Denver, CO 
Colorado Heights University DGC Share
Uploaded By: Arctic Kats Hole #17 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 228ft.   3 / 228ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Red Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Overrated/Private Course Bonus/Denver Lense

1    4/8/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 331  Reviewed: 329  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Not crowded with other players. The season pass keeps them out.
-Pretty good variation in distance. There are some definite ace runs and much longer holes too.
-Some large trees.
-Very nice campus, it is scenic, well maintained, watered, mowed, etc. No garbage anywhere.
-The keyhole on 11 was kind of cool.
-Quality signage and good layout made it pretty easy to find your way around this course. Especially if you have a map.
-Baskets and tees are in good shape. 2 tees for most holes.
-Alternate pin locations
Cons: -Pay to play/exclusivity: You need to hold a season pass in order to play this course. You can also go with a pass holder as they can bring one person per round. I think that you pay for the exclusivity here and for not having to wait like you might at many of Denver's public courses. You don't really pay for a high quality course. I think that I would only buy a pass if I lived very, very close. I would do that because it would be a little drive to get to a similar course and over the season those costs would add up as well. There aren't really any quality 18 or more hole courses in the immediate vicinity.
-Safety issues: there are many holes that throw near buildings, sidewalks, roads, athletic facilities etc and you could hurt something or someone. This is a university so you are probably going to see students and faculty walking all over. You are probably going to have to wait for them.
-There was almost no shot shaping required. There was usually one (or no) obstacles to avoid per hole. If you didn't hit that one thing then you were probably fine.
-Little to no risk/reward shots. Very, very forgiveable.
-This course had a very low fun factor for me.
-Hardly any elevation.
Other Thoughts: -I can see how many would think that this is the best course in Denver. I had more fun at Camenisch Park with their 27 holes between the 2 courses but that course was not as maintained as this one. Other courses like Bird's Nest, Expo, Lakewood Dry Gulch are good but also very forgettable.
-I think this course benefits from having little quality competition within Denver. Or it gets a boost from it's private feel. Or it's just plain overrated. I had looked at all the pictures a few times before playing (with a buddy who holds a pass) and knew that this wasn't 4.4 golf. This course is nowhere near as fun as the mountain courses or even Jellystone which is South of the metro area.
-I would play here if it is convenient because it is a decent round. Like I have said, there aren't many good options so you might as well give it a shot.
-I prefer courses that are more challenging with obstacles, elevation, risk/reward. This one had length as a challenge and a few obstacles off the tee or near the basket but really nothing overly challenging.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Colorado Heights University

1    8/28/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: roryconrad
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: -quality pads and baskets
-good use of elevation
-personality/unique
Cons: -excessive out of bounds
-cramped course at points
-too many wide open/forgive'able holes
Other Thoughts: Its tough, denver has crap metro courses, this is certainly the best w/out going in2 the mountains. Just dont get ahead of urself. I see it rated a 4.40. Ive played from Flip City, Hudson Mills, High bridge, lemon lake, phantom falls, conifer, the Joliet area of chi and courses in the dallas area. This course does not play like a 4.40. Its a 3.5 at best-but id say 3,0- lack of line dictation the holes provide. One of the hole requires an up hill blind shot over a ran down building...Thats when i said, "man people are paying 60 bux for this?" This is not the answer from driving into the mountains to play a players course, but it will ease the suffering. Jellystone in the GREATER denver area (this is castle rock) is the best course for any newly moved to denver or locals who havent heard-

5 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Denver Trip

1    6/17/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: DGTEXAS
Played: 67  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This was a great course to play that is conveinently located in the Downtown Denver area. There are a variety of shots and the course is kept up well.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: I went with a buddy that has a $60 annual membership to play this course and we had a great time!

I'll be back!

