Disc Golf Store
Burlington, KY 
Idlewild Share
Uploaded By: discgolferjr Hole #7
3 / 261ft.   3 / 261ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 149
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 8 9 10 11 12 ... 14 15
 

2-4    10/25/2009   10/26/2009
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2009
22 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Small but steep and grassy Kentucky hills perfect for disc golf. Excellent, class leading signs and oversized cement tee pads. Lots of bridges make it easy to cross creeks, and water hazards aren't so deep that you can't retrieve your disc after errant throws. Favorite holes include a long (600 feet), and straight mowed grass fairway with trees and moderate slopes on each side (Hole 1), a terrific downhill forest hole with a basket at the bottom across a creek (Hole 13), and the signature Hole 11 with wishbone tree and island basket. Many holes feature grassy, wooded fairways through winding creek areas (2, 3, 11, 16), and others have narrow but defined sloped fairways in wooded areas (7, 8, 9, 10, 14, 17). Hole 15 is a monster 1000 foot meadow hole with a downhill approach that could be a signature hole by itself.
Cons: Some holes are a little too long and tight and have difficult, luck dependent drives (Holes 5, 6 and 16 are the best examples). Course design could be changed to create more holes by splitting up 5, 6, 10 and 15 into smaller holes (15 from the 400 foot mark would be outstanding). Includes a few too many very narrow uphill drives (4, 5, 6, 12, 18) and a relative lack of wide open or overhead shots. Few if any ace opportunities. A couple of navigation hiccups (Holes 4/5 and 11/12 interchanges) but decent overall.
Other Thoughts: Unparalleled challenge (the most difficult course I've ever seen, bar none). Does this make it a better course? You be the judge. Beginners would be discouraged playing here, but that may be an advantage to others. In my opinion, most would have more fun playing the Lincoln Ridge course a few miles away. That's what it's all about, right?

22 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 the DG taj mahal

5+    10/1/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: dr.chainslove
Played: 48  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.7 Years
16 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: As just about everyone else has already stated, this course is phenomenal in every way. I'll focus on a few of the things that amaze me whenever I play this course.
Hole 11 is about as beautiful of a tee shot as a course can have (see the pic in photos section!). I jokingly think this course was designed around the Y-shaped tree in the middle of the downhill fairway. shoot through the Y downhill though the narrow fairway and hope to avoid the creek. After a 60 degree dogleg left, the hole finishes on a tiny man-made green with OB lurking everywhere.
The crazy amount of MONEY and EFFORT thrown into this park is unbelieveable! there must be a lawn crew out there weekly mowing and trimming around thousands and thousands of trees throughout hilly terrain. You might cross 50 (many unique) bridges while navigating the course. Probably 6 holes have greens placed in bends of the winding creek to make a moat-like boundary around the baskets. Round wooden or concrete shafts tightly hammered together make good looking borders for these "moats." This place has the longest concrete tees I've ever seen and the signs are amazing.
Cons: I actually get excited about shooting 18+ (playing everything as a 3). Idlewild does not allow many birdies. That's all I got for negatives
Other Thoughts: After the most fulfilling day of disc golf that you can have is done, you get to empty your bag shooting 360ft across a soccer field to the soccer goals on the way back to the car (I know I'm not the only one who does this!)--a great way to make sure that you've effectively destroyed yourself for the day. ahhh, can't wait to play it again!!

16 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 one of the best courses I've ever palyed

1    9/26/2009   10/2/2009
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 140  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2010
9 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: Gigantic
Challenging
Beautiful
Really Fun
Lots of elevation changes
Well Kept
Lots of Man made little bridges and islands
Well groomed
Incredibly well designed
Every hole is different
1000 foot hole!!
Cons: Not for beginners
Other Thoughts: I played this course for the first time and stopped keeping score at +9. My score was terrible but I was having so much fun I didn't really care. Frisbee Golf Nirvana!

9 of 28 people found this review helpful.

 Premier Course

2-4    6/10/2009   10/2/2009
Review By: kmrynders
Played: 73  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 15.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/15/2009
22 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Pros: By far the most challenging course I've ever played. You'll need your full arsenal of discs and throws to truly master this course.

Great tees, and great baskets. Some holes actually have both the short and long pins in place at the same time - allowing you to choose which one you want to play, I've never seen that anywhere else.

Great flow, no big hikes between holes, and you will easily find your way even if you are playing alone for the first time at the course - great signage that really adds to the feel of the entire course.

