La Center, WA 
Paradise Point DGC Share
Uploaded By: jessicaS Hole #2 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 164ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee: Basket is through the trees and to the left up a hill



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Pit-Stop For Disc Golf

2-4    7/27/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: Disastrophy
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.2 Years
Pros: Paradise Point is a very beginner friendly course that does a great job utilizing an open area to create a variety of holes and shots. While its a relatively short course, fun can be had here by both new players and veterans alike.

Concrete Pads, Signs, and Baskets are all in good shape.

Plenty of Shady Parking under the freeway.

Well marked Mandos that attempt to keep fairways separated and safe.

A great variety of looks from teepad and from fairway. Most players at this course are carrying just one or two discs, but I found myself able to utilize a lot of my bag here for Thumbers, BH and FH.

Nice beach for taking a dip in the river after your round, bring a swimsuit!

Favorite Hole: #8 - Longest hole on the course (~370') with trees on either side of the fairway leading to a protected basket in a tree grove.
Cons: This course is in a State Park and therefore a fee area. Buy an annual Discover Pass ahead of time.

Traffic Noise for the first 3 holes - The first two holes play under the freeway and then the third teepad is elevated to almost the same level as the freeway, so these holes are where I notice the noise the most.

A little too tight in places - The course was being used heavily this weekend and multiple times we had to jump out of the way of oncoming discs or alter how we played a hole because another group was in our fairway. I appreciate the Mando's between some of the holes, but remember that a lot of players here are new and keep an eye out!

I enjoyed Hole #1 personally, its a shot between freeway columns, but its an intimidating shot to start a new player out with and it doesn't fit well with the rest of the course.

It's very easy to throw to the wrong basket off of the elevated #3 teepad. The basket visible to you up there is #9, not #3. We played to the #9 basket the first time and carded easy birdies, but then could not figure out where the 4th teepad was. Otherwise the course is easy to follow.

The baskets are almost all a different height from the ground. I appreciate that they were trying to add some variety to a small course, but it was annoying that the baskets would vary in height by about 1' in either direction and it helped me to miss a lot of birdie opportunities.

Least Favorite Hole: #9 - Boring open hole. Moves slightly Left to
Right, so may be a challenge for RHBH, but I had birdies both throwing FH and throwing an understable mid BH.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to hit on your way to Portland or if you find yourself in the area. It's not a destination course like many of its neighbors to the South, but it definitely holds its own as a family friendly 9-hole that you can play in 45-60 minutes. The river is very inviting and you can easily add a swim into your visit. I will be stopping here in the future!

Paradise Point DGC

2-4    3/1/2013   5/8/2013
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 183  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Paradise Point State Park is an 88-acre camping park with 6,180 feet of freshwater shoreline, immediately east of the interstate and only minutes away from Vancouver and Portland. This disc golf course is beginner friendly but yet has enough distance to challenge higher skill levels at times. Holes range anywhere from 116 - 369 feet, with several opportunities for birdies and aces! A kiosk is located near hole one to help first timers with navigation but printing off a map may be easier until you learn the layout. With the exception of hole nine, all tee pads are cement and are big enough for a run up. Baskets are solid white which allows them to be spotted easier off the tee, and include numbers on the top to help with navigation. There is also a practice basket labeled zero under the interstate to warm up on which is a welcome addition.

Favorite Hole(s): Hole #1 - As the Valkyrie Kid stated in his review, hole #1 is unlike ANY hole I have ever played. It is literally located under I-5 and although only 116 feet long, is a beast of a hole considering the massive cement pillars that line both sides of the fairway 30 feet apart. I unloaded my bag of opto pures at it and almost hit multiple aces but just couldn't bag one. Deflections can be brutal, providing players with a high risk/reward shot off the tee for an ace. Loved it!
Cons:
As previous reviewers stated, paying $10 to play nine holes seems quite expensive considering several pay to play courses including Blue Ribbon Pines and Horning's Hideout are only a fraction of the cost. I did enjoy my time playing here with my wife and son however, but felt if they charged less more people would come and play the course.

