Disc Golf Store
Burlington, KY 
Idlewild Share
Uploaded By: Dawgii Hole #16 (Taken 10/2012)
4 / 297ft.   4 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 147
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 14 15
Idlewildness

1    10/25/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 65  Reviewed: 43
3 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: A Phenomenal course, immaculately designed, completely and utterly challenging. Strategically placed trees, water hazards, hills, and putt putt style carpet surrounding many of the baskets.
Cons: A tough course for some,not for everybody.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses in the world, every disc golfer should play this. It will hurt them physically, and help them in their game, and it should not be missed.

3 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Just Don't Get It

1    10/23/2012   10/24/2012
Review By: blarmour
Played: 33  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
23 Helpful / 36 Not
Pros: The course setting is very nice, especiall this time of year with all the colors on the trees, and on the ground. Lots of hole variety with ponds, creeks, and of course lots of trees. The several holes with the "greens" were pretty cool, although getting to them at times was an adventure.
Cons: Baskets were not consistant and many were difficult to see because there were no colored bands on top or around the pole or flags on top. Since many of the holes are so long, a plain metal grey basket can be difficult to spot against the backdrop of trees, especially playing for the first time. Several of the holes were just ridiculous as far as having a legitimate route to the basket. Map and tee signs were of very little help in navigating course for the first time. Spent way too much time hunting for tee pads or baskets. With many of the holes having 3 or more pin locations, you never knew which location basket was in until you were upon it and in a few cases, it would have changed what type of previous shot to take.
Other Thoughts: I just do not get what all the hoopla is about with this course or how it gets such a high rating. I guess it's just not my cup of tea. I'm glad I played it once, but would never make the 2 hour drive to play it again. We played Mt. Airy right after Idlewild and I wish we had just gone to Mt. Airy and played it 2 or 3 times instead. To be the second highest rated course in the country, you would think they would get some better baskets that are all the same and ones that you can see from a distance. Also, really need to work on a much better map and tee signs and even signs along the paths to make navigation easier so you can spend your time actually playing disc golf instead of hiking and hunting for tee pads and baskets.

23 of 59 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/6/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: ctc9931
Played: 29  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 22.2 Years
3 Helpful / 32 Not
Pros: Overall it was a good course, had fun playing it. Pretty easy to follow. Can't remember what hole it is think it was 5, throw down the hill take a 90 degree turn right and fo back up the hill. Was no clear path and could not figure out how the designer intended the hole to be played.
Cons: Had several poke and hope holes and several tweener holes.

3 of 35 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Greens-

1    8/8/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: Nader77
Played: 43  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 21.4 Years
1 Helpful / 28 Not
Pros: Awesome course…..Love the holes with real "greens" There is every shot you can encounter here. If you are looking to strengthen your skills all around, this is the one!
Cons: Must be ready to exercise!
Other Thoughts: This course has the Longest Hole Ever…Over a thousand feet!!!

1 of 29 people found this review helpful.

 Top Notch Challenge

1    8/3/2012   8/3/2012
Review By: DUrich
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Tight and technical, to include a long arm challenge. The rolling hills along with the trees make this a sweet venue. Super well maintained, with some excellent lines. A true test for anyone no matter what level of player. Great use of the creek, with the OB challenge.
Cons: Having a course map available for players on site would be helpful. I was quite confused about how par was defined until I got home and checked DGC review. Had some confusion about what was OB. A bit tougher for the first timer, I'm sure having a local guide, or being local would be advantageous.
Other Thoughts: I'd suggest a donation box, so that the local club and community can continue to improve this venue. I sense that the sport will be pay to play in the future - a small investment in a donation box could bring in some serious revenue.

5 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Be Prepared!

1    7/23/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: knettles
Played: 62  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.1 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There's just so many.

-Well maintained with good baskets and clean fairways. Also, a couple holes have turf greens. Turf greens!

-Lots of amenities; benches, a couple water fountains, porta potties.

-Best signage I've seen; course sign at the start and great hole signs at each tee. Some point to the next tee also.

-Amazing hole variety. There's straight holes, doglegs, long, short (not many), open, lightly wooded, heavily wooded, flat, hilly, and even water holes.

