Denver, CO 
Colorado Heights University DGC Share
Uploaded By: Arctic Kats Hole #8 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 351ft.   3 / 431ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Red Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Worth the membership

5+    8/1/2014   8/1/2014
Review By: troberts
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.5 Years
Pros: Best course is the metro area and being the only local private course is great for after work and weekends when public courses get slammed. Good elevation and distance variety and multiple tees are great. 15-21 are some the most fun holes on the front range!
Cons: Guest policy and parking policy are especially strict, which sucks when you bring someone thats just walking with you, or in my case, when you meet a client there and he has to park across the street. Security professionals are really friendly and accommodating, but there is certainly an exorbitant amount of attention paid to disc players. Kindof lame considering the dope-head homeless people that wonder onto the campus, ALL THE TIME! Pay attention to the times when your playing. If school is in session and your there around opening, lunch or school releasing, you can forget playing the front. And, small pet-peave, they've been watering the grass at STUPID times. 5+ times this season, I've been there around lunch on saturdays and the sprinklers are on. Also, no dogs. Understandable, but kindof stinks.
Other Thoughts: LOVE this course and the players that I've met out there. Hope it just continues to be successful and develop. Great course for tourneys and taking your time to really practice a variety of shots. But, seriously, will someone get grounds crew to change the times for the sprinklers?!?!

Membership fees are worth it

5+    7/24/2014   7/26/2014
Review By: Mile High Bogey
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 20.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Private course with security. A quiet oasis in the city with killer views of the foothills on the back half. Because it requires membership, it is rarely crowded, many weekdays I have the course all to myself. Holes 17-19 provide a nice contrast to the more open holes on the rest of the course. Good variety of holes, short long, wide open, tight and technical, and everything in between.
Cons: The grounds crew and security spend very little time on the back half of the course, so you will find slightly more weeds, some broken glass, and occasional overflowing trash cans. AS many have mentioned before, vehicles and people love to set up shop between the tee pad and the basket, particularly on the front half. I hate being forced to play over a building on hole #2 to avoid a bogey (I have already left 2 discs on the roof of said building in 2 seasons). Yes, you sometimes have to play close to buildings and parked cars, however, show me a course on a university where that's not the case!
Other Thoughts: Hole #14 (the one that is 999' at the long position) is an unrealistic par 3 to all but the big arms; it's just discouraging to know you are always going to lose 1-2 strokes on that hole unless you have a rocket launcher for an arm. They could fit 3-4 holes in the same area, but I guess if you're a big arm you will completely disagree with this suggestion. Again if you are an arm, you will LOVE #12, and if you aren't try and enjoy the view on the long walk down between all of your shots like I do.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Overrated/Private Course Bonus/Denver Lense

1    4/8/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 345  Reviewed: 338  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Not crowded with other players. The season pass keeps them out.
-Pretty good variation in distance. There are some definite ace runs and much longer holes too.
-Some large trees.
-Very nice campus, it is scenic, well maintained, watered, mowed, etc. No garbage anywhere.
-The keyhole on 11 was kind of cool.
-Quality signage and good layout made it pretty easy to find your way around this course. Especially if you have a map.
-Baskets and tees are in good shape. 2 tees for most holes.
-Alternate pin locations
Cons: -Pay to play/exclusivity: You need to hold a season pass in order to play this course. You can also go with a pass holder as they can bring one person per round. I think that you pay for the exclusivity here and for not having to wait like you might at many of Denver's public courses. You don't really pay for a high quality course. I think that I would only buy a pass if I lived very, very close. I would do that because it would be a little drive to get to a similar course and over the season those costs would add up as well. There aren't really any quality 18 or more hole courses in the immediate vicinity.
-Safety issues: there are many holes that throw near buildings, sidewalks, roads, athletic facilities etc and you could hurt something or someone. This is a university so you are probably going to see students and faculty walking all over. You are probably going to have to wait for them.
-There was almost no shot shaping required. There was usually one (or no) obstacles to avoid per hole. If you didn't hit that one thing then you were probably fine.
-Little to no risk/reward shots. Very, very forgiveable.
-This course had a very low fun factor for me.
-Hardly any elevation.
Other Thoughts: -I can see how many would think that this is the best course in Denver. I had more fun at Camenisch Park with their 27 holes between the 2 courses but that course was not as maintained as this one. Other courses like Bird's Nest, Expo, Lakewood Dry Gulch are good but also very forgettable.
-I think this course benefits from having little quality competition within Denver. Or it gets a boost from it's private feel. Or it's just plain overrated. I had looked at all the pictures a few times before playing (with a buddy who holds a pass) and knew that this wasn't 4.4 golf. This course is nowhere near as fun as the mountain courses or even Jellystone which is South of the metro area.
-I would play here if it is convenient because it is a decent round. Like I have said, there aren't many good options so you might as well give it a shot.
-I prefer courses that are more challenging with obstacles, elevation, risk/reward. This one had length as a challenge and a few obstacles off the tee or near the basket but really nothing overly challenging.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Colorado Heights University