One of the most well groomed courses I've ever played. Nothing looked out of place and each tree seemed to show you what disc lines were intended.

The man-made additions to the course add so much. There are many additions that add islands, OB, steps, bridges, benches at every hole, and so on. If you haven't played a course with these visually pleasing areas you'll be blown away.

Speaking of OB - You may have what looks like a great shot, but the OB on this course adds a whole new dimension to the game. Most amateurs may not want to play this course with the OB on their first time through…trust me it'll be challenging and fun just playing the course.

My top 'pro' of the course is that you need strategize your shots. There are true par 4 holes that make you pay for not planning the your next shot. This is something that most courses can't do because they are lacking the land and/or lack of design. Par 4 holes are rare to find and this course has plenty, almost making the game take a new shape.

there is a 1001 foot hole…

I don't think you could ever get bored here.
Cons: Some times the strategy element is taken a bit too far. When you need to play your next 3 shots to have a chance at 'par' it gets a bit over the top. You might get agitated if you are playing for the first time without people to guide you.
Other Thoughts: Great course - a must play just for the incredible new disc golf experience

It is fun as hell to play, and I'd play it all the time if I lived in the area

22 of 26 people found this review helpful.

 Idlewild

1    9/12/2009   9/12/2009
Review By: Corkscrew
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 30.7 Years
6 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: DISC GOLF HEAVEN ON EARTH!!
Very challenging and scenic, empty there was no one there. Very well kept, No trash anywhere. If you get the chance to play it do it. One you get there you will not have any regrets. It will improve your game.
Cons: The basket locations were hard to figure from tee unless you could see them from tee. Even with map it was confusing to understand which basket you would be throwing to until you saw it.
Other Thoughts: Practice throwing your straight plastic before you visit this course. It will save you some strokes. Make sure that you carry plenty of water with you. Suck it up and use the porta-potty if you need to before the round, you will thank yourself later.

6 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic

1    9/10/2008   9/10/2009
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/21/2011
11 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: Idlewild stands out as THE most creative disc golf course design that I have played in nearly 500 total courses. Not only is the course blessed with great terrain features, but the locals are individuals who have put in massive amounts of effort to make this one of the best courses out there. Off the tee, players will find a massive variety of shots, distances, elevation, real risk/reward and several multishot holes which challenge a player to not only make a great drive but evaluate landing areas and make a great approach/putt for birdie '3' or '4'.
Cons: Both a 'pro' and a 'con', the presence of a couple of extremely short and straightforward holes add and takeaway from the course. On the positive side, these holes help make the course more accessible to a wider variety of skill levels who have the opportunity to match higher skilled players (by carding the same 'birdie') and to get perhaps a much needed ego boost to counter the largely beatdown nature of Idlewild. At the same time, I feel these holes detract from the experience of higher level players to whom these holes are practically gimme's and offer no ability to separate scoring based on differential skill levels.
Other Thoughts: As of 2011, Idlewild maintains a spot on the top 10 list and for good reason I think. The course has something to offer everyone from the seasoned professional to the weekend warrior or DGCR course-bagger. Competitive golfers will appreciate the challenging layout and opportunities to make decisions on the course about how aggressively or safely to play. Course-baggers will appreciate the utter uniqueness of holes and creativity which went into the design.

11 of 29 people found this review helpful.

 A deserving five star course.

2-4    9/5/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: TheTennesseeFireman
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.6 Years
18 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Where to begin? Let's start with the course itself. Amazing. Many top-rated courses are rated highly because they are in the middle of a well-funded park and are moderate in difficulty, therefore appealing to all. Idlewild is not one of these. You have to love the game and have supreme technical skill to succeed here. The course doesn't just pummel you with length; every shot needs to be shaped just right to navigate the often tight (but always well-defined) fairways. Hole 2 is a tight anhyzer tee shot followed by a lake carry; hole 11 goes down through a y-shaped tree before making a 90-degree left turn into the woods before crossing a creek onto a virtual island green, hole 14 is a brutal 450 feet uphill through encroaching woods; hole 15 is 1020 feet down a wildflower-lined meadow and over the creek; hole 16 has 6 forced carries over that same creek. I could go on and on. Even the easier holes are extremely exciting; they give a rare opporitunity to take a chunk out of your score, but they are not afraid to knock overambitious shots deep into the woods.

