Disc Golf Store
Waite Park, MN 
River's Edge Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Long Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Better local course can be found

5+    8/3/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: Bones2039
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Waite Park's River's Edge course is a decent course to have in the general area. It has to compete with the superior Riverside, Millstream, Calvary Hill, and Hidden Lake Park in the same area. For a decent round without large crowds most of the time, River's Edge is a fine option to use.

-There are two tee pads for each hole.
-The course uses the little bit of the park it has pretty well. Considering the small piece of land the course is actually on, its a great use of that space.
-Even in a multi use park, the course doesn't suffer from too much non disc golfer traffic. The only time I have run into problems is when a random sun tanner was in the middle of the fairway on #6.
-My favorite hole is #6, which plays along the Sauk River with a slight Anny line for a RHBH player like myself. I don't know what it really is about this hole but I really enjoy playing it.
Cons: -The biggest con for this course is basically the simple fact its so close to several better courses. Riverside, Calvary Hill, Millstream, Hidden Lake, and even the new Mayhew Creek Park course are within 20 minutes of this course. If you have the time play those courses well before this one.
-I don't have the best control in the world, and as such I tend to have a few horrible drives from time to time. I have ended up on the baseball fields that are right along the right side of the course for hole 9. those ball fields are locked up and you have to climb the fences to get your disc back. Maybe for some thats not an issue, but its a pain in the butt for me when playing this course.
-The tee's are awful.
Other Thoughts: I honestly like having River's Edge Park in the area. Its a fun little diversion from the other course in town. Its never really crowded. Its nothing great. I would gladly trade this course for Par West in Monticello MN. With all that said, Waite Park's River's Edge is a decent course. Its great to have this course as an option to play in the area. Its biggest flaw is that the other courses around it are just much better.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Little Throw By The River!

1    7/21/2011   8/24/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays along the Sauk River. There is a practice basket at the beginning. The pads are natural and not the greatest. They were filled with water after the recent heavy rains which was to be expected. The frist hole is out beyond CF on the softball field. Then the next two play along the river giving you the risk/reward of possibly losing a disc in the river. I like the # 6 basket placement down in the rocks next to the river.
Cons: The natural teepads aren't great but probably are just fine for this little course. The layout is pretty bland. With the other fine courses in the area, this one is just kind of an after thought. Probably a nice place to bring a newbie.
Other Thoughts: This is just your typical little park recreational course. Just as it's nothing to get too excited about, there's nothing about it for you not lto ike. There are a couple of ACE runs. It's never going to be crowded. Pretty difficult to lose a disc here although the rivers a possiblity.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/9/2010   6/18/2011
Review By: Sargentgeneral
Played: 96  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Not a crowded course
- Practice basket
- Multiple tee pads
Cons: - Poor tee pads
- Some holes were too close to each other
- Tons of bugs
- Thick woods make it tough to find a rouge throw
- Repetitive course with small holes
- Near picnic area
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a course open in the St. Cloud area, this is one of the least crowded. However, with prime courses like Riverside, Calvary and Millstream just a quick drive away, there are better courses to play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Rivers Edge

5+    9/8/2010   9/8/2010
Review By: westondj
Played: 34  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good distance and tough shots from long tees
-Technical Course
-Good course if your trying to play quick by yourself or with a buddy.
-Easy to navigate the course
-Nice beginner course
-Practice basket
Cons: -No cement tees
-Very short holes
-Course is not well maintained
-Baskets don't change position
-Bring bug spray
-Not a course to play often, holes are not anything amazing
-ALWAYS very windy on hole 9
-Very flat course, no hills or anything
Other Thoughts: Overall if you play DG quite a bit don't even bother trying this course. The only time I play it is when I have a break in between classes and the college is near the course. Watch out for water hazards, course is along the Sauk River. If you are a beginner I would suggest starting here but you'll most likely get bored very fast playing here. Cement tees and different basket placements are needed to make this worth your time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Cute Little Intro Course

1    5/27/2010   5/28/2010
Review By: Mopbrothers
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I just played this course today and it was surprisingly good, but maybe it was because I scored well. It's a fun little course with 9 holes that go in a loop. The scenery is beautiful and the difficulty is great for beggingers or intermediates.
Cons: The only thing that bothered me was the 1st hole's basket is so close to the 9th holes basket which confused me as to which basket to throw. Some of the signs were also missing, but it wasn't hard to tell where to go.
Other Thoughts: Great introductory course for begginer disc golfers. I highly recommend checking it out at least once, especially on a nice sunny day.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Better than expected

2-4    4/25/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: Guurn
Played: 82  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 28.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a 9 hole course on a flat multi-use city park along the Sauk River in St Cloud, Minnesota. Some holes have multiple teepads. It is geared towards the intermediate player.