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Denver's Finest

5+    6/13/2013   6/14/2013
Review By: jfrosty42
Played: 103  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.1 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -36 excellent tee pads
-Detailed tee signs at every tee
-Great shot variety
-Alternate basket locations that change frequently
-Well maintained
-Never crowded. With the course being IN Denver, being pay to play keeps the riff raff away
-Excellent views
Cons: -Cost (although it is more of a "pro" in my eyes)
-Walking traffic and parking can get bad during events held at the school
Other Thoughts: This is by far the best course in the Denver-metro area. Highly recommended to play if you are in Denver. Please follow the course/campus rules!!!

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Played during a tourney with 6 inches of snow on the ground...and still loved it!

1    3/24/2013   3/26/2013
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 37  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 23.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great location
-Scenic views on some holes, with great architecture to look at on others
-Perfect teepads (including alternate tees)
-Grounds are well taken care of, maintence is obviously a high-priority here...no trash to be found
-Variety of shots and distances, with ever changing pin positions making for a unique experience every time out...I played with guys who had to make shots they never had before
-"The Green Mile" and the "Keyhole" are two of the more unique holes on the course, and also two of the most fun holes I ever played...especially because I made my par putt through the keyhole!
Cons: -Cost. Plain and simple. This is on the grounds of a very active college, and as such, you have to pay 60 bucks for a yearly pass...however, for 2013 that pass also allows you to bring a guest.
-We played a tournament, during the weekend (played CHU on Sunday) with 6 inches of snow on the ground and still had students oblivously walking through fairways. No one got hit, but I can imagine that during a school day it could get pretty dicey. Just remember, you're a guest...they are the students and they always have the right of way!
Other Thoughts: What a great course...I was glad I got to play here before I moved out of Colorado. Doug Bjerkaas, who designed and maintains this course (and is a helluva player in his own right) takes great pride in this course, and well he should. From what I hear, it wasn't easy getting this course put in. It's one of the best courses in Colorado, and ranks right up there with the great Mountain courses like Phantom Falls, Conifer and Magic Meadows.

The only real downfall is the cost. If you live in Denver, a 60 dollar a year pass is a great value. But I live much further south, and I jsut wouldnt get the use out of it that the pass would deserve. Pay to play though, works in CHU's favor as it not only keeps out the riff-raff that you would find in a public course, but it also allows them to maintain the course itself without having to draw from school funds, making the course it's own entity.

Several tournaments a year are played at CHU, including the one I played in (303 Amateur Championships) such as: 303 Open, Johnny Roberts Memorial and the Rocky Mountain Women's Disc Golf Championships. They are also looking to host more events there for 2014. So if you are not from Denver or don't know anyone with a pass, there are still plenty of opportunities to hit up CHU. I HIGHLY reccomend this course!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in Denver

5+    10/15/2012   1/11/2013
Review By: PatBlazek
Played: 60  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.2 Years
9 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: - Great combination of shots
- Great scenery
-You can bring a guest with you if you have a pass
- Good amount of variation in hole lengths
- Good amount of pin placements
- Not Crowded
- No drinking or smoking allowed on course
- Hole 14 in long position is like 1028 ft downhill :D
- Baskets are moved at least once a week
Cons: - $60 pass, but it's worth it and the money goes back to the course/school. So it's not really a con for locals.
- No pets :(
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in Denver. We don't have the best courses compared to other states but this one is truly awesome. It asks for all kinds of different shots and there's a great variation in distances as well. There are suppose to be some new holes being put in sometime this year as well.

One note to add, do not try to sneak onto this course. It is "not" public property like some may say or think. It is private land owned by the University and it is technically trespassing if you are not a member of CHU or own a pass. If you don't like the fee then either play with someone who has a pass or find a different course, please :)

9 of 15 people found this review helpful.

