Peoria, IL 
Bradley Park Share
Uploaded By: Martin Dewgarita Hole #13 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Bradley Park, it's not bad, not good either it's OK.

5+    9/1/2014   8/31/2014
Review By: Aestheticflight
Played: 140  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 21.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/8/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained, fine tee pads. Multiple pin placements.
Easy access to town or I-74 (5-8 min maybe), Most pads are easy to find from the previous Pin. Not much rough to worry about loosing a disc.
Good beginner to intermediate course that has a lot of open throws with multiple flight path choices available.
Although there are only a couple of holes that capture my fancy most of the holes are OK with some risk and reward involved as the creek comes into play on several holes.
Only #14 is a true risk of loosing your disc usually unless the creek is up after a rain or in early spring then a few others are risky.
# 12, #10.

You might get wet feet getting your disc back but in my experience only #14 is the only real danger of loosing a disc if you go in the creek in the deep pool there.

All in all this is a fairly decent course, no amazing holes, nothing too bad.

My favorites are # 9, #5 and #4 long tee and #7.
Cons: Very busy course and subsequently often has a slow pace of play.
This is the course beginners frequent in town so you can often be stuck behind slow groups.

For someone who doesn't know the course confusion is possible at several points as far as knowing where the next tee pad is.
There should be arrows pointing to the next tee near the basket in my opinion on the holes where the next tee isn't obvious.

Only one longish hole really #7.
... No blatantly bad holes but nothing that great either.
Other Thoughts: Bradley is an OK course.
It serves the purpose of being a good intro to disc golf.
We need courses like this for the new people to the game.
I am not slamming it, just telling it as I see it.
If I was driving through town and only had a chance to play one or two courses I would not choose this one.

Megiddo, McNaughton Park or Lake Eureka in that order would be my recommendation if you have some hours to play. These 3 are not quick easy courses but they are all very good courses and they would be the more advanced level courses in the area.

If time is short and you want a quick, low energy use course then, Northwoods (In Morton, 20 min away from Peoria) or ICC.(In East Peoria,15min away from Peoria) Northwoods being the better of the two. Both fairly good courses. Neither of these is strenuous like the 3 previously mentioned could be considered by some.

I see other reviews here that give this course more praise than I am giving and that is the cool thing about this forum people have different opinions and that makes the world go round.
People can see how we rate other courses that perhaps they know and get an idea if they agree with a reviewers sensibilities or not based on that.

I could perhaps be misunderstood here and people could think I don't like Bradley. I do like it ok, it's fine. It just isn't great or my idea of a really good course.

I have a great reluctance to rate any course a 5. I have played a lot of courses and very few deserve the top score of 5 in my opinion.
A 4 rating is a very good course in my book,
Three a Good course and I have a problem giving Bradley a Good rating hence my 2.5 - 2.75 might be my score if I could use that. I think there should be a 1-10 scale and a different score for fun levels. Then I would rate it a 6 overall and a 5 on the fun scale.

Don't mean to hurt any ones feelings I know a lot of people like it. But, I have to be honest here. I will probably get a boat load of thumb downs for my opinion and that's ok too. To each his own.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/27/2014   7/27/2014
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 146  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 14.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bradley Park is the course that most people know when they think of the original Peoria, Illinois course. It is just down the road from disc golf legends Mom and Old Man Wallis and was redesigned a handful of years ago to add some more length. Here are the pros:

1) The course really is manicured very well. It is truly the pride and joy of the Peoria Frisbee Club. If there is a work day scheduled here many people show up. A lot of the greens are well manicured and the concrete tees are immaculate. The club has worked really well in combating erosion and have really done a lot of work on the greens. Not only are some of the greens mulched but some have been built in tiers (like hole 4) to really add some interesting features to those holes.

2) Navigation at the course is actually very easy. Hole 1 is a bit hard to find as you have to walk up the hill next to the parking lot but once you get there its pretty self explanatory. You can see hole 10 in the area where you park so you know you will come back there after hole 9.

3) The redesign of the course made great usage of the creek on the back nine. Holes 10, 12, 13, 14, 16 and 17 bring the creek into play. The last few years there has been enough water in the creek to actually make it a legitimate water hazard. Even though the course is fairly easy the creek adds some nice variety to the course.

4) The course is a very easy play. Its a beginner friendly course, built in a park with very mature oak trees. It has some tough lines to hit but the rough is not bad at all. It would be okay to bring a new player here even if Washington Park is the better choice. You wouldn't want to bring a brand new player to McNaughton or one of the Morton courses so this is a good fit.

