out the new 9 holes
When water is running in the creek, it's an awesome aesthetic
This course is what I though of when I thought of a desert course...great use of native terrain

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 in Transition?

2-4    4/9/2008   4/15/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2008
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging, hot dry and dusty desert discin'! Lots of variety of holes for a 9 hole course. Water comes into play (if the river isn't dry) and the out of bounds 'rough' can be wicked. Obviously well loved and cared for by the locals.
Cons: Discs will get scuffed here as will your shins (protect your legs), some of the signage could be better, sometimes a bit confusing finding your way around.
Other Thoughts: We played this one in '07, and again in '08. We were pleasantly surprised to see that a lot of cleaning up had taken place in the last year, and we had a much more enjoyable time here. It looks as though some renovations are taking place, and possibly another 9 holes are being added. This will be a killer course with a full 18. Looking forward to our next visit.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.