Philadelphia, PA 
Sedgley Woods Share
Uploaded By: Tolbert Hole #8
3 / 247ft.   3 / 247ft.   3 / 193ft.   3 / 247ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Blue Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    8/24/2013   8/25/2013
Review By: roadtrip
Played: 194  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 19.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of shots. 27 holes (3 separate 9-hole loops that all play back to the parking lot). 3 tees on each hole. Lots of right/left/straight, some up/down shots. A lot of lines to carve through. Club events will mix 1-9 longs then 19-27 medium (as an example - they mix lots of configurations) so each round is varied.

Maintained well. Club seems very active and creative. Tee pads aren't concrete and tee signs don't really help with the blind shots, but there are well-marked signs to each tee, which is greatly helpful. Elevated boards/steps above mud spots. Not much debris/trash on the course despite how crowded this city park area is.
Supposedly they have glow rounds.

Vibe - it looks super shady once you pull off the highway. It looks even shadier when you pull into the park. But all the people I chatted with were private-course friendly, open, inviting, sharing. Lots of folks really appreciated the disc golf oasis, biking distance from downtown. There were open fields and benches overlooking trees and the river. You could hear the city around you but you're totally shielded under thick forest canopy. Pretty cool lost-disc-return on site.
Cons: Crowded. Fairways don't criss cross but they run very close to each other. You need to be prepared for discs coming at you anytime from any direction. It wasn't a problem at all, it's just something you'll need to consider. Obviously - also make sure no one is in your disc's path. It's not just letting the lead group clear the hole, sometimes they have to clear the next tee pad too before you can throw.

Lost disc potential. Tall grass and thick brush (admittedly - the only time I've played is during a rainy summer - locals told me it clears out a lot in the winter).

Variety - it's almost all tight lines. Several aceable holes but plenty of unnatural lines along the way. This is one of those courses for the threads about - redesigning the 27-holes as an 18-hole course with a few long, open shots along the way could make it a championship caliber course (however, if I lived here, I'd likely prefer the clustered 27 so I can play a different 18 configuration just about every day)
Other Thoughts: This was a unique park to me. I don't usually think of Philly as the friendliest, most outdoorsy town. But this course had all of that. The disc golf reminded me of a lot of other 2.5-3.5 courses, but it fits this locale perfectly.

I had trouble linking this site to GPS but the narrative directions were perfect. Especially the warning about local trafic. Grab water before you come - no gas station off the I-76 exit. Fair amount of bugs.

I wouldn't recommend traveling to Philly just for this course, but if you were there already I'd highly recommend one of the weekly club events.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Sedgley Woods

5+    7/6/2013   7/16/2013
Review By: crispy13fsw
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 Historic Holes of Disc Golf. The original 18 are for beginners, while the "outback" nine will test even the best game. 99% of the people are very friendly. I learned my disc golf game here and the course will teach you to be technically sound.

Weekly tags rounds with a lot of membership support. FSW proudly boasts over 200 active members.
Cons: It is a tight course on the front 18. Hearing "FORE" a lot is not un-common. The course is always a work in progress. New tee pads and new signs are going in. If more people packed out what they packed in, the litter would disappear, but since it is in the middle of Philly, good luck with that.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great course

2-4    12/21/2012   12/31/2012
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 41  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This review is not based on the back nine because I did not play it when I was there

Great atmosphere- I went to this course with a couple people who had never been there before and they were overwhelmed by the friendliness of the locals being that this course is not in the best part of Philadelphia.

Practice baskets- there were several. This accommodated to the crowd that was there when I played.

Well defined fairways- this course made had well defined fairways as well as tight but fair.

Creative use of elevation- they used what they had this park and used the elevation that they were given with the space very well.

