Burlington, KY 
Idlewild Share
Uploaded By: Ripper Hole #C
3 / 299ft.   4 / 520ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #C Short Tee



Reviews: 147
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15
 A True Gem

1    12/26/2008   1/7/2009
Review By: CincyRocs
Played: 46  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.2 Years
30 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
-Located in a community park
-Easily accessible from I-75/71 or I-275
-Within 10 minutes of the Cincinnati Airport
-Disc N' Dat Store close by
-Banklick Woods very close by
-Board at #1
-Great tee signs
-Extra long, concrete teepads
-BEAUTIFUL course
-Well groomed course
-Benches on EVERY hole
-Excellent elevation changes
-Amazing use of water hazards
-Clearly defined drop zones for water hazards
-Bridges over every single creek and ravine
-A true pro par
- Challenges a variety of shots
-Not just a single lane on holes, multiple routes to shoot into
-Long holes challenge blend power with accuracy
-Mature, wooded fairways
-Challenging but not discouraging
-Multiple pin placements and baskets
-Direction and flow is fairly smooth and easy
-Walk of fame after #4
-Hole Sponsors and adopted holes
Cons:
-More trashcans?
-Not in my backyard
Other Thoughts:
Overall:
This is the best course in the Greater Cincinnati Area and one of the best, if not the best, in the country. This course is the perfect mix of distance, accuracy, beauty, and strategy.

This course is very long, but it does not seem so when playing. You become too distracted with the beauty and logic placed in every single hole.

Distance isn't the only thing going for this course either. Accuracy is blended in amazingly. This course challenges a variety of shots and a diverse arsenal is need. However, there are multiple lanes on each hole. It's not as if there is just one lane to shoot into, there are several routes on every hole.

Are you ever out playing and have to walk across rocks on a creek or jump across a 3ft ravine? Well at Idlewild it is not necessary. This course seriously has a bridge over every single creek and ravine. If you need a bridge, one is there for you. There is even a hole with 4 bridges that you have to cross over.

The water hazards remind of a real golf course. They are small and shallow, but placed close to baskets. This makes the course that much more beautiful. Not only is there water, but excellent and well marked drop zones to throw from when you land in water.

The tee signs have funny and clever phrases on them such as: "Thread the needle, sow a deuce" or "Air it out....And Out"

Signature Hole:
Every hole is etched into my mind and sticks out. Every hole has plenty of flavor and is unique. But if I had to pick one hole it would be the 1001ft hole that eventually goes downhill to a beautiful green.

Final Verdict:
This course is an absolute must play. It is well worth it to make a trip out to Kentucky and play this course. Banklick is nearby so make a day of it and play 2 of the top courses in the country. Take your time and enjoy the course because there aren't that many this good. Just get ready for a day of phenomenal disc golf you won't forget.




30 of 32 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/7/2008   12/17/2008
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2009
44 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Idlewild is truely an amazing disc golf course that is long, challenging, and very well-maintained and offers a great layout with endless amounts of visual appeal. This course uses Mach3 baskets that are in good shape, level concrete tee pads, and really nice, descriptive tee signs on each hole. There are multiple tee pads and basket locations on many of the holes throughout the course.

The course flows great from start to finish making two 9-hole loops each returning near the parking area. There is one part of the course from 16's basket walking toward 17's tee where you have to cross 11's fairway, but there are signs posted to make golfers aware of this potential hazard, so keep this in mind as you navigate this area.

The course offers a great variety of short and long technical holes, and long open holes that take you in and out of the woods. There is a nice creek that runs through the course, and comes into play on 8 of the 18 holes. The course is very well maintained with little to no over-growth or foilage. Idlewild uses the Adopt-A-Hole program where local volunteers step and offer there time to maintain and upkeep a hole. This is a program that many courses would greatly benefit from. There are nice, wooden bridges installed to ease navigation through the holes where the creek comes into play, and retaining walls that frame the greens built around the creek. Some of the greens use an artifical OB around the back side of the pin and the creek along the front side to make an "island" green affect which only adds to the challenge. The bridges and retaining walls add a lot to the visual appeal of the course.