1    8/28/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: roryconrad
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: -quality pads and baskets
-good use of elevation
-personality/unique
Cons: -excessive out of bounds
-cramped course at points
-too many wide open/forgive'able holes
Other Thoughts: Its tough, denver has crap metro courses, this is certainly the best w/out going in2 the mountains. Just dont get ahead of urself. I see it rated a 4.40. Ive played from Flip City, Hudson Mills, High bridge, lemon lake, phantom falls, conifer, the Joliet area of chi and courses in the dallas area. This course does not play like a 4.40. Its a 3.5 at best-but id say 3,0- lack of line dictation the holes provide. One of the hole requires an up hill blind shot over a ran down building...Thats when i said, "man people are paying 60 bux for this?" This is not the answer from driving into the mountains to play a players course, but it will ease the suffering. Jellystone in the GREATER denver area (this is castle rock) is the best course for any newly moved to denver or locals who havent heard-

6 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Denver Trip

1    6/17/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: DGTEXAS
Played: 67  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This was a great course to play that is conveinently located in the Downtown Denver area. There are a variety of shots and the course is kept up well.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: I went with a buddy that has a $60 annual membership to play this course and we had a great time!

I'll be back!

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Denver's Finest

5+    6/13/2013   6/14/2013
Review By: jfrosty42
Played: 103  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -36 excellent tee pads
-Detailed tee signs at every tee
-Great shot variety
-Alternate basket locations that change frequently
-Well maintained
-Never crowded. With the course being IN Denver, being pay to play keeps the riff raff away
-Excellent views
Cons: -Cost (although it is more of a "pro" in my eyes)
-Walking traffic and parking can get bad during events held at the school
Other Thoughts: This is by far the best course in the Denver-metro area. Highly recommended to play if you are in Denver. Please follow the course/campus rules!!!

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Played during a tourney with 6 inches of snow on the ground...and still loved it!

1    3/24/2013   3/26/2013
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 38  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 23.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great location
-Scenic views on some holes, with great architecture to look at on others
-Perfect teepads (including alternate tees)
-Grounds are well taken care of, maintence is obviously a high-priority here...no trash to be found
-Variety of shots and distances, with ever changing pin positions making for a unique experience every time out...I played with guys who had to make shots they never had before
-"The Green Mile" and the "Keyhole" are two of the more unique holes on the course, and also two of the most fun holes I ever played...especially because I made my par putt through the keyhole!
Cons: -Cost. Plain and simple. This is on the grounds of a very active college, and as such, you have to pay 60 bucks for a yearly pass...however, for 2013 that pass also allows you to bring a guest.
-We played a tournament, during the weekend (played CHU on Sunday) with 6 inches of snow on the ground and still had students oblivously walking through fairways. No one got hit, but I can imagine that during a school day it could get pretty dicey. Just remember, you're a guest...they are the students and they always have the right of way!
Other Thoughts: What a great course...I was glad I got to play here before I moved out of Colorado. Doug Bjerkaas, who designed and maintains this course (and is a helluva player in his own right) takes great pride in this course, and well he should. From what I hear, it wasn't easy getting this course put in. It's one of the best courses in Colorado, and ranks right up there with the great Mountain courses like Phantom Falls, Conifer and Magic Meadows.

The only real downfall is the cost. If you live in Denver, a 60 dollar a year pass is a great value. But I live much further south, and I jsut wouldnt get the use out of it that the pass would deserve. Pay to play though, works in CHU's favor as it not only keeps out the riff-raff that you would find in a public course, but it also allows them to maintain the course itself without having to draw from school funds, making the course it's own entity.