Teepads- teepads were in good shape and provided good footing.multiple teepads on each hole providing some variety for the locals, as well as providing beginners through pros with tees to fit there skill level

Secluded-this park is only used for disc golf woods are fun and secluded.
Cons: Tee signs-these were not clear and i found myself playing most of the red tees because I could not see the line to the basket

Adjacent holes were to close- fairmount park is huge! Yet I still found myself wondering if the guy on the next teepads was in harms way when I was throwing

Crowded- this place knots lays all year round will have at least one group on every hole
Other Thoughts: This course is short, don't come here expecting holes where you can air it out. Most of the holes were short so a midrange can be thrown and you can still shoot well. I do not view this s a con because the course was built so long ago

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Piece of History

1    4/1/2012   4/3/2012
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 62  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wooded and technical 27 hole course in the middle of Philadelphia with three possible tee areas (red, yellow, blue) at each hole. Short, yet challenging layout which utilizes all available space. Baskets, though older, work well. All holes are numbered, and the well-worn paths between holes make navigation pretty easy. Primary tee pads made of rubber and of sufficient length. Very good use of elevation on numerous holes and occasionally tight fairways add to the challenge. Benches exist at most holes. A practice basket, porta potties and nice information board with lost disc slot are located at the main entrance to Fairmount Park.
Cons: To no one's surprise, graffitti and broken glass mark the course. Many holes play in tight quarters and errant discs from a nearby hole are not uncommon and require a "head's up". Secondary tee pads not in great shape, and colored stones designating all tee areas should be repainted and set in the ground. Can be very crowded at times. Will not appeal to the guy who wants to grip and rip all day.
Other Thoughts: I do not like the city, but I'm glad I played here. Built in 1977, Sedgley Woods is a piece of Disc Golf History and has withstood both time and advances in disc technology. It has a decidedly "city" feel, with railroad tracks, the crumbling foundation of a house and the occasional odd and colorful character on the premises. An old seat from a van sits at one tee, and even the tee signs- asymmetrical painted concrete slabs- perfectly capture the environment in which this course sits. With 3 tee off locations at each hole and safari holes at various tournaments, there is no shortage of playing options. The "fun factor" here is tremendous, and a large and loyal club supports and maintains the course. Any serious DG'er must make a visit to Sedgley!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Tight Course

1    7/10/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: rickerbocker
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A lot of narrow holes that will challenge your short and mid-range game. The change in elevation and creative use of the paths/woods made for a fun and interesting game. The multiple tees to throw from also lets you change up how you play the course.
Cons: Several holes (in the first 18 holes) seem to be very close to each each other and nearly overlap. An occasional, "Fore!" can be heard now and then. Some of the tees from hole 19-27 were pretty muddy when I went. Can be a bit crowded.
Other Thoughts: This was a great course, and its convenient for those in the Philadelphia area. I will try to visit this course more often; otherwise I have to travel a bit further towards Allentown or Tyler Park.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Traveler

1    10/17/2009   4/24/2011
Review By: Alex Torres
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is one of the oldest courses I have played, it is a great course. Great people, that help thought out the coures. The coures held many different tournaments open to all players. They even had venders at each tournament.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: If you ever get a chance to play in the city of Philly, you have to go this course, it will not let you down.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Sedgley

1    9/22/2010   9/30/2010
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Navigation-- Easy to find your way through this course. Each 9 hole loop is marked.

Variety-- A lot of everything. Open, tight, ravine, blind.

Upkeep-- beautiful upkeep in this urban park.

Teepads-- Rubber, but not slick at all.

Pins-- all in good condition

Signage-- all in good condition and easy to follow nav.
Cons: Ravine shots-- there are three on the first 18. the first makes sense. the second two are completely blind and heavily wooded, very difficult to see where lines would be for someone who is just playing for the first time.

Other Thoughts: We enjoyed this course while we were in philly, but the ravine holes were excessive and kind of disappointing.

I threw a -2 the first time through.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Review after 3 months of playing here.

