Crystal City, MO
Crystal City Underground DGC - North Share
Uploaded By: dirtyrock Hole #7 (Taken 3/2012)
3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Go Underground!

5+    1/27/2012   1/28/2012
Review By: stubborn puppet
Played: 33  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/8/2012
65 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The obvious pro is that this is the 1st and ONLY subterranean disc golf course in the world. I was very fortunate to be the first ever player to tee off at this courses first public opening. It was a huge and exciting honor.
>
There is nothing else like it and it is seriously the coolest disc golf experience I've ever had. I'd like to get these out of the way too: "Too cold outside? Not a problem. Too hot outside? It's cool in here. Oh man, it's raining outside... oh, we can go to the cave. There's never enough daylight in the winter to get in a game after work... oh wait, CCUDGC is open until after 11pm!" Thanks, I just had to do that.
>
There are so many great things to say about this course, it's hard to figure out where to begin... how about with a couple of my favorite perks, "bank-shots". There are plenty of opportunities to get the angle or lay you want by just banking off a wall or the ceiling. I got a really sweet birdie on my first game by banking off the wall and into the basket. There is no wind down here, the air is thin and the humidity is really ideal - so your shots will fly long and true.
>
I had my doubts at first about how much variety one could get in an old sand mine cave, as these are usually cut out very symetrically. Crystal City Underground is actually very "A"symetrical and has many twists and turns through the random maze of columns. There are several places where 3-6 ft. channels have been dug to allow water to run through and these act as some pretty scary water hazards that you simply do NOT want to step in (think about being up to your waist in wet cement). There are also several places where a 4-7 ft. tall shelf has piled up in a dead end, so the basket has been placed up there (very neat). Really, just tons of variety on this beta version course and even more potential for expansion around every corner (there's room for at least 4 full length courses down here).
>
A few "signature holes" have started to be recognized and for a good reason. Example: A new hole came into play last night that everyone was talking about, "Down the Rabbit Hole": you have to throw about 110' from the tee into a 4' diameter shaft hole. Once you make it through the shaft hole, it is a short put to the basket.
>
EDIT/UPDATE 5-7-12: All previous "signature holes have been removed or changed.
Benefit = there are now 36 holes with nice Titan baskets.
>
Cons: EDIT/UPDATE 5-7-12: It's still a little dark in some places down here, so you will probably want to play using LED's taped onto the bottom of champ plastic discs. Overall though, lighting is pretty good and you shouldn't need a flashlight unless you get really off course.
>
EDIT/UPDATE 5-7-12: Navigation might be an issue... attempts have been made at making nav markers using lighted barrels, but they don't do a very good job and too many baskets are visible at one time with the current layout to be sure where to throw next.
>
The walls can be a little rough on DX and other weaker plastics, but weren't a problem for the star and cfr plastic (minor scrapes). I've played about 25-30 rounds down here and my discs haven't got any worse than they were after 3 rounds. They don't get dinged, just roughed up around the edge.
>
EDIT/UPDATE 5-7-12: Both the original course and the new course layouts are awful in my opinion. The average length of each hole has shortened by about 65' and about 60% or more of the shots on both courses were nothing more than a 120 - 160' right handed forehand hyzer flick around a column for a very easy birdie layup or ace. The variety of the orignal 9 and 18 hole layouts is just plain gone and so are all of the previous signature holes. Out of 36 holes, there were only about 8 that you could justifiably say that you shouldn't be able to birdie every time. Another problem that I feel exists in the current layout on the second course is that there are 4 holes that are nothing but a tee and a 200-250' throw over the underground lake - if you don't land exactly next to the basket on a little 12' area, your disc is lost in the lake (totally stupid, even though it's supposed to be challenging). There were a few other places where a shot was created to be "fun", but missed the mark for one reason or another. I've also noticed that there are just way too many holes where there is no reason at all that an extra 100' or more could have been added without any compromise.
>
The price has been raised from $5 for a general entry fee to $5 per every 18 holes. Prices for LED's has gone way up from 3 for $5 to $4 a piece. Beverage prices have also gone up a little bit. None of it seems completely justifiable and I feel a compromise between the new and old prices would be more appropriate. The drastic reduction from 80 players on a Friday night to 25 players per night the last two weeks shows that I might be right...
>
Other Thoughts: Please remember that this course is on private property and is NOW OPEN ON FRIDAY NIGHTS 7PM TO 12AM, ALSO OPEN ON SAT. AND SUN. FROM 1-5PM. At any other time, you are trespassing.
>
Outside drinks are not allowed, but drinks are available at the bar (both alchoholic and non) - this is also where you pay the entry fee. It is very, very important that players display the highest standards of behavior and courtesy at this course: No smoking inside, no smoking inside, please keep foul language to yourself and keep noise at a respectable level.
>
PLEASE, DON'T LEAVE YOUR TRASH/BEER CANS/BOTTLES/FOOD WRAPPER/ANYTHING ANYWHERE but INSIDE of a marked trash can. There's are trashcans at just about every hole.
>
For the love of all that is good and right in the world, USE THE Porta Potty BEFORE YOU START YOUR GAME. It is REALLY UNCOOL to do your business in the cave!
>
We must set a good example all the way around at this course.
>
Just driving into the property for this course is half of the fun. I won't spoil the fun by giving you details, but it is awesome.
>
The CCU caves are also used for beach volleyball, air-soft, private parties, concerts, football game parties on the big screens, underground lake "party barge" tours and much more to come. Check out the website and more pictures at http://crystalcityunderground.com

EDIT/UPDATE: 5-7-12: I know that I seem a little down on this course right now, but I am not alone. I have talked to many players and they have all agreed that, although "The Cave" is perhaps the most awesome place for a disc golf course ever, the two new layouts are horrible, the navigation is inexcusably bad and that what used to be a weekly destination is now only worth going if the weather is bad. I sincerely hope that major improvements are made and that the owner gets the original designers, Mark Dudenhoffer and Joe McKee back in to fix it up right.
YOU SHOULD STILL GO SEE IT, IT'S WORTH THE TRIP REGARDLESS!

65 of 67 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.