5) Most importantly, this course is fun. Hole 4 is a tricky little downhill putter shot with a neat green. Hole 8 is a fun little hole with the road as an obstacle to the left. Hole 9 is a tough but fun hole with a tight fairway to hit with a green that falls off to a cliff. The back nine offers some really fun shots around the creek. You won't be wowed by this course but you will have fun!
Cons: Here are the cons for Bradley Park:

1) Anytime you have alternate pins you run the risk of confusing people. The issue here is that you don't necessarily know what course you will get on any given day. In addition, the signs indicate the distances for both pins but without walking ahead you won't know which ones you are playing. Its not a big deal for locals because once you play it a few times you can figure out which is which but a few holes will force you to walk ahead.

2) The course is not super challenging. In the short pins its not uncommon for an advanced rated player to shoot in the mid 40's. Its a nice, fun course but does not have a lot of challenge.

3) The course is very righty friendly. In particular, holes 1, 4, 7, 11, 12, 13, 16 and 18 only favor righties while only holes 5 and 15 really favor lefties.

4) The signs are standard Central Illinois signs and do not include anything but the distances and the hole number.
Other Thoughts: This is essentially the original Peoria, Illinois area course that has propelled the rest of the courses in the area into existence. Its a classic course that has been around for a long time. Its a fun course that is highly recommended!

NOTE: The course is VERY busy. It is near the campus of Bradley University and the course is often filled with many casual players. In addition, the casual players have no problem starting on a random hole and cutting right in front of you.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun course but could use some improvements

1    8/19/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: Horsman
Played: 87  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice Concrete Teepads

- A lot of short technical holes that may look easy but are somewhat tricky.

- Very good use of the elevation change on almost every hole

- Nice mix of Hyzer, Straight, and Anhyzer shots

- Seemed as tough the they did not have to cut a single tree down to put in the course in that there are some beautiful mature trees on the course that make for some nice scenery.
Cons: - This is the type of course that 100% needs signs that point to where the next hole is. The only time I played here I drove around the park for15 minutes looking for the course and then when I found the course spent another 15 looking for hole 1 (evetually ran into someone playing and asked them where it was)

- Could use some hole with some more length but for it being near a college I like the set up that is given to not make it too difficult for the casual players.

- As stated above there needs to be markers to the next hole. The flow from hole to hole is not very natural to me.
Other Thoughts: Other than having to guess and look where the nxt hole might be I enjoyed playing the course. If you are in the Peoria area and are looking for a new place to get a round in then I would suggest you play somewhere else unless you are playing with a local because you will have a hard time finding holes. But all in all it is a beautiful park with some beautiful holes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Oldie and a Goodie

5+    6/15/2013   11/14/2013
Review By: JmanJoshua
Played: 96  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/21/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I started playing this course back many years ago, when it was a different layout. I like the new layout, but I miss a few holes on the back nine that played with the elevation a little more (the one shooting down the hill towards basket #14). Overall this is a very enjoyable and family friendly course. It is an average length course and is friendly and fun for beginners and pro's a like. It has a wide variety of shots and requires finesse on a lot of shots. There are a few holes you can launch a drive on, but you will use mostly fairway drivers and midranges. This is an older course but it has some characteristics that are missing from many new courses. The mature trees are excellent obstacles and most shots have some elevation change. Holes 4, 5, 6 & 9 make good use of the hills and most of the front nine has OB road and steep hills if you end up off the fairway too much. Most of the baskets are placed near OB or near a drop off which can make putting at the basket a big risk and reward. There are multiple basket locations which they change up occasionally The nice cement tees are a must due to the amount of dirt and thin shaded grass. This is a fun course to play all year round. For beginners getting par on the course can be a challenge since accuracy through the trees is needed on a lot of holes. For us advanced players, a fun place to shoot really well and feel good about your game by hitting that perfect drive and making some nice putts. There are lots of birdie opportunities but if you get too aggressive that OB road or drop off will turn your birdies into unwanted bogies. It has pretty good risk and reward shots, but make sure you watch your discs if you get close to the woods. Those cliffs, especially the one to the left on hole #9 will eat up a disc and make you spend some time looking.
Cons: The only thing I can think of is finding holes #1, #2 and #10. If you are playing for the first time it can be hard to know to park by holes 10 & 18 then hike up the hill to get to #1. If you have played this course once you will never forget hiking up all those steps to teepad #1 and then up another little hill to #2. Then you are happy hole #3 is flat. Signs helping you find these holes might be helpful, but in the dirrection to this course they do say the first 9 holes are in the upper part of the park. This year the creek has not been much of an issue but on the holes 10 to 18 the creek can eat a disc if the water level is up, especially on hole #14. Most of the year it is shallow enough you can see and get your disc without a problem.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a classic and a favorite course of mine to recommend to all types of players. I always advise people to print the map and score card for the disc golf courses they play and this is a great example of how planning ahead can alleviate a little headache. I also wish this was a 27 or 36 hole course. There is room for a difficult 9 or 18 hole course in those woods and with a little revamp to the current holes this could make for a killer course. However, you will see this course very busy from the college, casual players and families. I'm glad this is not a difficult course for advanced players. It is a great way to introduce lot of people to the sport. The other people at this busy park, joggers, walkers, and kids at the playground, get to see people playing disc golf and perhaps peak their curiosity. There are tougher courses in the area (like Northwoods, McNaughton & Eureka) but there are also a lot easier and less enjoyable ones to play. If you are in the area, stop by and play a round or two. Also, grab some Avantis gondolas. They are awesome and just up the road.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    9/5/2011   9/5/2012
Review By: PeoriaRa
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Just a fun course with a great variety of holes. Well maintained in a city park but uses the landscape well to provide variety.
Cons: I guess Hole 1 is hard to find.
Other Thoughts: Another fun course for the less hardcore player.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course worth playing

