Disc Golf Store
Denver, CO 
Colorado Heights University DGC Share
Uploaded By: gibster Hole #18 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 336ft.   3 / 336ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Glad it's my closest course

5+    9/13/2014   9/19/2014
Review By: redman2112
Played: 72  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 23.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the best course in metro Denver, hands down.
Multiple tees and/or pins for each hole make for constant variety as the university is pretty good at regularly rotating the pin locations. The grounds make for a great course, with mature tree lines, nice brooks, and topographical changes, all making the holes so much more interesting than the wide-open, up and chuck-it courses prevalent in the front range. You actually have to craft some shots!
The $70 cost for an annual pass keeps crowds down and, apart from 'courses jumpers', pretty much guarantees the players you'll meet are lovers of the game.
Cons: Course jumpers who play without paying. They will eventually get the course closed as the university grows increasingly tired of their antics.

Update 10.4.14 - It's official, course is closing Dec. 31st. I am beyond bummed.
Other Thoughts: Take time to notice the university architecture. There are several interesting buildings from varying periods of artistic influence. The church has sculptured trim and stained glass, very cool.
I hope they do not ever close the course. IT'S GREAT!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Played during a tourney with 6 inches of snow on the ground...and still loved it!

1    3/24/2013   3/26/2013
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 41  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 23.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great location
-Scenic views on some holes, with great architecture to look at on others
-Perfect teepads (including alternate tees)
-Grounds are well taken care of, maintence is obviously a high-priority here...no trash to be found
-Variety of shots and distances, with ever changing pin positions making for a unique experience every time out...I played with guys who had to make shots they never had before
-"The Green Mile" and the "Keyhole" are two of the more unique holes on the course, and also two of the most fun holes I ever played...especially because I made my par putt through the keyhole!
Cons: -Cost. Plain and simple. This is on the grounds of a very active college, and as such, you have to pay 60 bucks for a yearly pass...however, for 2013 that pass also allows you to bring a guest.
-We played a tournament, during the weekend (played CHU on Sunday) with 6 inches of snow on the ground and still had students oblivously walking through fairways. No one got hit, but I can imagine that during a school day it could get pretty dicey. Just remember, you're a guest...they are the students and they always have the right of way!
Other Thoughts: What a great course...I was glad I got to play here before I moved out of Colorado. Doug Bjerkaas, who designed and maintains this course (and is a helluva player in his own right) takes great pride in this course, and well he should. From what I hear, it wasn't easy getting this course put in. It's one of the best courses in Colorado, and ranks right up there with the great Mountain courses like Phantom Falls, Conifer and Magic Meadows.

The only real downfall is the cost. If you live in Denver, a 60 dollar a year pass is a great value. But I live much further south, and I jsut wouldnt get the use out of it that the pass would deserve. Pay to play though, works in CHU's favor as it not only keeps out the riff-raff that you would find in a public course, but it also allows them to maintain the course itself without having to draw from school funds, making the course it's own entity.

Several tournaments a year are played at CHU, including the one I played in (303 Amateur Championships) such as: 303 Open, Johnny Roberts Memorial and the Rocky Mountain Women's Disc Golf Championships. They are also looking to host more events there for 2014. So if you are not from Denver or don't know anyone with a pass, there are still plenty of opportunities to hit up CHU. I HIGHLY reccomend this course!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in Denver

5+    10/15/2012   1/11/2013
Review By: PatBlazek
Played: 60  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.4 Years
10 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: - Great combination of shots
- Great scenery
-You can bring a guest with you if you have a pass
- Good amount of variation in hole lengths
- Good amount of pin placements
- Not Crowded
- No drinking or smoking allowed on course
- Hole 14 in long position is like 1028 ft downhill :D
- Baskets are moved at least once a week
Cons: - $60 pass, but it's worth it and the money goes back to the course/school. So it's not really a con for locals.
- No pets :(
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in Denver. We don't have the best courses compared to other states but this one is truly awesome. It asks for all kinds of different shots and there's a great variation in distances as well. There are suppose to be some new holes being put in sometime this year as well.

