Burlington, KY 
Idlewild Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
5 / 588ft.   5 / 588ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 147
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15
 ultimate so far

1    11/8/2008   7/24/2009
Review By: wdjmstr
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2
7 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Disc golf nirvana! Having the opportunity to experience Idlewild confirmed for me why Idlewild is acclaimed as one of the finest and most mentioned disc golf courses on players wish lists.Requiring every shot one can muster to navigate the challenges of 3,4,and 5 pars winding through the woods approaching some beautifully built greens.Varying hole lengths and elevational changes set in an area exclusively for disc golf ,this was truly the finest disc golf course I had played in 33 years.
Cons: the word con does not apply
Other Thoughts: It was obvious that the locals are very proud of their course evident by the absence of litter,well designed tee boxes and basket placements.I was amazed that the Cincy area was such a premier disc golf area.

7 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 A REC/INT players guide to Idlewild

5+    7/7/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: NatiBuckeye
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2009
25 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This review is based on the opinions of a REC/INT level players view and opinions of the course. As a guide to hopefully encourage other players of the same level who enjoy playing courses that are very challenging and somewhat above our skill level. As a note I throw 350' regularly and max out at about 400'. Also this guide can be helpful to players above my skill range please do not think that just because you are more skillful this will not help you understand the course.

Pros.
By definition a 5 disc course supposedly has nothing you would change about it. I dont believe this is ever truly possible. I rate this course the way I did because Idlewild is ever changing and something is always being done to make it better.
Forces you to practice and be confident playing hyzers, annhyzers, and straight shots, confidence in just one of these will not suffice for LH's and RH's.
This course is always well maintained.
Mando's , OB's and drop zones are normally very easy to follow if you choose to really test yourself.
The majority of holes on this course will give you an endorphin rush when you make the exact shot you were planning. Even if it is just 1/100 times.
This course will never disappoint in difficulty, some courses over time become boring not this one.
The course is changed year by year to keep it fresh and allow for local and all players to never encounter flashback syndrome.
The length of the course allows for you to unleash all your power on several holes.
There are several different approaches to each hole not just a hyzer/anny/thumber, many players have wowed crowds with their creativity.
The park the course is a part of is a great park itself, you can do a number of things while taking a break between rounds.
Many locals and pro's are happy to teach you the course and tutor… as well as show off.
Cons: There are some cons:
*If your not 100% confident in your driver dont come here in the summer time. Hole 15 in the summer is lined with 4-6ft tall wildflowers that eat discs. This hole can also be windy so beware.
It is difficult for the first timer to navigate confidently and identify all the different pin positions and tee's without walking the hole then coming back.
There could be better bathrooms and water fountains. A course of this caliber with the tourism it attracts should warrant more than a porta-potty and broken water fountains.
Some will consider the many chances to lose a disc a con here. You just need to accept the fact that a bad tree kick can ruin the hole.
No more than 1-2 ace-runs for rec players, this is bad for us but challenges the true players of this course.
Some players who do not like challenging courses or long holes will not like this course. You must give up the idea of every hole being a 3 at this course until you are well schooled in your game.
Some pin positions are not open unless a tourney is approaching.
Other Thoughts: *** Playing each hole as a 4 on this course as a NOV/REC player is perfectly fine and is respected by most players. It is also advised to play very relaxed OB rules during casual rounds. I also recommend this strategy for INT players until you really start to dominate. A hole by hole description will follow please stop now if you do not wish to read my thoughts on the holes.