-And finally, last but definitely not least, HUGE teepads! The extra holes had regular sized teepads, but the rest had massive teepads that was more enjoyable than one would think.
Cons: Not many.

-There might be a couple people fishing along one of the water holes. I went on a weekday and didn't have any problems.

-A couple tees might be slightly hard to find if it's your first time. Just snap a picture of the course map at the start to take with you and you'll be fine.
Other Thoughts: Be prepared! This is a VERY long course which can get VERY hot on summer days. I strongly recommend eating well before going, and taking a packed lunch with two 32 oz drinks. It was in the 90's when I went and I got to hole #15 before quitting. I was tired, hungry, out of water, and lost a disc. On that note, it's also a good idea to have a floater.

Also, unlike some reviewers said, you don't need to be able to drive accurately 350' to enjoy playing here. If you can throw with some precision 225' to 250', you can still have a good time. Just don't have too high of expectations for your score.

So, be prepared and come to have fun, and it'll be one of the best courses you've played.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Dave

2-4    6/18/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: Disc Golf Dave
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 30.5 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course with well maintained fairways (with a couple of exceptions), good variety, length that will stand the test of time and new disc golf technology, and I thoroughly enjoyed my game there. There is a good emphasis on shot making and excellent variety in holes.

It is certainly challenging and long enough. This course seems to define the direction course design is taking. I love it.
Cons: A few of the holes are a bit tight. A few of the holes are bit thick with underbrush and tall grass. I got turned around once but found my way OK. The main reason it didn't get a 5 in my book is because a few of the holes don't provide enough shot options.
Other Thoughts: The Cincinnati area is a real disc golf mecca. It is on my short list of places to visit for great disc golf.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Bar has been set!

1    4/21/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: bpartrid
Played: 57  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: *Beautiful course
*Course has everything (woods, water, field, elevation)
*Tons of signature holes
*Amazing tee signs!!
*Had never seen anything like it before
Cons: *Could use some "to next tee" direction signs
*Very tough course that can eat you up in a heart beat
Other Thoughts: If you want to experience the best with all the little cherries on top, you have to go to idlewild!!!

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

absolutely lives up to the hype

5+    7/1/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: DiscDogNation
Played: 127  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/25/2012
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: course opens up with some nice open holes to let you stretch out and then winds you through some absolutely wonderfully orchestrated landscape and excellently laid out holes. Once you get to like #4 there a glades throughout most of the fairways and choosing a path can be difficult at best. Bring tons of water as elevation changes are on every hole and it can be extremely hot in the summer. It was funny to note how all the trash cans were full till you get to like 13 or 14 and they empty out because people just run out of liquid. If you are even CLOSE to the area you MUST make this a stop, be prepared to spend at least 2 hours walking this bad boy.
Cons: after hole 2 there are some lettered holes which I didnt find ... didnt really matter cause this course kicked my butt anyway. Also I went after a bad storm and there was debris everywhere but there not much they can do about that .... just my luck of the draw.
Other Thoughts: If you have half a day you HAVE to check this course out ... WELL worth the play

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Like the new holes

5+    4/6/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: telusive
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
This review was updated on 7/21/2012
4 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: I really like this course, but it is not always very well maintained. They're adding new holes for example, but when I was there the new holes had not been bushwhacked I suppose. and BUSHwhacked not mowed. This course is just a bit too wild for me in some places. The 1001 foot hole is amazing, for example, but sometimes the grass on the outside is as tall as you are. I know you aren't suppose to end up over there, but we all know it happens.
That being said, this course is not worth all the hype to me, there are better courses in the area (simply because someone cares for them more) but if you are in the area this is a beast you should look into.
There was a tournament there recently, so it is probably in decent shape around June 2012, but probably only temporarily.
The new holes include a lot more water, which I think was really missing from this course previously.
Cons: Hardly ever well maintained in some places, but immaculate in others. The new additional holes and some other holes have rough that is definately that.
Other Thoughts: Very nice area that this park is in, there's a dog park nearby also.

4 of 23 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 14 15

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.