Although it didn't bother me any, some may find the freeway noise an issue. Considering you start underneath I-5 and then continue to play near it for the remainder of the time, noise is a constant. Eventually, the noise seemed to wash out as I got further into my round and further away from the cars.

Least Favorite Hole(s): Hole # 5 - throws out into an open field with little to no obstacles
Other Thoughts:
I was pleasantly surprised by the layout and fun factor of Paradise Point DGC. Although it wasn't very challenging, I played some very unique holes and found it an ideal spot to stop quickly with the family and stretch the legs when traveling from Seattle to Portland. I would recommend to anyone who lives nearby or plans on visiting this course more than once a year to purchase a yearly pass for $30 as $10 for a one time stop seems a bit steep. The designers of the course without a doubt made the most of the land they had to work with and is much appreciated. Thank you for the opportunity to play another new course in the state of Washington!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Recreational Course Under The Freeway!

1    9/9/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 611  Exp: 36.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Paradise State Park is an 88 acre park located about 15 miles north of Vancouver, WA on the banks of the Lewis River. The disc golf course actually starts DIRECTLY UNDER Interstate 5. The first teepad and basket are under the freeway and the traffic noise is a constant. After the hole under the freeway, the course plays mostly around an open field, partly through some woods, including one downhill throw and two holes with the river on the left. The baskets are white and are mostly clustered together in this field. There's a course sign with map under the freeway near the first hole. A nice port-a-pottie is right near the # 9 natural teepad. I believe it the only pad that's not concrete. There are teesigns with pars and the distances on the first 2 or 3 holes but after that you just get a concrete block with the hole # on it. The baskets are set in large heavy concrete blocks. Some have one block stacked on another. No-one is carrying off these baskets without a forklift. They have the number on the inside pole which helps with first time navigation.
The distances range from 175' to maybe 300' making this your basic recreational level course. There is another basket sitting under the freeway with a 0 on it. I assume this the practice basket.
# 1 is easily the signature hole here and one of the more clever holes I've encountered anywhere. It's set directly under the freeway, a straight 175' ACE run using two sets of the freeway's large concrete support columns as double mandos. # 2 is another shortie (164') hyser shot.
then there is a nicely built set of stairs leading to # 3's teepad. # 3 looks to be a fairly basic fun 250' downhill throw to the visible basket sitting along in the middle of the field. But upon further examination and after walking down to my teeoff, I discovered that the # 4 basket was actually a hyser throw to a basket further left. Didn't make much sense to me.
The remainder of the course was pretty much run of the mill recreational park style course. # 6 is the longest hole on the course. It features one tree(s in the middle of the fairway but otherwise is just wide open. And then 7 and 8 play back to the parking lot (and freeway).
There's a sandy river beach right under the freeway here. it would probably be mighty inviting on a hot summer day.
Cons: It's $10 to enter this park even if you're just here for 30 minutes. Seems steep to me. You can buy a yearly pass for $30. That would be the way to go if you lived nearby.
There isn't much in the way of signage but the course is pretty easy to follow once you figure out where # 1 is located.
Some of the baskets are set a little lower than regulation.
The ever present noise of the cars roaring overhead might be distracting.
Other Thoughts: If it wasn't for the $10, this would be an excellent pit stop course for those driving from Seattle to Portland. If the 10 bucks doesn't bother you then this is a great stop on the I-5 corridor. It's a very easy on-off the freeway for a quick little 25 minute round and chance to play the very memorable hole # 1. It makes my 18 most creative/unique holes!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 First Day

1    2/12/2012   2/13/2012
Review By: Discwog
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 33.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great baskets, good variety of shots, a really fun hole under the freeway, good parking, restrooms
Cons: Noisy freeway, only 9 holes, mostly flat
Other Thoughts: Look for the free parks days to come out and play, then buy your annual pass!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.