Hole 1. Most of the time this hole is 640' downhill shot that does not discriminate against anyone. Feel free to let your longest driver rip, flying by the basket will lead to a long uphill putt.
Hole 2. 380' or 526' over a pond. I choose to not risk the pond during most of my rounds because the short pin is difficult enough for most players.
Hole 3. 432'/561'. Feel free to challenge yourself from the long pin and try to make it past the mando. Upshots can be very difficult through the trees and landing it on the island green in 2 can really jump start your round.
Hole 4. 235' and an easy mid for a LH or a good chance to practice your turnover for RH, take your (-1) 3 and be glad you did later.
Hole 5. 510' each shot during this hole is as important as the drive. If you land your drive in the advisable area your second shot is uphill long and very tight which continues until you reach the basket.
Hole 6. 588' This hole is extremely tight the entire length and requires laser like straight drives. Chances are you are going to give back that birdie you earned on 4 because this hole will challenge players of all skills.
Hole 7. 261' short but very tight, let the adrenaline flow if you make it through the initial fairway. The basket is very protected and may require some creativity.
Hole 8. 336' and very tight again, this hole can frustrate all players and requires extreme confidence. No clear route to the basket is available to players.
Hole 9. 192' this hole plays across a small ravine of sorts and allows for your first true ace run. This is another great chance to pick up a shot or two you just lost.
Hole 10. 609'/672' This hole requires you to play placement instead of really flexing out your arm. The basket is located behind a group of small trees on most days.
Hole 11. 441' the Kentucky gap hole is one you will remember. You can either bomb a drive through the Y tree and go nuts when you have a chance for a low score or you can play the target area and play the hole like a surgeon. Be careful not land in the creek off the tee or on second shots. An OB created island green is present for those of you wanting a real challenge.
Hole 12. 142' of ace run. This hole can be disappointing to top level players but gives others the chance to once again get the adrenaline pumping.
Hole 13.462'586' Don't play the first basket. Challenge yourself with the longer one and once again remember strategy will help you more than anything else. This is a blind shot with a nice landing area and the reward of great confidence when you crest the hill and find your disc in perfect position after making it through the tight drive alley.
Hole 14. 477' most of the time and one of the hardest holes for all players. You have to use pin point placement up hill and avoid many trees, this will make you really think and most likely get creative.
Hole 15. 1001' and feared as much as loved. Personally I love this hole because the tee is huge and all players can earn the longest drive of their career. The fairway is very large even for newer players and plays downhill after your first or most likely second drive. Another island type green awaits through a lot of tree trunks.
Hole 16. 297'/360' several clear routes are available to the player of all levels and you can really show off if you are the only one to avoid the trees. The short basket is a good way to get rid of a stroke but the longer basket is playable for the REC/INT with confidence.
Hole 17. 222' a straight shot through a lot of trees.
Hole 18. 651' and a great finishing hole that encourages several target zones. If you manage to park your last shot avoiding the large pine trees to finish your round you will remember it for a long time.


25 of 31 people found this review helpful.

 Mecca?

5+    6/20/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: tbird888
Played: 102  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2009
9 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: To me, Idlewild is sacred ground.
It will test every shot in your bag with a good mix of wooded and open holes, wide ranges of distances, multiple pin positions, and elevation changes. Not all distance comes in wide open fields either, requiring you to emphasize accuracy while still forcing you to throw for distance.
It is unlike any course I've ever played - not that I've strayed too far from home! - and made me change the way I approach the game (it forced me to accept the mental challenge of the game as well as safe play over hero shots, instantly knocking throws off my scores at other courses).
This crazy course has been constantly evolving in the four years I've known it as well. If you've played it, you need to play it again. If you haven't, what are you waiting for?
Cons: Due to it's level of difficulty, it can be both mentally and physically devastating.
Other Thoughts: This course is an icon. It has constantly been changing since I've been playing it and continually getting better. It always gets the better of me, but always gives me a few great holes to keep me coming back for more. Don't take any good fortune for granted - this course has no mercy and will take it away. I feel truly lucky to have this course so close but don't play it enough.

