Burlington, KY 
Idlewild Share
Uploaded By: discgolferjr Hole #15
5 / 1001ft.   5 / 1001ft.   5 / 1001ft.   5 / 1001ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 168
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 16 17
A disc golf destination

2-4    3/14/2016   5/14/2016
Review By: DoctorC
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 22.6 Years
2 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: What else can I say, I've been golfing for a long time and this is easily one of the best courses I've played. Truly a course you travel to play - a disc golf destination.
Cons: No casual rounds here :)
Other Thoughts: Just a fantastic course!

2 of 14 people found this review helpful.

One of the best around!

5+    6/9/2015   5/9/2016
Review By: bangtailsaints
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 29.7 Years
2 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Will make you throw every shot in your arsenal. Beautiful island greens and running streams. One of the prettiest courses around. To truly experience Idlewild you have to play 24 longs. The water shots are awesome.Bring water and a snack!
Cons: Summertime brings the ticks. Make sure you check yourself after your round!
Other Thoughts: Don't think about it, it's worth the trip hop in the car and grab some friends and some disc!

2 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Tough. Tough. Tough.

1    5/27/2015   10/27/2015
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 269  Reviewed: 194  Exp: 5.4 Years
27 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Idlewild is a 24 hole course set in a super nice, multi-use park.

Concrete tee pads, in decent enough shape. Some could use some work, but no big deal. Most holes have one tee, some have two.

Mixture of baskets, but they all worked well enough. Some updates on these wouldn't be the worst thing. One pin position per hole, for the most part.

Distance. Everywhere. If you like long, winding holes, this is the place for you. You'll get open bombers, uphill hucks, tight tunnels, and anything else you can think of. There's a few shorter holes, but for the most part, you can expect plenty of legit par 4's, with placement being key.

Good use of elevation. There's not any top o' the world shots, but just about every hole has some sort of rolling hill incorporated.

Some holes have water as an obstacle, which is nice. No gigantic water carries, but several places where, if you get knocked by a tree, you could be in trouble.

Really nice landscaping, and tee signs. It's not quite country club nice, but not too far off. Navigation was relatively easy and the course has good flow.
Cons: I'm not a big fan of turf greens. I understand why they're used here, but they felt out of place and weird. Probably just a preference thing.

Idlewild is certainly not the most "accessible" course around...meaning new players, or players without bigger arms are going to get frustrated easily here.

Idlewild is a great course, especially if you're a top level player. I get it. What I don't like, is that as an Int player, I felt like I could go out there with a mid and putter, and score just as well as I could with my whole bag. In fact, I might score better just dinking and dunking my way through the course. There's places where it feels hard just for the sake of being hard. Of course, this is totally a personal feel, and will be different for every person.

For a course of this caliber, there should be at least two tees on every hole, and more than a single pin position. There's certainly plenty of space to do it.

Other Thoughts: Idlewild is a fun, tough, long course. I just didn't leave it feeling like I HAD TO come back and play it again, even though I'm glad I got the opportunity. Personally, I'd rather head up the road and play Lincoln Ridge.

Definitely a course you want to go play if you're in the area and make your own conclusions.

27 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Challenging with lots of elevation

1    6/27/2015   7/27/2015
Review By: jamesdevin
Played: 85  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/27/2015
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Good tee pads/ good tee signs
Plenty of benches
bright colored baskets
1000ft hole
elevation changes
Easy navigation
Clean park
free to play
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: This course was very well done with good use of elevation. Many tight shots that force you to be accurate though out the whole course. Many uphill shots may leave you exhausted playing on a hot day. There are not many short holes you will need a trusty driver for almost every hole. The 1000 foot hole was very cool with a big downhill slope towards a ball golf like green and a little river running all around it. Lots of OB to make you think your shots out better. I highly recommend this course and think everyone should play it at least once.

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

The name says it all!

1    7/4/2015   7/5/2015
Review By: jscincy1
Played: 30  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2015
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - While its not the best maintained course I have ever seen, it still finishes high. When you take in the amount of acreage in up keeping this course its kept nice.

