Burlington, KY 
Idlewild Share
Uploaded By: discgolferjr Hole #1
4 / 640ft.   4 / 640ft.   4 / 640ft.   4 / 640ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 160
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 11 12
Not for the faint of arm

1    5/16/2016   5/18/2016
Review By: Taylor510ce
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Thoughtful, fair, and makes you use your entire arsenal of shot selection, and your brain.
Cons: If the grass is high, it's hellacious. If you can't throw more than 300-320' on a drive, you might have a hard time making par.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful work with the club to do what they have done with it. This course has teeth if you can't hit the landing zones. But if you take it a chunk at a time, you can do this!

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Top Course in the Country

5+    3/12/2016   5/18/2016
Review By: Jowsepi
Played: 31  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is a professional Disc golf course that will make you use every throw you know. If you play the strict OB this course really pushes you. The greens are very unique and help to set this course apart.
Cons: This course is not for beginners. If you are new to the sport, you may be better of going down the road 5 minutes to Boone Woods.
Other Thoughts: A group of 4 will take over 2 hours to play if you are doing all 24 holes. Take your time to enjoy this beautiful park.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

A disc golf destination

2-4    3/14/2016   5/14/2016
Review By: DoctorC
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 22.1 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: What else can I say, I've been golfing for a long time and this is easily one of the best courses I've played. Truly a course you travel to play - a disc golf destination.
Cons: No casual rounds here :)
Other Thoughts: Just a fantastic course!

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

One of the best around!

5+    6/9/2015   5/9/2016
Review By: bangtailsaints
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 29.2 Years
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Will make you throw every shot in your arsenal. Beautiful island greens and running streams. One of the prettiest courses around. To truly experience Idlewild you have to play 24 longs. The water shots are awesome.Bring water and a snack!
Cons: Summertime brings the ticks. Make sure you check yourself after your round!
Other Thoughts: Don't think about it, it's worth the trip hop in the car and grab some friends and some disc!

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

The name says it all!

1    7/4/2015   7/5/2015
Review By: jscincy1
Played: 30  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2015
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - While its not the best maintained course I have ever seen, it still finishes high. When you take in the amount of acreage in up keeping this course its kept nice.

-The tee signage is probably the best I have seen. The multiply pin placements and having a marker on the side if the tee signs marking the pins was great!

- Even though the concrete is showing some wear the nice long boxes are in great condition.

-Shot variety is the spice of life here. With multiple "pure" placement shots of the tee, the second shot is key to success. With that said a hzyer line of the tee (rhbh) often force an anny or forehand on the approach.

-Coming from playing a lot courses that usually play 54 par from all tees this was a rude awakening. This course in my opinion is championship caliber. I was not ready for it by any means and put up a terrible showing by the end of the day but it was worth every second.
Cons: *Disclaimer* Every course has it cons, however I feel as if Idlewild's doesn't detract from its over all score as much as people would think. If you can look past the minor things, you see the beauty.

-Navigation. With added letter holes, multiple tee pads someone is bound to get lost here. A few well placed signs on the end of F, 12, and 13 short would negate this completely.

-Multiple pins on one hole. This was a new thing for me and didn't really enjoy it. On 3 the short basket gets in the way, for me at least, on the approach to the other pin. This is just more a nit pick though on my part.
Other Thoughts: Idlewild is a long course. If you are not in great shape and plan on playing all 24 holes pack a lunch and take a break halfway through. If you are remotely tired towards the end this course will eat you and spit you out. With that said this place sits on special land and you can feel it. Must play for any fan of high level disc golf... Even if you cant throw at a high level yourself!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Greatest Course

2-4    5/5/2010   6/5/2015
Review By: blclevenger2
Played: 34  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: I cant say anything that hasn't already been stated. It's easily my favourite course.
Cons: NONE
Other Thoughts: Beautiful lines that require you to bring strategy into consideration. The follow was awesome and never felt rushed while playing. It was like having an entire course all to my self.

2 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Too much fun to pass up

5+    4/5/2015   4/9/2015
Review By: therevjoe
Played: 48  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2015
0 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Technical, long,difficult, water, 24 holes...what more could you ask for?,
Cons: I have no complaints about Idlewild
Other Thoughts: Started playing here last fall, and as a beginner, it was an eye opener. WOW! This game is not easy! Played there all winter. Even in the snow. Have not even come close to par yet, but still have to list this as my favorite place to play. Playing all 24 holes is definitely a challenge, but the course is simply too much fun to pass up the chance.

0 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Top Tier Course

2-4    3/25/2015   4/1/2015
Review By: joshtrum
Played: 20  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2015
5 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: - Very well maintained and groomed course
- Mutliple pin placements
- professional level
Other Thoughts: Idlewild is arguably the best course in the KOI Tri-State area if not in the entire US. The course is a mix of open distance holes combined with technical wooded fairways. This course is an incredibly challenging course that doesn't feel too hard due to the incredible quality of the design combined with the fun of playing it. Even holes that feel like gimme holes aren't necesarilly gimmes. Multiple pin placements keep the course feeling refreshed while changing it up and the water hazards combined with the tight technical wooded holes make this course an incredibly difficult but exciting course to play. If you get the chance and have not played here, you are doing a disservice to yourself by not playing here.

5 of 17 people found this review helpful.

favorite course

1    6/7/2014   1/7/2015
Review By: bcrites
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: From the well groomed fairways to the beautiful basket positions this course is absolutely perfect! if you have a chance to play this course it's well worth your time!
Cons: NONE!
Other Thoughts: wish i could play this course much more often!

1 of 21 people found this review helpful.

What more can I say?

5+    11/1/2014   11/12/2014
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 313  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: There's not much more that I can add that everyone else has already said. This is the greatest disc golf course I have ever played.
Cons: The only con I can think of is the walk from 16 to 17 crosses 11's fairway, but Idlewild is rarely busy enough for this to matter.
Other Thoughts: Prettiest course, most difficult course, and best designed course. Idlewild has it all.

3 of 20 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 11 12

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.