WOW

2-4    11/21/2012   11/21/2012
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 116  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 5.4 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Brand new baskets that are in very good shape
-Two sets of tee-pads, Red and Black. Each tee-pads really change up the holes and make them play quite a bit different than the other tee-pad, which is very nice.
-This course will challenge you and make you throw every shot in your bag. While it is challenging all of the holes are fair.
-This course uses the available land very well and provides almost every type of hole from wooded holes to long bomber, and it is a good mix of hole varieties. Pretty much every hole on this course is a blast to play.
-Some very unique pin placements such as Hole 11, which has the basket through a hole in a tree.
-Large variety of distances (Depending on the tee-pad and pin position distances go from about 170 all the way to 1038)
-At least two pin positions per hole and most of the holes have 3 pin positions.
-A good amount of elevation change especially on holes 14 through 17
-Nice concrete tee-pads for each tee position
-The fact that this course requires a annual pass keeps it from getting very crowded.
-Very nice tee-signs that show the layout of the hole, all the pin positions, the distance to each pin position and a nickname for the hole.
-Great views of the mountains
-The people in the business office and those who run the course are great and very friendly if you have an issue or something come up with your pass.
Cons: -The flow of this course is a little hard to follow if it is your first time playing, especially depending on if you are looking for the red or black tee-pad for the next hole. Make sure to bring the map they give you when you buy your pass with you, because it will reduce the amount of time spent navigating the course the first few times you play.
-There are long walks between a few of the holes depending on which tee-pad you are going to. The walk between Holes 11 and 12 is very long.
-There are a lot of roads that come into play on at least 10 of the holes on the course. Definitely make sure a car isn't coming before you throw.
-Four or five of the holes have buildings that come into play on the hole that could possibly cause some safety issues.
-If you play during the school day, there might be some other campus users in the way on some holes.
Other Thoughts: This course is a blast to play and will constantly challenge your game. If you live anywhere in Denver you are doing yourself a disservice if you don't have an annual pass. This an amazing course with just a few flaws that hold it back. If you have a chance to play to course, whatever you do don't pass it up.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/8/2013   11/20/2012
Review By: RoaringSeacow
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2013
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Not Crowded with Players
-Constant movement of baskets
-Great View
-Memorable holes
-Alternate Tee's
-Security Guard
-Long holes
-Pass comes with guest pass
Cons: -Students sitting in fairways(on weekdays)
-Roads in line to basket
-Confusing out of bounds
-If disc goes over fence its pretty much gone
-$60 Parking/Play pass
Other Thoughts: Money well spent I have thrown on this course +20 rounds and the security guard remembers faces so it isn't a hassle. In the back three there is a coyote den only seen it twice.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding city course and home of the 1000ft hole

5+    9/28/2012   10/3/2012
Review By: gibster
Played: 40  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 22.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2012
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - alternate tees
- alternate basket placement
- awesome hole information signs
- concrete tees
- benches
- excellent design
- well managed
- memorable holes (esp. 5, 11, 14)
- 1000ft hole!
- not that crowded (yet)
Cons: - no obvious drinking water access on course
- students sometimes sitting/playing on the course (especially holes 8, 11)
- alternate baskets/tees make it harder to compare scores
- confusing OOB on 15-18
Other Thoughts: Before I knew about this course, I always wondered about the imposing bell tower building, watching it while driving on Santa Fe or waiting for light rail. When I just recently started playing again after nearly 20 years off, I lucked into a free day they had on 9/2/12, and was hooked. I loved seeing the alternate tees AND alternate basket positions. These two features enhance an already great course for me, as they accommodate varying skill levels and offer (practically) endless hole configurations. The benches are great, holes are challenging and memorable, scenery is amazing from the top of the hill.

The season fee was originally a bit steep (fee for 2 players would be $100), but for 2013, the university changed their yearly fee to $60, which now INCLUDES a guest pass! If you get the pass this year, it is valid for 2012 AND 2013. Needless to say, I jumped on the deal. I was impressed by how smooth the purchase was - it takes 5 minutes to fill out a form, and after making the payment (credit cards accepted), you receive a packet with the member/guest passes in the form of aluminum tags, parking tag, and a map.

