Denver, CO 
Colorado Heights University DGC Share
Uploaded By: Arctic Kats Hole #3 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 276ft.   3 / 393ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Red Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 WOW

2-4    11/21/2012   11/21/2012
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 123  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 5.7 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Brand new baskets that are in very good shape
-Two sets of tee-pads, Red and Black. Each tee-pads really change up the holes and make them play quite a bit different than the other tee-pad, which is very nice.
-This course will challenge you and make you throw every shot in your bag. While it is challenging all of the holes are fair.
-This course uses the available land very well and provides almost every type of hole from wooded holes to long bomber, and it is a good mix of hole varieties. Pretty much every hole on this course is a blast to play.
-Some very unique pin placements such as Hole 11, which has the basket through a hole in a tree.
-Large variety of distances (Depending on the tee-pad and pin position distances go from about 170 all the way to 1038)
-At least two pin positions per hole and most of the holes have 3 pin positions.
-A good amount of elevation change especially on holes 14 through 17
-Nice concrete tee-pads for each tee position
-The fact that this course requires a annual pass keeps it from getting very crowded.
-Very nice tee-signs that show the layout of the hole, all the pin positions, the distance to each pin position and a nickname for the hole.
-Great views of the mountains
-The people in the business office and those who run the course are great and very friendly if you have an issue or something come up with your pass.
Cons: -The flow of this course is a little hard to follow if it is your first time playing, especially depending on if you are looking for the red or black tee-pad for the next hole. Make sure to bring the map they give you when you buy your pass with you, because it will reduce the amount of time spent navigating the course the first few times you play.
-There are long walks between a few of the holes depending on which tee-pad you are going to. The walk between Holes 11 and 12 is very long.
-There are a lot of roads that come into play on at least 10 of the holes on the course. Definitely make sure a car isn't coming before you throw.
-Four or five of the holes have buildings that come into play on the hole that could possibly cause some safety issues.
-If you play during the school day, there might be some other campus users in the way on some holes.
Other Thoughts: This course is a blast to play and will constantly challenge your game. If you live anywhere in Denver you are doing yourself a disservice if you don't have an annual pass. This an amazing course with just a few flaws that hold it back. If you have a chance to play to course, whatever you do don't pass it up.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/8/2013   11/20/2012
Review By: RoaringSeacow
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2013
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Not Crowded with Players
-Constant movement of baskets
-Great View
-Memorable holes
-Alternate Tee's
-Security Guard
-Long holes
-Pass comes with guest pass
Cons: -Students sitting in fairways(on weekdays)
-Roads in line to basket
-Confusing out of bounds
-If disc goes over fence its pretty much gone
-$60 Parking/Play pass
Other Thoughts: Money well spent I have thrown on this course +20 rounds and the security guard remembers faces so it isn't a hassle. In the back three there is a coyote den only seen it twice.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Outstanding city course and home of the 1000ft hole

5+    9/28/2012   10/3/2012
Review By: gibster
Played: 46  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 22.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2012
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - alternate tees
- alternate basket placement
- awesome hole information signs
- concrete tees
- benches
- excellent design
- well managed
- memorable holes (esp. 5, 11, 14)
- 1000ft hole!
- not that crowded (yet)
Cons: - no obvious drinking water access on course
- students sometimes sitting/playing on the course (especially holes 8, 11)
- alternate baskets/tees make it harder to compare scores
- confusing OOB on 15-18
Other Thoughts: Before I knew about this course, I always wondered about the imposing bell tower building, watching it while driving on Santa Fe or waiting for light rail. When I just recently started playing again after nearly 20 years off, I lucked into a free day they had on 9/2/12, and was hooked. I loved seeing the alternate tees AND alternate basket positions. These two features enhance an already great course for me, as they accommodate varying skill levels and offer (practically) endless hole configurations. The benches are great, holes are challenging and memorable, scenery is amazing from the top of the hill.

The season fee was originally a bit steep (fee for 2 players would be $100), but for 2013, the university changed their yearly fee to $60, which now INCLUDES a guest pass! If you get the pass this year, it is valid for 2012 AND 2013. Needless to say, I jumped on the deal. I was impressed by how smooth the purchase was - it takes 5 minutes to fill out a form, and after making the payment (credit cards accepted), you receive a packet with the member/guest passes in the form of aluminum tags, parking tag, and a map.

