Disc Golf Center
Denver, CO 
Colorado Heights University DGC Share
Uploaded By: WhippetChucker Hole #9 (Taken 3/2012)
3 / 225ft.   3 / 285ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket (Long Position)



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Pay to Play

1    6/28/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: phish3460
Played: 42  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2012
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: UPDATE: new policy is that buying a membership entitles you to have a secondary tag to bring a friend. This is an awesome upgrade! Definitely impressed with the work that's being put into this course. If you're traveling through the area and want to give it a try, let me know.

*stunning views of the Rocky Mountains
*good variety of shots (uphill, downhill, slightly wooded
*alternate pin positions (changed frequently) and pads
*excellent signage
*spacious and new concrete tee pads
*permanent port-a-potty near hole #1's tee
*quiet
*unencumbered
*mature trees
*great baskets
*practice basket


Excellent course with great use of allotted land that meanders through a local college with scenic views of the Rocky Mountains from one side of the course, the campus in the middle, and downtown Denver from the other side. Moderate elevation change on the Rocky Mountain side of the course, with the opposite being relatively flat. Some very demanding holes and some very accessible holes.
Cons:
*$60 per year to play (worth it)
*can be a bit tricky to navigate if you aren't with someone who's familiar with the course, so I STRONGLY recommend printing and bringing with you the 'Course Map' which can be found under the Links/Files tab
*could foresee problems during the school year or if class is in session as some of the holes are within common campus areas and several bring access roads into play
*although one hole affords a majority of the elevation change on the course, other holes either have a slight up or downhill, without any one hole offering both
*signage (while great) could be more specific in regards to OB
*no water fountains that I noticed (please correct me if I'm wrong)
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is an excellent course. As other reviewers have stated, it requires an arsenal of shots. You need flat, low shots; sweeping high shots; forehand/backhand; great midrange game. There are holes that require players without an absolute bomb-for-an-arm to be judicious with their drives and approaches. Some holes do offer great opportunities for risk/reward, whereas some pin positions afford simple approaches to the pin. I do appreciate courses that are not so overly challenging that they can be frustrating for an intermediate-advanced player, so bear that in mind as you read this.

I purchased the pass for the 2013 season as they added the guest pass.

Kudos to the designers for making a great course that any city would be thrilled to add to its arsenal. Heard they've put almost $20,000 into its development.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Colorado Heights

2-4    5/26/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: Moss
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.2 Years
7 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, not too crowded with players, some old-growth trees, a few interesting shots

For a very new course, staff seems to be putting strong effort into adding good tees and signs
Cons: There has been a lot of pedestrian and car traffic when I've gone - which makes sense as this is on a small college campus. Sometimes cars and vans will stop right in front of you, or people will be sitting out on the fairway having a picnic or playing soccer or whatever, which can be a hassle. Several shots skirt parking lots, buildings, fences, sheds and even a cemetery.

Can't bring out-of-town friends by without a season pass.
Other Thoughts: A pretty good course - I'm sure a lot of people are really happy about it due to the location. I'm glad I tried it out, but probably won't get a season pass next year.

7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing

2-4    5/20/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: Mhaycock10
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: This course is amazing period. The constant moving of baskets, a Red and Black course with 36 tee pads to constantly challenge your shots.
Cons: The only one I can think of is that if your not a local and if it's not thursday, Its pretty hard to show off this sweet course to friends and out of towners.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the $50 pass, not much traffic other then tags on Thursday nights. Amazing views and a few really long holes.

0 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in Denver

5+    6/4/2012   6/5/2012
Review By: RAW32728
Played: 210  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.2 Years
8 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This course now has cement tee pads. (2 on each hole) and multiple pin placements. The layout is great from either set of pads. Mix and match for a completely different experience.
6 pins are moved each week so you always see a different course when you get out there.
Private course ($50 Season pass is required except Thursday evenings $5 will allow you to play after 4:30pm) so there are never any wait times on tee boxes.
The views from 13 & 14 are some of the best in the area.
Cons: $50 season pass is a must and cannot be ignored. Steep for some, but it is on a private university.
Other Thoughts: This course will challenge you and make you use all the shots in your bag. You will enjoy this course. Check out Thursday night tags March thru November. $5 to play (if you don't have a season pass) and you'll want to be buying a pass.

8 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  Any way you want

5+    5/31/2012   6/1/2012
Review By: basehit
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: The 36 tee pads that offer as many different shots are one of many great things about CHU. I have played from January thru May and have witnessed this course turn into a beautiful disc golf beat down. As summer approaches the trees have filled in and made this track tight and long. Try flipping a coin with one red side and one black letting it decide which tee box to go to, and with the consistent changing of the basket placements you play a different course every round. The views of the Rockies from the highest elevation point in Denver is unmatched.
Cons: Hole #4 is sometimes "taken over" by Americor and delays or changes the tee box choice. Very cold in January!
Other Thoughts: I haven't played a course that requires as many shots in your bag and leaves you as brain dead as CHU!!!!!