This course that plays around the wooded edges of the river, it differentiates itself be using the space available very well and the trees and river to good effect. The first time through I found parts of it a little confusing. Although all holes have at a minimum numbered signs, some have maps. Even with the maps, which don't show alternate tee positions, I found myself throwing at the wrong basket 2 times.

The 2nd time through I played all long tees and they are nicely placed. If I had my druthers I would have all signs updated and moved back to the longs. The course plays much better from there.

Teeboxes are worn gravel areas, it has good parking and nice baskets. Even though it had rained for the previous 2 days water wasn't an issue. It does have a practice basket and onsite restrooms.
Cons: The gravel teeboxes were quite worn and some of the fairways were placed near teeboxes for other holes. Moving everything back to the longs would alleviate this. Some holes like hole 9, which is just an open field shot, are pretty simplistic.

When I played there were 2 areas being used for picnics. If they had been out of the picnic area playing catch or whatever, they would have been in a fairway. So pay attention to field use. This is also notable because of the baseball fields adjacent to the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty good little nine hole course and I did find it fun. With a few minor tweeks, like moving the teeboxes back, changing the shorts to better/ more interesting positions and updating the signs, this course could be very good. If those changes were made it could accomodate the beginner better and make it more of an advanced course as well. As it is I would just call it decent. Not a destination, but worth hitting if you have tried St Clouds other courses and want a change.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Cozy Little Place

1    8/24/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: revmatty
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 23.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This DGC seems to be one that is not utilzed as much, so this means you can take your time going around it.
-Nestled along the Sauk River, offering a peaceful game
- Has a warm up / practice basket
-1st Hole plays accros a dried up culvert
- 3rd takes you into the woods by the river (overthrow and kiss your disc bye, bye.)
- All tees are marked with their respective numbers.
-A few holes play in the woods, making for real tight fairways and a few dog lags.
-Best hole plays with the river on one side and trees on another. Need a precise and accurate realease.
-A few blind shots, adding to some level of dificulty.
-All baskets are in great shape.
-The maitnance crew where kind enough to make way for my round.
-Being a short course, I would recomend this as a warm up, before you hit the other ones around St Cloud.
-On site restroom facilities
-Blocks from Scheels Sports at Crossroads Mall (Extensive Disc Golf Equip. Availablity)
Cons: -A few of the tees had only numbers to them and no map to the pin placement.
-Tee maps point in the wrong direction to the pin on a few holes.
-Gravel tee pads, real uneven. No idea where the front line of the tee are was, as they are not marked.
Other Thoughts: -Only major challenge on this course was the river, and a few trees in the woods.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Only need 30 minutes

5+    6/4/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: slash87
Played: 140  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course when you only have a half hour. Most of the holes are great for begginers.
Cons: This is a basic course. The holes are not hard and are not too long. There are only a few trees that are in play and water is comes into effect only on the left side of all fairways and once behing a basket.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bronze Medal in St Cloud Area

1    5/25/2009   4/27/2009
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Short and quick play!
-3,4,5 are interesting and scenic holes
-Well marked enough, just make sure you throw to the left instead of straight on hole 5.
-Dual tees.
-Practice basket located at entrance to the park.
-Easy navigation from hole to hole.
-Good variation of distance, none too short or too long.
-2 places to buy discs in town; scheels in crossroads mall and midtown coffee/disc shop in midtown mall (old country buffet mall)
-Easy to find with directions on map.
-Not overly crowded, enough courses in area to satisfy demand.
-A few hole in one chances.
Cons: -If you go in the spring you may find the course under water. #3 was under earlier and you could tell but it had dried up enough to play.
-Dual tees are just made of gravel, somewhat uneven.
-Could lose a disc on 1,2,3,5 but not likely.
-Holes not involving river aren't too interesting.
-Some basket confusion on 1 and 5. 1 aim at the left one and 5 aim left, its around the corner.
-Generally small and repetitive.
Other Thoughts: If you have time for just one or two courses in the St Cloud area go to Riverside and Cavalry Hill. Those are 4 star or better courses and 18 holes. This course is decent but pales in comparison to those. Those two are disc golf land used to its full potential while this is another river flood plain used in a good way.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/2/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The flow of the course is pretty easy to follow. The only bad part about course design is that you can shoot towards the wrong hole on number 5 if you've never played it before.
There are a descent amount of obstacles on most holes which forces you to throw a certain way.
There are signs on most of the holes.
Cons: there is no elevation change at all except a small dip on number one.
Hole number 9 is a ways away from hole number 1's tee.
When I was here, the river it is near was high enough that you couldn't play to hole 3.
Other Thoughts: Good for a quick play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.