Idlewild makes great use of the elevations in the park, offering a wide variety of uphill and downhill tee shots, and plenty of uphill, downhill, and sidehill lies around the course. There are numerous epic holes on Idlewild, some of my favorites are 1, 3, 5, 11, 13, 15, 16, and 18. There are to many to list details, but I assure you that many of the holes at Idlewild will be etched in your memory for a long time. The holes range from 192ft to over 1000ft, averaging nearly 500ft/hole. There are several true par4 and par5 holes, which is one of the great features of the course. Although many of the holes have plenty of length and allow a player to launch a big drive off of the box, players are rewarded with stategy and placement over length.

You will have a chance to throw just about any type of shot you prefer (hyzers, anhyzes, rollers, thumbers, tomahawks, etc...), and probably some you don't. There will be plenty of opportunities to get creative with shot-making as you progress through the course. Idlewild will challenge all skill levels. There is a parking lot specifically for disc golfers, with restrooms. There is a practice basket for warming up before your round, but at the time I was there, it wasn't in real good shape. I've only played the course once; it wasn't crowded on that particular day.
Cons: I had some trouble finding the tee box for hole 5. There is a sign, about half way up the fairway for hole 4 pointing toward the next tee, but unless you're looking for the sign, it is easy to miss. It is visible from the tee on hole 4, so keep this in mind as you go through this area. Relocating the sign to make it more obvious would be helpful so that it isn't overlooked.
Other Thoughts: I always heard the locals in my area talking about Idlewild, Idlewild this, Idlewild that. Now that I have played the course, I understand what all the talk was about. A stunningly beautiful and challenging course, a must play. Of the courses that I have played, this one is by far my favorite, I only wish it were closer so that I could play it more often. I played the course solo, it took about 2hrs to complete the round.

44 of 45 people found this review helpful.

 Stunning course...

1    12/14/2008   12/14/2008
Review By: MulliganStew
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 25.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2008
24 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is stunningly beautiful, even this time of year (winter). The course is huge and has very nice wide defined fairways that are very well maintained. Fantastic use of obstacles and out of bounds areas (signage). Many holes have drop points if you go out of bounds. A creek meanders throughout many of the holes that are in the lower areas. It was chilly out today and there was a guy working on errosion control in the creek. The creek is really a treat, there must be more then a dozen bridges. Several greens have the creek meandering around them and are edged beautifully with cement pilings. There are maybe three holes that elevation change does not play a part. Uphill hyzer to downhill anhyzer just about every shot in your book will be used. Played in very wet conditions and had no problems getting discs that landed in the creek or mud. Tee pads have to be the largest I have ever played, many have stones around them to control errosion. Also my first 1000 footer hole, has signs that say 400' to the green. Too funny. The holes are very well signed if it is not evident where the next hole is. Whomever put in all the countless hours to make this course what it is over the years get a huge pat on the back from me. Outstanding!!!
Cons: It is an hour and fifteen minutes from my house, oh wait that's not a con...
Other Thoughts: Thanks really does need to be given to the folks who have contributed to the construction of this course. A small monument or something.


24 of 28 people found this review helpful.

 Good course no matter when you go

1    12/12/2008   12/12/2008
Review By: broken_star
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.5 Years
10 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Clearly dfined fairway, good use of OB's, woods on every hole, big time risk reward course, park maintenance is excellent
Cons: Gets fairly muddy and has little to no appeal to rec or novice players (Pro caliber course that is just way to hard for beginners)
Other Thoughts: Would love to see this course expanded to 27 holes (there is obviously the land to do it). Be warry this course is very long and very tough on your body, make sure you set aside 2 or more hours to play it.