9 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 THE disc golf destination

2-4    5/1/2009   6/27/2009
Review By: Rudy W
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2009
8 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: This course will blow you away at the first hole. This is the first course I've played where I felt like I was playing a golf course instead of a disc course. It's a truly amazing experience. The holes definitely reward distance throwers. The meandering streams offer water hazards without the fear of lost discs (shallow streams). The landscaped basket areas and bridges are a nice touch that adds a lot of character to the course. It's clear a lot of people spend a lot of time keeping this course what it is which encourages appreciation.
Cons: Again, this is a distance thrower's course, and with that being said some baskets don't even become visible until your 2nd or 3rd throw. This is as much a warning to non-pro players than it is a con against the course. Honestly, I don't have a legitimate con for this course.
Other Thoughts: Wow! Review visitors are real sticklers on this course! :) Do not play this course if you are not serious about your disc golf. I would consider myself an average amateur player and this course kicked my butt, but I loved every moment of it. If you appreciate this sport then you should take a day to come visit this course. A group of 3 players can expect a round of 18 holes to take approx 2-3 hours. A larger group may take longer.

8 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course I've Played.

1    6/20/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: bdamcat
Played: 24  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.1 Years
15 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Speechless..... I drove 3 hours to play this course and I wish I could go back every weekend. This course did not disappoint and lived up to all the hype it has received from discgolfers everywhere.
Cons: Not a negative thing will come out of my mouth about this course. Or nothing that was the course's fault. Sure I could gripe about the narrow fairways, or the trees placed in the path of every disc that I threw, or the 1001 ft. hole that took 3 drives to reach the basket. But that's what I expected from one of the hardest discgolf courses around.
Other Thoughts: Wish I lived closer so I could play this course on a regular basis, because if you get good playing this course you should be hold your own on any course in the land. It was the best 3 hours I've spent playing discgolf to date.

15 of 26 people found this review helpful.

 Top caliber course

5+    6/9/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: Ace1
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 22.6 Years
3 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: This course is the ultimate in disc golf. This course is beautiful as well as challenging from novice to pro. The course is long as well as tight. It is well marked. Some holes have either a secondary basket location or a longer tee pad.
Cons: A novice player may find this course a bit intimidating. I recommend novice players play holes as par 5's, then as they improve play them as par 4's.
Other Thoughts: This course should be played to be appreciated! It is one of the top in the nation.

3 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Easily top 10 in the world

2-4    5/6/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: CincyDiscGolf
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2009
3 Helpful / 21 Not
Pros: Everything. This place has it all. I think the guy below said it best when he said your wasting time reading these reviews. This is time that would be better spent getting down to this course!
Cons: Nothing!

If you actually find a "flaw" with this place it says more about you than the course.
Other Thoughts: I've only been playing about a year so I get owned playing Idlewild, and I still love it! This course is so beautiful that you could hike around it just to enjoy the nature.

-------------------------------------------------------------------

Here is a link for anyone that didn't find this review helpful:

http://www3.searchlabel.com/?...jj76dha22_1_1

If that link didn't work try this one:

http://www.starfall.com /

3 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 What you'll need.

5+    9/1/2008   6/9/2009
Review By: GaryBlevins
Played: 34  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2009
3 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: Bring your "A" game, extra patience and a lunch. This is the best course I have ever played. Enjoy.
Cons: The length and terrain of this course are not for the faint of heart. Don't bring your beginner friends and expect them to have any fun.
Other Thoughts: It doesn't get much better than this.

3 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 pretty sweet

5+    6/5/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: twentiesmrclean24
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 28 Not
Pros: very good variety from a thousand footer that plays the tops of hills down to a creek to a few that you can pull of with a putter
Cons: theres a thousand footer, if you miss the fairway better be wearing pants...takes a lot of patience to pick up your game after a bad whole...not much wiggle room
Other Thoughts: all around play banklick every other day...come here to pick up my game a little

3 of 31 people found this review helpful.

 Wow

1    5/30/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: Hunt
Played: 98  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10 Years
4 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: Absolutley wonderful course! Long Long oh and did I mention it is long. Kudos to the developer it is a world class course and will change the word ''Golf'' in Disc Golf. The future is here for true par 4's and 5's even for the pros.
This course is a must play for everyone who loves disc golf.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Other Thoughts: The 1001 foot hole was 4'ed by a buddy of mine with a 250+ fairway ace through the trees. Was wonderful to watch.

4 of 23 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.