Disc Golf Center
Andrews, NC 
Heritage Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #1 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 233ft.   3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket to Tee (Green)



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Decent course

1    5/18/2014   6/26/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 48  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The holes by the parking lot are quite fun, especially #2. Baskets are in good shape. The two baskets adds a bit of variety if you want to stay and play 18 (full disclosure, we did not).
Cons: No tee pads. Open holes are pretty repetitive and boring, and if you were to throw a disc into the rough, it may be tough to find.
Other Thoughts: Glad to see a disc course where there's no other courses around for miles. This one is relatively thoughtfully built, but could use a bit of work before I'd call it "average".

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Little Course with Big Potential

5+    4/27/2014   4/29/2014
Review By: Dusty Shackleford
Played: 25  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has an excellent layout given the space available. You can tell a lot of thought went into the design. There are a variety of shots required, so no particular throwing style has an advantage over another. There is also a nice mix of wooded and open holes. This course is located in a valley adjacent to the Nantahala Forest, providing gorgeous mountain views throughout the round.
Cons: Most of the holes are on the short side, experienced players will only need drivers for about a third of the drives. The natural tee pads tend to become very slippery after a stretch of rain. Also, there doesn't seem to be any distance markers from the tee.

Other Thoughts: Although many of these holes are short, that doesn't necessarily translate to easy. There are several courses that are much longer where I typically finish with the same score.

This course appears to be maintained in most part by a small group of enthusiasts. I assume mowing and maintenance is a responsibility of the parks department, which seems a little inconsistent. Last summer the town held a firework display in the field, and apparently did nothing to clean up the debris afterwards.

Adding concrete or some other tee pads would go a long way for this course. I think it'd also be great to add some trees or bushes in the large field. This would improve the aesthetics and course layout simultaneously.

The design and beauty of this course is a real treat given the location in rural appalachia. It isn't a professional caliber layout, but nonetheless a very enjoyable day of golf.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 9 tees to 17 baskets

1    7/10/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set in an open field behind the park and away from all other park activities. A few holes play in your standard park-like area with several isolated trees to throw around. There is a good mix of open holes and holes with trees. The holes are mostly short and good place to learn and practice. Experienced players will have birdie chances on every hole and many ace runs. Despite the length and relative ease, each hole has some interesting features.

I normally don't like wide open holes, but I really like what has been done to #8 and #9 to give these open holes some challenge and character- #8 has an "island" green with rocks and rough as the border and a drop zone to make an open 200' hole tougher. #9 is the only hole like it I have seen as it is surrounded by a circle of large fence posts (no fence) about 4 feet apart and about 20 feet from the basket.

The course claims to have 18 holes, but in reality there are 9 tees and 2 baskets per hole- a yellow and green. For example (1 and 10 are the same tee, but the yellow basket is #1 and the green is #10). Though not as good as having 18 distinct holes, I appreciated the varying basket placements of the two- one may be to the left while the other is to the right, one may be shorter while the other is longer, and it is done in such a way where the yellow 1-9 which is just a touch easier and the green 10-18 are of equal difficulty for the most part. The tee posts had distances to both baskets.

Despite being in the Appalachian region this course is very flat as the town is in a plain between all the mountains. The views of the surrounding mountains are nice however.
Cons: The course map on this site (which I took from the town's webpage) and really nice glossy postcard versions with scorecard on back are available at the Chamber of Commerce on the main highway. However the map is completely inaccurate and is really only good to help you find the course itself. I am not sure if the map reflects an old design or a proposed new one (probably old), but it is completely wrong as far as holes go.

The course needed mowed and trimmed. The woods holes had thick grass making finding your disc difficult. They were however mowing the open field, which some of it could have been left up as a fairway border in my opinion. (The pics show corn, but that was not the case.) Tee #3 is tucked in the thick stuff off the gravel road but was surrounded by tall grass that was over my head on including in front of the tee making a blind tomahawk the only option :) probably not the intention and nothing a weedeater couldn't fix.

There is a creek that the map said came into play, but the current set-up did not involve it at all. However, depending on maintenance, which seemed to be minimal, it is probably best that the thick rough along the creek is not in play, even though it is too bad at least one hole could not involve the water.It appears there used to be 18 holes that played in a circle around an open field- if so, I think this current arrangement is very good and a good use of the existing baskets.

#9 and #18 share a basket, which they should because this finishing hole is worthy of playing it twice. The basket also says "practice" on it. Then there is a longer walk back to #1/#10. I wonder what happened to the green #18, seems like it could have been placed somewhere as a practice basket?

This is actually a decent and enjoyable course for what it is and where it is. It was pretty easy for me but still enjoyable and a nice break on my long drive through the mountains as this course is just off the main highway.
Other Thoughts: It appears there used to be 18 holes that played in a circle around an open field- if so, I think this current arrangement is very good and a good use of the existing baskets.

#9 and #18 share a basket, which they should because this finishing hole is worthy of playing it twice. The basket also says "practice" on it. Then there is a longer walk back to #1/#10. I wonder what happened to the green #18, seems like it could have been placed somewhere as a practice basket?

This is actually a decent and enjoyable course for what it is and where it is. Nice design and use of the land available. It was pretty easy for me but still enjoyable and a nice break on my long drive through the mountains as this course is just off the main highway.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

2-4    4/1/2012   4/1/2012
Review By: vansmith
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brand new DISCatcher baskets
Well kept
Easy access
Not a lot of people
Beautiful setting
Cons: Short holes
No distance markers to the pins
Other Thoughts: The course lies on a plain between two mountain ranges, which makes for a beautiful setting to play disc golf. The course is very well maintained, mowed, and beautified with tons and tons of wildflowers. You can tell that the city takes great pride in keeping the course beautiful, which improves the overall atmosphere. It's also very clean with no litter.

The course itself is short, which doesn't make for a too terribly challenging experience, but it's also not as easy as they come. There are some holes out in the open, which at first appear easy, but if you pay close attention, there are OB markers. You must stay within the mowed fairways, or you are OB. Most of the holes are short, so there are plenty of birdie opportunities out there. There are also some wooded holes, which make the course more challenging, even though the holes are short. If you hit a tree, you're looking at a bogie or worse.

The DISCatcher baskets are top of the line, double chained (24 chains) professional baskets, which are a definite plus! The tee pads are natural, but kept up with wood chips so that they're not muddy. There are 9 tee pads, with two baskets per tee pad. This makes 18 holes of golf. Hole one is also hole 10, hole 2 is also hole 11, etc. If you play the circuit, you play the yellow baskets first, then come back around and play the green baskets. The pins are in quite different positions, so you will use different techniques and discs for the second set of pins. For instance, for hole 2 a forehand flick works best for the drive; but from the same tee pad, hole 11's pin requires a backhand throw (for right handed players). Hole 5 plays completely different than hole 14 from the same tee pad as well. So, given the space provided, the designer has done an excellent job incorporating two pin placements per tee pad to make for a good 18 hole course.

Overall I liked the course a lot! You wouldn't expect to see a disc golf course in such a small town, so to have one here is brilliant! The design was well thought out, and the holes, while short, are challenging enough to make it a really fun round of golf.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.