One note to add, do not try to sneak onto this course. It is "not" public property like some may say or think. It is private land owned by the University and it is technically trespassing if you are not a member of CHU or own a pass. If you don't like the fee then either play with someone who has a pass or find a different course, please :)

10 of 16 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/8/2013   11/20/2012
Review By: RoaringSeacow
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2013
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Not Crowded with Players
-Constant movement of baskets
-Great View
-Memorable holes
-Alternate Tee's
-Security Guard
-Long holes
-Pass comes with guest pass
Cons: -Students sitting in fairways(on weekdays)
-Roads in line to basket
-Confusing out of bounds
-If disc goes over fence its pretty much gone
-$60 Parking/Play pass
Other Thoughts: Money well spent I have thrown on this course +20 rounds and the security guard remembers faces so it isn't a hassle. In the back three there is a coyote den only seen it twice.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding city course and home of the 1000ft hole

5+    9/28/2012   10/3/2012
Review By: gibster
Played: 46  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 22.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2012
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - alternate tees
- alternate basket placement
- awesome hole information signs
- concrete tees
- benches
- excellent design
- well managed
- memorable holes (esp. 5, 11, 14)
- 1000ft hole!
- not that crowded (yet)
Cons: - no obvious drinking water access on course
- students sometimes sitting/playing on the course (especially holes 8, 11)
- alternate baskets/tees make it harder to compare scores
- confusing OOB on 15-18
Other Thoughts: Before I knew about this course, I always wondered about the imposing bell tower building, watching it while driving on Santa Fe or waiting for light rail. When I just recently started playing again after nearly 20 years off, I lucked into a free day they had on 9/2/12, and was hooked. I loved seeing the alternate tees AND alternate basket positions. These two features enhance an already great course for me, as they accommodate varying skill levels and offer (practically) endless hole configurations. The benches are great, holes are challenging and memorable, scenery is amazing from the top of the hill.

The season fee was originally a bit steep (fee for 2 players would be $100), but for 2013, the university changed their yearly fee to $60, which now INCLUDES a guest pass! If you get the pass this year, it is valid for 2012 AND 2013. Needless to say, I jumped on the deal. I was impressed by how smooth the purchase was - it takes 5 minutes to fill out a form, and after making the payment (credit cards accepted), you receive a packet with the member/guest passes in the form of aluminum tags, parking tag, and a map.

After playing several times now, I must say this course takes some stamina, especially playing back-to-back. My scores took a beating with the new recent basket placements, but I feel this only makes me a better player. The out of bounds markings on 15-18 are a bit unexpected (maybe tournament only?), seemingly harsh at first, and a little hard to follow (markings on the ground), so we wound up disregarding them for now - maybe after examining them/getting used to them a bit more, we will incorporate them into our play. Hole 11 is a total hoot, especially when you get to putt through the hole in the tree (depends on the basket placement) AND make the putt. Many holes require low drives to get underneath the tree branches (or distance on downhill hole 14), which is a good skill to learn. The long hole 14 will make you rip out your arm to get the distance, as 3 drives are needed on the hole. On a few holes (1, 2, 3, 5, 14, 16, 18), it may not be obvious where the baskets are, since they keep changing the basket positions, but after a few rounds, it gets easier. The map is very useful the first few times as well, as there are no signs to guide you to the next hole. I found the transition from 11 to 12 especially confusing the first time, and 12/13, 16/17 are also pretty far.

I feel this property could easily accommodate 27 holes. A few new holes I could think of - add 2 holes between current 4/5 (towards the tennis courts on the west side and back, without compromising current hole 5 length really), 2 holes on the southeast field above the parking (by the entrance), 2 holes in the center quad, 1 hole between 12/13, and maybe squeeze 2 more holes out of the 14-18 area (between 16/17 for sure, need to keep the 1000 footer though!). Not sure if this would make the course too busy, as I can see why it was designed the way it was, but... if the course designers are reading this - please consider this for the future! Update 11/18/2012 - new building construction on southeast field by entrance - never mind these 2 potential holes...

This course has become my in-town favorite in a very short amount of time. While David Lorenz Park is my "home" course, whenever possible, I will drive the extra few miles to play Colorado Heights. This course is, by far, the best in Denver, and even compares very well with the outstanding mountain courses (Bailey, Beaver Ranch, etc.).