The land itself is beautiful. I have never seen a more peaceful place on a disc golf course than the shady green of #11 (and it's only about a quarter mile from the neighborhoods of Northern Kentucky). The "walk of fame" is a great tribute to all those who helped make disc golf what it is today. As for the park itself, disc golfers couldn't ask for more. Everything else in the park is out of the way of the course, and you won't find anyone who doesn't recognize that on the course, disc golf has priority. For a course of this caliber, it's surprisingly uncrowded, even on saturday afternoons in late summer. There's never any need to worry about getting stuck behind beginners, who mostly (for good reason) avoid this course. And it has the usual necessities for a great course: all concrete tee pads with very impressive new signs, weekly cleared and mowed fairways, bridges to take you over steep sections and the creek, varied pin positions (though never confusing), and the latest in baskets.
Cons: As just about all disc golf courses are either maintained by parks or individuals, courses as a rule are not going to be perfect. However, it's hard to find flaws with this course. Like all disc golf courses, it can get buggy in the summer. Discs that fly too far off course could be lost in the woods, a task easy to accomplish if you don't heed the slope on some holes. If you really want to nitpick, there are only a couple of porta-potties, as opposed to your standard park bathrooms. That's all I can truly think of. Many nitpicks about other highly rated courses don't apply here.
Other Thoughts: I'm not rating this a five to up its score on the front page. I'm rating it a five because it's the best course I've ever seen. Not sure how much higher praise I can give it.

18 of 21 people found this review helpful.

  Amazing

5+    8/12/2009   8/25/2009
Review By: cfischy06
Played: 77  Reviewed: 1
13 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Took me a few years of playing in Cincinnati to get the courage to play this course. I have picked many high rated courses on the disc golf trips I've had in the five years I have played and still haven't found one that I felt was "better" than this course. The layout alone would make it worth playing but it is also so perfectly manicured and in several places aesthetically pleasing as well.
Cons: While it is quite tiring to play this course I have never found myself wanting to end a round early or skip a few holes. The excitement from playing this course negates the lack of energy I might experience.
Other Thoughts: More people should play this course. The stops I've made for tournaments outside of this area I always find people that have been playing for a long time, have heard of Idlewild, but still have not found there way to the course.

13 of 28 people found this review helpful.

immaculate

1    8/9/2009   8/25/2009
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 214  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2013
28 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -pretty much everything you want in a DG course
-phenomenal course layout
-clean and beautiful park
-signature holes galore, a few island greens, long holes and a couple of easy dueces
-fantastic use of the land, great elevation changes
-multiple tee locations and baskets on some holes and a trash can at every tee
-wonderfully maintained

seriously challenging. many different kinds of shots. this course will really test your game. long holes are not open, you will need distance AND accuracy. bad shots are punished.
Cons: -such intense DG can be physically and mentally exhausting (and exhilarating)
-some people have said it can be gimmicky but i had fun the whole time! there is a middle ground between trying to bomb through each fairway and laying up with a putter every 200 feet. isn't course management about knowing when to be conservative and when to be aggressive?
-seems like most of the complaints stem from the course's reputation more than the course itself, first-time players who aren't familiar with navigation or OB lines, or those not equipped for the challenge
Other Thoughts: There is not much to say that has not been said already. This is a must play course. I think it is worth a long trip to play this course alone (I stopped on the way between NY and TX). It's not for everyone and is probably few people's favorite course to play regularly but it is an epic experience.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

28 of 35 people found this review helpful.

 The Mecca

2-4    8/16/2009   8/25/2009
Review By: thebuckeyeguy
Played: 103  Reviewed: 15
16 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: There is a lot of elevation change, and a great variety of open and wooded holes…you will be tested in your forehand and backhand, as well as many "specialty" shots used for saves…great use of boundaries…well-kept course, mostly easy to follow
Cons: The rough is ROUGH (but it's my fault for being there), but go there and you may lose your disc...occasionally it seemed like although there is a fairway, it is barely hittable (I know my place in disc golf, and I am no Jenkins, but I am not that bad either)...it is somewhat confusing your first time that there are not just alternate pin placements at some holes, but actually alternate baskets (instead of playing to A or B because one basket is in, you play to A or B because both baskets are in)
Other Thoughts: Where to start...this is my favorite course hands down, although I never beat it!...since there are so many reviews, my only advice is to try to make time to play this course twice (with a break in between), because after almost every drive it seemed like I was, "I wish I would have placed it here instead"...on this course, it is a combo of placement AND power

16 of 24 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 8 9 10 11 12 ... 14 15

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.