Denver, CO 
Colorado Heights University DGC Share
Uploaded By: Arctic Kats Hole #11 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 177ft.   3 / 387ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Red Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Glad it's my closest course

5+    9/13/2014   9/19/2014
Review By: redman2112
Played: 72  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 23.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the best course in metro Denver, hands down.
Multiple tees and/or pins for each hole make for constant variety as the university is pretty good at regularly rotating the pin locations. The grounds make for a great course, with mature tree lines, nice brooks, and topographical changes, all making the holes so much more interesting than the wide-open, up and chuck-it courses prevalent in the front range. You actually have to craft some shots!
The $70 cost for an annual pass keeps crowds down and, apart from 'courses jumpers', pretty much guarantees the players you'll meet are lovers of the game.
Cons: Course jumpers who play without paying. They will eventually get the course closed as the university grows increasingly tired of their antics.

Update 10.4.14 - It's official, course is closing Dec. 31st. I am beyond bummed.
Other Thoughts: Take time to notice the university architecture. There are several interesting buildings from varying periods of artistic influence. The church has sculptured trim and stained glass, very cool.
I hope they do not ever close the course. IT'S GREAT!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The CHU!

5+    9/3/2014   9/3/2014
Review By: ihdisc
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 19.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Teepads, Variety of shots, scenery and length of course are all big pluses. Pay to play, i.e.a Season Pass/ Buddy Pass helps keep the crowd factor to a minimum.
Cons: The only con may be that some players may not appreciate the open nature of the course (it is the flatlands of Denver, trees are not the dominant flora)
Other Thoughts: #1 and #2 have been removed, at least for now? (not too surprising considering the closeness of the buildings, and the number of disc hits they have been exposed to)
The start is now at #3

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Worth the membership

5+    8/1/2014   8/1/2014
Review By: troberts
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Best course is the metro area and being the only local private course is great for after work and weekends when public courses get slammed. Good elevation and distance variety and multiple tees are great. 15-21 are some the most fun holes on the front range!
Cons: Guest policy and parking policy are especially strict, which sucks when you bring someone thats just walking with you, or in my case, when you meet a client there and he has to park across the street. Security professionals are really friendly and accommodating, but there is certainly an exorbitant amount of attention paid to disc players. Kindof lame considering the dope-head homeless people that wonder onto the campus, ALL THE TIME! Pay attention to the times when your playing. If school is in session and your there around opening, lunch or school releasing, you can forget playing the front. And, small pet-peave, they've been watering the grass at STUPID times. 5+ times this season, I've been there around lunch on saturdays and the sprinklers are on. Also, no dogs. Understandable, but kindof stinks.
Other Thoughts: LOVE this course and the players that I've met out there. Hope it just continues to be successful and develop. Great course for tourneys and taking your time to really practice a variety of shots. But, seriously, will someone get grounds crew to change the times for the sprinklers?!?!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Membership fees are worth it

5+    7/24/2014   7/26/2014
Review By: Mile High Bogey
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 20.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Private course with security. A quiet oasis in the city with killer views of the foothills on the back half. Because it requires membership, it is rarely crowded, many weekdays I have the course all to myself. Holes 17-19 provide a nice contrast to the more open holes on the rest of the course. Good variety of holes, short long, wide open, tight and technical, and everything in between.
Cons: The grounds crew and security spend very little time on the back half of the course, so you will find slightly more weeds, some broken glass, and occasional overflowing trash cans. AS many have mentioned before, vehicles and people love to set up shop between the tee pad and the basket, particularly on the front half. I hate being forced to play over a building on hole #2 to avoid a bogey (I have already left 2 discs on the roof of said building in 2 seasons). Yes, you sometimes have to play close to buildings and parked cars, however, show me a course on a university where that's not the case!
Other Thoughts: Hole #14 (the one that is 999' at the long position) is an unrealistic par 3 to all but the big arms; it's just discouraging to know you are always going to lose 1-2 strokes on that hole unless you have a rocket launcher for an arm. They could fit 3-4 holes in the same area, but I guess if you're a big arm you will completely disagree with this suggestion. Again if you are an arm, you will LOVE #12, and if you aren't try and enjoy the view on the long walk down between all of your shots like I do.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Overrated/Private Course Bonus/Denver Lense

1    4/8/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.4 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Not crowded with other players. The season pass keeps them out.
-Pretty good variation in distance. There are some definite ace runs and much longer holes too.
-Some large trees.
-Very nice campus, it is scenic, well maintained, watered, mowed, etc. No garbage anywhere.
-The keyhole on 11 was kind of cool.
-Quality signage and good layout made it pretty easy to find your way around this course. Especially if you have a map.
-Baskets and tees are in good shape. 2 tees for most holes.
-Alternate pin locations
Cons: -Pay to play/exclusivity: You need to hold a season pass in order to play this course. You can also go with a pass holder as they can bring one person per round. I think that you pay for the exclusivity here and for not having to wait like you might at many of Denver's public courses. You don't really pay for a high quality course. I think that I would only buy a pass if I lived very, very close. I would do that because it would be a little drive to get to a similar course and over the season those costs would add up as well. There aren't really any quality 18 or more hole courses in the immediate vicinity.
-Safety issues: there are many holes that throw near buildings, sidewalks, roads, athletic facilities etc and you could hurt something or someone. This is a university so you are probably going to see students and faculty walking all over. You are probably going to have to wait for them.
-There was almost no shot shaping required. There was usually one (or no) obstacles to avoid per hole. If you didn't hit that one thing then you were probably fine.
-Little to no risk/reward shots. Very, very forgiveable.
-This course had a very low fun factor for me.
-Hardly any elevation.
Other Thoughts: -I can see how many would think that this is the best course in Denver. I had more fun at Camenisch Park with their 27 holes between the 2 courses but that course was not as maintained as this one. Other courses like Bird's Nest, Expo, Lakewood Dry Gulch are good but also very forgettable.
-I think this course benefits from having little quality competition within Denver. Or it gets a boost from it's private feel. Or it's just plain overrated. I had looked at all the pictures a few times before playing (with a buddy who holds a pass) and knew that this wasn't 4.4 golf. This course is nowhere near as fun as the mountain courses or even Jellystone which is South of the metro area.
-I would play here if it is convenient because it is a decent round. Like I have said, there aren't many good options so you might as well give it a shot.
-I prefer courses that are more challenging with obstacles, elevation, risk/reward. This one had length as a challenge and a few obstacles off the tee or near the basket but really nothing overly challenging.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Colorado Heights University