1 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  Amazing Private Course

5+    5/24/2012   5/30/2012
Review By: Arctic Kats
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.9 Years
4 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: When I first saw this course listed on this site, I was skeptical as it's in the middle of the city on a college campus and you have to pay $50 for a parking pass and tag to play it. Ever since my first visit, I've been blown away. I can't emphasize enough how cool this course is and that on most days (except Thursdays after 5pm) this course is clear to play. I love that they change 6 pins every Thurs/Friday. Also, if you park your disc on a roof off hole #2 or over the fence on hole #17, they'll get your disc and have it at the front desk for the next time you come play. So with that noted, the maintenance crew and course designers really delivered on having an exceptional course with great hospitality. I've played this course 8 times already and will continue to play every week that I can.
Cons: Every course has something to nitpick and judge, but the only thing I can say bad about it is that on Thursdays, people can pay $5 for a shotgun start "pay to play", which is nice for newbies, but not the day for members to play that just want to breeze through the course.
Other Thoughts: If you're looking for a new course to play around Denver, come try this one out on Thursdays around 5pm for $5 or just do what I did...read a few reviews and take a chance on this course because it'll pay off after 10 "pay to play" visits. I'll take more pictures to update what it looks like now as it has changed.

4 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  Best Denver Course!

2-4    5/28/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: ErikR
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 1) Best marked course with nice new tee boxes!
2) The course designer has a great sense of humor! Tough shots for the advanced where the designer used both natural and man-made obstacles to make this both a long and tough course!
3) The contrast between the beginner/regular tees and the Advanced/Pro tee boxes is amazing! The regular tee's are challenging (my 12 year old son has some shots that are within his grasp), and the Pro tee's are really fun and require a lot of skill to thread the obstacles! I really like pin 11, as it's framed beautifully by a hole in a tree directly in front of the basket!
4) I tip my hat to the course designer because he made what could be bland and simple, into a course that's fun, challenging and enjoyable to walk on!
5) Great use of the landscape!
Cons: Finding the baskets can be a bit of a challenge if you're new to the course!
Wish there was a way folks could pay to play this course each time they played, so visitors could join more easily!
Other Thoughts: Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! for a great city course that I can't imagine getting bored of! When compared to David Lorenz Park in Centennial or Exposition Park in Aurora, there's no comparison! The only course I've played that's more challenging is DeLaveaga Park in Santa Cruz, CA due to more water and geologic hazards!

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet

5+    3/14/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: madiganshouse
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Location - A big boy course in city limits!

Variables - 2 pin placements and 2 tee boxes for every hole plus a crew that moves tham around every week makes for a lot of options.

Length of Holes - You just dont run into 800'+ holes all that often. At least not without going to a lot more effort than the drive it takes to get to CHU.

Proffesionalism - I feel very welcome at CHU, security doesnt bother me at all, and I would be happy if they had the first few times I had played. Now they seem to recognize me and just give me a smile and a nod. The maintenance crew are a bit more open, and it's alway fun to play on Friday because you can play all the new positions.
Cons: Tee Pads - Issue will be fixed shortly.

Day Passes - I have friends that come into town for a day or weekend or whatever and would like to be able to share this gem somehow.
Other Thoughts: Am looking forward to spending alot of time here!

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Wow!

5+    2/25/2012   3/9/2012
Review By: WhippetChucker
Played: 193  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.2 Years
3 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: As someone involved in this course from the conception, I find myself more and more impressed as it matures. Tee signs are now in and tee pads are just around the corner (target date for completion: April 8th). The best thing about the course is that there are currently 72 different holes (depending on what tee box you play and where the pin is). This makes it a course where every shot in my bag is required. Love the variety. Black Hole 1 Long, Black Hole 2 Long, Black Hole 9 Long, Black Hole 18 Long, Red Hole 4 Short, and Red Hole 9 Short are some of my favorites. Oh, the flat-out amazing views of the Rocky Mountains from portions of this course are spectacular!
Cons: During the week - Hole 4 has been problematic if delivery trucks are at Walsh Hall. A third pin has been installed to the right of the road to somewhat alleviate this.

3 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Best In Denver Metro?

1    2/25/2012   2/27/2012
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 93  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.9 Years
16 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course sits on a really nice piece of land owned by Colroado Heights University. There are some incredible views and some well maintained land. There is an incredible variety of shots that will make you wish you could throw every shot there is. There are multimple tee pads that really make the 18 holes feel like two different courses. Great new baskets and incredible tee signs with good information. Cement tee pads are said to be on the way even though they are not there now. Because it is a private course you can almost garuntee that the course traffic is not bad at all. Most time there is a max of four groups or so on the course. There are some real fun unique holes. I personally enjoyed hole 14 (the long hole) a lot and did not find it overly long. No two holes really feel the same. Multiple pin locations will also drastically change the course as some locations are much easier than others. This course can be a Championship course. Pin locations are changing on a weekly basis at the present time (to the tune of 6 baskets changing each week). There is a lot of love for this course and there are a lot of people that are going to keep this course the best that it can be.
Cons: There is one long walk to hole 12 and then a semi long walk to hole 13 making the navigation at this point a bit difficult. Some to the different tee pads on every hole are not near each other or fall in a logical place. It is a private course with campus security that actually checks to make sure you have your pass. There is no real way to just pay to play this course. There are a couple of places where you are playing over roads and walking paths so you will need to be careful not to throw at cars and pedestrians. Some spots will get muddy with snow and or rain.
Other Thoughts: This course is still a work in progress but it is clearly one of the best courses in the Denver area if not the best. Rumor has it that tags matches will happen Thursday evenings and cost $5 for non pass holders and might be the only weekly chance for non members to play. Doug B. has created an excellent course and one that will be a gem in the Denver area for a long time to come. I have no fear that this course will maintain and be improved over time. It isn't perfect but it is a great course.

16 of 18 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.