Several tournaments a year are played at CHU, including the one I played in (303 Amateur Championships) such as: 303 Open, Johnny Roberts Memorial and the Rocky Mountain Women's Disc Golf Championships. They are also looking to host more events there for 2014. So if you are not from Denver or don't know anyone with a pass, there are still plenty of opportunities to hit up CHU. I HIGHLY reccomend this course!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in Denver

5+    10/15/2012   1/11/2013
Review By: PatBlazek
Played: 60  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.3 Years
9 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: - Great combination of shots
- Great scenery
-You can bring a guest with you if you have a pass
- Good amount of variation in hole lengths
- Good amount of pin placements
- Not Crowded
- No drinking or smoking allowed on course
- Hole 14 in long position is like 1028 ft downhill :D
- Baskets are moved at least once a week
Cons: - $60 pass, but it's worth it and the money goes back to the course/school. So it's not really a con for locals.
- No pets :(
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in Denver. We don't have the best courses compared to other states but this one is truly awesome. It asks for all kinds of different shots and there's a great variation in distances as well. There are suppose to be some new holes being put in sometime this year as well.

One note to add, do not try to sneak onto this course. It is "not" public property like some may say or think. It is private land owned by the University and it is technically trespassing if you are not a member of CHU or own a pass. If you don't like the fee then either play with someone who has a pass or find a different course, please :)

9 of 15 people found this review helpful.

WOW

2-4    11/21/2012   11/21/2012
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 119  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.5 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Brand new baskets that are in very good shape
-Two sets of tee-pads, Red and Black. Each tee-pads really change up the holes and make them play quite a bit different than the other tee-pad, which is very nice.
-This course will challenge you and make you throw every shot in your bag. While it is challenging all of the holes are fair.
-This course uses the available land very well and provides almost every type of hole from wooded holes to long bomber, and it is a good mix of hole varieties. Pretty much every hole on this course is a blast to play.
-Some very unique pin placements such as Hole 11, which has the basket through a hole in a tree.
-Large variety of distances (Depending on the tee-pad and pin position distances go from about 170 all the way to 1038)
-At least two pin positions per hole and most of the holes have 3 pin positions.
-A good amount of elevation change especially on holes 14 through 17
-Nice concrete tee-pads for each tee position
-The fact that this course requires a annual pass keeps it from getting very crowded.
-Very nice tee-signs that show the layout of the hole, all the pin positions, the distance to each pin position and a nickname for the hole.
-Great views of the mountains
-The people in the business office and those who run the course are great and very friendly if you have an issue or something come up with your pass.
Cons: -The flow of this course is a little hard to follow if it is your first time playing, especially depending on if you are looking for the red or black tee-pad for the next hole. Make sure to bring the map they give you when you buy your pass with you, because it will reduce the amount of time spent navigating the course the first few times you play.
-There are long walks between a few of the holes depending on which tee-pad you are going to. The walk between Holes 11 and 12 is very long.
-There are a lot of roads that come into play on at least 10 of the holes on the course. Definitely make sure a car isn't coming before you throw.
-Four or five of the holes have buildings that come into play on the hole that could possibly cause some safety issues.
-If you play during the school day, there might be some other campus users in the way on some holes.
Other Thoughts: This course is a blast to play and will constantly challenge your game. If you live anywhere in Denver you are doing yourself a disservice if you don't have an annual pass. This an amazing course with just a few flaws that hold it back. If you have a chance to play to course, whatever you do don't pass it up.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/8/2013   11/20/2012
Review By: RoaringSeacow
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2013
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Not Crowded with Players
-Constant movement of baskets
-Great View
-Memorable holes
-Alternate Tee's
-Security Guard
-Long holes
-Pass comes with guest pass
Cons: -Students sitting in fairways(on weekdays)
-Roads in line to basket
-Confusing out of bounds
-If disc goes over fence its pretty much gone
-$60 Parking/Play pass
Other Thoughts: Money well spent I have thrown on this course +20 rounds and the security guard remembers faces so it isn't a hassle. In the back three there is a coyote den only seen it twice.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.