-The tee signage is probably the best I have seen. The multiply pin placements and having a marker on the side if the tee signs marking the pins was great!

- Even though the concrete is showing some wear the nice long boxes are in great condition.

-Shot variety is the spice of life here. With multiple "pure" placement shots of the tee, the second shot is key to success. With that said a hzyer line of the tee (rhbh) often force an anny or forehand on the approach.

-Coming from playing a lot courses that usually play 54 par from all tees this was a rude awakening. This course in my opinion is championship caliber. I was not ready for it by any means and put up a terrible showing by the end of the day but it was worth every second.
Cons: *Disclaimer* Every course has it cons, however I feel as if Idlewild's doesn't detract from its over all score as much as people would think. If you can look past the minor things, you see the beauty.

-Navigation. With added letter holes, multiple tee pads someone is bound to get lost here. A few well placed signs on the end of F, 12, and 13 short would negate this completely.

-Multiple pins on one hole. This was a new thing for me and didn't really enjoy it. On 3 the short basket gets in the way, for me at least, on the approach to the other pin. This is just more a nit pick though on my part.
Other Thoughts: Idlewild is a long course. If you are not in great shape and plan on playing all 24 holes pack a lunch and take a break halfway through. If you are remotely tired towards the end this course will eat you and spit you out. With that said this place sits on special land and you can feel it. Must play for any fan of high level disc golf... Even if you cant throw at a high level yourself!

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Greatest Course

2-4    5/5/2010   6/5/2015
Review By: blclevenger2
Played: 34  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: I cant say anything that hasn't already been stated. It's easily my favourite course.
Cons: NONE
Other Thoughts: Beautiful lines that require you to bring strategy into consideration. The follow was awesome and never felt rushed while playing. It was like having an entire course all to my self.

2 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Too much fun to pass up

5+    4/5/2015   4/9/2015
Review By: therevjoe
Played: 53  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2015
0 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Technical, long,difficult, water, 24 holes...what more could you ask for?,
Cons: I have no complaints about Idlewild
Other Thoughts: Started playing here last fall, and as a beginner, it was an eye opener. WOW! This game is not easy! Played there all winter. Even in the snow. Have not even come close to par yet, but still have to list this as my favorite place to play. Playing all 24 holes is definitely a challenge, but the course is simply too much fun to pass up the chance.

0 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Top Tier Course

2-4    3/25/2015   4/1/2015
Review By: joshtrum
Played: 20  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2015
5 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: - Very well maintained and groomed course
- Mutliple pin placements
- professional level
Other Thoughts: Idlewild is arguably the best course in the KOI Tri-State area if not in the entire US. The course is a mix of open distance holes combined with technical wooded fairways. This course is an incredibly challenging course that doesn't feel too hard due to the incredible quality of the design combined with the fun of playing it. Even holes that feel like gimme holes aren't necesarilly gimmes. Multiple pin placements keep the course feeling refreshed while changing it up and the water hazards combined with the tight technical wooded holes make this course an incredibly difficult but exciting course to play. If you get the chance and have not played here, you are doing a disservice to yourself by not playing here.

5 of 17 people found this review helpful.

favorite course

1    6/7/2014   1/7/2015
Review By: bcrites
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: From the well groomed fairways to the beautiful basket positions this course is absolutely perfect! if you have a chance to play this course it's well worth your time!
Cons: NONE!
Other Thoughts: wish i could play this course much more often!

1 of 21 people found this review helpful.

What more can I say?

5+    11/1/2014   11/12/2014
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 353  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/15/2016
4 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: To date, this is the best and most challenging disc golf course I've ever played. It has everything: elevation, water carries, OB, tight wooded lines, and open bombs. Always feels like you should be paying a green fee to play this course.
Cons: The walk from 16 to 17 crosses 11's fairway, but Idlewild is rarely busy enough for this to matter. The creek is getting clogged and has stagnant water often. Maintenance and upkeep is starting to slow down as the volunteers get older.

The letter holes were added later and really don't fit the original 18 much.
Other Thoughts: Prettiest course, most difficult course, and best designed course. Idlewild has it all.

4 of 21 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 16 17

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.