After playing several times now, I must say this course takes some stamina, especially playing back-to-back. My scores took a beating with the new recent basket placements, but I feel this only makes me a better player. The out of bounds markings on 15-18 are a bit unexpected (maybe tournament only?), seemingly harsh at first, and a little hard to follow (markings on the ground), so we wound up disregarding them for now - maybe after examining them/getting used to them a bit more, we will incorporate them into our play. Hole 11 is a total hoot, especially when you get to putt through the hole in the tree (depends on the basket placement) AND make the putt. Many holes require low drives to get underneath the tree branches (or distance on downhill hole 14), which is a good skill to learn. The long hole 14 will make you rip out your arm to get the distance, as 3 drives are needed on the hole. On a few holes (1, 2, 3, 5, 14, 16, 18), it may not be obvious where the baskets are, since they keep changing the basket positions, but after a few rounds, it gets easier. The map is very useful the first few times as well, as there are no signs to guide you to the next hole. I found the transition from 11 to 12 especially confusing the first time, and 12/13, 16/17 are also pretty far.

I feel this property could easily accommodate 27 holes. A few new holes I could think of - add 2 holes between current 4/5 (towards the tennis courts on the west side and back, without compromising current hole 5 length really), 2 holes on the southeast field above the parking (by the entrance), 2 holes in the center quad, 1 hole between 12/13, and maybe squeeze 2 more holes out of the 14-18 area (between 16/17 for sure, need to keep the 1000 footer though!). Not sure if this would make the course too busy, as I can see why it was designed the way it was, but... if the course designers are reading this - please consider this for the future! Update 11/18/2012 - new building construction on southeast field by entrance - never mind these 2 potential holes...

This course has become my in-town favorite in a very short amount of time. While David Lorenz Park is my "home" course, whenever possible, I will drive the extra few miles to play Colorado Heights. This course is, by far, the best in Denver, and even compares very well with the outstanding mountain courses (Bailey, Beaver Ranch, etc.).

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Pay to Play

1    6/28/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: phish3460
Played: 42  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2012
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: UPDATE: new policy is that buying a membership entitles you to have a secondary tag to bring a friend. This is an awesome upgrade! Definitely impressed with the work that's being put into this course. If you're traveling through the area and want to give it a try, let me know.

*stunning views of the Rocky Mountains
*good variety of shots (uphill, downhill, slightly wooded
*alternate pin positions (changed frequently) and pads
*excellent signage
*spacious and new concrete tee pads
*permanent port-a-potty near hole #1's tee
*quiet
*unencumbered
*mature trees
*great baskets
*practice basket


Excellent course with great use of allotted land that meanders through a local college with scenic views of the Rocky Mountains from one side of the course, the campus in the middle, and downtown Denver from the other side. Moderate elevation change on the Rocky Mountain side of the course, with the opposite being relatively flat. Some very demanding holes and some very accessible holes.
Cons:
*$60 per year to play (worth it)
*can be a bit tricky to navigate if you aren't with someone who's familiar with the course, so I STRONGLY recommend printing and bringing with you the 'Course Map' which can be found under the Links/Files tab
*could foresee problems during the school year or if class is in session as some of the holes are within common campus areas and several bring access roads into play
*although one hole affords a majority of the elevation change on the course, other holes either have a slight up or downhill, without any one hole offering both
*signage (while great) could be more specific in regards to OB
*no water fountains that I noticed (please correct me if I'm wrong)
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is an excellent course. As other reviewers have stated, it requires an arsenal of shots. You need flat, low shots; sweeping high shots; forehand/backhand; great midrange game. There are holes that require players without an absolute bomb-for-an-arm to be judicious with their drives and approaches. Some holes do offer great opportunities for risk/reward, whereas some pin positions afford simple approaches to the pin. I do appreciate courses that are not so overly challenging that they can be frustrating for an intermediate-advanced player, so bear that in mind as you read this.

I purchased the pass for the 2013 season as they added the guest pass.

Kudos to the designers for making a great course that any city would be thrilled to add to its arsenal. Heard they've put almost $20,000 into its development.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.