5+    6/22/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: XxBenNastyxX
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is very well kept up by the park district it seems. Don't usually see much if any litter. Lots of trees with a nice "park like" atmosphere. I'm a dad and I have a year and a half year old and it's very easy to push a stroller through this course. It's not very hilly, but there is a couple steep hills.
Cons: To someone that has never played it can be rather difficult to find hole 1 and 2. They really need to put up signs telling fellow golfers where to go for these holes.
Other Thoughts: Over all it's a really nice course. It's not overly complicated and can be enjoyed by beginners and pro's.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 nice course

1    5/17/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: BuzzArmStrong
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cement Tees - Lots of elevation change throughout the park - Good variety of holes that call for different types of shots - Fairways range from fair to relatively open - Couple of well designed holes that are memorable (16 passing over the creek, 4 hooking hard down hill).
Cons: Feels as though the elevation change could be used a little better considering how much there is to work with - Course design doesn't seem logical in some parts, requires a descent amount of walking between tees which extends the length of your round - signs are lacking.
Other Thoughts: This park has the type of land that could field a really great course, with some work this could definitely be a 4 or better. If you are going to play this course make sure you have a good chunk of time because it will take some time to fit in a full round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun!

5+    10/29/2011   10/30/2011
Review By: kevdiv48
Played: 76  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/2/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: High Fun Factor
Relaxing Atmosphere
Not too long, not too short
Multiple basket locations.
Wide variety of lines to hit.
Good tees and baskets.
Cons: Navigation can be tricky at times. I parked by the tee for 10 and walked up the hill to get to 1. Lots of concrete present (OB) to potentially tear up your discs.
Other Thoughts: Overall Bradley Park was a lot of fun to play. Finding the next tee can be tricky at times. There are a lot of trees present, but lines are still available to reach the basket. This is an older style course and has a nice laid back feel. One thing to note is to keep an eye for your discs in the fall because there are lots of leaves present to cover them up. I highly recommend this course if you are in the area, along with Washington, Morton, Eureka and McNaughton for some other excellent courses.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Solid

1    7/15/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: xalzan10
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A nice park with good lines of sight, solid baskets, and a little bit of variety.
Cons: Incredibly hard for to find the first basket.
No Par's listed, no maps, no yellow T's (Listed yardage but no where to be found), no holes where elevation is a key factor.
Other Thoughts: I was in the area for a family wedding and brought some first timers to the course with me. It was a solid choice, easily accessible to the new players and still enjoyable for an experienced player like me. Not very much variety to the holes, not a lot of creativity or thought put into placement, and some issues with marking and other amenities. If your in the area give it a shot, it was fun but not exceptional.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 No, Mcnaughton but still fun

1    7/1/2011   7/1/2011
Review By: dmbrun2
Played: 88  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Another course in the Peoria area that can be paired with other courses in the area

Plays a little more open then Morton and Mcnaughton which will make it a different feel if paired with these two courses

Good drop offs on the putts that make you think twice about going for a long 2

Lots of different lines and elevation

Hole 16 is a beautiful anhyzer throw that goes across and straddles the creek the whole way. Beautiful hole!
Cons: With a major elevation change between the back 9 and front 9, a hole SHOULD connect the two with a major elevation throw, but they did not take advantage of this oppurtunity

Took FOREVER to find hole 1, which was frustrating

Without playing with a regular at this course, it may have been hard finding a few holes.

A lot of problems could be fixed with a map or repainting the next tee concrete pads near the basket
Other Thoughts: Another great course in the Peoria area! It has a different feel then some of the other courses in the area which makes it fun! Also love to see courses on college campuses.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.