After playing several times now, I must say this course takes some stamina, especially playing back-to-back. My scores took a beating with the new recent basket placements, but I feel this only makes me a better player. The out of bounds markings on 15-18 are a bit unexpected (maybe tournament only?), seemingly harsh at first, and a little hard to follow (markings on the ground), so we wound up disregarding them for now - maybe after examining them/getting used to them a bit more, we will incorporate them into our play. Hole 11 is a total hoot, especially when you get to putt through the hole in the tree (depends on the basket placement) AND make the putt. Many holes require low drives to get underneath the tree branches (or distance on downhill hole 14), which is a good skill to learn. The long hole 14 will make you rip out your arm to get the distance, as 3 drives are needed on the hole. On a few holes (1, 2, 3, 5, 14, 16, 18), it may not be obvious where the baskets are, since they keep changing the basket positions, but after a few rounds, it gets easier. The map is very useful the first few times as well, as there are no signs to guide you to the next hole. I found the transition from 11 to 12 especially confusing the first time, and 12/13, 16/17 are also pretty far.

I feel this property could easily accommodate 27 holes. A few new holes I could think of - add 2 holes between current 4/5 (towards the tennis courts on the west side and back, without compromising current hole 5 length really), 2 holes on the southeast field above the parking (by the entrance), 2 holes in the center quad, 1 hole between 12/13, and maybe squeeze 2 more holes out of the 14-18 area (between 16/17 for sure, need to keep the 1000 footer though!). Not sure if this would make the course too busy, as I can see why it was designed the way it was, but... if the course designers are reading this - please consider this for the future! Update 11/18/2012 - new building construction on southeast field by entrance - never mind these 2 potential holes...

This course has become my in-town favorite in a very short amount of time. While David Lorenz Park is my "home" course, whenever possible, I will drive the extra few miles to play Colorado Heights. This course is, by far, the best in Denver, and even compares very well with the outstanding mountain courses (Bailey, Beaver Ranch, etc.).

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Pay to Play

1    6/28/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: phish3460
Played: 42  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2012
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: UPDATE: new policy is that buying a membership entitles you to have a secondary tag to bring a friend. This is an awesome upgrade! Definitely impressed with the work that's being put into this course. If you're traveling through the area and want to give it a try, let me know.

*stunning views of the Rocky Mountains
*good variety of shots (uphill, downhill, slightly wooded
*alternate pin positions (changed frequently) and pads
*excellent signage
*spacious and new concrete tee pads
*permanent port-a-potty near hole #1's tee
*quiet
*unencumbered
*mature trees
*great baskets
*practice basket


Excellent course with great use of allotted land that meanders through a local college with scenic views of the Rocky Mountains from one side of the course, the campus in the middle, and downtown Denver from the other side. Moderate elevation change on the Rocky Mountain side of the course, with the opposite being relatively flat. Some very demanding holes and some very accessible holes.
Cons:
*$60 per year to play (worth it)
*can be a bit tricky to navigate if you aren't with someone who's familiar with the course, so I STRONGLY recommend printing and bringing with you the 'Course Map' which can be found under the Links/Files tab
*could foresee problems during the school year or if class is in session as some of the holes are within common campus areas and several bring access roads into play
*although one hole affords a majority of the elevation change on the course, other holes either have a slight up or downhill, without any one hole offering both
*signage (while great) could be more specific in regards to OB
*no water fountains that I noticed (please correct me if I'm wrong)
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is an excellent course. As other reviewers have stated, it requires an arsenal of shots. You need flat, low shots; sweeping high shots; forehand/backhand; great midrange game. There are holes that require players without an absolute bomb-for-an-arm to be judicious with their drives and approaches. Some holes do offer great opportunities for risk/reward, whereas some pin positions afford simple approaches to the pin. I do appreciate courses that are not so overly challenging that they can be frustrating for an intermediate-advanced player, so bear that in mind as you read this.

I purchased the pass for the 2013 season as they added the guest pass.

Kudos to the designers for making a great course that any city would be thrilled to add to its arsenal. Heard they've put almost $20,000 into its development.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Colorado Heights

2-4    5/26/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: Moss
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.5 Years
7 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, not too crowded with players, some old-growth trees, a few interesting shots

For a very new course, staff seems to be putting strong effort into adding good tees and signs
Cons: There has been a lot of pedestrian and car traffic when I've gone - which makes sense as this is on a small college campus. Sometimes cars and vans will stop right in front of you, or people will be sitting out on the fairway having a picnic or playing soccer or whatever, which can be a hassle. Several shots skirt parking lots, buildings, fences, sheds and even a cemetery.