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in Denver

5+    6/4/2012   6/5/2012
Review By: RAW32728
Played: 223  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.4 Years
8 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This course now has cement tee pads. (2 on each hole) and multiple pin placements. The layout is great from either set of pads. Mix and match for a completely different experience.
6 pins are moved each week so you always see a different course when you get out there.
Private course ($50 Season pass is required except Thursday evenings $5 will allow you to play after 4:30pm) so there are never any wait times on tee boxes.
The views from 13 & 14 are some of the best in the area.
Cons: $50 season pass is a must and cannot be ignored. Steep for some, but it is on a private university.
Other Thoughts: This course will challenge you and make you use all the shots in your bag. You will enjoy this course. Check out Thursday night tags March thru November. $5 to play (if you don't have a season pass) and you'll want to be buying a pass.

8 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  Best Denver Course!

2-4    5/28/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: ErikR
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 1) Best marked course with nice new tee boxes!
2) The course designer has a great sense of humor! Tough shots for the advanced where the designer used both natural and man-made obstacles to make this both a long and tough course!
3) The contrast between the beginner/regular tees and the Advanced/Pro tee boxes is amazing! The regular tee's are challenging (my 12 year old son has some shots that are within his grasp), and the Pro tee's are really fun and require a lot of skill to thread the obstacles! I really like pin 11, as it's framed beautifully by a hole in a tree directly in front of the basket!
4) I tip my hat to the course designer because he made what could be bland and simple, into a course that's fun, challenging and enjoyable to walk on!
5) Great use of the landscape!
Cons: Finding the baskets can be a bit of a challenge if you're new to the course!
Wish there was a way folks could pay to play this course each time they played, so visitors could join more easily!
Other Thoughts: Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! for a great city course that I can't imagine getting bored of! When compared to David Lorenz Park in Centennial or Exposition Park in Aurora, there's no comparison! The only course I've played that's more challenging is DeLaveaga Park in Santa Cruz, CA due to more water and geologic hazards!

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet

5+    3/14/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: madiganshouse
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Location - A big boy course in city limits!

Variables - 2 pin placements and 2 tee boxes for every hole plus a crew that moves tham around every week makes for a lot of options.

Length of Holes - You just dont run into 800'+ holes all that often. At least not without going to a lot more effort than the drive it takes to get to CHU.

Proffesionalism - I feel very welcome at CHU, security doesnt bother me at all, and I would be happy if they had the first few times I had played. Now they seem to recognize me and just give me a smile and a nod. The maintenance crew are a bit more open, and it's alway fun to play on Friday because you can play all the new positions.
Cons: Tee Pads - Issue will be fixed shortly.

Day Passes - I have friends that come into town for a day or weekend or whatever and would like to be able to share this gem somehow.
Other Thoughts: Am looking forward to spending alot of time here!

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 About time!

2-4    2/11/2012   2/11/2012
Review By: Sandman1981
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/26/2012
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great use of land and good layout. Multiple pin and tee pads ensure that variety is abundant. The signage is great shows layout and distances from both pins. Having this as a pay to play will help with volume. Adding another tournament caliber course in the Denver metro area hopefully will allow more events to come here.
Cons: Tee pads not in yet. Even with a map it is a little hard to navigate the course right now so if you play try and go with someone who is familiar with it. Throwing across roadways on some holes and toward a major street can provide some difficulties with errant shots. Some course maintenance still needed in terms of grooming trees.
Other Thoughts: The security will check to see if you have a CHU tag so make sure to pay for your pass. This is well worth the $50, I love this course. I think this is more a par 56-58 than 54 with holes 5 and 14 being in the 800 and almost 1000 ft range (from long position). I cannot wait until the tee pads are actually put in, throwing off of snow and uneven ground slightly put a damper on my tee shots. This course has it all! Every shot in your bag and then some. P.S. watch out for Wile E Coyote as he picked up my Valkyrie and dragged it to the foot of his den. They are not aggressive but they are a bit of a nuisance... can I get a ruling on this???

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.