1    8/28/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: roryconrad
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: -quality pads and baskets
-good use of elevation
-personality/unique
Cons: -excessive out of bounds
-cramped course at points
-too many wide open/forgive'able holes
Other Thoughts: Its tough, denver has crap metro courses, this is certainly the best w/out going in2 the mountains. Just dont get ahead of urself. I see it rated a 4.40. Ive played from Flip City, Hudson Mills, High bridge, lemon lake, phantom falls, conifer, the Joliet area of chi and courses in the dallas area. This course does not play like a 4.40. Its a 3.5 at best-but id say 3,0- lack of line dictation the holes provide. One of the hole requires an up hill blind shot over a ran down building...Thats when i said, "man people are paying 60 bux for this?" This is not the answer from driving into the mountains to play a players course, but it will ease the suffering. Jellystone in the GREATER denver area (this is castle rock) is the best course for any newly moved to denver or locals who havent heard-

6 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Denver Trip

1    6/17/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: DGTEXAS
Played: 68  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.8 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This was a great course to play that is conveinently located in the Downtown Denver area. There are a variety of shots and the course is kept up well.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: I went with a buddy that has a $60 annual membership to play this course and we had a great time!

I'll be back!

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Denver's Finest

5+    6/13/2013   6/14/2013
Review By: jfrosty42
Played: 103  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -36 excellent tee pads
-Detailed tee signs at every tee
-Great shot variety
-Alternate basket locations that change frequently
-Well maintained
-Never crowded. With the course being IN Denver, being pay to play keeps the riff raff away
-Excellent views
Cons: -Cost (although it is more of a "pro" in my eyes)
-Walking traffic and parking can get bad during events held at the school
Other Thoughts: This is by far the best course in the Denver-metro area. Highly recommended to play if you are in Denver. Please follow the course/campus rules!!!

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Played during a tourney with 6 inches of snow on the ground...and still loved it!

1    3/24/2013   3/26/2013
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 41  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 23.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great location
-Scenic views on some holes, with great architecture to look at on others
-Perfect teepads (including alternate tees)
-Grounds are well taken care of, maintence is obviously a high-priority here...no trash to be found
-Variety of shots and distances, with ever changing pin positions making for a unique experience every time out...I played with guys who had to make shots they never had before
-"The Green Mile" and the "Keyhole" are two of the more unique holes on the course, and also two of the most fun holes I ever played...especially because I made my par putt through the keyhole!
Cons: -Cost. Plain and simple. This is on the grounds of a very active college, and as such, you have to pay 60 bucks for a yearly pass...however, for 2013 that pass also allows you to bring a guest.
-We played a tournament, during the weekend (played CHU on Sunday) with 6 inches of snow on the ground and still had students oblivously walking through fairways. No one got hit, but I can imagine that during a school day it could get pretty dicey. Just remember, you're a guest...they are the students and they always have the right of way!
Other Thoughts: What a great course...I was glad I got to play here before I moved out of Colorado. Doug Bjerkaas, who designed and maintains this course (and is a helluva player in his own right) takes great pride in this course, and well he should. From what I hear, it wasn't easy getting this course put in. It's one of the best courses in Colorado, and ranks right up there with the great Mountain courses like Phantom Falls, Conifer and Magic Meadows.

The only real downfall is the cost. If you live in Denver, a 60 dollar a year pass is a great value. But I live much further south, and I jsut wouldnt get the use out of it that the pass would deserve. Pay to play though, works in CHU's favor as it not only keeps out the riff-raff that you would find in a public course, but it also allows them to maintain the course itself without having to draw from school funds, making the course it's own entity.

Several tournaments a year are played at CHU, including the one I played in (303 Amateur Championships) such as: 303 Open, Johnny Roberts Memorial and the Rocky Mountain Women's Disc Golf Championships. They are also looking to host more events there for 2014. So if you are not from Denver or don't know anyone with a pass, there are still plenty of opportunities to hit up CHU. I HIGHLY reccomend this course!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in Denver

5+    10/15/2012   1/11/2013
Review By: PatBlazek
Played: 60  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.4 Years
10 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: - Great combination of shots
- Great scenery
-You can bring a guest with you if you have a pass
- Good amount of variation in hole lengths
- Good amount of pin placements
- Not Crowded
- No drinking or smoking allowed on course
- Hole 14 in long position is like 1028 ft downhill :D
- Baskets are moved at least once a week
Cons: - $60 pass, but it's worth it and the money goes back to the course/school. So it's not really a con for locals.
- No pets :(
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in Denver. We don't have the best courses compared to other states but this one is truly awesome. It asks for all kinds of different shots and there's a great variation in distances as well. There are suppose to be some new holes being put in sometime this year as well.

One note to add, do not try to sneak onto this course. It is "not" public property like some may say or think. It is private land owned by the University and it is technically trespassing if you are not a member of CHU or own a pass. If you don't like the fee then either play with someone who has a pass or find a different course, please :)

10 of 16 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.