10 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Idlewild

2-4    12/6/2009   12/7/2008
Review By: discgolferjr
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/22/2009
13 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: The course is the best ever. Long, short, wooded, and open holes. This is the perfect place for a course. Benches on every hole. Trashcans on most holes. Island grees are awesome. 1001 ft. hole is really awesome. Good teesigns. Excellent teepads. Incredible pin placements.
Cons: Can be frustrating for beginners. Some par on the course is ridiculus maybe even for a pro.
Other Thoughts: This course is cool. Who ever created the course has a good mind and should create a lot more courses. Banklick and Boone are a few minutes away. If within an hour and 30 min. or 2 hours, they should DEFINATLY play this course. It is for someone who wants a challenge. 12/6/09 I nailed a 140+ shot on hole 10.

Signature hole: Hole 15. Wide open 1000 ft par 5 very hilly hole with and OB creek and island green.

13 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite so far

1    11/26/2008   11/29/2008
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2008
26 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Every hole provides a new challenge, i.e.
Hole 1, long sweeping ridge, woods on left, slope on right, visually stunning
Hole 3 down and right, criss-crossing creek
Hole 5 down over the creek, back up and to the right through trees to the basket
Hole 6 up a blind hill through a tunnel
Hole 10 goes out 300+ ft, then 90 degrees right and curving left w/ a huge slope on the right, then basket surrounded by trees
Hole 11 you throw downhill through a Y-shaped tree then over a hill to an awesome island green
Hole 14 up a HUGE hill then to the right
Hole 15 frickin 1000 foot hole to an island green
Hole 16 over the creek like 6 times to an island green
Hole 18 loooooooong tunnel fairway opening up to the basket in a semi-circle of cypress trees
This course is SUPER-bada$$. I've only been playing for about 7 months, and thought I was coming along nicely until this course rocked my world. It was amazingly fun to play and required using every shot and disc that I have. The elevation changes are sick, and there are 6 holes with island greens, which I love.
Cons: Sometimes hard to find the next tee, course map helps A LOT! Also the course map distances don't always match the tee signs, no big deal. If you are an amateur and get frustrated easily, this may not be the course for you. If you can shrug off bad shots turning tragic (score-wise), you should be OK. Park signage a little confusing about where hole 1 tee is, and there is a pretty decent (1/4 mile maybe) hike from 18 basket back to the parking lot by hole 1.
Other Thoughts: After hearing all the hype about this course, had to make the hour drive up and find out for myself. It met ALL my expectations and then some, can't wait to play it again. I would give it a 5, but I've told myself I won't do that until a course is both completely awesome AND I either get an ace or shoot pro par, so that may be a while (joke). My real reason is that I don't believe a course should be a 5 unless there is absolutely nothing I would change about it at all. If you could give a course a 4.99 I would definitely give that for Idlewild.

If you are in the area, DEFINITELY go play this course, allow yourself about 2.5-3 hours to fully enjoy it, more if it is busy.

26 of 29 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing, challenging

5+    11/29/2007   11/29/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/13/2008
18 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Idlewild is one of the only true par 72 courses in existence as far as I know. The layout of the course is about as good as it gets. Every hole is different from the previous one, no two are alike here. Want to crush drives as far as possible? Want to play the ultimate risk vs reward course? This is it.

You will find well defined fairways, with tight gaps in places. None of the shots are unfair, but there are a few where luck comes into play. Many of the holes play through rugged terrain that goes around creeks, up hill sides and over ravines.

The directions and signage on the courses are awesome. I can't say enough about the maintenance... bridges, trails, teepads and baskets are all in top notch shape.

To really score well at this course you will need to have accurate drives and an excellent mid-range game. Many of the most challenging shots require throwing on a tight line and will punish shots that stray off the fairway.
Cons: I don't live close enough to it!

This is not a course for people new to the sport. I wouldn't recommend this course to someone who had been playing a year or less. Even professional caliber players could come to this course and struggle - be prepared to take some 5's and 6's.
Other Thoughts: On the majority of the holes here, you will be grateful to take a 4... sometimes elated because it took a 300 foot approach to do it.

