Denver, CO 
Colorado Heights University DGC Share
Uploaded By: gibster Hole #19 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 201ft.   3 / 303ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #19 Black Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Sweet

5+    3/14/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: madiganshouse
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Location - A big boy course in city limits!

Variables - 2 pin placements and 2 tee boxes for every hole plus a crew that moves tham around every week makes for a lot of options.

Length of Holes - You just dont run into 800'+ holes all that often. At least not without going to a lot more effort than the drive it takes to get to CHU.

Proffesionalism - I feel very welcome at CHU, security doesnt bother me at all, and I would be happy if they had the first few times I had played. Now they seem to recognize me and just give me a smile and a nod. The maintenance crew are a bit more open, and it's alway fun to play on Friday because you can play all the new positions.
Cons: Tee Pads - Issue will be fixed shortly.

Day Passes - I have friends that come into town for a day or weekend or whatever and would like to be able to share this gem somehow.
Other Thoughts: Am looking forward to spending alot of time here!

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Wow!

5+    2/25/2012   3/9/2012
Review By: WhippetChucker
Played: 199  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.6 Years
3 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: As someone involved in this course from the conception, I find myself more and more impressed as it matures. Tee signs are now in and tee pads are just around the corner (target date for completion: April 8th). The best thing about the course is that there are currently 72 different holes (depending on what tee box you play and where the pin is). This makes it a course where every shot in my bag is required. Love the variety. Black Hole 1 Long, Black Hole 2 Long, Black Hole 9 Long, Black Hole 18 Long, Red Hole 4 Short, and Red Hole 9 Short are some of my favorites. Oh, the flat-out amazing views of the Rocky Mountains from portions of this course are spectacular!
Cons: During the week - Hole 4 has been problematic if delivery trucks are at Walsh Hall. A third pin has been installed to the right of the road to somewhat alleviate this.

3 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Best In Denver Metro?

1    2/25/2012   2/27/2012
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 101  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 6.3 Years
16 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course sits on a really nice piece of land owned by Colroado Heights University. There are some incredible views and some well maintained land. There is an incredible variety of shots that will make you wish you could throw every shot there is. There are multimple tee pads that really make the 18 holes feel like two different courses. Great new baskets and incredible tee signs with good information. Cement tee pads are said to be on the way even though they are not there now. Because it is a private course you can almost garuntee that the course traffic is not bad at all. Most time there is a max of four groups or so on the course. There are some real fun unique holes. I personally enjoyed hole 14 (the long hole) a lot and did not find it overly long. No two holes really feel the same. Multiple pin locations will also drastically change the course as some locations are much easier than others. This course can be a Championship course. Pin locations are changing on a weekly basis at the present time (to the tune of 6 baskets changing each week). There is a lot of love for this course and there are a lot of people that are going to keep this course the best that it can be.
Cons: There is one long walk to hole 12 and then a semi long walk to hole 13 making the navigation at this point a bit difficult. Some to the different tee pads on every hole are not near each other or fall in a logical place. It is a private course with campus security that actually checks to make sure you have your pass. There is no real way to just pay to play this course. There are a couple of places where you are playing over roads and walking paths so you will need to be careful not to throw at cars and pedestrians. Some spots will get muddy with snow and or rain.
Other Thoughts: This course is still a work in progress but it is clearly one of the best courses in the Denver area if not the best. Rumor has it that tags matches will happen Thursday evenings and cost $5 for non pass holders and might be the only weekly chance for non members to play. Doug B. has created an excellent course and one that will be a gem in the Denver area for a long time to come. I have no fear that this course will maintain and be improved over time. It isn't perfect but it is a great course.

16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Best course in Denver

5+    2/22/2012   2/23/2012
Review By: morry
Played: 37  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/20/2013
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Multiple pads and a minimum of two pin positions for each hole. I love playing either pad or mix and matching, challenging shots are abundant. CHU has risk versus reward on nearly every toss of the plastic. Most all out of bounds make sense for safety and challenge purposes. The baskets are moved often enough to keep me coming back over and over.
Cons: Students are clueless, and the course needs trash cans.
Other Thoughts: Plans for 2013 include 13 new positions added to existing holes, and a new pad for 18. Three new holes are being added to expand the course to 21 holes, each of the three new holes with have two pads and two pin placements. This little gem of Denver DG is being progressive and enhancing what is already the best course in town.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 About time!

2-4    2/11/2012   2/11/2012
Review By: Sandman1981
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/26/2012
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great use of land and good layout. Multiple pin and tee pads ensure that variety is abundant. The signage is great shows layout and distances from both pins. Having this as a pay to play will help with volume. Adding another tournament caliber course in the Denver metro area hopefully will allow more events to come here.
Cons: Tee pads not in yet. Even with a map it is a little hard to navigate the course right now so if you play try and go with someone who is familiar with it. Throwing across roadways on some holes and toward a major street can provide some difficulties with errant shots. Some course maintenance still needed in terms of grooming trees.
Other Thoughts: The security will check to see if you have a CHU tag so make sure to pay for your pass. This is well worth the $50, I love this course. I think this is more a par 56-58 than 54 with holes 5 and 14 being in the 800 and almost 1000 ft range (from long position). I cannot wait until the tee pads are actually put in, throwing off of snow and uneven ground slightly put a damper on my tee shots. This course has it all! Every shot in your bag and then some. P.S. watch out for Wile E Coyote as he picked up my Valkyrie and dragged it to the foot of his den. They are not aggressive but they are a bit of a nuisance... can I get a ruling on this???

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/1/2012   2/3/2012
Review By: cridenou
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 16.6 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: lots of variety of shots. 2-3 island holes and 3 very long holes. the only people playing here will be well versed in discgolf considering the 50 dollars to play. the view off of hole 14 is spectacular.
Cons: no tee pads or tee signs yet. several chances to OB over fences and such. a considerable amount of concrete to rough up your discs on. it is fairly easy to OB into someones backyard on 5.
Other Thoughts: this will be the best "accessible" discgolf course in denver when it is finished. the variety of shots and the flow of the holes will secure it as the best place to play. the mansion is the only course that compares in the denver metro area.

if you score par here, you are playing pretty damn well.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.