5+    8/21/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: jparent
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I think one of the pros here is the amount of people that play on this course. There are always people by the basket of 18 often willing to play a few rounds with you (if you come solo). There are 3 different tees and one pin placement per hole. The course doesn't seem to favor RHBH or LHBH, there are clear distinct flight paths for all different throwers. The course was originally designed for big lids so the front 18 may seem short if played from the blue tees. The red tees may only be 10-15 feet further back from the blue tees but they can be extremely more difficult because of the new lines and angles. Without a doubt this course is worth it just because of the people that play here. There are tag rounds 3 times per week (Thursday 5 hours before sunset, Sat 12pm, Sun 11am, with 2$ doubles to follow). The course is very clean, and with the addition of holes 19-27 can really add a challenge to your round. The monthly tournaments are also fun, as you can't complain about 7$ entry for a chance to win some prizes and CTP's. The course is dog friendly and beginner friendly. There are usually people by the entrance of the course with a few boxes of discs for sale or to answer your questions. There are two practice baskets by the parking lot. Very dog friendly.
Cons: For the most part the front 18 are easy par 3's. You can pretty much always salvage a 3 out of any drive. One of my cons is that there isn't any public water fountains. The closest place to get drinks is about a half a block away at a ball golf driving range, or 1.5 blocks at a water ice stand. Some people may not like the amount of people or how close the tee pads are from the previous holes pin. The porta potties smell like .... crap, and they are right by the parking lot (they do have a ladies only porta potty though).
Other Thoughts: The front 18 can be played with mostly mid ranges and putters. There are rarely any chances to air out a big driver. This can be a good thing as it gives you a chance to get a lot of practice out of your short game. There seems to also be a lot of distractions while on the course since the fairways loop back and forth. Listen, if you haven't played Sedgley I would highly recommend it, especially if you are a new player. The course pros are extremely helpful and without a doubt have increased my skill exponentially over the past few months. I'll add more to the review when I think of it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A good time

1    2/21/2010   2/26/2010
Review By: discchris
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: A good course with alot of different shots involved 27 holes and in good condition
Cons: couldnt play hole 9 because the club was camped in front of the basket try not to play there when there present unless you are a part of the club other clubs will ask you to play or at least move for you and they were a little rude to tell me i needed to clear out for the tournament what is up with that?
Other Thoughts: The club players not all of them but the rude ones should help support the sport not want to run people off ive played alot of places and will say this club didnt give me a good first inpression

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 First East Coast Pole Course

5+    1/7/2010   1/8/2010
Review By: Kwick
Played: 50  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.6 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent Disc Golf club
27 holes with 3 tee pads per hole (blue, yellow, red)
League "Tag Challenge" 3 days a week
Thursday doubles all year
Maintained year round
many tournaments randing form competetive to casual
Locked Lost and Found for discs, that most members utilize
Discs for sale often times during Tag Rounds
Baskets are in great shape and catch well
Cons: The course is a little overcrowded. It was built in the '70s and todays plastic makes this course generally short and a little on top of eachother.
Some of the signs are old and could use updating (1-18) and signs have not been put in for 19-27, although the course is relatlively easy to follow.
I do enjoy courses that water comes into play, and this has none.
Other Thoughts: This is a wonderful course located in Philadelphia, yet does not feel like it is in a city at all.
This course is beginner friendly as many of the holes are short (175-230 range) from Blue and the atmosphere is about having a good time. The people here play all year in all weather and are more than happy to lend a hand or advice to a new player.

This course is mainly set in the woods, so accuracy is much more important than power. An advanced AM can play the majority of the course with Mids with many drives under 250 ft. While it is set in the woods, there are several lines to every pin which makes the course fair. There are many birdie opps, but bad shots while be punished. Many times you can still recover for a par, but you will need to play smart to score well.
With so much play and maintanence, the course is very well groomed. The club does an excellent job of fighting back brush, poison ivy, etc.
The tee pads are mostly rubber fly pads and natural/gravel.
Several benches allow players to relax, taking a break if they would like.
There is a great variety of shots that are required. Anny/Hyzer, tommys, and elevation changes. Some holes have anny and hyzer lines giving you many options, especially if you want to practice different shots to improve your game.

Stop by for $2 doubles on thursday for a great time and way to learn the course.
There is also a "bush league" for women.


13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.