Philadelphia, PA 
Sedgley Woods Share
Uploaded By: Tolbert Hole #25
3 / 308ft.   3 / 256ft.   3 / 190ft.   3 / 256ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #25 Red/Yellow Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
OK

1    5/12/2014   6/17/2014
Review By: PhillyPhan69
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The regulars were very friendly and helpful in getting us started
Signs were done adequately to help newbies to the course
Tee pads were easy to find
nice use of elevation and using the natural habitat of the park
Park/course fairly simple to navigate
Cons: CROWDED-people on every hole (wait for the tee, and people waiting on you)
tight hole lay out- discs fly from multiple directions as holes are very close together
Other Thoughts: A nice enough park as my son had a school trip to Philly- we decided to hit this on the way back..well worth the time to check out, but I wouldn't plan a trip just to hit here.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good for such an old course

1    2/21/2012   2/23/2012
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Great disc golf scene
-Can play the front 18 with just a mid
-Classic course, one of the oldest in the nation
-The back nine and so much better than the rest of the course
Cons: -The front 18 are very crowded. Tees and pins VERY close to each other.
-Can play the front 18 with just a mid
-Plenty of homeless just dicking around on the course, slowing up the flow of the groups playing
-The other courses close by suck so this is the best place to play in Philly and that is just sad
Other Thoughts: Play it once so you can say that you have, but it's not a challenging course.
I can't deal with having to wait to play 18 because 5 guys not even playing any other holes are just unloading there bags at the pin. Have some disc golf etiquette guys.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic inner-city course

5+    3/21/2011   3/24/2011
Review By: mstrjollo
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 23.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Only course near Philadelphia within 20 miles. 3 different T pads. 27 holes! Great wooded shots, requires supreme accuracy especially on the back back nine.
Amazing disc golf scene, comparable to the west coast. Always heads hanging around looking to join a group, and someone usually sells discs on weekends and after four during the week.
Cons: Holes on top of each other. No shots over 300 feet, maybe 2 or 3, but not by much. Crowded on weekends with beer drinking bafoons who don't respect the game.
Other Thoughts: My home course. Not necessarily my favorite, or most played, but it is where I am from and I know it backwards and forwards!
People put this course down far too often. The first 8 holes were some of the first this country ever saw. That is very much like the entire history of Philadelphia, not the best city, but the first at a lot of everything.
The back nine is a relatively new addition. Still is empty anytime I want the freedom to throw, so I love it. It has some tight long shots, not typical for this course. Check it out. FOur holes have been there for years, then two were added about 7 years back, and then the combined the 6 extra holes, threw in 3 awesome holes, and Sedgeley is a full 27 hole course. I love it!

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/23/2008   10/23/2008
Review By: valkyriefb11
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2009
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sedgley Woods is a very short but fun course. The course is well maintained and kept very clean. The first 18 holes all have signs and are very easy to follow. Each hole offers 3 different tee pads for varying degrees of difficulty. Although the course was short, it did offer a good variation of elevation. The course also makes good use of vegetation and trees to add difficulty to the short holes. Most of the holes are relatively open but a few are heavily wooded.
Cons: The course is not only short but it is tightly packed ... very tightly packed. I played in the morning when the course was pretty empty, but I would never play the course when it was crowded. On one of the holes the basket for the previous hole was literally ten feet away from the tee pad.
The tee pads were different on every hole ... they include dirt, gravel and rubber. I would have preferred to have one tee pad type.
Philadelphia traffic can be an absolute bear ... so be prepared for some delays.
Holes 19-27 can be difficult to find and follow.
Other Thoughts: I met a few local guys playing the course ... they were incredibly nice and the Sedgley mini they gave met was awesome. Although the park is in Philly, the area of town isn't too bad. It is minutes away from the Philadelphia Museum of Art ... but as anywhere in Philly be street smart.
Overall a decent course. I really enjoyed playing Sedgley, but I wouldnt go out of your way to play it

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 

2/21/2008   2/21/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of History in this park for Disc Golf. Trees and semi-open holes. (bad part of town, so be careful) Hard to find your way around the first time through. All around good course. (oldest permanent polehole course that still exists) Good use of the land available. Always people around. Holes can be kind of close to each other so watch out for errant throws. Everyone should play this course once, just for the history.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center