Can't bring out-of-town friends by without a season pass.
Other Thoughts: A pretty good course - I'm sure a lot of people are really happy about it due to the location. I'm glad I tried it out, but probably won't get a season pass next year.

7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing

2-4    5/20/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: Mhaycock10
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: This course is amazing period. The constant moving of baskets, a Red and Black course with 36 tee pads to constantly challenge your shots.
Cons: The only one I can think of is that if your not a local and if it's not thursday, Its pretty hard to show off this sweet course to friends and out of towners.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the $50 pass, not much traffic other then tags on Thursday nights. Amazing views and a few really long holes.

0 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in Denver

5+    6/4/2012   6/5/2012
Review By: RAW32728
Played: 224  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.5 Years
8 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This course now has cement tee pads. (2 on each hole) and multiple pin placements. The layout is great from either set of pads. Mix and match for a completely different experience.
6 pins are moved each week so you always see a different course when you get out there.
Private course ($50 Season pass is required except Thursday evenings $5 will allow you to play after 4:30pm) so there are never any wait times on tee boxes.
The views from 13 & 14 are some of the best in the area.
Cons: $50 season pass is a must and cannot be ignored. Steep for some, but it is on a private university.
Other Thoughts: This course will challenge you and make you use all the shots in your bag. You will enjoy this course. Check out Thursday night tags March thru November. $5 to play (if you don't have a season pass) and you'll want to be buying a pass.

8 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  Any way you want

5+    5/31/2012   6/1/2012
Review By: basehit
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: The 36 tee pads that offer as many different shots are one of many great things about CHU. I have played from January thru May and have witnessed this course turn into a beautiful disc golf beat down. As summer approaches the trees have filled in and made this track tight and long. Try flipping a coin with one red side and one black letting it decide which tee box to go to, and with the consistent changing of the basket placements you play a different course every round. The views of the Rockies from the highest elevation point in Denver is unmatched.
Cons: Hole #4 is sometimes "taken over" by Americor and delays or changes the tee box choice. Very cold in January!
Other Thoughts: I haven't played a course that requires as many shots in your bag and leaves you as brain dead as CHU!!!!!

1 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  Amazing Private Course

5+    5/24/2012   5/30/2012
Review By: Arctic Kats
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: When I first saw this course listed on this site, I was skeptical as it's in the middle of the city on a college campus and you have to pay $50 for a parking pass and tag to play it. Ever since my first visit, I've been blown away. I can't emphasize enough how cool this course is and that on most days (except Thursdays after 5pm) this course is clear to play. I love that they change 6 pins every Thurs/Friday. Also, if you park your disc on a roof off hole #2 or over the fence on hole #17, they'll get your disc and have it at the front desk for the next time you come play. So with that noted, the maintenance crew and course designers really delivered on having an exceptional course with great hospitality. I've played this course 8 times already and will continue to play every week that I can.
Cons: Every course has something to nitpick and judge, but the only thing I can say bad about it is that on Thursdays, people can pay $5 for a shotgun start "pay to play", which is nice for newbies, but not the day for members to play that just want to breeze through the course.
Other Thoughts: If you're looking for a new course to play around Denver, come try this one out on Thursdays around 5pm for $5 or just do what I did...read a few reviews and take a chance on this course because it'll pay off after 10 "pay to play" visits. I'll take more pictures to update what it looks like now as it has changed.

4 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  Best Denver Course!

2-4    5/28/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: ErikR
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 1) Best marked course with nice new tee boxes!
2) The course designer has a great sense of humor! Tough shots for the advanced where the designer used both natural and man-made obstacles to make this both a long and tough course!
3) The contrast between the beginner/regular tees and the Advanced/Pro tee boxes is amazing! The regular tee's are challenging (my 12 year old son has some shots that are within his grasp), and the Pro tee's are really fun and require a lot of skill to thread the obstacles! I really like pin 11, as it's framed beautifully by a hole in a tree directly in front of the basket!
4) I tip my hat to the course designer because he made what could be bland and simple, into a course that's fun, challenging and enjoyable to walk on!
5) Great use of the landscape!
Cons: Finding the baskets can be a bit of a challenge if you're new to the course!
Wish there was a way folks could pay to play this course each time they played, so visitors could join more easily!
Other Thoughts: Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! for a great city course that I can't imagine getting bored of! When compared to David Lorenz Park in Centennial or Exposition Park in Aurora, there's no comparison! The only course I've played that's more challenging is DeLaveaga Park in Santa Cruz, CA due to more water and geologic hazards!

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.