This is a great destination course for any serious disc golfer. Also, Banklick is just right down the road, you can play two amazing courses in 1 day.

To anyone interested in playing a tournament at Idlewild: The Bluegrass Open is a tremendous tournament that happens every year, with rounds at Idlewild and Banklick.

When busy it takes 2.5 hours or more to complete a round. Bring water/snacks.

18 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Wild but Beautiful...

2-4    5/29/2011   11/20/2008
Review By: dobbins66
Played: 85  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2011
28 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Best kept course I have ever played, For a course to be in the woods as much as this one an be taken care of in the manner it is in incredible. Big Thanks to the guys that do this.

Greens are defined beautifully and many have some extras added in to add to the appearance (and increase the difficulty).

It has everything. Extremely long open holes(well... mostly open), Short tight holes where you can't afford to miss your line. Even the long holes seem to bring something into play other than raw distance before you are done. Double-doglegs, 90 Degree turns and incredible pin placements. You will be forced to use shots that you might not normally throw. This place will teach you that a layup isn't always a bad thing.

This is a true beauty and shows what challenging disc golf should be like.

6 new holes added bringing the total to 24. Most of them are reachable but each brings an elements of danger into play.

The layout offers all levels of play. Some holes have short & long tees, and many have varying levels of OB that can be used for tourney play or ignored in casual play changing the difficulty level considerably.
Cons: I have no true cons but there are a few things to remember:

Don't go looking for a quick round - It won't happen, this course takes time to play.

Don't get frustrated - this is not like the par 3 courses that most are used to. A 4 or 5 (or more) on many of these holes is not a bad thing - It's to be expected at times.
Other Thoughts: Everyone should try this course and look at the care put into it. For disc golf to move forward courses like this are needed to present a true challenge to the upper level players. For newer player - If you approach this course with an open mind it will do wonders for your game.

28 of 29 people found this review helpful.

 A must play for everyone

2-4    11/4/2008   11/5/2008
Review By: kyflash
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.1 Years
8 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: This course is as eye pleaseing as it is challenging. You must hit your spots to score well here. The placements are structured to make you think beyond your tee shot.
Cons: The basket on 18 is a pretty decent way from where you park.
Other Thoughts: The prettiest course I have ever seen. Lots of planning and resources went into Idlewild. If you are ever near the N. Ky./Cincy area you owe it to yourself to find this course.

8 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 Toughest course ever!!!

2-4    4/25/2008   10/30/2008
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/4/2009
22 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is truely a great test of your disc golf ability. The course is well kept, has great teepads and signs. You need to throw every shot in your bag and several that you don't have. One of only 2 courses that I've played that the listing of par on the signs is actually acurrate. If it says you need 5 shots you will!!! Some of the toughest holes you will ever play with #13 being my favorite on the course. A must play for any one in the area.
Cons: I felt like there were several longer holes in the woods that I was just pitching a putter to a spot. Then you pitch the putter to the next spot. Then you do it again, then you try to make a putt. You can also get very frustrated if you are just a little bit off. You can make a really good throw and barely tick a tree and end up screwed. It's like this on any wooded course but idlewild magnifies this a 100%. There are also a couple holes that don't seem to have any real fairway like #16. You a just thowing trying to hit your first gap and hope to get luck after that (although #16 is a very cool hole). The only real issue is you have to cross one fairway to get to the next teepad. There is a sign warning to be careful, but this truely a bad design flaw.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is truely a great course. I should probably give it a 5 but it's just not my style of course and I don't think any course were you have to cross a farway to get to the next hole can be a 5. I prefer banklick but think both a truely great must play courses. 2 of the guys a play with think this is the best course ever though, so it's just a personal preference. Yes I'm a wuss and this course kicked my butt 2 days in a row.

22 of 24 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.